Sony-Ericsson SE Walkman phone ( Japan ), Sony Ericsson W42S

TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 08:37 PM, updated 20y ago

8,472 posts

Got this info courtesy of the rumour mongerers over on SE-NSE

it will be a high end clam shell walkman phone and successor for z800i.

Specs will be 1Gig internal memory, Expandable up to 4Gig ProDuo.

3G, 2 mega pixel cam.

Silver Stylish look.

Html browser.

Long battery life.

Special music dial.

Walkman player 2.

Stereo speakers.

FM radio.

Announced in Mid July

index will be either w880i or w910i

Very interesting. Another 3G

At last something that looks more than a rebranded handset. The music dial should be interesting too.

and also this coming 13th July will be

Sony Ericsson Media and Analyst Conference.
Q2 2006 Business Update - 13 July 2006
30 June 2006

after looking thru Sony Ericsson Japanese website. according to the rumous spec above.... this is the most matching model~

take a look~ freaking cool

if this is the one.... i have no doubt getting it... thumbup.gif
hunt17
post Jul 8 2006, 08:42 PM

325 posts

kidna bulky to me .. i dun like thick h/phone

but all th features so tempting drool.gif

This post has been edited by hunt17: Jul 8 2006, 08:42 PM
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 08:44 PM

8,472 posts

bulky mer? the real measurement = 約 49× 106× 24 (最厚部:26)mm
youngkies
post Jul 8 2006, 08:52 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

this exactly like the se japan walkman phone u posted up before.. goodness it will be available for worldwide marketing... hope it really will reach us..
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 08:53 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 08:44 PM)
bulky mer? the real measurement = 約 49× 106× 24 (最厚部:26)mm
is this the phone u mentioned the other day? drool.gif ...think i'm goin to wait for this drool.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 08:55 PM

8,472 posts

it might be after some research on the japanese Sony Ericsson. 1GB internal memory and support up to 4GB MSPD.

a walkman phone which is 3G capable as well. damn.... they are bring out japanese model~ if i am right... biggrin.gif
hunt17
post Jul 8 2006, 08:56 PM

325 posts

.. seem thick to me... 24mm

btw 26 is for??

how bout its weight?

This post has been edited by hunt17: Jul 8 2006, 08:57 PM
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 08:58 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(hunt17 @ Jul 8 2006, 08:56 PM)
.. seem thick to me... 24mm

btw 26 is  for??

how bout its weight?
123g~ not heavy...

30 hours of playback... QVGA screen. biggrin.gif dual stereo widening. video recording 30fps. 2.2 inches LCD store up to 1000 contact name. 240* 320 pixel. rumous said it has wifi too...

Official Spec release by Sony Ericsson Japan
if u can read japanese. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fulat: Jul 8 2006, 09:06 PM
yoko
post Jul 8 2006, 09:02 PM

85 posts

god this is so stylist!!! no matter what colour it is>.< really make me drool.
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 09:02 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 08:55 PM)
it might be after some research on the japanese Sony Ericsson. 1GB internal memory and support up to 4GB MSPD.

a walkman phone which is 3G capable as well. damn.... they are bring out japanese model~ if i am right... biggrin.gif
drool.gif rclxm9.gif long live SE! laugh.gif ..walkman with 3G capable got liaw ma..W900..but still the specs is good already...cam i dun mind laugh.gif

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 08:58 PM)
123g~ not heavy...

30 hours of playback... QVGA screen. biggrin.gif
quite light...30 hours of playback huh...better than w900 thumbup.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 09:09 PM

8,472 posts

this is how the play/stop button work

Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 09:14 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

Found a link to it thanks to a forumer in SE-NSE Click here
akachester
post Jul 8 2006, 09:23 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Good looking design here..another swiwel.But the picture does seem it lack a frontal camera...
allvin
post Jul 8 2006, 09:39 PM

4,506 posts

I tot those phones, u oledi post before? Japanese phone alright.

OT abit~
Are those phones show in "tokyo drift" ? IIANM, i saw the pink color 1 at the end of the movie, where Twinkie using that phone to watch the race biggrin.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 09:43 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jul 8 2006, 09:39 PM)
I tot those phones, u oledi post before? Japanese phone alright.

OT abit~
Are those phones show in "tokyo drift" ? IIANM, i saw the pink color 1 at the end of the movie, where Twinkie using that phone to watch the race biggrin.gif
nope... never post this before.... this is a new model in japan as well.. baru release less than 3 months.
allvin
post Jul 8 2006, 10:50 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 10:43 PM)
nope... never post this before.... this is a new model in japan as well.. baru release less than 3 months.
Sorry. I'm sure i saw this before at LYN. Duno which thread. Someone must had post it before. Btw, those phones had also publish in newspaper, i think last few months ago. Great phones. biggrin.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 10:58 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

oh my god. i'm skipping K800i for this beauty and getting myself a decent camera or wait for my dad to bring back the Cyber Shot. drool.gif too bad Walkman phones will get stuck at 2 megapixels and no AF, i think. the media analyst thing is one day before meh birthday~ laugh.gif

OT a little. i saw some SE concept phones on a very old website once, if i manage to find it i'll post it out. smile.gif they all look damn futuristic, but this is waaaaaaaaaay fanstastic~ looks like a reborn version of W850i~ wub.gif

anyhoo, SE phone will grow out geh~ no sooner than 3 months you will find everyone having it~ cry.gif

wait a minute~ this is a clamshell?! looks more like a swivel to me~ unsure.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 8 2006, 11:01 PM
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 11:01 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 8 2006, 10:58 PM)
oh my god. i'm skipping K800i for this beauty and getting myself a decent camera or wait for my dad to bring back the Cyber Shot. drool.gif too bad Walkman phones will get stuck at 2 megapixels and no AF, i think. the media analyst thing is one day before meh birthday~ laugh.gif

OT a little. i saw some SE concept phones on a very old website once, if i manage to find it i'll post it out. smile.gif they all look damn futuristic, but this is waaaaaaaaaay fanstastic~ looks like a reborn version of W850i~  wub.gif

anyhoo, SE phone will grow out geh~ no sooner than 3 months you will find everyone having it~ cry.gif
yealo..this 1 might be a big hit too...
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:02 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Jul 8 2006, 11:01 PM)
yealo..this 1 might be a big hit too...
sure it'll be a big hit!!! a new design concept by SE~ drool.gif
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 11:03 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 8 2006, 11:02 PM)
sure it'll be a big hit!!! a new design concept by SE~ drool.gif
yea... laugh.gif my floor is wet now bcoz of my drooling... drool.gif
ryosuke
post Jul 8 2006, 11:06 PM

1,142 posts

the rumour phones going to be announce on 13th july suppose to be an clamshell...but the pic posted above is w42s for au/kddi....and it is a slider ler...according to se-nse...one of the forumer ask us to look through the w42s video...but i din't see anything... rclxub.gif
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 11:08 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Jul 8 2006, 11:06 PM)
the rumour phones going to be announce on 13th july suppose to be an clamshell...but the pic posted above is w42s for au/kddi....and it is a slider ler...according to se-nse...one of the forumer ask us to look through the w42s video...but i din't see anything... rclxub.gif
i posted the link here be4..look in the first page wink.gif
ryosuke
post Jul 8 2006, 11:12 PM

1,142 posts

yeah..i look through the page adi, i even look through the video of w42s ....but din't get the hint also... sweat.gif mind telling me what can we get from that websites?? thanks notworthy.gif
Eddx
post Jul 8 2006, 11:13 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Jul 8 2006, 11:12 PM)
yeah..i look through the page adi, i even look through the video of w42s ....but din't get the hint also... sweat.gif mind telling me what can we get from that websites?? thanks notworthy.gif
the idea of the new design on SE phone wink.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:14 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

- deleted -

i got the idea jor~ sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 8 2006, 11:15 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jul 8 2006, 11:24 PM

6,866 posts

I've seen this phone somewhere on the net.. seems like Japan Sony Ericsson has this phone on the market right now or quite long ago...

sweat.gif

ryosuke
post Jul 8 2006, 11:24 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Jul 8 2006, 11:13 PM)
the idea of the new design on SE phone  wink.gif
oh...the jog dial thing?? blink.gif oh.... laugh.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:28 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

and anyone noticed?! a new earphone. no longer the HPM-70 earbuds we learnt to love. wub.gif
evilhomura89
post Jul 8 2006, 11:32 PM

5,886 posts

still lack wi-fi
wat is the screen size and resolution??
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:37 PM

8,472 posts

screen size 2.2" and pixel 240*320
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:42 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Jul 8 2006, 11:06 PM)
it might not be the same design. but u might get some idea one the design thru the slider. imagine that slider become a clamshell... it will be damn cool as well...
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:42 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

wanna ask, if this rumor is true, will the phone be customized to fit international market or will it be exactly the same as the Japanese version except for language options?!
SUSMike3300
post Jul 8 2006, 11:46 PM

6,866 posts

http://www.sonyericsson.co.jp/product/au/w42s/index.html

Does this similiar to the rumor that bro fulat brings?? This phone was named Sony Ericsson W42S in Japan and it's on the Japan market right now...

check for yourself...

sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jul 8 2006, 11:48 PM
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:46 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 8 2006, 11:42 PM)
wanna ask, if this rumor is true, will the phone be customized to fit international market or will it be exactly the same as the Japanese version except for language options?!
of coz it gonna customised for international market. but again... japan Sony Ericsson are run on flash. and rumous saying that Sony Ericsson International might follow the Japanese Sony Ericsson base as flash for their firmware.

if it's true... Sony Ericsson phone will be so much fun to play with tongue.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:48 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 11:46 PM)
of coz it gonna customised for international market. but again... japan Sony Ericsson are run on flash. and rumous saying that Sony Ericsson International might follow the Japanese Sony Ericsson base as flash for their firmware.

if it's true... Sony Ericsson phone will be so much fun to play with tongue.gif
oooooooh man, this is way too cool.

