Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v14, KitKat is Here But with Side Effects

Andrewtst
post Jan 14 2014, 10:54 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,780 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jan 14 2014, 10:38 PM)
Paiseh, what's the fix for auto brightness ah
If you at X-Note 7.0, then you need to install that auto brightness fix as original had been broken by the developer.
h11g
post Jan 14 2014, 10:57 PM

2,114 posts

ok guys i managed to connect my pebble to kit kat rom. must unpair everything else and repair them
clfoong
post Jan 14 2014, 10:57 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 14 2014, 10:50 PM)
Won't but from future, any day you plan to root will trip.

Also after update to this KitKat,  they is no way to downgrade to older any 4.3 ROM as your bootloader already update to newer which currently only that 4.4.2 Poland ROM work.
Thanks for the Clarification tongue.gif
Maybe I should wait X-Note team, see if they succeeded to maintain old bootloader to upgrade KK...One of them just bricked his phone tried to skip bootloader..
Andrewtst
post Jan 14 2014, 10:59 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,780 posts

QUOTE(clfoong @ Jan 14 2014, 10:57 PM)
Thanks for the Clarification  tongue.gif
Maybe I should wait X-Note team, see if they succeeded to maintain old bootloader to upgrade KK...One of them just bricked his phone tried to skip bootloader..
Ya, I seen. I hope they can do for either bootloader, old or new, else later I can't use. tongue.gif
Superman7
post Jan 14 2014, 11:33 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jan 14 2014, 10:57 PM)
ok guys i managed to connect my pebble to  kit kat rom. must unpair everything else and repair them
Kitkat giving problems to Pebble ka? sweat.gif
xbbshampoo
post Jan 14 2014, 11:51 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

from this source. the uploader mention that the flashing process won't trip the knox's counter. might try it later brows.gif

This post has been edited by xbbshampoo: Jan 14 2014, 11:51 PM
keagan
post Jan 14 2014, 11:52 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 14 2014, 10:50 PM)
I wish I have evidence of the symptom(like taking photos of it). Sometime it happens, sometime it doesn't. Dunno the people at the service center will believe me :\
i had the greenish effect thingy before when using my note 1 after the firmware upgrade. its like suddenly the colors got inverted and everything turned green and white turns blue and also only happens from time to time... something like polarized effect.. i managed to fix it by doing a hard reset which the matter went away and never came back again..maybe you can try that
Superman7
post Jan 14 2014, 11:57 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Jan 14 2014, 11:51 PM)
from this source. the uploader mention that the flashing process won't trip the knox's counter. might try it later  brows.gif

doesn't seem like he's showing anything on the video about knox either.
This is just a normal PC Odin. Nothing fancy.

confuzan
post Jan 15 2014, 12:04 AM

1,121 posts

i think most people are confused whether this will trip knox or not.

flashing the official ROM will not trip knox.

it is when you are on kitkat and you root, it will trip knox because of the new bootloader.
Andrewtst
post Jan 15 2014, 12:26 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,780 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Jan 15 2014, 12:04 AM)
i think most people are confused whether this will trip knox or not.

flashing the official ROM will not trip knox.

it is when you are on kitkat and you root, it will trip knox because of the new bootloader.
Yalo, a lot still unsure or don't get it.

Here attached scenario on when the knox get trip or not.
  • Flash stock ROM officially or not - won't trip knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ1 or older - root won't trip knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ7 or later - root will trip the knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ1 but later officially updates to MJ7 and later - root will trip the knox.
  • Officially at MJ1 and update any firmware exclude KitKat ROM using Mobile Odin - root will remain and won't trip the knox.
  • KitKat cannot update via Mobile Odin as new bootloader required and will trip the knox once you root it only.
  • Install any custom recovery and custom kernel will trip the knox.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 15 2014, 12:44 AM
waveweaver
post Jan 15 2014, 03:05 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Jan 14 2014, 09:03 PM)
was wondering,

i`m on stock mj7, no root.

if i update to kitkat, how can i retain my apps and data in my phone?

or if it will wipe my apps, how can i restore or  backup without ROOT?
If you're on stock MJ7...you can straight away flash the Poland official stock firmware via Odin.
It won't trip Knox and your apps will still be intact..I think.

