8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN - Subaru AWD (xv/forester) Owners Discussion, *plan to get subaru? ask the owners!*

Cynox
post Jan 15 2014, 12:17 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

just test drove the XV today and love the handling. Is the boxer engine generally easy to maintain? Any known issue normally associate with it? I am noob in car engine tech. blush.gif
Cynox
post Jan 15 2014, 11:04 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 15 2014, 10:39 AM)
for normal oil change, its even easier cos the filter is placed at the top of the engine...
for major stuffs (overhauling etc), u just cant go to any workshop la... u need to find boxer specialist, which is not hard to find nowadays... plus, subaru engine are reliable, it wont likely to break down easily...
now its using timing chain, no more belt... so u dont need to change them quite often...

if u plan to buy the XV, try to get the 5years maintenace package... its the best value... 5 year worry free smile.gif
yup, 5 years free maintenance is offered by the JB Subaru branch. The sales lady show me the service schedule, total worth about RM9k+.
Cynox
post Jan 15 2014, 11:21 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 15 2014, 11:10 AM)
if u wish to sell after 5 years, at least it has a tracked record of proper maintenance..
sure it adds value to the car...
talking about resell value, I am a bit worry about the XV RV though. Estimate average RM10k per year for the first 5 years or will be much more than that? I do expect the depreciation will be higher than normal Japanese brand but dun know how serious will it be. Hopefully not as bad as Peugeot. sweat.gif Any ideas? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jan 15 2014, 11:23 AM
Cynox
post Jan 15 2014, 02:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jan 15 2014, 02:40 PM)
Talking about RV, the 2005-2006 impreza 2nd hand price still around RM130-150k. That shows subaru's RV is not really bad
New car price how much?
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 11:18 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(baby_pingu @ Jan 16 2014, 10:14 AM)
white XV here  blush.gif
hi, bro, is the white colour metallic? It looks like solid paint (both the test drive unit and the showroom unit are white at JB MotorImage. But i check the pricelist, there is a RM300 metallic paint charge which does not exclude white colour. So meaning the white is metallic?

Will get the white colour too if ultimately choose XV over ASX 4WD. ASX white colour is Solid White, not metallic.

Thanks in advance. smile.gif
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 11:47 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(nawzi20 @ Jan 16 2014, 11:40 AM)
Confirmed Non-Metallic White...you will get extra 300 Discount for white  thumbup.gif
thanks for the info but sighed... i would rather pay RM300 for White Pearl Metallic. tongue.gif There is a blue colour but it looks quite dull to me, not as striking as BMW dark blue. All the colours are there when i visited the JB Showroom on Tuesday. About 8 units XV in front of the showroom and few has been registered. I think we will see more XV on the road soon. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 11:58 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(nawzi20 @ Jan 16 2014, 11:49 AM)
sounds like you have made up your mind ?  rclxms.gif
haha... almost. But still need to test drive the ASX first to confirm XV is the best. biggrin.gif

Test drove Nissan Serena Hybrid, Peugeot 2008 and XV on Tuesday coz all showrooms are within 500m at the same area in JB. Subaru sales person is the most generous - take us out for a quite long distance test drive, covering highway, some twisting road and even test hard braking in a secluded road. thumbup.gif But he purposely turned on the stereo, maybe want to cover the road noise. hmm.gif

Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 12:06 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(SerbaSerbi @ Jan 16 2014, 11:55 AM)
hwachai or anyone, please share where to do wheel alignment? Now 15000km but have not done any alignment and the car is not so firm at cornering already.
XV's wheel alignment cannot do at normal tyre shop? sweat.gif
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 12:31 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 16 2014, 12:23 PM)
It can as long as the tyre shop has updated the software to include the XV's settings. This is the case with all new cars as the tyre shop must first get the updated settings for to do their alignment unless you can give them the necessary toe and camber settings yourself.
thanks for the clarification. I thought the AWD design need specialist to do alignment. sweat.gif Since XV has been around for more than 1 year now, most tyre shop should have their software updated, I suppose.

Btw, will changing the rim to larger size (says 18") will impact the AWD performance a lot? Sorry, first time driving AWD, kinda noob. blush.gif

And the tyres that come with the XV - I checked the test drive unit is using Continental MC5, is it good? Or recommended to change to others right after getting the car.