with K800i just launched, and suddenly this rumor appear. sure a lot of people undecided. laugh.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:49 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 8 2006, 11:48 PM)
oooooooh man, this is way too cool.

with K800i just launched, and suddenly this rumor appear. sure a lot of people undecided. laugh.gif
what so undecide? it's 2 different range of phone. walkman series always have higher internal memory. doesn't it?

sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:51 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 11:49 PM)
what so undecide? it's 2 different range of phone. walkman series always have higher internal memory. doesn't it?
yeap. but the new concept is quite tempting. rather than the old gen of SE phones. laugh.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:52 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jul 8 2006, 11:46 PM)
http://www.sonyericsson.co.jp/product/au/w42s/index.html

Does this similiar to the rumor that bro fulat brings?? This phone was named Sony Ericsson W42S in Japan and it's on the Japan market right now...

check for yourself...

sweat.gif
yes... it's the one. after searching in and out for the will annouce international Sony Ericsson new walkman phone. the Japan W42S seems to be the closest with the rumous.

never forget... the sakura(W900) swivel series idea was taken from Sony Ericsson Japan as well. no doubt that the japaneses are was too creative than the european.
pukarix
post Jul 8 2006, 11:53 PM

1,053 posts

seriously its a cool phone...but when everyone has it,it aint no cool anymore smile.gif agree? hahahaha
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:54 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 8 2006, 11:51 PM)
yeap. but the new concept is quite tempting. rather than the old gen of SE phones. laugh.gif
again... it's just a rumous... might not be the real one... tongue.gif
SUSMike3300
post Jul 8 2006, 11:56 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 11:52 PM)
yes... it's the one. after searching in and out for the will annouce international Sony Ericsson new walkman phone. the Japan W42S seems to be the closest with the rumous.

never forget... the sakura(W900) swivel series idea was taken from Sony Ericsson Japan as well. no doubt that the japaneses are was too creative than the european.
But how come they still wanna take the W42S design? sweat.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 8 2006, 11:57 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Jul 8 2006, 11:53 PM)
seriously its a cool phone...but when everyone has it,it aint no cool anymore smile.gif agree? hahahaha
u have a point there.... but let me ask u... since so most of us drive out to places we want to go.... will ya choose to walk from ya house to a place which is 20km away from u just to look different from the rest and call that cool?

ryosuke
post Jul 8 2006, 11:58 PM

1,142 posts

actually there is one design SE can apply to its clamshell wan...check this pic...see the direction keys...

sE_vIxEn
post Jul 8 2006, 11:58 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

no wonder W900i was codenamed Sakura~ closely related to Japanese culture de~ laugh.gif

i seriously hope this rumor is true. there ain't rumors for no reason. laugh.gif and so far all SE rumors also became true.
TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 12:01 AM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jul 8 2006, 11:56 PM)
But how come they still wanna take the W42S design? sweat.gif
why not? America have McD and they have almost the same menu like us as well right? same things... Sony Ericsson Japan is still part of the Sony Ericsson International. maybe they used different telecommunication technology. but japan are still on earth right?

if this model getting very popular in japan and Sony Ericsson International might see the potential on it. they will definately make it one of thier product in somewhere. it might not be the exact same. but they will make some changes and bring it on to the rest of the world.
ryosuke
post Jul 9 2006, 12:05 AM

1,142 posts

Yeah...what fulat said is true...one of the example will be the S700i ...the design actually copy from SE japan SO505i for nttdocomo....
europology
post Jul 9 2006, 12:06 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 08:37 PM)
Got this info courtesy of the rumour mongerers over on SE-NSE 

it will be a high end clam shell walkman phone and successor for z800i.
clamshell? it's either slider or swivel la...

it's bulky it seems.... 24 mm! sweat.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 12:08 AM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Jul 8 2006, 11:58 PM)
actually there is one design SE can apply to its clamshell wan...check this pic...see the direction keys...
i don't think so they want this.... the direction key wasn't thier usual design. even the joystick seem to get complain from many... but they insist to have it from T610 until now.

that's thier icon. like the P-series keypad. even until the gonna release P990i. they still insist to go with a keypad flip. it's practically thier style which they wanna maintain at least 1 design which make them proud and identical from the rest. if u ever notice.... since thier first clamshell Z200i or Z600I release. all thier clamshell are designed to have exchangable faceplate.

this make them proud~!

This post has been edited by fulat: Jul 9 2006, 12:11 AM
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:08 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 9 2006, 12:01 AM)
why not? America have McD and they have almost the same menu like us as well right? same things... Sony Ericsson Japan is still part of the Sony Ericsson International. maybe they used different telecommunication technology. but japan are still on earth right?

if this model getting very popular in japan and Sony Ericsson International might see the potential on it. they will definately make it one of thier product in somewhere. it might not be the exact same. but they will make some changes and bring it on to the rest of the world.
no matter what, please preserve the design. wub.gif the design is fabulous~

if it's something like 903sh where it is available only if we 'smuggle' it, then it'll be rare. laugh.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:09 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

here is my japanese friend's Sony Ericsson phone~

in case you're wondering, no that's not porn. that's someone sleeping~ tongue.gif

main point~ to let you guy see the jog dial keypad~ or whatever you call it?!

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 9 2006, 12:22 AM
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:28 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

bump so that people know i edited my previous post and pics are uploaded~ whistling.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 12:33 AM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 9 2006, 12:09 AM)

this looked a bit like Z520i
SUSMike3300
post Jul 9 2006, 12:35 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 9 2006, 12:33 AM)
Japan version of Z530i?

PS: I wonder how is it look like for the K750 Japan version... rolleyes.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:41 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 9 2006, 12:33 AM)
yeap it does, doesn't it?! and btw, the camera sucks. i took a pic with it but got me face in it so no show. tongue.gif

and btw, although camera sucks, there are abundance of options lah. feels like a symbian. can type word documents and such de.

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jul 9 2006, 12:35 AM)
Japan version of Z530i?

PS: I wonder how is it look like for the K750 Japan version... rolleyes.gif
i dunno what it is. too bad the jappie babe sucks in English. sad.gif
SUSMike3300
post Jul 9 2006, 12:45 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 9 2006, 12:41 AM)
yeap it does, doesn't it?! and btw, the camera sucks. i took a pic with it but got me face in it so no show. tongue.gif

and btw, although camera sucks, there are abundance of options lah. feels like a symbian. can type word documents and such de.
i dunno what it is. too bad the jappie babe sucks in English. sad.gif
Then how you ask from her to snap those pics? While she was in the shower? sweat.gif
pukarix
post Jul 9 2006, 12:47 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 11:57 PM)
u have a point there.... but let me ask u... since so most of us drive out to places we want to go.... will ya choose to walk from ya house to a place which is 20km away from u just to look different from the rest and call that cool?
u have a point there too..its juz like d ipod craze few years back...d one dat has an ipod is d coolest in town...nowdays,having an ipod is a normal thing...agree?

back to d topic,the phone catches ppl's attention...lets hope its real n not rumours...i read in esato dat dis phone is gonna b released only in japan..n some of the forumers were like complaining...y only japan?...hope not... cheers
SUSMike3300
post Jul 9 2006, 12:48 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Jul 9 2006, 12:47 AM)
u have a point there too..its juz like d ipod craze few years back...d one dat has an ipod is d coolest in town...nowdays,having an ipod is a normal thing...agree?

back to d topic,the phone catches ppl's attention...lets hope its real n not rumours...i read in esato dat dis phone is gonna b released only in japan..n some of the forumers were like complaining...y only japan?...hope not... cheers
Why don't I complaint... want good phones ,stay in Japan and live there... thumbup.gif

Anyway, it is good to see the SE W42S in MAS market sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jul 9 2006, 12:49 AM
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:49 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hmmm, a lot of people also complain why 10 megapixel Samsung not available in Malaysia. laugh.gif

so no point lah. there are a lot of other SE Japan models out there whom we do not know.
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 12:51 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

and another thing i like about SE walkman phones~ the earbuds that comes with it are always comfortable with the ears. look at the E398 earphones. eeeeeeeew, so big. later the ear hole also get bigger. laugh.gif
TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 12:53 AM

8,472 posts

nah... ipod still a youth icon for now.... some youth told me that.. to be a youth nowadays u need some cool gadgets. 1 of the must buy gadget is ipod. tongue.gif
pukarix
post Jul 9 2006, 01:01 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 9 2006, 12:53 AM)
nah... ipod still a youth icon for now.... some youth told me that.. to be a youth nowadays u need some cool gadgets. 1 of the must buy gadget is ipod. tongue.gif
gadget no 2? a SE phone?

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
sonic_cd
post Jul 9 2006, 01:44 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

true very true , but i`ll say handphone more likely to be found then ipod tongue.gif

now the rumoured phone ... interesting ...
panasonic88
post Jul 9 2006, 09:55 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 08:37 PM)
Specs will be 1Gig internal memory, Expandable up to 4Gig ProDuo.

3G, 2 mega pixel cam.

Silver Stylish look.

Html browser.

Long battery life.

Special music dial.

Walkman player 2.

Stereo speakers.

FM radio.

Announced in Mid July

index will be either w880i or w910i

The specs are freaking cool!!! It has ALL the thing that I want! Design wise is ultimate! I like white colour!

