12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

Dwango
post Nov 12 2017, 01:57 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(uglykidjt @ Nov 11 2017, 07:21 PM)
I no test the top speed...but I always accidentally drive til 180 - 190kmh without knowing...the car is so quiet n stable...at 190kmh the rpm only shows 3000+...i think can easily hit 220kmh...

Just some sharing...when u already at the speed > 110kmh at 6 speed...S Mode...u press the gas hard...it will only downshift one gear to 5th and u feel the acceleration is okok only...

However, if u use the manual mode...u downshift to 4th gear by pressing the +/- button...the response is damn fast...hit the gas hard to bring the rpm to 5000+ only shift up gear....the power of 180hp only able to be fully utilized...and the acceleration is damn fast...!! 5th gear rev til 180kmh and u still can feel the power is there any time...

250Nm torque is another great thing when driving in city below 100kmh...without downshift u also can feel the acceleration power at very low rpm of <3000...

In short...MK3.5 is really a very very enjoyable car no matter in city slow drive or highway speeding...the turbo power kicks in a bit beasty feel unlike other turbo car which is linear output...somebody like linear power output...but not for me...i very enjoy the feeling of sticking my back to the seat when I hit the gas hard on my MK3.5...hehe

Somebody say the turbo power in Focus is linear...but I dun think so...i tested the Hyundai Veloster n Civic...that's what so called linear because u will feel boring on hitting the gas on those turbo cars...

But u won't feel boring by hitting MK3.5 gas pedal...that's called beasty...!!
Beasty... what a nice term to describe the acceleration power of the car. Oh yeah. It's not only with the Mk3.5 but the Mk3 also, "accidentally" hitting 180 km/h without looking at the speedometer. It's easy to reach higher speeds without knowing it because the car is quiet and the great acceleration of the car at the top end. I think I read someone commented last year that the feeling of driving the car at 180 km/h is like 110 km/h though that may be a bit of exaggeration.

Looking at the torque and horsepower of the Mk3.5 I suspect it will surpass the Mk3 not only in terms of acceleration but top speed as well, at least 225 km/h if not 230 km/h. brows.gif The Mk3's top speed was said to be around 220 km/h.

Your body sticking to the seat when you do hard acceleration? The Mk3 also has a bit of that feeling with the DCT. With the high torque from the turbo engine of the Mk3.5 I am guessing the force of your body being pushed back to the seat must be greater. No idea about Hyundai Veloster turbo but I don't think the handling can touch the Ford Focus.

Dwango
post Nov 28 2017, 08:59 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Nov 27 2017, 07:06 PM)
What's the issue with your Focus?  blink.gif

I am keen to look at the new Renault Megane GT (1.6L turbo, 205 PS hot hatch)
Wow, big upgrade there to consider the new Renault Megane GT. I just googled on this model a bit and AutoCar UK did a review by comparing this new Megane GT to the VW Golf GTI and brows.gif Ford Focus, though not the plain Mk3.5 but the ST version. Link to the review is as below.

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars...atch-group-test

This Megane GT is more towards racing as opposed to the more balanced and all-rounder Focus Mk3.5 which is a family car which is also suited for spirited drives. The front seats are the racing type of seats if you look at the shape. The sides of the seat are protruded out from the bottom of the seat right to the top.

From the review, the Megane GT seems to lose to the Ford Focus ST not only in terms of handling but ergonomics. The seating and driving position was said to be not so comfortable when compared to the other two cars. Perhaps you test the car to form your own conclusion if you are interested. Though I don't think the car will be cheap, maybe between RM150k to 200k which will be quite a bit costlier than the current Focus Mk3.5.

The Megane GT will be slightly niche since it's more toward performance/racing rather than a more family-orientated car like the Ford Focus which will have a wider appeal due to the practicality for everyday use, apart from the higher price and other factors like 2nd hand value or maintenance etc. It's just like the Focus ST whereby it won't get much reception mainly due to the higher price apart from the type of crowd that it caters to.
Dwango
post Dec 1 2017, 12:59 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(uglykidjt @ Dec 1 2017, 12:24 PM)
Leg room slightly better than Focus...but the seat and sitting position is not comfortable...although Focus has limited leg room but the sitting position is comfortable...
You are not alone in this. The reviewer of Autocar UK in the link above also felt the same thing.

