Astro NJOI Free Satellite TV Service V1, Free activation promo until April 30th

JohnLai
post Jul 1 2018, 07:30 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jul 1 2018, 03:23 PM)
I terminated ASTRO so I need not waste money paying them every month....BUT.... installed ASTRO's NJOI package... for a one time fee of RM385. I still get to watch Astro but limited channels...which are fine for me cos I need not pay anything every month for life. FOREVER :-D

Whats the catch they didnt tell you? Ok... the channels are not HD...except for 2 channels. The rest are not HD...BUT.... the resolution/visual quality of the non HD channels are very low. Lower than the normal house TV with a external aerial. Shocking! The audio quality is also very harsh and low quality sound. They intentionally made it sound bad so that you will want to upgrade to their normal post paid plan and pay them every month forever.

Another thing is the NJOI decoder does not have audio output if you wanna connect it to your hifi. You need to buy a digital to analog coverter and connect your TV into your hifi amp. So leceh.
QUOTE(empire @ Jul 1 2018, 03:25 PM)
I was so disgruntled after seeing such lousy video quality from NJOI just now in my house. the malay installer said ' Oh...NJOI memang gambar quality tak bagus. yes...Sound pun sangat kasar. apa nak buat boss.... ini kan FREE seumur hidup? hahaha'

I merely gave a weak smile to him and said thank you.
QUOTE(empire @ Jul 1 2018, 03:28 PM)
so if you wanna install NJOI....you will have to live with really bad quality audio and video quality from astro. I wished somebody said this before I installed it.
OK....first, as advertised, astro did mention there are 2 FTA HD channels (135 and 300 if you exclude those shopping channel). blink.gif
ASTRO satellite broadcast is using MPEG2 video and MPEG Audio for those SD channels. This is common knowledge by now after 20 years of ASTRO monopoly. nod.gif

If you are talking about DVB-T2 broadcast via normal house aerial, MYTV is broadcasting using H.264 and HE-AACv2. Of course the quality is better than ASTRO. doh.gif

MPEG2 standard = year 1996
H264 standard = year 2003
HE-AACv2 = year 2004

Note: astro HD broadcast is using H264 and HE-AACv2 or sometime AC3

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jul 1 2018, 06:21 PM)
Yes just insert the NJOI sim card
Cannot lah, he is using Samsung zapper decoder. The NJOI SIM serial is tied to the decoder serial.
JohnLai
post Jul 2 2018, 12:39 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jul 2 2018, 12:01 AM)
well... since I am stuck with NJOI.... I wont complain anymore. At least some people will be aware now that i mentioned how bad NJOI is....and they will think again.
Actually no. They don't need to rethink about NJOI.
They don't have the choice to choose in first place laugh.gif

Astro FTA contents are more than terrestrial broadcast right now.
In fact, if you have access to those big dish, you can receive C-band channels from India/Bangladesh (if you understand Hindi and Bengali) and China satellites (if you comprehend Chinese language).
You will be amazed with those channels high quality SD video and sound even with MPEG2 codecs in use. laugh.gif Cause the international satellite fta broadcasters ain't stingy with bitrates.

Unless if one has access to unifi hypptv (known as UnifiTV now) via fiber.....unifitv is using H264 and HE-AACv2 too. Too bad it is subscription based.
JohnLai
post Jul 2 2018, 12:54 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jul 2 2018, 12:47 AM)
I am waiting for my android TV Box to arrive. Hopefully It will give me good audio and video quality compared to the lousy NJOI quality.
Oh?
Then make sure it supports VP9, HEVC and AVS2.

Recently, some 'entrepreneurs' makes use of new generation codecs to save their bandwidth cost.

I encountered few AVS2 streaming video contents from China.
JohnLai
post Aug 12 2018, 12:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Aug 12 2018, 12:09 PM)
HELLO HD is on which channel?

-.- It was on previous page?
JohnLai
post Aug 12 2018, 12:19 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Aug 12 2018, 12:14 PM)
When I stopped paying ASTRO monthly and installed NJOI.... I thought I will miss some of the paid channels especially MOVIES channels.