Yeahh no doubt, another "worth-to-wait" phone from Sony Ericsson thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
StratOS
post Jul 9 2006, 10:09 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

i tot this only launch in Japan only.. is SE going to bring this phone in to Malaysia..?
SUSMike3300
post Jul 9 2006, 10:36 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 9 2006, 10:09 AM)
i tot this only launch in Japan only.. is SE going to bring this phone in to Malaysia..?
Why don't they bring in the K750,W800,W550, and W810 Japan type phones to MAS thumbup.gif
StratOS
post Jul 9 2006, 10:48 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone launch by KDDI tat day if im not mistaken..
evilhomura89
post Jul 9 2006, 10:50 AM

5,886 posts

y got so many sticker on it??
can't remove?
rockstar teddy
post Jul 9 2006, 11:03 AM

796 posts

cool phone..im a SE z800i user..my baby might get replaced once dis is out..hehe
kinda matching wit my coming new car..hint hint

This post has been edited by rockstar teddy: Jul 9 2006, 11:03 AM
StratOS
post Jul 9 2006, 11:18 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone not sure coming to Malaysian shores o not yet wor.. but many hope it will lor.. i oso wish it will reach here soon..
kmf123
post Jul 9 2006, 12:04 PM

397 posts

Google translated

Here's the site translated biggrin.gif

user posted imageuser posted image
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 01:50 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

that applies for rich youths only. whistling.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 9 2006, 09:55 AM)
The specs are freaking cool!!! It has ALL the thing that I want! Design wise is ultimate! I like white colour!

Yeahh no doubt, another "worth-to-wait" phone from Sony Ericsson  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
your Sharp time to say bye bye jor?! unsure.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jul 9 2006, 10:50 AM)
y got so many sticker on it??
can't remove?
the sticker is stuck there by the sticky hands of the owner, to them, a phone is nothing. after they get bored get a new one lah. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kmf123 @ Jul 9 2006, 12:04 PM)
Google translated

wow thanks for the link~ thumbup.gif

frankly if it is available here, it'll be hot for a moment den replaced soon by a new one~ sad.gif

ADD: the pink one is to die for!!! wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 9 2006, 01:55 PM
Eddx
post Jul 9 2006, 02:08 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

damn..yesterday nite i'm dreamin of this phone!
feizaiII
post Jul 9 2006, 02:16 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

wow..coool man this phone...the turn turn tat..lik the mp3player by Sony..

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Jul 9 2006, 02:23 PM
Nokia convert
post Jul 9 2006, 03:46 PM

423 posts

What kind of port is this?

It is definitely not fast port. Dun tell me they are gonna stick to their own port again!? doh.gif

Otherwise, the phone's design is definitely a killer man. I would take the white anyday. Like the blue colour light on ther d-pad.

Spec wise....i think the 30 hours playback is the most interesting. Coz by the time this phone is released(or the clamshell version...if they are gonna be released), most high end phones out there already got QVGA, >2.0 MP camera and huge memory. The 30 hour playback is going to be unique.

sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 03:54 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

but the big gaping hole in the center just plain sucks. sad.gif

the pink is to die for~ wub.gif
panasonic88
post Jul 9 2006, 04:00 PM

37,028 posts

The slim, lightweight W42s is Sony Ericsson's latest music phone, featuring a 2.2-inch TFT-LCD display, 1.3-megapixel camera, 1GB of memory, FM tuner, media player, and dedicated music keys. Available in pink, black, or white colors, it goes on sale June 20th in Japan. No word yet on pricing.

Source from techblog.com
Godevil
post Jul 9 2006, 04:08 PM

Engineer
1,226 posts

edited: forgot there r W850.... biggrin.gif

look so cool, doubt tat if it will release here...

This post has been edited by Godevil: Jul 9 2006, 04:20 PM
sonyclie77
post Jul 9 2006, 04:41 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 9 2006, 03:46 PM)

Looks like a common port for Japanese phones, eg Sharp, Panasonic etc...
allvin
post Jul 9 2006, 04:47 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jul 9 2006, 05:08 PM)
edited: forgot there r W850.... biggrin.gif

look so cool, doubt tat if it will release here...
W850 ain't cool like those phones tongue.gif w850 just slide phone. notworthy.gif
kingkong81
post Jul 9 2006, 04:57 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(kmf123 @ Jul 9 2006, 12:04 PM)
Google translated

user posted imageuser posted image
The phone looks cool, but the bottom part spoils it all....
Anyway, SE going to release W850 in 3rd quarter...i suppose, Malaysia version of Japan 880...also a 3G phone, 1G internal memory

The 850i looks 'cun'
kmf123
post Jul 9 2006, 05:16 PM

397 posts

I love the design, very trendy and futuristic

Well done SE rclxms.gif
andrewL
post Jul 9 2006, 05:22 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(kmf123 @ Jul 9 2006, 05:16 PM)
I love the design, very trendy and futuristic

Well done SE rclxms.gif
then its only for a trendy and futuristic country like japan sweat.gif
akxj
post Jul 9 2006, 05:35 PM

1,225 posts

they already announce one slider .. and i think this rumour can be quite true..

same as w550 and w900 =) ..ehehe..the design looks nice ...

hopefully it will be announced faster .. maybe can pull k800's price down! =)
Eddx
post Jul 9 2006, 05:44 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 9 2006, 05:35 PM)
they already announce one slider .. and i think this rumour can be quite true..

same as w550 and w900 =) ..ehehe..the design looks nice ...

hopefully it will be announced faster .. maybe can pull k800's price down! =)
i dun think can pull down k800 price guar...this is music phone wor...
akxj
post Jul 9 2006, 05:46 PM

1,225 posts

well .. it will effect the sales of k800 as well right?
andrewL
post Jul 9 2006, 05:56 PM

633 posts

for sure can effect!!... but this phone wats so chun about the specs?... i oni c a cool design.. can some1 point out the main attractive specs pls?
SUSMike3300
post Jul 9 2006, 06:05 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 9 2006, 05:46 PM)
Good for it! By then we can buy K800 already cos the price was cooked! rclxm9.gif
allvin
post Jul 9 2006, 06:26 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Jul 9 2006, 06:44 PM)
i dun think can pull down k800 price guar...this is music phone wor...
Yep! me too.

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 9 2006, 06:46 PM)
Just take W900 for an example. The price is very stable tongue.gif Maybe the price will drop a tiny lit bit tongue.gif
akxj
post Jul 9 2006, 07:54 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jul 9 2006, 07:05 PM)
Good for it! By then we can buy K800 already cos the price was cooked! rclxm9.gif
lol .. the thing is .. i wanna get the k800 asap .. i've been waiting for 8 months already..

when 8 months ago i could have get a new phone ..

QUOTE(andrewL @ Jul 9 2006, 06:56 PM)
for sure can effect!!... but this phone wats so chun about the specs?... i oni c a cool design.. can some1 point out the main attractive specs  pls?
hmm ..well . .it has a great design .. and i somehow feel that .. there will be more to the phone than listed by the thread starter ..

you see .. w850 has almost the same specs .. and i'm quite sure SE wont announce one phone with the same spec .. the only difference is that this phone has 1 gig of internal memory .. i'm guessing.. this phone has a better camera ..but somehow .. SE said that they want to seperate the walkman class from the camera phones ..

so .. lets see what comes out ..

This post has been edited by akxj: Jul 9 2006, 07:57 PM
Eddx
post Jul 9 2006, 08:40 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

I think the main attractive could be the navigation and special music button
allvin
post Jul 9 2006, 09:14 PM

4,506 posts

Hmm.. K800 and W850 ain't attract me... For those who own 2Mpx phone cam, K800 just an improve version. K800 still cant beat 3-4Mpx digicam. That's my opinion anyway. icon_rolleyes.gif

But those cool japanese phones, really attract me. tongue.gif The design very cool, suitable for teen rclxm9.gif
allvin
post Jul 9 2006, 09:15 PM

4,506 posts

<edit>
Sorry 2x post (lagging just now sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by allvin: Jul 9 2006, 09:15 PM
feizaiII
post Jul 9 2006, 09:20 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

go though japan site really much diff from here...
cant found w800i there....outdated? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Jul 9 2006, 09:20 PM
TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 09:22 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jul 9 2006, 09:20 PM)
go though japan site really much diff from here...
cant found w800i there....outdated? sweat.gif
W800i is pure Sony Ericsson Internatinal design. take note japanese don't like candy bar phone. tongue.gif
feizaiII
post Jul 9 2006, 09:28 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 9 2006, 09:22 PM)
W800i is pure Sony Ericsson Internatinal design. take note japanese don't like candy bar phone. tongue.gif
huh..izzit...w800i look lik candy?? thn only those w24s suit them lo...haiixx...so bad..we also not lik candy phone de,but no choice...

TSfulat
post Jul 9 2006, 09:39 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jul 9 2006, 09:28 PM)
huh..izzit...w800i look lik candy?? thn only those w24s suit them lo...haiixx...so bad..we also not lik candy phone de,but no choice...
candy bar ok what... i personally like candy bar....
pukarix
post Jul 9 2006, 09:42 PM

1,053 posts

who doesnt like candy?unless u r too old n u hav to stay away from candies smile.gif ...

personally,this is the first phone(not candy bar like phones) that looks good...seriously...
feizaiII
post Jul 9 2006, 10:05 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

candy good...but hi-tech more good mah..lik the phone in this tread...Hi-Tech look
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 9 2006, 10:07 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

breakthrough in SE's design department, can put it this way. laugh.gif

the pink is to die for... yes i've said it loads of times. i think i've fallen in love. wub.gif

ADD: did ya people notice the best functional phones are mostly in candy bar design?! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 9 2006, 10:07 PM
StratOS
post Jul 9 2006, 10:17 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone really is Sony's Walkman phone sucessor maybe.. laugh.gif got the look and style..
allvin
post Jul 9 2006, 11:29 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 9 2006, 11:17 PM)
this phone really is Sony's Walkman phone sucessor maybe.. laugh.gif got the look and style..
The design got W900/S700 looks rclxm9.gif But it's a slider phone laugh.gif
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 12:04 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jul 9 2006, 11:29 PM)
The design got W900/S700 looks rclxm9.gif But it's a slider phone  laugh.gif
slider good ma..SE's second slider..correct me if i'm wrong icon_rolleyes.gif
feizaiII
post Jul 10 2006, 12:10 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

i wish to try slider...haven try such slider phone...
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 12:11 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jul 10 2006, 12:10 AM)
i wish to try slider...haven try such slider phone...
especially SE's slider drool.gif
allvin
post Jul 10 2006, 01:13 AM

