Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

koonghx
post Sep 29 2015, 10:11 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 29 2015, 09:59 AM)
Yes ... correct layering of your clothes would be essential.
Effectively you would need 3 layers (Top) and the below are generally worn in sequence. For bottom, 2 layers would be just fine.

1. Thermal
2. Normal clothes / Long sleeves
3. WindProof / Heat

Thick clothes does not mean you are adequately protected against the cold. I disagree that Korea isn't cold as it depends on which part of Korea you are talking about. Seoul has a colder weather as compared to Busan in winter. Busan is a bit warmer due its location to the coastline/sea and being more south in the Peninsula. Peak of winter in Seoul can get as low as -18 or -20 degrees C and the wind just heightens the cold weather more.
Are you from Korea too? Living there?
For me, the max I had experienced in my 3 years in Seoul was -15C only.
Sometimes the weather forecast is really unreliable. Even if it's -15C, it doesn't feel as cold as -5C because of the wind.
Though comparing Korea to Russia, my friend went to Russia and felt that Korea isn't really that cold/
I like the cold, the colder the better tongue.gif Now, even though is "Autumn", it's still quite hot.

Back to the topic, the way you wrote is explains it way better than I do. biggrin.gif
Since @Newgen is coming in November, it wouldn't be too cold. But if you do like what @hye said, it will be more than enough to last the whole winter.

koonghx
post Sep 29 2015, 10:16 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 29 2015, 09:50 AM)
On the subject of using your credit card and then presented in dual currency payment, it happens everywhere and not only in Korea. It is not a scam but merely the system way of allowing you to choose in what currency that you wish to pay. One thing good is that you know roughly the converted value of your purchase as shown on the terminal.

To @bearbear claim that it is a scam  ... it is not nor does such exist and I disagree such misleading info. Just that the system uses the current local interbank rate which may not be favorable to you. Sometimes the converted currency is better ... I had encounter this experience using my card back in Thailand several years back. However with our currency fluctuating so much ... it is better to use the local currency (which is KRW) instead of using MY rates.

To give @bearbear credit ... yes. No such thing as your cc is not accepted as long as it is Visa or Mastercard. Additional 1.5% is charged on top of your overseas purchase (Non MYR). Visa and Mastercard international interbank rates may marginally differ thus it is not a big deal.
Another point I want to add on is that..
As long as it's credit card and not debit card then it will work anywhere.

If it's debit card, even though it's printed Mastercard on the card itself, it might not work overseas if it is not activated for overseas use. Not sure about Malaysian banks but Korean issued debit (check) cards for foreigners do not work overseas even though they have Mastercard logo printed on it. Maybe the rumor that Malaysian card not working overseas came from the cards themselves being debit and not credit?
koonghx
post May 25 2016, 12:42 AM

888 posts

Anyone going Ultra Music Festival UMF Korea ?

Avicii deadmau5 knife party

Want find kaki

Last year volunteered at UMF, get free entrance and backstage + free food.

Sadly this year they don't need volunteers and they only gave me 1 free Friday ticket..

So, I bought 1 day ticket for Sunday and plan to just burn the Friday ticket.
Since Sunday line up got Avicii and deadmau5

This post has been edited by koonghx: May 25 2016, 12:43 AM
koonghx
post Jun 27 2016, 05:00 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 24 2016, 11:34 AM)
Is insadong still the go-to and cheapest place for souvenirs? or got anywhere else with better deals ? hmm.gif
Try buy online? XD
http://item2.gmarket.co.kr/item/detailview...%b9%b0%fc%b1%a4

What type of souvenirs are you looking for?
koonghx
post Jul 1 2016, 11:33 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 1 2016, 10:37 PM)
ooo thanks! just random cheap souvenirs hahaha.

____

anyway need some spoonfeeding. really don't have time to plan a proper itinerary. So here's a rough one. Will just follow the flow:

Day 1: arrive at incheon about 8.30am. then check in at sinchon hostel. will vist ewha uni in the morning. afternoon bukchon hanok village. can spend whole afternoon here? or can squeeze in one more place? at night will be at hongdae area.

day 2: morning at noryangjin fish market. suggestions for one more place to visit in the morning? will probably head to ilsan city after lunch for my conference.

day 3: full day at nami island. at night.. myeongdong or gangnam?  hmm.gif
Why ewha? I lived here for 5 years only went to the shops there only once. Why is it on the recommended places to go?
Hongdae I suggest if possible, adjust it so that it's on weekends. Weekends will have more people and the nightclubs will be more active.

Oh.. you're coming for work?

Third day at night, around what time? Myeongdong shopping a bit at 7 and dinner time, after that go to Gangnam nightclubs also okay if it falls on a weekend. Gangnam nightclubs for working people around 25-30+
koonghx
post Jul 2 2016, 02:04 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 2 2016, 01:16 AM)
it's the university itself not the shops. well the overall architecture looks pretty. nice for photo taking i guess  biggrin.gif  yeah my 1st day is on a friday. got a korean friend to bring me around should be fine i guess.

nope. attending a conference.
ahh. don't plan to go nightclubs hahaha.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Okay..
Though I feel that the recently renovated Yonsei is better than Ewha xD

If you're young enough for nightclubs, must try once Korean nightclubs though

This post has been edited by koonghx: Jul 2 2016, 02:21 AM
koonghx
post Jul 2 2016, 09:10 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 2 2016, 08:24 AM)
Can visit yonsei as well I guess. Just next to ewha. 

