LYN - Subaru AWD (xv/forester) Owners Discussion, *plan to get subaru? ask the owners!*

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 15 2016, 07:01 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(BUMBLE@@B @ May 28 2016, 11:25 AM)
Agreed with that, I have test drove CX-5 (2.0, 2wd), X-Trail (2.0, 2wd) and Forester (2.0, AWD) on the same day and below are my personal findings:

Mazda CX-5 (2.0, 2wd Mid Spec)
Sleek exterior but find it a bit boring as too many on the road nowadays.
No doubt that the interior and cabin quality seems the best among the 3.
The passenger space just slightly above the passing mark given the size of the car (I'm 176cm tall and found the leg room and head room a bit small at the 2nd row).
Soundproofing is quite good and among the top 2 for the 3 SUVs test drove.
Power is ok for normal driving but feel a bit lethargic when trying to over-take or driving up hill unless you activate the Sports Mode (which I personally think it's kind of distracted when trying to activate it and it's dangerous) and body roll quite minimum.
Overall, it's ok for a small family within the range RM125k ~ RM135k
Oh, almost forgot that this SUV comes with 6 airbags..

Nissan X-Trail (2.0 2wd)
Looks big and chunky among the 3, gives you the bang for the bucks feel. Strange that I find the design is actually more attractive than the CX-5    confused.gif
The interior and cabin quality bags the 3rd place among the 3 as they don't even have a touch screen infotainment system for this variant despite that they furnished the most comfortable seats (zero-gravity seat)... I found that it gives you a lot of plastic feel the moment you settle at the driver seat.
The space is great for 1st and 2nd row but not the 3rd row, I can't imagine if I need to cramp myself there (more suitable for kids below 12yo)
Soundproofing also bags the 3rd place among the 3, at one time it gave me the feeling that the door is hollow (maybe not thick enough to resist the noise??)
Surprise.. Surprise.. This X-Trail bags No. 1 in terms of power and responsiveness once you step on the accelerator. Felt slight body roll when cornering at 50-60km/h.
Comes to passive safety features, I asked the SA why only 2 airbags installed for a 7 seater at this variant?? He told me that the rest of the safety features (active & passive) are good enough to withstand any accident/ circumstances so 2 airbags are actually enough!! (In my mind I thought that means your 2.5 4WD variant comes with 6 airbags is sub-standard on the rest of the safety features??)
Overall, its a bargain given the size and power at the price around RM137k but I do personally reserved on the number of airbags.

Subaru Forester (2.0iP, AWD)
The size is in between the other 2 with the most "garang" facelift (the front looks like Optimus Prime face from certain angle  brows.gif )
The interior and cabin quality are almost on par with the CX-5 but definitely better than the X-Trail.
The passenger space both front and rear is quite spacious in terms of leg and head room according to my height.
Soundproofing is the best among the 3, due to thicker glasses and soundproofing materials applied; I felt that the doors also the heaviest among the 3.
For power and responsiveness wise, it's something in between the CX-5 and the X-Trail, and performs better when switch to Sports Mode by just pressing a button on the steering wheel (more ergonomic than CX-5, whhere the button located near the gear shift). And it also comes with paddle shifter for shifting the gear manually.
X-Mode -- That's where the fun begins, I tested it on gravel, tarmac, uphill, downhill and its really  thumbup.gif
It still tends to have a tad body roll but its the best among the 3 and it gave me the confidence in cornering at the speed of 70-80km/h.
It comes with 7 airbags and it's standard among the variants.
At the price of RM145k after discount, I have decided to be a Forester  rclxm9.gif

Disclaimer: The above mentioned are my personal experience and opinions, you should go to the show room and test drive yourself and pick the SUV which suits you most if you are seriously looking for a SUV.
Yes, same thought. The CX-5 2.0 feels under powered in comparison when moving from standstill. And the engine is sweet.
littlefire
post Jul 15 2016, 08:04 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cheekyd @ Jul 14 2016, 11:40 PM)
Does anyone knows what tint/security tint does the sports xv comes with?
It should be a generic one from the warehouse/factory right?
VPS (Vehicle Protection Systems)-Security Tint.

If not mistaken starting from this month, new car no more with VPS security tint Option. (Heard is their contract with MI finish already)

Previously if opt for no tint able to discount another RM500 only.
littlefire
post Jul 15 2016, 08:10 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 15 2016, 08:01 AM)
Yes, same thought. The CX-5 2.0 feels under powered in comparison when moving from standstill. And the engine is sweet.
For 2.0 category SUV, Forester is the best value buy for now. thumbsup.gif

cheekyd
post Jul 15 2016, 01:21 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 15 2016, 09:04 AM)
VPS (Vehicle Protection Systems)-Security Tint.