4,506 posts

I had try nokia slider. Ok ok.. Forgot what model, my uncle used that. So i try try! ntg much... Still prefer swivel brows.gif Or candybar for easy use biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Jul 10 2006, 01:16 AM
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 02:01 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jul 10 2006, 01:13 AM)
I had try nokia slider. Ok ok.. Forgot what model, my uncle used that. So i try try! ntg much... Still prefer swivel brows.gif Or candybar for easy use biggrin.gif
i tried nokia n80 n 6280...i'm looking forward to SE slider especially this 1 if it's slider drool.gif
akxj
post Jul 10 2006, 05:33 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 9 2006, 11:07 PM)
breakthrough in SE's design department, can put it this way. laugh.gif

the pink is to die for... yes i've said it loads of times. i think i've fallen in love. wub.gif

ADD: did ya people notice the best functional phones are mostly in candy bar design?! sweat.gif
for the best functions in a phone .. they need more space ..

in a candy bar .. they will have the most space in the smallest size ..

say like .. for w900 .. the autojack swivel thingy takes alot of space .. also .. as the screen jacks out .. not all things can be stored there .. hmm .. you get what i mean right?

so thats why .. candy bars definately has the best functions and capable of being the smallest..
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 07:43 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 10 2006, 05:33 PM)

say like .. for w900 .. the autojack swivel thingy takes alot of space .. also .. as the screen jacks out .. not all things can be stored there .. hmm .. you get what i mean right?

so thats why .. candy bars definately has the best functions and capable of being the smallest..
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif ..u got a point there
akxj
post Jul 10 2006, 07:44 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Jul 10 2006, 08:43 PM)
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif ..u got a point there
eheh .. i oso learn from my friend 1 =)
StratOS
post Jul 10 2006, 07:44 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

i wan to try SE slider phone once lor.. i really want.. laugh.gif if this is not releasing in M'sia maybe will get w850 lor..
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 10 2006, 07:54 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 10 2006, 05:33 PM)

yeap, i gotcha~ laugh.gif to accomodate more stuff sure need more space. fancy designs serves as pleasure to the eyes only.
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 08:25 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 10 2006, 07:54 PM)
yeap, i gotcha~ laugh.gif to accomodate more stuff sure need more space. fancy designs serves as pleasure to the eyes only.
such as lg's chocolate..design only nice..but when come to function...
igor_is300
post Jul 10 2006, 08:48 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

in case you're wondering, no that's not porn. that's someone sleeping~ tongue.gif

Yeah Jog-Dial applies only in Japan laugh.gif

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Jul 9 2006, 12:49 AM)
hmmm, a lot of people also complain why 10 megapixel Samsung not available in Malaysia. laugh.gif

so no point lah. there are a lot of other SE Japan models out there whom we do not know.
They are leaping 3-5 years ahead. They got the 1st autofocus camphone, CCD cam, very-very large screen with QVGA ( at least 2.2 inch ), Face recognition, Barcode reader, Mobile wallet a.k.a FeliCa, Nice GUIs and many more.
akxj
post Jul 10 2006, 08:49 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jul 10 2006, 09:48 PM)
Yeah Jog-Dial applies only in Japan laugh.gif
They are leaping 3-5 years ahead. They got the 1st autofocus camphone, CCD cam, very-very large screen with QVGA ( at least 2.2 inch ), Face recognition, Barcode reader, Mobile wallet a.k.a FeliCa,  Nice GUIs and many more.
Japan is like ..years ahead of us .. =/
Eddx
post Jul 10 2006, 09:35 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 10 2006, 08:49 PM)
Japan is like ..years ahead of us .. =/
u mean wayyyy
2kia
post Jul 10 2006, 10:34 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

errr..wat's a jog dial keypad?
akachester
post Jul 10 2006, 11:49 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Yea...i also wanted to know..
eel
post Jul 11 2006, 02:31 PM

So many people like this model kah?
akxj
post Jul 11 2006, 06:39 PM

1,225 posts

jog dial is like the thing they use in w950 =)

i oso not that sur ehow it works actually..
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 11 2006, 08:07 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

for you guys info, the navigation pad used on this phone (see the scroller and left and right?!) is the jog dial. smile.gif as igor_is300 kindly pointed out, it's common in Japan. hope they bring it in here. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Jul 11 2006, 08:11 PM
StratOS
post Jul 11 2006, 10:10 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

ask my uncle go japan bring in.. but locked 1 later.. laugh.gif
post Jul 11 2006, 10:34 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 9 2006, 03:46 PM)

It is definitely not fast port. Dun tell me they are gonna stick to their own port again!? doh.gif

Otherwise, the phone's design is definitely a killer man. I would take the white anyday. Like the blue colour light on ther d-pad.

Spec wise....i think the 30 hours playback is the most interesting. Coz by the time this phone is released(or the clamshell version...if they are gonna be released), most high end phones out there already got QVGA, >2.0 MP camera and huge memory. The 30 hour playback is going to be unique.
that is not their own port dude, phones in japans are using that same port as standard. anyway this is a JP phone, hence the standard port design.

u can notice the likes of nec,sharp/toshiba phones here e.g 802sh,902sh,903sh,904sh,904T,903T,902T,803T etc sports the same port for handsfree/audio.

StratOS
post Jul 11 2006, 10:36 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

if got tat port i wan o.. i think it fits to sharp and toshiba phones.. same port oso ma..
ryosuke
post Jul 13 2006, 07:47 PM

1,142 posts

hua...no phones announce today cry.gif sad.gif
panasonic88
post Jul 13 2006, 07:59 PM

37,028 posts

vixen, the flip SE is so nice! sad.gif cry.gif *I wan!!*
Our SE Z range cannot beat it!!
akxj
post Jul 13 2006, 08:09 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Jul 13 2006, 08:47 PM)
hua...no phones announce today  cry.gif  sad.gif
no phone announce today?

whats on today?
TSfulat
post Jul 13 2006, 08:10 PM

8,472 posts

Sony Ericsson More than Doubles Year-on-Year Income Before Taxes

Sony Ericsson today reported the Q2 highlights with continued sales & volume growth, success of Walkman phones continues and the launch of first Cyber-shot phone

The consolidated financial summary for Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB (Sony Ericsson) for the second quarter ended June 30, 2006 is as follows:

Units shipped in the quarter reached 15.7 million, a 33% increase compared to the same period last year, and generated an increase in market share both on a year-on-year and sequential basis. Sales for the quarter were Euro 2,272 million, representing a year-on-year increase of 41%. Income before taxes was Euro 211 million representing a year-on-year increase of 143%. Net income was Euro 143 million.

Sony Ericsson continued the momentum of the first quarter by shipping three new Walkman branded phones, the W300, W700 and W42S as well as announcing two new stylish Walkman models: the W850, a tri-band/UMTS slider phone, and the quad-band EDGE W710, the first sports Walkman® with pedometer and jogging applications. The quad-band EDGE W810 Walkman® phone, a follow-up to the popular W800, became a big success during the quarter and continued to build the company's position as a leader in mobile music. This was further enhanced by the shipment of the W42S for KDDI, the first Walkman® branded phone for the Japanese market.

Following the successful introduction of the Walkman® brand to the mobile phone market last year, the company started shipping the K800, Sony Ericsson's first Cyber-shot branded 3.2 Megapixel camera phone, bringing an instantly recognisable Sony camera brand to its high-tier imaging products. In Japan, Sony Ericsson increased its line up of FOMA(tm) phones for NTT DoCoMo to three, with the shipment of the SO702i and SO902iWP+.

"The second quarter has seen Sony Ericsson both announce and start to ship a wide variety of products confirming the company's ability to compete, capture market share and profitably grow the business. With a product line-up that includes a broad range of both basic and feature phones, Sony Ericsson is now in a position to broaden its customer base in all market regions and customer segments," said Miles Flint, President of Sony Ericsson.

R&D investment continued to increase to support further expansion of the portfolio in 2007 and marketing expenditure also increased as new products, such as the K610, K800 and the eagerly awaited M600 Symbian OS messaging phone entered the market towards the end of the quarter. Average Selling Price (ASP) declined slightly sequentially, due to a greater proportion of low-priced models, such as the J100, J220 and J230 shipping in volume.

Growth in the global handset market continued to outpace expectations, and Sony Ericsson now forecasts the global market outlook for 2006 to be above 950 million units, up from the previous estimate of "above 900 million units".

source by esato.com

Eddx
post Jul 13 2006, 08:38 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

seems we won't get the phone?
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 13 2006, 08:51 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 13 2006, 07:59 PM)
vixen, the flip SE is so nice!  sad.gif  cry.gif  *I wan!!*
of coz it's nice. it's from Japan. and no lousy so called antenna from the Z series. laugh.gif
ryosuke
post Jul 13 2006, 10:53 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jul 13 2006, 08:09 PM)
no phone announce today?

whats on today?
cause according to the rumors, today suppose to announce a new flip phones...z800 successor/miyu ....so the rumors not true loh sad.gif
igor_is300
post Jul 13 2006, 11:35 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 13 2006, 07:59 PM)
vixen, the flip SE is so nice!  sad.gif  cry.gif  *I wan!!*
Well, it just a glimpse of many great Japanese flip SE models.

Let's have a look at their old December 2003 model.

Source: http://k-tai.impress.co.jp

A5404S for KDDI AU by Sony Ericsson.

1.3mpx CCD Cam, 2.3 inch QVGA 262k colours, Memstick Duo

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Hmm, fancy a jog dial ?

