Sony-Ericsson SE Walkman phone ( Japan ), Sony Ericsson W42S

CompDummy
post Dec 20 2006, 08:20 PM

135 posts

WOW!!! u all think it's ugly? I think it's god damn cool!! Unfortunately i just get my W850 not even a month old. But if it's going to be out in July i think i'm going to grab it right away. My main concern with W850 is it's really prone to scratch but with that metal body i think i finally find my best phone biggrin.gif

But now i take a closer look, doesn't it closely resemble the W810i? At least the keypad does.. But since the navigation menu is quite different i think i've no doubt that this is not W810i fitted with a metal cover sweat.gif

This post has been edited by CompDummy: Dec 20 2006, 08:36 PM
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 10:49 AM

135 posts

UPDATE

Just in case some of you don't know about it yet, this is the confirmed picture leaked by SE during CES 2007 (taken from letsgodigital website)

So it seems that W42s Japanese version won't be W880 after all. Or even worse it might never be released into international market (what a shame for such a cool phone cry.gif ). The upper front part is identical to the one posted by panasonic88 but we don't know the lower/back yet. It's going to be a slim phone which is good but if the keypad is as small as the picture posted by panasonic88 and/or the back part is as ugly as that, then i won't consider it sweat.gif . But back part concern i think they will surely make it somehow "camera-like" especially if you see all the other W series that have camera so far hmm.gif .
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 06:18 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 15 2007, 11:16 AM)
its SE concept phone aka SE Chocolate wink.gif
first time i see the keypad and screen it reminds me directly to Chocolate lol... anyway it's a nice model but since there's a "Cybershot" wording so i think (if it's real) it would be another K series. Very cool indeed.
CompDummy
post Jan 15 2007, 06:23 PM

135 posts

now that i look closely.. how many side do you think this phone has?? at the supposedly back side, in one picture where the camera lid is closed it only has "Sony Ericsson" on the lid and when it's opened it has the "Sony Ericsson" and logo on the supposedly battery cover and also the "Cybershot 3.2 Mega Pixel" on the camera lid..

Or don't tell me that the back part is also an LCD???

hahaha
CompDummy
post Jan 16 2007, 09:38 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(0oDURONo0 @ Jan 15 2007, 06:53 PM)
http://www.sonyericsson.com/spg.jsp?cc=glo...m=pp1&pid=10653

This W880 will launch within the first half of 2007
so it's confirmed first half.. wonder which month it's going to be.. after all february and june is also first half biggrin.gif

size: 0 x 0 x 0
weight: 0 oz

call it invisible phone hahahaha sweat.gif
CompDummy
post Jan 16 2007, 04:55 PM

135 posts

UPDATE

It'll be on the second quarter. So prepare to break your piggybank after march and before july biggrin.gif

http://www.mobiletracker.net/archives/2007...son-w880-photos
CompDummy
post Jan 17 2007, 09:34 AM

135 posts

yeah.. i'm just worried that the keypad might not fit my finger. But i tried my friend's W810 which keypad is also small but i have no difficulty in typing.. only waiting for the picture of the back part to see if it's as beautiful as other W series (except W950)
CompDummy
post Jan 23 2007, 10:22 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(am2244 @ Jan 22 2007, 03:15 PM)
this phone use simcard or not?
No it uses a credit card!! biggrin.gif that reminds me of the old days when phone sim card was as big as a credit card haha

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jan 23 2007, 10:15 AM)
any prediction on when does this phone release??
I'll put my bucks on this year june.
CompDummy
post Jan 30 2007, 11:22 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 23 2007, 04:30 PM)
the keypad still need to do some touch up.. kinda packed together dun u think..
Agree.. And i gotta see the back part first before deciding whether to change my current W850i. Say no to ugly phone biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rootified @ Jan 28 2007, 04:33 PM)
that thing looks like SE WS42 or smtg that was only sold in japan. forgot the correct code for the model though.

saving money for my next phone now. probably this one tongue.gif
it's W42s laugh.gif anyway it sure is a nice phone.. but i doubt it would be released worldwide.. if it does then W880 is no question haha
CompDummy
post Jan 30 2007, 01:26 PM

135 posts

well, the press release only mention about 3GSM so whether it will really be launched by then or not, only time will tell.. just keep our budget tight till then biggrin.gif
CompDummy
post Feb 6 2007, 10:23 AM

135 posts

still no news... but i got an information that some China seller are already market it for the price of roughly RM 1.1K - 1.2K.. Not sure if it's the real deal though..
CompDummy
post Feb 7 2007, 11:45 AM

135 posts

IT'S HERE!!

Check this out

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1895,2090794,00.asp

Seems like the front part has no change which is somehow disappointing for the keypad for me but encouraging for the brushed metal. Back part i still have yet to get the picture.

And by the way, feature-wise they have yet to confirm anything. All we know now is that it will have a TrackID, GPRS, and camera. Still they never mention about any feature that can convince me in changing my 3-months-old W850 hmm.gif . One thing is certain. This phone has no light visualization which i admire from my current W850

LATEST UPDATE

I compared it in SE Singapore website with W850. It adds business card exchange but lacks of photo light, IR port, PC synchronization, radio, light visualization, melody composer, and the memory is downgraded to a mere 10 MB. Not that i would store anything big inside the internal memory but feature wise it's quite discouraging while appearance wise it's exactly the same as the AI model picture posted here some time ago.

MY CONCLUSION

Not for me.. I just get a white cover for my W850 and plan to make it white/black combination brows.gif

This post has been edited by CompDummy: Feb 7 2007, 10:48 PM

0.0157sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:18 PM