If not mistaken starting from this month, new car no more with VPS security tint Option. (Heard is their contract with MI finish already)

Previously if opt for no tint able to discount another RM500 only.
Thanks for the sharing. Any review if the VPS security tint quality because I am having the same one.
I am thinking if the quality or review is not that great then I may just change to a better quality security tint.

Thanks again.
ghodul
post Jul 15 2016, 10:37 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

The latest 2.0i-P caught my intention. Now I'm thinking bout this, CRV 2.0 4WD or ASX 2.0 4WD...

Maybe buying it before CNY. Awaiting new model STi release...
littlefire
post Jul 15 2016, 11:02 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cheekyd @ Jul 15 2016, 02:21 PM)
Thanks for the sharing. Any review if the VPS security tint quality because I am having the same one.
I am thinking if the quality or review is not that great then I may just change to a better quality security tint.

Thanks again.
For me, the RM500 tint is nothing to complain as MI will help cover the warranty (If not mistaken is also 5 years) if got issue.

If you go for outside tint, due to car is quite new. If any issue with the wiring (During tint, side door panel need to take off which include the power window switch and door lock system), warranty may be effected if found tempered. 1 of my friend case (Driving new Nissan X-Trail, went for 3rd party tint and kena 1 of it's power window switch socket malfuction due to force pull out of cable.. Have to settle outside *Ehamm with the warranty claim guy.. )

Unless the tint guy already done a lot of Subaru cars then you might not get sudden heart attack chance higher.. tongue.gif
waja7968
post Jul 16 2016, 07:02 AM

56 posts

Update: Map update on Forester's Kenwood HU Kenwood DNX715WBTMS

2 types of maps available to choose from www.malfreemaps.com
1. MFM Garmin (cGPSmapper) map
Pro: Map is unlocked, more updated, more Poi
Con: Not support junction view
2. MFM Garmin NT map
Pro: Map support junction view
Con: Map is locked

The map come on a SD for Forester is of MFM Garmin NT type. To update to map #1, just follow the instruction from Malfreemaps forum. To update to map #2, you need 2 tools to help you to do so and the tools are Garmin Unlocker Alternative (or Fast IMG Unlocker) and Garmin Asian Jcv Tool. Search for these tools in the internet and follow the tutorials.

note:
1. You can place in #1 and #2 maps into the SD by just name in the folowing sequence, e.g. gmapsupp1.img, gmapsupp2.img and so on.
2. You can also use your own SD card which is faster and big capacity, e.g I', using my own Kingston 32G class 10
3. To unlock map advise to use Garmin Unlocker Alternative. The other has compatibility issue with Forester HU, Forester HU will complain unlocked map corrupted.

This post has been edited by waja7968: Jul 16 2016, 12:09 PM
littlefire
post Jul 16 2016, 07:16 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(waja7968 @ Jul 16 2016, 08:02 AM)
Update: Map update on Forester's Kenwood HU Kenwood DNX715WBTMS

2 types of maps available to choose from www.malfreemaps.com
      1. MFM Garmin (cGPSmapper) map
            Pro: Map is unlocked, more updated, more Poi
            Con: Not support junction view
      2. MFM Garmin NT map
            Pro: Map support junction view
            Con: Map is locked

The map come on a SD for Forester is of MFM Garmin NT type. To update to map #1, just follow the instruction from Malfreemaps forum. To update to map #2, you need 2 tools to help you to do so and the tools are Garmin Unlocker Alternative (or Fast IMG Unlocker) and Garmin Asian Jcv Tool. Search for these tools in the internet and follow the tutorials.

note:
1. You can place in #1 and #2 maps into the SD by just name in the folowing sequence, e.g. gmapsupp1.img, gmapsupp2.img and so on.
2. You can also use your own SD card which is faster and big capacity, e.g I', using my own Kingston 32G class 10
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
xSean
post Jul 16 2016, 11:23 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 15 2016, 08:10 AM)
For 2.0 category SUV, Forester is the best value buy for now.  :thumbsup:
But still most choose cx5
littlefire
post Jul 17 2016, 09:42 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 17 2016, 12:23 AM)
But still most choose cx5
Depend on ppl taste, if you want the wow factor, sporty looks and nice interior & exterior design, Mazda.

But if you want safety and AWD, Forester. Not all car are prefect anyway, Subaru are not that good in that design wow factor compare to others but they are good in term of AWD, safety & Boxer technology. nod.gif

Anyway Mazda CX-5 for 2.0 category no more AWD and from my SA info that a lot of her customer previously wait and tot that the mazda CX-5 FL will have AWD for 2.0, but disappoint and jump ship to Subaru.