Memory Stick Duo in 2003 ? I bet we're still bragging how good our T610 was, lol

The UI interface

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Jul 13 2006, 11:41 PM
CreamMilk
post Jul 14 2006, 12:06 AM

486 posts

jealous... sad.gif
how come japanese phones are so nice cry.gif
so sad man, i don think this freaking cool handset will be available outside japan cry.gif
StratOS
post Jul 15 2006, 10:33 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

juz go and stay in JPN and u can get all these phones liau lor.. buit the living cost there is too expensive..
evilhomura89
post Aug 4 2006, 11:34 PM

5,886 posts

so still no news abt the phone released internationally??
akachester
post Aug 5 2006, 12:09 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Saw this at mobile88 today..

http://www.mobile88.com/mobilegallery/prev...t=24&path=40,24
StratOS
post Aug 5 2006, 12:23 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone is CDMA wor.. so means here cannot use lor.. but reallt hope SE will bring it here..
stephnkong
post Aug 5 2006, 12:51 PM

220 posts

Wow very stylish~ looks like w550 laugh.gif

I like this phone especially the walkman button! tongue.gif
evilhomura89
post Aug 5 2006, 12:55 PM

5,886 posts

the cam only 1.3MP??
i thought it should be at least 2MP

bluetooth also dun hav??
design is good....too many essential gone

This post has been edited by evilhomura89: Aug 5 2006, 12:56 PM
StratOS
post Aug 5 2006, 06:19 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

well.. its a walkman phone so u cannot complaint bout the camera is only 1.3mp lor.. no bluetooth ka..? i not sure bout tat...
deadman8836
post Aug 6 2006, 03:12 AM

464 posts

a nice walkman phone without a bluetooth function would be suck... hope this ain't good to be true... haha...
StratOS
post Aug 9 2006, 09:41 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

well.. dun really mind the bt if the phones tat cooll.. laugh.gif i oso very lil use BT..
TSfulat
post Aug 9 2006, 09:48 PM

8,472 posts

this is the rumous.... 80% comfirm sweat.gif replacement for Z1010. should called Z610.
StratOS
post Aug 9 2006, 10:19 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

z1010... yuck..!! i hate tat phone.. laugh.gif 1st SE 3g phone rite if im not mistaken..?
farro
post Nov 23 2006, 12:51 AM

a certified newbie who spams a lot
1,914 posts

the design is nice...but it looks bulky...
SUSradical85
post Nov 23 2006, 03:32 AM

lalala~~
625 posts

the colour n design seems really nice though, dont mind getting it if its not too heavy n bulky smile.gif
mofonyx
post Nov 23 2006, 03:47 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

It looks like crap if it looks big in real life, which most probably is.

But if it fits well into my hand, it should be awesome.

I doubt Japanese phones ever go into the worldwide market. sux0rz.

farro
post Nov 23 2006, 04:08 AM

1,914 posts

owh..the colors are nice...but the color only la tongue.gif
StratOS
post Nov 23 2006, 11:50 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

its small like w550 only.. not really bulky..
MADReaLJL
post Nov 23 2006, 11:58 AM

4,050 posts

but wif no BT, less people buy
like w550, cool but no memory card, so not much people into it
ysyeo
post Nov 23 2006, 12:37 PM

241 posts

anyway all those in japan is much more nicer compare to m'sia...the sad case if we brought from there we can't unlocked here right?? for bt most of the phone should be have for now...
michael9413
post Nov 23 2006, 01:21 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well they are using CDMA not GSM...
so it is not possible to use la..

farro
post Nov 23 2006, 01:57 PM

1,914 posts

dis fon got no BT ?really?what kind of memory dis fon use?m2?
MADReaLJL
post Nov 23 2006, 08:44 PM

4,050 posts

relax farro.. juz rumour
i dont think it will have no BT
europology
post Nov 23 2006, 09:17 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

SE is the pioneer of BT technology, impossible they wud exclude it esp for this high end handset.
dreamthief
post Nov 24 2006, 01:55 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Nov 23 2006, 09:17 PM)
SE is the pioneer of BT technology, impossible they wud exclude it esp for this high end handset.
SE is not the pioneer. Ericsson is. But now, Bluetooth is being managed by a neutral entity, Bluetooth SIG.

So it would be possible, but very dumb move for SE if they really do that. W600i was a fine example, no memory card slot, and how many took it up?
farro
post Nov 24 2006, 03:07 AM

1,914 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Nov 23 2006, 08:44 PM)
relax farro.. juz rumour
i dont think it will have no BT
oopsss sorry sir..i thimk dat i just over react
^666^
post Nov 24 2006, 01:41 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

i will certain get my hand on these. pink color. wahahhaa.
europology
post Nov 24 2006, 02:56 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Nov 24 2006, 01:55 AM)
SE is not the pioneer. Ericsson is. But now, Bluetooth is being managed by a neutral entity, Bluetooth SIG.

So it would be possible, but very dumb move for SE if they really do that. W600i was a fine example, no memory card slot, and how many took it up?
i know it's ericsson. but now ericsson merged with sony to become SE, so we'll juz say SE. laugh.gif
ysyeo
post Nov 24 2006, 04:45 PM

241 posts

Huh?? this phone no BT meh...should not be la...sure have BT want la...haha
nowadays most phone have BT liao...
TSfulat
post Nov 24 2006, 04:53 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Nov 24 2006, 02:56 PM)
i know it's ericsson. but now ericsson merged with sony to become SE, so we'll juz say SE.  laugh.gif
Ericsson never merge with Sony la... either way Sony never buy Ericsson over also.

this is a muture agreement from both party that Ericsson will split thier mobile telecommunication device technology out and formed a company which Sony will fund it.

so Sony/Ericsson do not have any direct ownership from Sony Ericsson A/B Communication. Sony still run thier own bzness and Ericsson still around setting up telecommunication for others.
farro
post Nov 24 2006, 05:16 PM

1,914 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Nov 24 2006, 04:53 PM)
Ericsson never merge with Sony la... either way Sony never buy Ericsson over also.

this is a muture agreement from both party that Ericsson will split thier mobile telecommunication device technology out and formed a company which Sony will fund it.

so Sony/Ericsson do not have any direct ownership from Sony Ericsson A/B Communication. Sony still run thier own bzness and Ericsson still around setting up telecommunication for others.
so u meant that SE is runs by Ericsson? rclxub.gif
TSfulat
post Nov 24 2006, 05:18 PM

8,472 posts

Sony Ericsson run by its own. it agree that Ericsson will come out with the technology and Sony will fund and make sales.

so when Sony Ericsson making profit. it will split to Ericsson and Sony. that what i always say... The best European Technology joint venture with 1 of the best branding in the world.
farro
post Nov 24 2006, 05:20 PM

1,914 posts

oic..i got the view..thanx bro
ysyeo
post Nov 25 2006, 12:52 PM

241 posts

@fulat

oic..i thought the merge out liao...haha...thx for ur info biggrin.gif
blinky
post Nov 25 2006, 01:43 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

You mentioned high end clamshell, but looks like a slider to me?
StratOS
post Nov 26 2006, 03:50 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this is a slider model.. the expandable 4gb mspd is very cool ba.. now no money try buy 4gb mspd to try on my p990..
farro
post Nov 26 2006, 03:54 PM

1,914 posts

better to buy 2gb mspd and spend the balance on something else than buying a 4gb mspd..
StratOS
post Nov 26 2006, 04:11 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

wanna try 4gb coz ever heard people saying p990 can support up to 4gb ma.. 2gb too little..
farro
post Nov 26 2006, 07:40 PM

1,914 posts

what are u gonna store in that 4gb?
^666^
post Nov 26 2006, 08:05 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(farro @ Nov 26 2006, 07:40 PM)
what are u gonna store in that 4gb?
dvd quality prawn. whistling.gif
farro
post Nov 26 2006, 08:56 PM

1,914 posts

a dvd quality prawn???
Zer0 c00L
post Nov 26 2006, 08:56 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

QUOTE(farro @ Nov 26 2006, 08:56 PM)
a dvd quality prawn???
he means dvd quality XXX laugh.gif
farro
post Nov 26 2006, 09:00 PM

1,914 posts

i got it...thanx for clarify
claxxion
post Nov 26 2006, 11:26 PM

465 posts

Just asking.. Any new SE coming out soon? Coz dun wanna regret getting my k800i.. lol laugh.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Nov 26 2006, 11:42 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Nov 26 2006, 11:26 PM)
Just asking.. Any new SE coming out soon? Coz dun wanna regret getting my k800i.. lol laugh.gif
No point waiting for a new phone model. Its going to be never ending. There will surely be phones with better specs coming out all the time. When a new phone comes out, it will be expensive. If you wait for the price to drop, then more new phones might be announced.

If you wait, you'll never be getting anything.

I was like you, wanted to get a new phone back in April 2006 but I didn't know what phone to get at that time. There was so many criteria I was looking for that I didn't know what to get. I've been using my Nokia for about 4 years now. No problems so far, dropped it countless times. Still serving me well - just got a new keypad plus Xpress cover today as the old original one is falling apart.

Now, plan get the K800i as well. Probably before end of the year. Should be cheaper by that time as well.
eddiewsk
post Nov 27 2006, 12:25 AM

100 posts

is this true or only rumours?? if this phone gonna come out, i'm gonna get it too
IMAX
post Nov 27 2006, 12:49 AM

445 posts

i tot it is a toy!!!
definately not for bizman, haha
sam240
post Dec 14 2006, 02:39 PM

3,657 posts

Look very nice and good player....depend on what's the need your want for the phone....

Anyway...love it so much
stevenlys
post Dec 14 2006, 05:05 PM

846 posts

IF this phone launch in M'sia i will let go my w850i for this.
panasonic88
post Dec 14 2006, 05:19 PM

37,028 posts

aikss
i think i posted at the wrong thread

but, is AI = W880i??

here is the thing i posted in Sony Ericsson rumours AI or chocolate, is a fact or is a rumour?

=============

yo people
chekc this out
SE AI is getting nearer to us!!!

:: image from esato.com ::
panasonic88
post Dec 14 2006, 05:20 PM

37,028 posts

one more ... repost.