"But on a more fundamental level, the Renault is also quite seriously flawed. Shallow footwells and closely set pedals force drivers of even average height to sit either more bentlegged or farther from the steering wheel than they might prefer. Rearseat passenger space isn’t great in any case and it takes a secondary hit as a result of the poor front-row packaging. And a back-to-back drive in either the Focus ST or Golf GTI will instantly demonstrate that such an ergonomic faux pas really needn’t be tolerated in 2016. The Focus’s driving position is a bit high but its control layout is good, and the Golf’s are both comfortably beyond reproach."

Dwango
post Dec 1 2017, 01:01 PM

491 posts

I presume the seat of the Megane GT is significantly lower than the Ford Focus which partly contributes to the uncomfortable seating position, apart from the position of the steering wheel and other controls in the car.
Dwango
post Dec 5 2017, 04:00 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Dec 3 2017, 08:44 AM)
I've not drivo/sat the new Megane GT but I sat before on it's current bigger brother which is the Megane RS. Absolute bonkers on the acceleration and it handles although I am just a passenger.
Seating is not going to be comfortable on the Megane RS I recalled as it's Recaro race seat and padding and cushion is lesser. I'll have a look on the younger brother Megane GT once it is here  cool2.gif (just look see look see)  smile.gif
Megane RS. 0-100km/h in 6.0s and 255km/h top speed as listed on the Renault webpage. Most manufacturers will only indicate these data on real performance cars, and looks like the Renault RS is one of them. This one is more suitable for racing on the race tracks than on public roads.
Dwango
post Dec 5 2017, 04:04 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(uglykidjt @ Dec 3 2017, 08:14 PM)
New car lo...just bought 2 months ago...very very very fedup with PJ2...they sent my car dunno go where to repaint...used up my 1/4 tank of petrol...and 40+km extra on odometer after they done...

But who knows...still not fully repaint....SOOOO F*CKING BAD SERVICE..!!
Not sure if PJ2 is the old or new service centre. If the old service centre, the managers there don't last long, usually few months only then change to new one. Previously was a Malay guy who lasted less than a year if I am not mistaken. Now it's a Chinese guy. Not sure how long he will last. From what I see most of these managers have attitude problem. Instead of resolving the problem to the satisfaction of the owner they seem to add fire to it by providing lousy service and bad quality.
Dwango
post Dec 30 2017, 05:57 PM

491 posts

Finally, the cat is out of the bag. The all-new MK4.

I wonder when Ford will start introducing an electric Ford Focus, or at least a hybrid electric motor + petrol just like the higher-end Germans such as BMW. Though I think hybrid may not be Ford's game or forte.
Dwango
post Apr 11 2018, 03:11 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Apr 10 2018, 09:00 AM)
new ford focus
[attachmentid=9719128]
Yes, the new generation Ford Focus was launched in the UK yesterday. Though from the various websites, it appears that only the hatchback can be seen. No sedan version yet. The hatchback looks a bit like the BMW 1 series, especially the rear.

Not too sure when Ford Thailand will start to manufacture this new model and when it will be coming to Malaysia. Perhaps next year?

Dwango
post Apr 12 2018, 04:44 PM

491 posts

Round knob for changing gears??!!

New air-cond vents and much simpler interface without an array of buttons!

https://www.express.co.uk/life-style/cars/9...8-specs-new-car
Dwango
post Apr 13 2018, 07:34 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Apr 12 2018, 09:02 PM)

paultan. org/2018/04/12/new-ford-focus-mk4-wont-be-made-sold-in-thailand/
Thanks for the information and Paul Tan link. Just one word - SHUCKS.
Dwango
post Aug 12 2018, 08:30 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(wkalvin @ Aug 11 2018, 09:16 PM)
Gear shift abnormal, open gear box, checked wiring many times, still unable to identify the root cause...
Your case is abnormal because it is surely not a "still unable to identify the root cause" excuse to have your car in the workshop for 3 months which sounds like bullshit to me. Which service centre is this?

The main reason would be they either don't have they parts to complete the repair or they are trying not to replace a major item such as the whole gearbox to save cost. Other reasons would be incompetent mechanics. To troubleshoot a problem doesn't take 3 months, especially just messing around with some wiring which may just take few hours or 1 day only. The most i give them is 3 days to troubleshoot and identify the problem. Likely your car is sitting at the workshop doing nothing.