Thanks. smile.gif
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 05:24 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Any comment on the stock Kenwood head unit? I think the model number is DNX-5310BT. Can it play AVI videos with SD card / thumb drive?
Cynox
post Jan 16 2014, 05:34 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hypercrazyd @ Jan 16 2014, 05:29 PM)
It can play AVI file..... BUT...........
must park your car nicely and PULLLLLL up your handbrake.
First post got teach you how to do the tricky part... im not dare to do it...  blush.gif
yes, read about the bypass method at first post. Will get it done as soon as I get mine. laugh.gif Not really that hard lah, just need a clear guide. I opened the centre dash of my VIOS and Livina before, learn how to do it at accessories shop when changing my HU there. tongue.gif
Cynox
post Jan 19 2014, 10:36 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hwachai @ Jan 18 2014, 10:15 PM)
1.5k km... hmm.. good to know that smile.gif

edit : heard the radio promoting subaru xv ... they are trying hard....
yup.... they are putting in greatest effort to push it, good for us. tongue.gif

Btw, between free service for 5 years 100,000km (worth RM9k+) and RM5,000 cash discount, which one will you choose? I am leaning towards the 5 years free service since my HP repayment will be 5 years. Normally i will only change car after instalment fully settled.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jan 19 2014, 10:37 AM
Cynox
post Jan 21 2014, 05:48 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hypercrazyd @ Jan 21 2014, 05:34 PM)
we missed out the Subaru Russ Swift Show 2013..
[attachmentid=3825511]
watched the show few years ago at Singapore Motor Show. Sat in a Subaru Impreza Turbo for a donut live demo. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 11:43 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

anyone add a flashing F1 type braking light in the empty square space at the back bumper? Those lights are normally triangle shape but i think i saw rectangular ones before and should be a nice add-on.
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 01:24 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 22 2014, 01:12 PM)
That would be illegal.. and not to mention.. bloody annoying.
Is it? Din know it is illegal. blush.gif I thought the guideline is no white light emitted from the back of the cars during driving?

If not too bright, i dun find it is annoying but i feel it makes the cars following behind more aware. Only find those not properly aligned headlamp damn annoying. rolleyes.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 03:53 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 22 2014, 03:17 PM)
it is.. any flasing lights is illegal... if flashing red lights is more acceptable than normal 3rd brake light, u would have seen it as a standard feature on ALL cars by now...
flashing lights is dangerous to those who suffer epilepsy...
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 22 2014, 03:20 PM)
It is stated in the JPJ guidelines.
Thanks for the info, will drop the idea then. blush.gif

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 22 2014, 03:39 PM)
btw, its funny how alot of online people bash proton , but look at the sales figure...
obviously those not online buy a lot of Proton. biggrin.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 04:37 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 22 2014, 04:29 PM)
thank you for being reasonable...  thumbup.gif
some people just never think bout how their action affects the others...

1 less "flashing red light" = 1 less annoying car on malaysian road.. and 1 less possible case of epilepsy on the road  biggrin.gif
No problem, I am a well behave road user. tongue.gif

Actually book my XV already from Subaru JB Branch. SA try to rush before CNY but i am not in a hurry, just after CNY but before i resume work on Feb 5 should be just fine. biggrin.gif Now researching how to pimp it. wub.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 05:02 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hypercrazyd @ Jan 22 2014, 05:00 PM)
Got the price list from Subaru. Have a look  rclxms.gif
[attachmentid=3827092]
[attachmentid=3827103]
Nice info. It should be pinned at first post. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 05:21 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jan 22 2014, 05:13 PM)
ArmRest Console Organiser and STI pedal looks tempting...
just wondering how much are they and also do they shipped via postage (to Johor Bahru). hmm.gif Like the door visors, mud flaps and remote key leather holder too, apart from these 2. drool.gif
Cynox
post Jan 22 2014, 05:38 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hypercrazyd @ Jan 22 2014, 05:29 PM)
i'm also tempted to get the door visors, but afraid it will create more noise
Door visors is a must for me coz can wind down the windows a bit during rainy days if needed. The bigger the better. biggrin.gif

Btw, bump into the exact same dark blue XV (ready for delivery) i saw at the JB showroom last week, during my lunch hour just now near my workplace. Its looks really stand out from the crowd, especially the sexy back. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jan 22 2014, 05:38 PM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:39 PM