=============

dun drool !!!

the AI = W880i hmm.gif

youngkies
post Dec 14 2006, 05:55 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

i present - another pic

well.. it seems written there.. 2.0 megapixels.. without the autofocus word. sob sob!
TSfulat
post Dec 14 2006, 06:24 PM

8,472 posts

ugly~~~~~~ so ah beng...
youngkies
post Dec 14 2006, 06:26 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Dec 14 2006, 07:24 PM)
ugly~~~~~~ so ah beng...
i got these feeling too.. trying to be futuristic.. but it phailed me! i hv no idea why they want to put so large gap in between keypad, screen, side of phone etc.. looks rough!
panasonic88
post Dec 14 2006, 06:46 PM

37,028 posts

eiiii
no AF and 2mp only
sad.gif sad.gif

well, the best (3.2mp or 5mp) is yet to come!!!
where is my sofia~~~
G-Izzat
post Dec 14 2006, 07:59 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

i'm wondering what the 2 holes at the back of the phone is for.
claxxion
post Dec 14 2006, 08:14 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Dec 14 2006, 07:59 PM)
i'm wondering what the 2 holes at the back of the phone is for.
Should be for the neck strap.. hmm.gif
merajey
post Dec 15 2006, 11:57 PM

454 posts

heerrmm...Ai just look awfull doesn't attract me much!!!better with w950....is it will be better if SE just release their jap phone into worldwide market??i hope the Ai will not be a final design..(rumors don't believe it!!!)
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 16 2006, 12:26 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

i prefer the pics posted by fulat anytime...

... too bad they're not true~ sad.gif
more69
post Dec 16 2006, 06:02 AM

417 posts

can i post this here tongue.gif

panasonic88
post Dec 16 2006, 09:48 AM

37,028 posts

@more69

is that the 2mp cybershot??

so now, which one is AI?

*confusing weii~*
napnap
post Dec 16 2006, 11:52 PM

Validating
168 posts

is a very nice design phone .. but abit bulky and the camera havent upgrade to higher mp ... wat a waste !!!
StratOS
post Dec 20 2006, 07:42 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

so funny design de.. metal finish with k618i design.. laugh.gif
CompDummy
post Dec 20 2006, 08:20 PM

135 posts

WOW!!! u all think it's ugly? I think it's god damn cool!! Unfortunately i just get my W850 not even a month old. But if it's going to be out in July i think i'm going to grab it right away. My main concern with W850 is it's really prone to scratch but with that metal body i think i finally find my best phone biggrin.gif

But now i take a closer look, doesn't it closely resemble the W810i? At least the keypad does.. But since the navigation menu is quite different i think i've no doubt that this is not W810i fitted with a metal cover sweat.gif

This post has been edited by CompDummy: Dec 20 2006, 08:36 PM
shamnemesis
post Dec 20 2006, 10:35 PM

540 posts

the design looks very cool , stereo speakers , 3G and everthing ,i love sony when it comes to music quality
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 10:49 AM

135 posts

UPDATE

Just in case some of you don't know about it yet, this is the confirmed picture leaked by SE during CES 2007 (taken from letsgodigital website)

So it seems that W42s Japanese version won't be W880 after all. Or even worse it might never be released into international market (what a shame for such a cool phone cry.gif ). The upper front part is identical to the one posted by panasonic88 but we don't know the lower/back yet. It's going to be a slim phone which is good but if the keypad is as small as the picture posted by panasonic88 and/or the back part is as ugly as that, then i won't consider it sweat.gif . But back part concern i think they will surely make it somehow "camera-like" especially if you see all the other W series that have camera so far hmm.gif .
panasonic88
post Jan 15 2007, 10:54 AM

37,028 posts

15th liaoooo

no news yet, no news yet ~~!!!!
dEviLs
post Jan 15 2007, 11:14 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

Any idea what model is this? unsure.gif
iRonTech
post Jan 15 2007, 11:16 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

its SE concept phone aka SE Chocolate wink.gif
Saigo
post Jan 15 2007, 12:10 PM

Traveller
635 posts

Yeah, or some fan-made photoshopped pic or something of that sort.
youngkies
post Jan 15 2007, 02:33 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 15 2007, 11:54 AM)
15th liaoooo

no news yet, no news yet ~~!!!!
wont be announced until CeBIT in Feb maybe..
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 06:18 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 15 2007, 11:16 AM)
its SE concept phone aka SE Chocolate wink.gif
first time i see the keypad and screen it reminds me directly to Chocolate lol... anyway it's a nice model but since there's a "Cybershot" wording so i think (if it's real) it would be another K series. Very cool indeed.
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 06:23 PM

135 posts

now that i look closely.. how many side do you think this phone has?? at the supposedly back side, in one picture where the camera lid is closed it only has "Sony Ericsson" on the lid and when it's opened it has the "Sony Ericsson" and logo on the supposedly battery cover and also the "Cybershot 3.2 Mega Pixel" on the camera lid..

Or don't tell me that the back part is also an LCD???

hahaha
0oDURONo0
post Jan 15 2007, 06:53 PM

79 posts

http://www.sonyericsson.com/spg.jsp?cc=glo...m=pp1&pid=10653

This W880 will launch within the first half of 2007

This post has been edited by 0oDURONo0: Jan 15 2007, 06:55 PM
unknowndevices
post Jan 15 2007, 07:02 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(CompDummy @ Jan 15 2007, 06:23 PM)
now that i look closely.. how many side do you think this phone has?? at the supposedly back side, in one picture where the camera lid is closed it only has "Sony Ericsson" on the lid and when it's opened it has the "Sony Ericsson" and logo on the supposedly battery cover and also the "Cybershot 3.2 Mega Pixel" on the camera lid..

hahaha
new way of making dual LCD...front and back... laugh.gif

QUOTE(0oDURONo0 @ Jan 15 2007, 06:53 PM)

wah!...new model from w-series's family coming to our shore... rclxms.gif
CreamMilk
post Jan 15 2007, 07:13 PM

486 posts

so definitely w880 wont be the w42s outlook lor?
youngkies
post Jan 15 2007, 09:19 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Jan 15 2007, 08:13 PM)
yes.. it wont be the w42s look alike..
akxj
post Jan 15 2007, 11:01 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(CompDummy @ Jan 15 2007, 07:23 PM)

hahaha
its not a real phone leh .. its just a concept phone =) there are alot of great looking concept phones outside there actually =)

but if you knew that adi .. then sorry for this reply =)
unknowndevices
post Jan 16 2007, 01:36 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Jan 15 2007, 07:13 PM)
wah!...if really the design is same liked w42s... laugh.gif
sure attracted lots of people... brows.gif
CompDummy
post Jan 16 2007, 09:38 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(0oDURONo0 @ Jan 15 2007, 06:53 PM)

so it's confirmed first half.. wonder which month it's going to be.. after all february and june is also first half biggrin.gif

size: 0 x 0 x 0
weight: 0 oz

call it invisible phone hahahaha sweat.gif
CompDummy
post Jan 16 2007, 04:55 PM

135 posts

UPDATE

It'll be on the second quarter. So prepare to break your piggybank after march and before july biggrin.gif

http://www.mobiletracker.net/archives/2007...son-w880-photos
akxj
post Jan 16 2007, 08:29 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(CompDummy @ Jan 16 2007, 05:55 PM)
UPDATE

It'll be on the second quarter. So prepare to break your piggybank after march and before july biggrin.gif

http://www.mobiletracker.net/archives/2007...son-w880-photos
normally it will be on july =(
sunauto
post Jan 16 2007, 09:32 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The design looks a bit outdated to me, K800i looks better in my opinion. They keypad reminded me of my P900i hmm.gif
StratOS
post Jan 17 2007, 09:13 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

w880 still not very beautiful imo... its juz the 1st SE slim series..
CompDummy
post Jan 17 2007, 09:34 AM

135 posts

yeah.. i'm just worried that the keypad might not fit my finger. But i tried my friend's W810 which keypad is also small but i have no difficulty in typing.. only waiting for the picture of the back part to see if it's as beautiful as other W series (except W950)
StratOS
post Jan 17 2007, 09:52 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

if the keypad is flat like v3i its going to be nice to type.. see when the phone release already then try it..
sunauto
post Jan 17 2007, 10:50 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Better still, I prefer a keypad like LG Chocolate. Hahaha. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 17 2007, 09:52 AM)
if the keypad is flat like v3i its going to be nice to type.. see when the phone release already then try it..
akxj
post Jan 17 2007, 12:13 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 17 2007, 10:52 AM)
erm , over in esato and m-r forum.. the rumoured key pad is damn ugly =/ .. as eldar said himself .. so lets hope the rumours are wrong..
iRonTech
post Jan 17 2007, 01:32 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

In an unusual move for Sony Ericsson, or indeed any mobile phone manufacturer for that matter, the company has released two photographs of a new Walkman phone called the W880. Weirdly, that's it: just two photographs of the top corner and side of the mysterious handset.

so...the rest all rumors?

Source by CNET..

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Jan 17 2007, 01:32 PM
akxj
post Jan 17 2007, 01:49 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 17 2007, 02:32 PM)
so...the rest all rumors?

Source by CNET..
yes .. and i've also seen the photoshopped pic that some says it looks very similar ..and it looks .. UGLY~!!..

This post has been edited by akxj: Jan 17 2007, 01:49 PM
StratOS
post Jan 17 2007, 04:17 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

well.. overall i still dun really like the design lor.. will add more for w810..
youngkies
post Jan 17 2007, 04:50 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jan 17 2007, 02:49 PM)
yes .. and i've also seen the photoshopped pic that some says it looks very similar ..and it looks .. UGLY~!!..
well i believed what u hv seen in called AI, and tat is not photoshopped pic, it is the candid shot of proto unit or rumoured set..

so the sneak peak w880i released by se wont be far away from the rumoured unit
StratOS
post Jan 17 2007, 05:33 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

the design would be slightly different ka..?
youngkies
post Jan 17 2007, 05:37 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 17 2007, 06:33 PM)
the design would be slightly different ka..?
you will never know.. who knows tat SE saw tat much of feedback and change the design... but i guess wont be far from the proto unit.. it is not easy to start all over from the scratch.. maybe just some refinement and final touch up so tat it does looks better when it is announced.. somemore the AI rumoured/proto unit pic are so blur, cant get much details for the finer look as well.. just rough basic looks.. and real unit maybe does look diff and feel diff in ur hand compare to just by looking at pic.. + photographer skill, angle etc will make a phone looks good or bad in pic somemore..

so save all the talk.. wait til Cebit 2007 wont be long from now, guess they will announced it by then..