This post has been edited by Dwango: Aug 12 2018, 08:31 AM
Dwango
post Aug 20 2018, 09:53 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(wkalvin @ Aug 14 2018, 10:49 AM)
actually they already replaced some of the parts, at first car can't start at all, after many checking (few weeks), then changed BCM, car can start, but shown transmission errors, check wiring again, another few weeks and then changed TCM, still got problems..., checking wiring again....so TBD now
I visit them every week to ensure they follow up, almost every visit I can see 1-2 tech attend my car.
May i ask which service centre is this? 3 months in the workshop and the guys still cannot find out what is the issue with your car is unacceptable. If no parts or waiting for parts, then that can still be accepted although still bad.

This post has been edited by Dwango: Aug 20 2018, 09:53 AM
Dwango
post Aug 21 2018, 09:58 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(wkalvin @ Aug 20 2018, 11:28 AM)
Melaka branch. but there are HQ technician came down to support few times too..
do you know which cc is better?
Okay thanks. So it is the Melaka branch. No wonder you need to wait 3 months and still unable to find out the cause of the problem which sounds pretty much ridiculous to me. Although there are HQ technicians who came down to Melaka to assist, perhaps they do not have the right tools to perform the diagnose. Just a speculation. The Melaka branch should have just get your towed to the KL or PJ branch to have it checked by competent technicians with better knowledge or tools so that it can be resolved more quickly, rather than 3 months. Anyway I guess there are other complications to that arrangement.

Hope you get that sorted out soon. From your case, I guess one can only consider buying Ford passenger cars in Klang Valley only due to incompetent mechanics or technicians, or lack or support or equipment to troubleshoot issues in other states such as Melaka, Ipoh etc.
Dwango
post Sep 11 2018, 08:44 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Sep 10 2018, 08:27 AM)
I've asked with sdac pj before and I was told extended warranty for the clutch tcm don't require us to service with Ford service center. So I stopped servicing at sdac. I've change my clutch after that as well.
Why there is double standards here? Who did you ask at PJ SC? I was told by Khidir that warranty will be void for clutch if I service the car outside.
Dwango
post Oct 1 2018, 10:57 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 29 2018, 01:46 PM)
Was busy with work and traveling so seldom check this forum these days. I have mentioned earlier in this thread that i asked the service advisor at PJ service centre and also called Ford Sime Darby Malaysia customer service about 3 years ago on this warranty issue, whether warranty will be void if the car is sent for service outside of Ford authorized service centres. The answer given at that time was yes, warranty will be void. Reading some of the responses here by other Focus owners suggest that there is indeed double standard. Hence, I wrote in to Ford Sime Darby Auto Connexion Malaysia to ask on this same question. At first they replied via email only asking for my car registration number. They did not answer my question. After about 1 week i replied the email, they didn't respond to my email buy call me instead. Verbally the lady on the phone(from Sime Darby Auto Connexion) mentioned that warranty will not be void if the car is serviced outside. I am just a bit wary because they appear to be reluctant to put it in black and white. Meaning their confirmation is verbally and not written black and white via email which seems to be little unprofessional in my view. In this sense i think there is a possibility they may, i repeat *may* overturn that verbal confirmation which isn't official.

Anyway just for  everyone's information. I am not particularly satisfied with the way Sime Darby is running the show here particularly on vague warranty claims which do not appear to be a confirmed or certain policy printed in say a document or letter etc. I am still undecided whether to continue servicing my car at authorized service centres although they have verbally confirmed on the warranty policy since it is not an official confirmation and there is a risk of them overruling or not honoring it in the future.