Though it good if you make a full wipe after flashing major update...ICS > JB > KK
gin&tonic
post Jan 15 2014, 06:32 AM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 15 2014, 12:26 AM)
Yalo,  a lot still unsure or don't get it.

Here attached scenario on when the knox get trip or not.

• Flash stock ROM officially or not - won't trip knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ1 or older - root won't trip knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ7 or later - root will trip the knox.
  • Officially phone came with MJ1 but later officially updates to MJ7 and later - root will trip the knox.
  • Officially at MJ1 and update any firmware exclude KitKat ROM using Mobile Odin - root will remain and won't trip the knox.
  • KitKat cannot update via Mobile Odin as new bootloader required and will trip the knox once you root it only.
  • Install any custom recovery and custom kernel will trip the knox.

Bro what custom recovery version are u using for KittyKat? biggrin.gif
WiLyi
post Jan 15 2014, 07:03 AM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 15 2014, 06:32 AM)
Bro what custom recovery version are u using for KittyKat?  biggrin.gif
So far only chenglu Cwm recovery works on kitkat
gin&tonic
post Jan 15 2014, 07:05 AM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 15 2014, 07:03 AM)
So far only chenglu Cwm recovery works on kitkat
Thx bro. Hope have more kitkat custom recovery update soon. smile.gif
TSantt00
post Jan 15 2014, 07:56 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(clfoong @ Jan 14 2014, 10:57 PM)
Thanks for the Clarification   tongue.gif
I don't think it is possible, If use old bootloader cannot boot. Mix old and new bootloader like me and soloilmeglio total brick.

At least now i know how to brick my phone . tongue.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Jan 15 2014, 08:12 AM
gin&tonic
post Jan 15 2014, 08:30 AM

4,874 posts

Notice on KittyKat my ram usage is higher than X-Note v7. sad.gif
No idea why? rclxub.gif Battery still too premature to determine.
WiLyi
post Jan 15 2014, 08:37 AM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 15 2014, 07:56 AM)
I don't think it is possible, If use old bootloader cannot boot. Mix old and new bootloader like me and soloilmeglio total brick.

At least now i know how to brick my phone . tongue.gif
Solo decided to send his device to service center. Seems like it will be a long wait before X-Note 8.0 is released

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 15 2014, 08:30 AM)
Notice on KittyKat my ram usage is higher than X-Note v7.  sad.gif
No idea why?  rclxub.gif Battery still too premature to determine.
Really? I thought everyone is saying there is less consumption on RAM hmm.gif

This post has been edited by WiLyi: Jan 15 2014, 08:38 AM
TSantt00
post Jan 15 2014, 08:42 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 15 2014, 08:30 AM)
Notice on KittyKat my ram usage is higher than X-Note v7.  sad.gif
No idea why?  rclxub.gif Battery still too premature to determine.
Maybe you got too many things running in background. Kitkat frees up more ram from the system but eventually it will still be used up if you keep to many things running theoretically. tongue.gif

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 15 2014, 08:37 AM)
Solo decided to send his device to service center. Seems like it will be a long wait before X-Note 8.0 is released
Really? I thought everyone is saying there is less consumption on RAM  hmm.gif
Yeah i also will be sending mine in today. Thanks to Andrewtst for extracting for me some bootloader files but like solo it still did not work.

This post has been edited by antt00: Jan 15 2014, 08:44 AM
WiLyi
post Jan 15 2014, 08:46 AM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 15 2014, 08:42 AM)
Maybe you got too many things running in background. Kitkat frees up more ram from the system but eventually it will still be used up if you keep to many things running theoretically. tongue.gif
Yeah i also will be sending mine in today. Thanks to Andrewtst for extracting for me some bootloader files but like solo it still did not work.
Wonder how much SC will be charging? So far I still haven't seen any vast improvement in 4.4
Leo the Lion
post Jan 15 2014, 08:52 AM

6,358 posts

If changing from Poland official firmware to malaysia official firmware, will it trip the knox?

127 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0321sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:13 PM