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jan 17 2007, 05:38 PM
StratOS
post Jan 17 2007, 05:41 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

hmm.. okok... so juz some touch up on the phone la.. i hope they do improve more on the keypad and front design...
limyusiong
post Jan 21 2007, 12:19 PM

2,815 posts

yeah, yihyan previous thread had been closed down n move to here...
0oDURONo0
post Jan 21 2007, 04:53 PM

79 posts

we have Walkman, Cyber-Shot technology on SE phone. Now SE going to put Bravia technology on their phone also.
http://www.sonyericsson.co.jp/product/doco...3itv/index.html
limyusiong
post Jan 22 2007, 12:16 AM

2,815 posts

good, bravia quality le...SE is improving after success on walkman W series and cyber shot K series....c wat nokia doing????stil stay step on their wat symbian and design never improve at all...
unknowndevices
post Jan 22 2007, 12:58 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Jan 22 2007, 12:16 AM)
good, bravia quality le...SE is improving after success on walkman W series and cyber shot K series....c wat nokia doing????stil stay step on their wat symbian and design never improve at all...
wonder why Nokia didn't stress much on specific edition... hmm.gif
by making it have more than three model...
liked SE got walkman and cyber-shot editions... nod.gif
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 09:28 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

coz nokia only manufacture phone ma, while Sony manufacture various kinds of thechs and gadgets ba..
kInOzAwA
post Jan 22 2007, 09:41 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

the design for w880i is a bit dissapointed in SE walkman series. i thought if it was a slim design is great before but see... the keypad design was ugly... blush.gif doh.gif
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 10:18 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yeap.. every1 says tat the keypad is ugly.. so hoping tat SE will change the design or do some touch up lor..
kInOzAwA
post Jan 22 2007, 10:46 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 22 2007, 10:18 AM)
yeap.. every1 says tat the keypad is ugly.. so hoping tat SE will change the design or do some touch up lor..
i wonder what SE was thinking? w850i design quite ok for me... but on the w880i series look like there's nothing special... i dunno when the official specs is out soon it have better than w850i but i bet not many ppl gonna buy this product at least it have special ability and functional than w850i or w900i. I hope that they will lauch a new model like japan's SE w42s. it have better outlook.. and yes this one looks better than w850i... hehe brows.gif icon_idea.gif
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 11:01 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

maybe our need like w42s is not neccesary yet ma.. and maybe out designer not ready to design such phones.. tongue.gif
kInOzAwA
post Jan 22 2007, 12:44 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 22 2007, 11:01 AM)
maybe our need like w42s is not neccesary yet ma.. and maybe out designer not ready to design such phones.. tongue.gif
why? lacks of creativity meh? lol.... should try who knows... biggrin.gif
limyusiong
post Jan 22 2007, 01:00 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Jan 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
wonder why Nokia didn't stress much on specific edition... hmm.gif
by making it have more than three model...
liked SE got walkman and cyber-shot editions... nod.gif
yalo, cant understand their marketing strategy, jus keep on saying connecting people...mayb de onli diversified into 3 series, 5 series, N series like tat lo...

then SE got good marketing segmentation wo, they create W series for walkman lovers, K series for camera fans, P series for business person....they really diversified into diff categories lo...
kInOzAwA
post Jan 22 2007, 01:06 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Jan 22 2007, 01:00 PM)
yalo, cant understand their marketing strategy, jus keep on saying connecting people...mayb de onli diversified into 3 series, 5 series, N series like tat lo...

then SE got good marketing segmentation wo, they create W series for walkman lovers, K series for camera fans, P series for business person....they really diversified into diff categories lo...
SE have very good marketing strategy... they try to make a different from nokia, mostly anticipated for business person.. while some for mid and low range ppl with basic function... smile.gif
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 02:39 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

well.. nokia is juz a copy actually... see SE launched W-series.. not long later.. Nokia with their N-series.. like now nokia n76 looks a like with motorola v3 lagi...
iRonTech
post Jan 22 2007, 02:49 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 22 2007, 02:39 PM)
well.. nokia is juz a copy actually... see SE launched W-series.. not long later.. Nokia with their N-series.. like now nokia n76 looks a like with motorola v3 lagi...
thats the trend... sweat.gif bottom line see who built up better stuff and vs pricing wink.gif
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 02:50 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yea.. strategy from nokia.. copy and fight.. laugh.gif
iRonTech
post Jan 22 2007, 02:55 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 22 2007, 02:50 PM)
yea.. strategy from nokia.. copy and fight.. laugh.gif
from monochrome to color LCD, Bluetooth, then camera, Music, then GPS... don't know what next will built in to the phone. wink.gif

or after technology goes too far, everything back to basic? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Jan 22 2007, 02:56 PM
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 03:03 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yes.. juz a basic phone will do lor.. like now got tv.. how many of us got timw watching the tv if we have sch and work.. laugh.gif
am2244
post Jan 22 2007, 03:15 PM

83 posts

this phone use simcard or not?
G-Izzat
post Jan 22 2007, 03:17 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(am2244 @ Jan 22 2007, 03:15 PM)
what kind of a question is that?

it does use simcard.
StratOS
post Jan 22 2007, 03:23 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

duh... of coz uses simcard.. if not how to call...
lek_e30
post Jan 23 2007, 10:15 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

any prediction on when does this phone release??
CompDummy
post Jan 23 2007, 10:22 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(am2244 @ Jan 22 2007, 03:15 PM)
No it uses a credit card!! biggrin.gif that reminds me of the old days when phone sim card was as big as a credit card haha

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jan 23 2007, 10:15 AM)
I'll put my bucks on this year june.
lek_e30
post Jan 23 2007, 10:35 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(CompDummy @ Jan 23 2007, 10:22 AM)
No it uses a credit card!!  biggrin.gif  that reminds me of the old days when phone sim card was as big as a credit card haha
I'll put my bucks on this year june.
then june I shall wait icon_rolleyes.gif
iRonTech
post Jan 23 2007, 11:01 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jan 23 2007, 10:15 AM)
Soon...as Sony Ericsson W880i Cell Phone FCC Approved

StratOS
post Jan 23 2007, 11:02 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone no new news yet so have to be patient and wait.. tongue.gif
iRonTech
post Jan 23 2007, 03:50 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 23 2007, 11:02 AM)
this phone no new news yet so have to be patient and wait.. tongue.gif

W880i ready by march wink.gif
MADReaLJL
post Jan 23 2007, 04:19 PM

4,050 posts

anyway now i think the w880 is nice.. the 2mp cybershot too, maybe a bit better smile.gif
StratOS
post Jan 23 2007, 04:30 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

the keypad still need to do some touch up.. kinda packed together dun u think..
kInOzAwA
post Jan 23 2007, 05:28 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 22 2007, 02:39 PM)
yeahh... nokia got no idea... hahaha...
wait and see maybe after this they will stop partner with symbian and will using linux like motorola.. who knows.. at least we can see how nokia take part in linux OS thru their N880... laugh.gif
ilikehandphones
post Jan 25 2007, 08:30 AM

378 posts

found a video in youtube with feature the walkman phone u r talking about drool.gif

[YOUTUBEhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHadqIHQ6xE]
youngkies
post Jan 25 2007, 08:38 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

embedded for easy viewing

i got email from se today, regarding competition to be among the first to get/win the w880i.. tat indicates the release wont be long to go... 3GSM barcelona also not long to go too rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jan 25 2007, 09:20 AM
iRonTech
post Jan 25 2007, 10:39 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 25 2007, 08:38 AM)

i got email from se today, regarding competition to be among the first to get/win the w880i.. tat indicates the release wont be long to go... 3GSM barcelona also not long to go too  rclxm9.gif
should be around Feb or March wink.gif

Mostly together with W200
rootified
post Jan 28 2007, 04:33 PM

183 posts

that thing looks like SE WS42 or smtg that was only sold in japan. forgot the correct code for the model though.

saving money for my next phone now. probably this one tongue.gif
CompDummy
post Jan 30 2007, 11:22 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 23 2007, 04:30 PM)
the keypad still need to do some touch up.. kinda packed together dun u think..
Agree.. And i gotta see the back part first before deciding whether to change my current W850i. Say no to ugly phone biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rootified @ Jan 28 2007, 04:33 PM)
that thing looks like SE WS42 or smtg that was only sold in japan. forgot the correct code for the model though.

saving money for my next phone now. probably this one tongue.gif
it's W42s laugh.gif anyway it sure is a nice phone.. but i doubt it would be released worldwide.. if it does then W880 is no question haha
StratOS
post Jan 30 2007, 11:34 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 25 2007, 08:38 AM)

i got email from se today, regarding competition to be among the first to get/win the w880i.. tat indicates the release wont be long to go... 3GSM barcelona also not long to go too  rclxm9.gif
the phone in the video all too good to be true to use it here.. laugh.gif i want 1 too.. icon_rolleyes.gif
youngkies
post Jan 30 2007, 11:42 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

oh ya.. found some reliable news from other forum that w880i is going to be announced/presented to the world on the 8th of February, just few days before the 3GSM event in Barcelona

edit: typo!

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jan 30 2007, 12:15 PM
iRonTech
post Jan 30 2007, 01:18 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 30 2007, 11:42 AM)
oh ya.. found some reliable news from other forum that w880i is going to be announced/presented to the world on the 8th of February, just few days before the 3GSM event in Barcelona

edit: typo!
tot 11th Feb 07?