They have confirmed on the years together with the mileage(whoever comes first) warranty for the clutch and TCM but I have forgotten, though i have recorded the information in my notebook at the office when the Customer service called me.
Thanks. Those sneaky fellows. That is surely valid because if there is no black and white confirmation, they can always deny later. Looks like I need to continue to service the car at the service centre to be safe. The risk is too high to take as we are talking about few thousand ringgit for the clutch or TCM replacement under the free warranty. Just to save RM100+ ringgit for the maintenance service and then cannot claim RM6k to 10k warranty for the clutch or TCM later would be a huge disappointment.
Dwango
post Mar 17 2019, 07:44 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Nitjinsu @ Mar 17 2019, 05:33 PM)
ALREADY SOLD THE WHITE FORD FOCUS HATCHBACK SPORT+ 2014,NOW THE SALESMAN LEFT 2013 FOF HATCHBACK SPORT+ PRICE CHEAPER 3K..ON THE ROAD ONLY 45k..MY WIFE DECIDED TOYOTA CAMRY 2.4 2008..MORE DURABLE AND COMFORT AND BIG SPACE..DOWN SIZE IS TOO OLD 11 years and HANDLING AND POWER CANNOT LAWAN FORD FOCUS.
Wife or women in general will surely pick bigger car as bigger car = larger space = more comfortable. Not sure about the older Camry 2.4 but the newer Toyota Camry 2.5's power is comparable to the Ford Focus. If on straight road there may be little difference if the Camry lawan the Ford Focus. But when on twisty roads or going up Genting Highlands there will be no lawan ; the handling of the Focus will have the edge and leave the Camry in the dust unless the driver of the Camry is a pro driver with guts of steel.
Dwango
post Jul 27 2019, 11:07 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Jun 14 2019, 11:57 AM)
Just my thoughts.. since many asking about this car..  Ive sold my focus couple of days ago.  It's an awesome car to drive..  No denying in that.. Many new cars even at this year don't even have some features that this mk3 got in 2013..  The interior quality is unmatched for that price range when I bought. After 6 years I had to let go as I've equal frustration too with the reliability of this car. So many warranty claims... Steering rack...  Mounting..  TCM..  Clutch..  Door latches..  Oil seal.. Power window..  And etc...  Although it was mentioned "improved versions” replacements..  But I still find some of the problems are coming back.  I spent quite amount from my pocket too apart from warranty claims. Some parts are not in warranty coverage. Replacements parts are super expensive..  I know it's a conti. Expected... But never thought it will have this much failures.. Limited suppliers here.
Lesson learned.. Ford no longer built tough... 

I just need a reliable car with less bells and whistles..  Cheaper to maintain after warranty over.. Parts that can be sourced cheaper outside..  I don't want to end up in workshop that often with long waiting times for warranty claims and no replacement cars given... Ford Malaysia SDAC really failed here.  Ford Ranger is the only exception...

So I had made decision to sell although at the moment no issues .. drives well after all the repairs... But I don't afford to maintain it further.. Sold..

If you are planning to get one.. It's a superb drivers's car.. Be prepared with $$$$..
May i know at what mileage did you sell the car? Interested to know when all your problems crop up, whether below 60,000km or above 80,000km etc.
Dwango
post Jun 8 2020, 10:53 AM

491 posts

Since the warranty of my Focus 2.0 Mk3 has passed, I was thinking what are the worn out parts to replace to bring the car to almost new condition apart from tyres and suspension.

1. Has anyone changed the leather seats or restore the seats to new condition, including the leather inserts at the door panels? If yes, where and the cost?
2. Apart from the engine mounting, has anyone replaced the transmission mounting? Any improvement in NVH?
3. Has anyone done any other mechanical service to major parts such as engine overhaul etc., and the improvements?
4. Has anyone done ECU remap from reputable companies (if its possible or worthwhile) to increase torque and horsepower without bringing any detrimental effects to the DCT or engine?
5. As for suspension, has anyone changed to a new suspension? If yes what is the brand and the cost, and any perceived improvement in ride and handling?

This post has been edited by Dwango: Jun 8 2020, 10:55 AM
Dwango
post Sep 16 2020, 02:15 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Sep 15 2020, 12:01 AM)
Thoughts on getting used mk2 now? If still want fun driving but with better reliability than mk3. Since it is using an ordinary 4AT, which if im not mistaken, is shared with mazda so it’s quite reliable. Only concern is the rarity of this car.
Mk3 or latest ecoboost 1.5 better. Or older tdci if you want diesel. Those mk2 and older not only doesnt handle as well but the shape of the car is quite ugly too if you ask me. That may be the reason the price is so cheap, I think less than 20k only or maybe close to 10k.
Dwango
post Apr 11 2021, 09:27 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Ang3237 @ Apr 10 2021, 04:49 AM)
Ford focus 2015 hatchback secondhand worth to buy? So hard to find this car
Depends on price and condition. If good condition low price, worth it to buy. Otherwise, no.

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.1089sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:00 PM