19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish V3, Fish that Survived Milleniums

aimank_88
post Mar 5 2014, 01:35 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Mar 4 2014, 11:14 PM)
So this means we need to get written permission to keep these fishes? What if a person already has them? And the LFS that sells them?

I not like these rules.
The rules I think had always been there. Just that no enforcement. I dont think its something for us to worry about. Just take it like this, we know the reason why its banned, and since we practice our ethics of keeping fishes by actually not releasing them into lakes n rivers or whatnot, then we should be fine.
beer8bottles
post Mar 5 2014, 09:50 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Mar 5 2014, 01:35 AM)
The rules I think had always been there. Just that no enforcement. I dont think its something for us to worry about. Just take it like this, we know the reason why its banned, and since we practice our ethics of keeping fishes by actually not releasing them into lakes n rivers or whatnot, then we should be fine.
I think there should be an adoption centre for the fishes. Just like how PAWS / SPCA takes in cats, dogs, rabbits... etc.
I wouldn't mind volunteering. biggrin.gif
aimank_88
post Mar 6 2014, 01:06 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Mar 5 2014, 09:50 PM)
I think there should be an adoption centre for the fishes. Just like how PAWS / SPCA takes in cats, dogs, rabbits... etc.
I wouldn't mind volunteering.  biggrin.gif
Haha good idea. But first off we need tanks. And a lot of them. Lol.
TSgenielee_83
post Mar 6 2014, 08:45 AM

120 posts

maybe we just let one another switch fishes ( adopting) rather than renting a centre with thousand of tanks.
The letric and water bill can be very high.
Later a aba-aba adoption fee is 3x the market value.
aimank_88
post Mar 8 2014, 05:53 AM

383 posts

Hey guys,

I noticed a lump on the lower jaw of my gar. Dunno if its a bruise or something, is it something to worry about?

This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 8 2014, 05:53 AM
kurikuraX
post Mar 12 2014, 11:34 AM

this section is optional
907 posts

Hi guys, anyone from Bangi, Kajang area? got about 20 tails of ghost shrimps and 2-3 tails of culled betta to giveaway. For your fish of course. lol
aimank_88
post Mar 12 2014, 04:44 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 12 2014, 11:34 AM)
Hi guys, anyone from Bangi, Kajang area? got about 20 tails of ghost shrimps and 2-3 tails of culled betta to giveaway. For your fish of course. lol
Too far. Lol
kinglim
post Mar 21 2014, 12:22 PM

halo。。。。
TSgenielee_83
post Mar 21 2014, 07:43 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(kinglim @ Mar 21 2014, 12:22 PM)
halo。。。。
HI, BOSS. nice seeing you here.
aimank_88
post Mar 21 2014, 07:48 PM

383 posts

halo。。。。
Hello! Aiman here. thumbup.gif
antzz
post Mar 22 2014, 11:11 AM

115 posts

halo。。。。
Hi boss, nice to have u here. Meet my dearlings

kinglim
post Mar 22 2014, 01:37 PM

haha.......nice to meet u all here!!!
this is my tank.....Attached Image

This post has been edited by kinglim: Mar 22 2014, 01:40 PM
antzz
post Mar 22 2014, 02:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kinglim @ Mar 22 2014, 01:37 PM)
haha.......nice to meet u all here!!!
this is my tank.....
Hail notworthy.gif

Very nice tank indeed!

Ur two aros dont hv agression issues?
bluswhitehat
post Mar 25 2014, 03:19 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Mar 22 2014, 11:11 AM)
Hi boss, nice to have u here. Meet my dearlings

Boss, your aro doesnt jump out of the fiber glass tank meh?
antzz
post Mar 25 2014, 04:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(bluswhitehat @ Mar 25 2014, 03:19 PM)
Boss, your aro doesnt jump out of the fiber glass tank meh?
All tanks covered at night nod.gif
aimank_88
post Mar 27 2014, 05:40 AM

383 posts

Hi, since this thread is somewhat dead, and I cant sleep, and im a fish freak, here is a chronological story of my channa tank.

First off, went to LFS to get some driftwoods and slow plants

Driftwoods:

Got my 3 x 1.5 x 1.5ft clear glass tank from amirolzaris for a bargain.

After initial lazy setup with only a java fern:

Using 2 filters, a top filter and a canister (SunSun). Top filter purely sponges, whereas canister with bio rings, aquaclay for the bacteria colony.

Since it was too boring, went back to the LFS and bought some more plants, java ferns and anubias. Also got some nirox almond leaves to have blackwater.

Left the tank for 12 days for a proper fishless cycle, and also for the bacteria colony to properly adapt.

Rounghly 2 weeks, after doing some research, apparently my lighting is not sufficient for the plants in the tank, plus the blackwater makes the light even harder to penetrate to the bottom.

Stumbled upon wei jie's planted tank thread here in LYN so contacted him for some plants n proper lighting. Got him a plant n ordered java moss 10cm x 10cm fro him. Lights put on hold for a few days as it costs quite a bomb, Aquazonic T5HO 24wx4tubes 2.0 ft.

Added new plant, Sagittaria Subulata (left)

After got the lights + java moss, voila:

aimank_88
post Mar 27 2014, 05:42 AM

383 posts

Then starts the search for channa. Wanted bleheri but had that before. So after poisoning my mind on the species of dwarf snakeheads out there, decided on looking for a channa assam @ andrao. Asked Bluegrass Aquatics to source it out (thanks to fellow forumers on whatsapp group tongue.gif), they have quite a few juvi's going for RM25 each. So ordered the healthiest male n female n had to wait for 2 days.

Upon arrival:

Supposedly Male

Female

Acclimitaze them for about 20 mins, then released them into their wilderness

After more thorough research, apparently they need a proper temp of at least 24C for them to really thrive. Current temp is at 29C, and on hot days can go up to 31C. So this is a big no-no. Asked Luqee for some DIY ideas and he proposed of putting 2 pc fans, DIY-ed connected to acdc adaptors.

After a day or two, i got the temp down to 24C average, overnight with the aircond on lowest recorded temp was 21.5C.

Then after a few days, due to my prompt LFS shopping instincts, bought some more plants. doh.gif

The shrubs on the left:

Dunno whats this

No idea icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 27 2014, 05:43 AM
aimank_88
post Mar 27 2014, 05:44 AM

383 posts

After a week or so, the channas started to really blend in, with its diet mainly on sinking pellets and ghost shrimps:

And also due to the stable temp on the tank within its recommended range, their colors start to be more vibrant:

They've grown for about 1.5cm now after 3 weeks, and latest pic:

Sekian sahaja posting saya pada hari ni.

Inb4 Primitive Fish is my diary and Genie dont mind. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by aimank_88: Mar 27 2014, 05:47 AM
Matthewksexy
post Apr 8 2014, 08:58 AM

185 posts

this tread is so quite!!!!
aimank_88
post Apr 8 2014, 09:47 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Matthewksexy @ Apr 8 2014, 08:58 AM)
this tread is so quite!!!!
Ok update.

Just got a green terror cichlid imported from Seremban thx to awansakti. thumbup.gif

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:30 AM