Source..
CompDummy
post Jan 30 2007, 01:26 PM

135 posts

well, the press release only mention about 3GSM so whether it will really be launched by then or not, only time will tell.. just keep our budget tight till then biggrin.gif
youngkies
post Jan 30 2007, 02:30 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 30 2007, 02:18 PM)
tot 11th Feb 07?

Source..
from what i have read from some reliable forum abt se, the w880i seems will be announced on 8th feb while few more new models going to be announced in the 3GSM..

i am not interested in the w880i, but the other upcoming models drool.gif but my guess, it is just some low-mid range models, or just variance of available models now. for example: a few days after the announcement of w850i, they announced v630 (which is k618i, which is also a variant or face lift of k610i)
iRonTech
post Jan 31 2007, 09:17 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 30 2007, 02:30 PM)
from what i have read from some reliable forum abt se, the w880i seems will be announced on 8th feb while few more new models going to be announced in the 3GSM..

i am not interested in the w880i, but the other upcoming models  drool.gif but my guess, it is just some low-mid range models, or just variance of available models now. for example: a few days after the announcement of w850i, they announced v630 (which is k618i, which is also a variant or face lift of k610i)
maybe they announce SE W712, Z712 nod.gif
youngkies
post Feb 3 2007, 07:46 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

this phone will be unveiled today..

5 winners on the treasure hunt will get the first look and first 5 to own them in uk.. not sure other Europe cities though.. the competition just started here..

and other will get chance to win 10 w880i via online quizzes.. and i am stuck at question 3 tongue.gif sob sob!

ok: officially i quit after 50 mins...

This post has been edited by youngkies: Feb 3 2007, 07:58 PM
CompDummy
post Feb 6 2007, 10:23 AM

135 posts

still no news... but i got an information that some China seller are already market it for the price of roughly RM 1.1K - 1.2K.. Not sure if it's the real deal though..
youngkies
post Feb 6 2007, 10:25 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(CompDummy @ Feb 6 2007, 11:23 AM)
still no news... but i got an information that some China seller are already market it for the price of roughly RM 1.1K - 1.2K.. Not sure if it's the real deal though..
sound impossible... imitation stuff maybe..

look for this few days, it might be released this few days.. it is said that this phone gonna be in the market by end of march.
CompDummy
post Feb 7 2007, 11:45 AM

135 posts

IT'S HERE!!

Check this out

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1895,2090794,00.asp

Seems like the front part has no change which is somehow disappointing for the keypad for me but encouraging for the brushed metal. Back part i still have yet to get the picture.

And by the way, feature-wise they have yet to confirm anything. All we know now is that it will have a TrackID, GPRS, and camera. Still they never mention about any feature that can convince me in changing my 3-months-old W850 hmm.gif . One thing is certain. This phone has no light visualization which i admire from my current W850

LATEST UPDATE

I compared it in SE Singapore website with W850. It adds business card exchange but lacks of photo light, IR port, PC synchronization, radio, light visualization, melody composer, and the memory is downgraded to a mere 10 MB. Not that i would store anything big inside the internal memory but feature wise it's quite discouraging while appearance wise it's exactly the same as the AI model picture posted here some time ago.

MY CONCLUSION

Not for me.. I just get a white cover for my W850 and plan to make it white/black combination brows.gif

This post has been edited by CompDummy: Feb 7 2007, 10:48 PM
alpha0201
post Feb 9 2007, 09:04 AM

¡¡¡llÇ� Çuoƃ �ou s,�Éɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 8 2006, 09:09 PM)
this is how the play/stop button work

The navigation button is the same like Z200.....I guess SE is running out of design
youngkies
post Feb 9 2007, 09:12 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

I think mod shud close this thread.. since the w880i is already announced and there is a thread for it out there.
sonyclie77
post Feb 9 2007, 05:55 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Feb 9 2007, 09:12 AM)
I think mod shud close this thread.. since the w880i is already announced and there is a thread for it out there.
The picture in the 1st thread is not the W880i which has been confirmed.

I guess we should rename this thread instead. smile.gif
QD_buyer
post Mar 17 2007, 07:06 PM

John and Paulâ„¢
2,047 posts

at last the phone is W850i rite? biggrin.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 17 2007, 07:35 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Feb 9 2007, 09:12 AM)
QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Feb 9 2007, 05:55 PM)
The picture in the 1st thread is not the W880i which has been confirmed.

I guess we should rename this thread instead. smile.gif
Topic changed smile.gif
kInOzAwA
post Mar 17 2007, 09:01 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

w42S cannot be used here in malaysia?
panasonic88
post Mar 17 2007, 11:30 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Mar 17 2007, 09:01 PM)
w42S cannot be used here in malaysia?
nope, you can't.
arsenwagon
post Mar 31 2007, 12:10 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

lkol this is just like the bravia phone..cant be used here, but super nice. i think we better not spend time discussing something we cant have in the near future or someone might go bonkers drooling over something he cant touch.
if u visit se japan website u can see all those crazy looking phones.. but im dont visit the site too often ,lest i dream tooo much of something i cant have

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: Mar 31 2007, 12:10 PM
StratOS
post Mar 31 2007, 03:59 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

juz discuss or fun.. at least we know wuts new outside of Malaysia ma.. tongue.gif update ourselves earlier.. tongue.gif
arsenwagon
post Mar 31 2007, 05:27 PM

2,227 posts

lol if theres a reason why i like to live in japan this is it.
StratOS
post Mar 31 2007, 06:34 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

but living in Japan the cost of living very high.. laugh.gif
JAYworm
post Mar 31 2007, 08:07 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 31 2007, 03:59 PM)
juz discuss or fun.. at least we know wuts new outside of Malaysia ma.. tongue.gif update ourselves earlier.. tongue.gif
yalor even i can own alot lenglui but still want to see drool.gif
arsenwagon
post Apr 1 2007, 10:48 AM

2,227 posts

cost of living high but i'd rather be a beggar in japan with this phone than be a rich dude in malaysia with normal phone.. ha just kidding.
NickX04
post Apr 1 2007, 11:13 AM

[LowYat Member]
1,238 posts

damn cool the phone will it coming out it on malaysia....
little cutie
post Apr 1 2007, 11:46 AM

511 posts

haha, then i will be the 1st one to buy this phone!!!
why no such phone for malaysia??!!
i want this kind of cool design !!
haha.
so stylish!!
arsenwagon
post Apr 1 2007, 11:47 AM

2,227 posts

actually this not the coolest.. if u think this is worth dying for then i dunno what u will do when u see the others.
StratOS
post Apr 1 2007, 01:05 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(little cutie @ Apr 1 2007, 11:46 AM)
haha, then i will be the 1st one to buy this phone!!!
why no such phone for malaysia??!!
i want this kind  of cool design !!
haha.
so stylish!!
change ur mind again. dun wan z750 anymore.. ?? laugh.gif theres many more cooler design than this la.. juz find it in japanese website sure got 1.. icon_rolleyes.gif
little cutie
post Apr 21 2007, 02:49 PM

511 posts

haha, i just wan cool design!!
so , i want all of them!!
haha...
ya , there got many cool designs...
jacklsw86
post Apr 21 2007, 07:28 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

at 1st i thought SE finally comes out slimmer hp design such as k550, w880 and w610, now they are back to bulkier design? tongue.gif
StratOS
post Apr 21 2007, 08:34 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

some phone memang need o be bulky 1. some people like me like it.. tongue.gif
KidVin
post Jun 18 2007, 09:49 PM

13 posts

Hmmm.....are there any possible modifications to make it usable here?.....oh, and if I do have W42s and W52s, even if it's locked, can I still use the player solely?Jus like the Walkman phones here....the price, any idea? ( for both W42s W52s )
StratOS
post Jun 18 2007, 10:07 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

u will need a Jpn Simcard to make it work.. and i think model doesnt support GSM so it cant be unlocked..
KidVin
post Jun 18 2007, 10:14 PM

13 posts

Oh? biggrin.gif
Meaning i get the whole thing set up ( the SIM ) before bringing it here?Then it'll work?.....then....that would make me use their network here?haha......can explain more on the Jpn SIM u said earlier?
StratOS
post Jun 18 2007, 10:19 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

U bring the Set in cannot use with our local telco if the phone doesnt support GSM network or if its not unlocked..

With Japanese Simcard u can activate the functions of the phones, coz the phones is locked to Japanese Telco, juz tat u cant send ot receive calls and sms..
KidVin
post Jun 18 2007, 10:36 PM

13 posts

Oh~~.......i get it.....haha.....thx man biggrin.gif.......if it's cheap, then I'll be having them soon^^
khun_khun
post Jun 19 2007, 03:52 AM

Past is history, Today is gift, Future is mystery.
1,698 posts

need to unlock first if want to use it outside japan area.
StratOS
post Jun 19 2007, 09:51 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yeap.. but if no GSM unlock also useless lor..
NOX
post Jul 1 2007, 11:42 AM

278 posts

wow.. really cool phone.. will it be available here? design += W850.. slide phone..

price should be RM1.3k ++.. lol..
post Jul 1 2007, 11:43 AM

Workaholic
2,744 posts

sure better than w850 design
so cool man
but doubt ppl will bring in to msia
StratOS
post Jul 1 2007, 11:53 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

this phone doesnt support GSM, so cant work here.. bring in to Malaysia also cannot support our local telco..
NOX
post Jul 1 2007, 12:40 PM

278 posts

what a disappointment.. great design and function.. much better than w900..
StratOS
post Jul 1 2007, 07:31 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

most japanese phone are CDMA only.. tats the bad part.. useless in M'sia..
lek_e30
post Jul 2 2007, 09:31 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 1 2007, 07:31 PM)
most japanese phone are CDMA only.. tats the bad part.. useless in M'sia..
strictly for 'TAYANG' only whistling.gif

0.0808sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:10 PM