Subaru Forester (CKD) is late to come in this category, while Mazda CX-5 (CKD) already like 3-4 years in market already. So for sure the quantity is a lot on the roads, but i foreseen that with current competitive pricing and the spec. given is total no brainer ppl will buy CRV and X-Trail for 2.0L category.

Subaru Forester current nearest competition is only CX-5. Spec. wise CX-5 2.0L still loss to Forester (No AWD, only 6 Air-bags and no off road option [X-Mode]), with current pricing i also heard that Mazda now also start to discount to match Subaru Forester discounted price.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 17 2016, 09:43 AM
waja7968
post Jul 17 2016, 11:33 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 17 2016, 09:42 AM)
Depend on ppl taste, if you want the wow factor, sporty looks and nice interior & exterior design, Mazda.

But if you want safety and AWD, Forester. Not all car are prefect anyway, Subaru are not that good in that design wow factor compare to others but they are good in term of AWD, safety & Boxer technology.  nod.gif

Anyway Mazda CX-5 for 2.0 category no more AWD and from my SA info that a lot of her customer previously wait and tot that the mazda CX-5 FL will have AWD for 2.0, but disappoint and jump ship to Subaru.

Subaru Forester (CKD) is late to come in this category, while Mazda CX-5 (CKD) already like 3-4 years in market already. So for sure the quantity is a lot on the roads, but i foreseen that with current competitive pricing and the spec. given is total no brainer ppl will buy CRV and X-Trail for 2.0L category.

Subaru Forester current nearest competition is only CX-5. Spec. wise CX-5 2.0L still loss to Forester (No AWD, only 6 Air-bags and no off road option [X-Mode]), with current pricing i also heard that Mazda now also start to discount to match Subaru Forester discounted price..  brows.gif
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Subaru brand still new to major public especially in Malaysia. A lot public still doubt around it's fuel consumption, spare part availability and reliability of the brand. This is a norm to all major public.

Things that we are not familiar, we will have fear to face it; my example on switching to diesel car 5 years ago, also facing these doubts (struggle for a long period to make the decision, consulting a lot of car expert.). After my own studies and consultations (in short do your own homework and not following what other says), I overcame the threat and moved to diesel car for a try, the result -> no regret until today. This year I go on further to try AWD and choose Subaru Forester.

Beebeej
post Jul 17 2016, 03:01 PM

97 posts

Subaru is a driver's car, period . Its for those who really enjoy the pleasure of driving engaging your emotional feels of yourself as though you're the car when tackling the various roads conditions with full confidence . Safety hence road holding is their expertise whereas aesthetic and gadgets is secondary !!

If its just need a leisurely drive then any make will do . smile.gif
lcsiong
post Jul 17 2016, 06:40 PM

73 posts

i planning to buy the latest WRX, any comment on this car?
s@ni
post Jul 17 2016, 07:48 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

Forester cbu unit 2014 and 2015 having promo.. Saw an advert online. Pls check at the nearest motor image branch
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Jul 17 2016, 08:03 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(lcsiong @ Jul 17 2016, 06:40 PM)
i planning to buy the latest WRX, any comment on this car?
Everything is good
Except that they dont offer manual here
If you want manual, there is alternatives like focus ST, or manual+coupe, can take a look at megane rs
If you are ok with cvt, then go with wrx
Im not saying cvt is not good, but it gives a boring feeling to a fast car
kevin613
post Jul 17 2016, 08:09 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Subang Nuclear Reactor @ Jul 17 2016, 08:03 PM)
Everything is good
Except that they dont offer manual here
If you want manual, there is alternatives like focus ST, or manual+coupe, can take a look at megane rs
If you are ok with cvt, then go with wrx
Im not saying cvt is not good, but it gives a boring feeling to a fast car
Or he could take another step further and go WRX STI. Problem solved.
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Jul 17 2016, 08:12 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 17 2016, 08:09 PM)
Or he could take another step further and go WRX STI. Problem solved.
need top up 20% extra
If can afford the top up then wrx sti is really one of it's kind, bestt
ronaldwmh
post Jul 18 2016, 10:51 AM

19 posts

got my white sti sv, even i ordered khaki
anykti
post Jul 18 2016, 11:09 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Beebeej @ Jul 17 2016, 03:01 PM)
Subaru is a driver's car, period . Its for those who really enjoy the pleasure of driving engaging your emotional feels of yourself as though you're the car when tackling the various roads conditions with full confidence . Safety hence road holding is their expertise whereas aesthetic and gadgets is secondary !! 
Very true, agreed.
s@ni
post Jul 18 2016, 01:29 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(ronaldwmh @ Jul 18 2016, 10:51 AM)
got my white sti sv, even i ordered khaki
looks like first come first serve..

anyway guys, new house due to page here bursted till 173pages:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4006599

0.0355sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:17 AM