As it turned out, I did not not miss them at all! LOL..... cos those movies they show are ALWAYS repeats for God knows how many times a year.
Don't forget to watch Channel 803 HD for upcoming ASEAN Games.
JohnLai
post Aug 21 2018, 10:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 21 2018, 08:47 PM)
What about warranty ? I heard if 1 week never turn on need to bring the decode to SC to active it.Why so troublesome ?
No such thing.
JohnLai
post Sep 2 2018, 10:58 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(GoGoGo79 @ Sep 2 2018, 10:38 AM)
Is true! My njoy never turn on for 3 weeks/1 month, the customer service said I need to pay for rm65 to send a technician to come my house to reactive and only warranty for 3 months!

After listen to this, I’m feel unhappy and decide to install unify. Wasted my rm300++ for the installation!
Seriously, this is fake news. There is no such thing about not turning on the decoder will result in deactivation.

How does Astro suppose to know if you got turn on the NJOI decoder or not?
The satellite dish LNB can only receive signal, it can't send/broadcast signal back to MEASAT.

doh.gif

edit: Your cabling, dish allignment (blown by the wind), loose SIM card insertion, improperly screwed connector, water leakage into LNB or even faulty LNB probably are the problem.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 2 2018, 11:04 AM
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2019, 08:16 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Jul 7 2019, 04:49 PM)
Means lesser channel to watch?
Iqiyi need to pay?
Yes. Need to pay if you take a look on the ads. dry.gif

JohnLai
post Jul 7 2019, 11:37 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(jueiri @ Jul 7 2019, 09:12 PM)
Oh come on.

After kah lai toi, now xiyue is removed.

In the beginning there was lots of channel on njoi. Now becoming less one by one.

mad.gif
First, we got free HD Chinese channel 300 and free Malay channel 135......then both removed..........

The remaining free HD channel which watchable is......channel 110 Hello TV....... sweat.gif

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Jul 7 2019, 09:17 PM)
So in the end we are left with only RTM, TV3 and NTV7. Evem AEC is becoming half of GoShop channel.
Screw Astro for cheating consumers.
Worse....those RTM, TV3, NTV7 and AEC are broadcasted by ASTRO in SD only. puke.gif
JohnLai
post Jul 19 2019, 07:37 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 19 2019, 06:49 PM)
Install Njoi to enjoy more channels compared to MYTV digital TV channels now.
And also for Astro to increase subscriber base, as well as the Njoi user has the potential of spending money on it for Njoi prepaid channels.
Astro can take this opportunity to use back refurbished set top boxes and even satellite dish for Njoi users, and other equipment so that no wastage and save cost.
Faster sue astro for false advertising whistling.gif :

https://njoi.astro.com.my/njoi-now/umum/wha...-on-njoi-n.aspx

Astro Awani SD
    Astro AEC HD
    Astro Xi Yue HD 
    Astro Xiao Tai Yang SD
    CCTV 4 SD
    Kah Lai Toi SD
    Astro Tutor TV PT3 SD
    Astro Tutor TV SPM SD
    Astro Tutor TV UPSR SD
    Astro Vaanavil SD
    Makkal TV SD
    Astro Oasis SD
    Astro Prima SD
    Astro Maya HD      
    Astro Arena HD
    TV Alhijrah SD
    Go Shop HD
    Go Shop 2 (Chinese) HD
JohnLai
post Sep 4 2021, 06:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 3 2021, 10:02 PM)
[attachmentid=10964771][attachmentid=10964772][attachmentid=10964773]

Interesting.
hmm.gif
Would be a good offer for me to buy another one* to replace the dead NJOI zapper decoder at home.
Unfortunately, there is no free-to-view* channel 321 CCM in this new offer, so I am not going to get one. sad.gif
My parent used to watch channel 321 all the time before the decoder was dead.

EDIT:
Oh wait, I just realised they removed lot of free-to-view channels such as CCTV4, CCM, egg, arena and AEC too.
Totally no point to buy another decoder at all. mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 4 2021, 06:53 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.2092sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:33 AM