Lol. Clubbing not my thing sad.gif
Sure thing.
koonghx
post Jul 2 2016, 07:15 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Khrlzmn @ Jul 2 2016, 05:35 PM)
which club did u go??
Go before
Vera, ellui, theA, holic, M, mama, mike's cabin and a few more I forgot the name.
I used to have a thread in Services Noticeboard for nightclub tours but no one cared. ㅠㅠ
koonghx
post Jul 8 2016, 04:42 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jul 3 2016, 08:02 PM)
the last time i went is Club Answer at Gangnam. amaze ballsss  brows.gif

https://www.facebook.com/THECLUBANSWER/
recently they have this free entrance thingy for foreigners..wow.
Actually, most clubs in gangnams are always free entrance.. Most don't know this and pay the fees at the front desk. brows.gif

Edit:

Getting a few "Emergency Alerts" these days.

Quite interesting since 3 days ago it was an alert for heavy rain.
Today received alert for hot weather.
whistling.gif

This post has been edited by koonghx: Jul 8 2016, 04:45 PM
koonghx
post Jul 9 2016, 03:57 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jul 9 2016, 03:35 PM)
last time need to pay one..we paid like around rm100 for entrance with free drinks..coz its weekend.
Naw.. If you had contacted me before you go, you get in free ;D

koonghx
post Jul 11 2016, 04:45 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jul 9 2016, 04:24 PM)
wah u so powerful? ohmy.gif  staying in korea?
Erm.. Check out my sig?

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 11 2016, 09:57 AM)
thanks for the advice.

I might visit Korea in December. Don't think I'll be able to learn much korean before I leave. I only know anneonghaseyo and kamsamida.
No need to learn lah. English and Chinese enough biggrin.gif
koonghx
post Jul 12 2016, 05:13 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(LivingLife @ Jul 12 2016, 03:31 PM)
29th Oct
Myeongdong
Namsan Park
N Seoul Tower

30th Oct
Gyeongbokgung
Gwanghwamun
Cheongwadae
Bukchon Hanok Village
Insadong
Gwangjang Market

31st Oct
Hongdae + Trick Eye Museum
Sinchon
Ewha
COEX Mall + Aquarium
Dongdaemun
Cheonggyecheon Stream
Gangnam

1st Nov
Namdaemun
Lotte Mart
Itaewon
Noryangjin Fish Market

2nd Nov
Namisan Island
Petite France

3rd Nov
Back to KL

Can anyone please advise if my itinerary is okay?
Thank you very much in advance!
30 Oct and 31 Oct is too packed.
Plus, 31 Oct is halloween. Go to Itaewon at night on 31 Oct.
Lots of people with costumes.

koonghx
post Jul 12 2016, 05:15 PM

888 posts

Went to Sinchon Water Gun Festival on Sunday

koonghx
post Jul 13 2016, 11:33 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2016, 10:07 AM)
look like lotsa foreigners? your cam no get splash?  tongue.gif
you tell me which popular destination that have less PRC visitors?  laugh.gif
Got quite a few foreigners. Handphone then put in friend's bag.

There are some far off places don't have mainlander tourists. Last year I went to 울릉도 which is a pitstop for people going to 독도. There weren't any mainlanders there. Some angmo only.

Places that no blogs had covered. Which is why I hate travel blogs tongue.gif They make people miss out some good places.
koonghx
post Jul 13 2016, 12:48 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2016, 12:17 PM)
that is why famous attractions usually have PRC.. there are some blogs did intro good places.. local blogs hehe
A lot of PRC and Chinese Malaysians go with tours and tours bring them to ginseng shop and "cosmetic" shops.
Both of which "kill" them. brows.gif

Blogs bring them to places that normally Koreans won't go and since those blogs that are top hits on google are mostly from a few years back, some of them are outdated.
koonghx
post Jul 13 2016, 04:52 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2016, 04:17 PM)
yeah lo.. btw, what i mean local is korean blogs not m'sian blog. sorry for confusing  tongue.gif

you are working in korea? good la can go hop around frequently to those nice places  laugh.gif  intro more places to me. eventhough i frequent to korea but i feel the changes are too fast. can't keep up that much unless like you staying there la.. but if you are working, also don't have much time as don't have much leave or holidays like msia. if you are a student than different story  drool.gif
Studying.

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jul 13 2016, 04:23 PM)
got changes?
such as?
hmm.gif
Shops have very high turnover rate.
Meaning most shops will shutdown in 6 months.
And new sites will be constructed. For example, the "new" park in between Hongdae and Yeonnam-dong. Many new restaurants and cafes there but most Malaysian blogs wouldn't know about those. There's a bah kut teh restaurant there that is opened by a Malaysian but I doubt any people outside Korea would know about it, which is why I don't really recommend people to follow itinerary from Malaysian travel blogs since they are not living here and wouldn't know the place well anyway..
koonghx
post Jul 13 2016, 05:23 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2016, 05:16 PM)
as mentioned by koonghx high turnover for shops / restaurants. then always pop up new places for drama fanatics  laugh.gif
yeah i agree. i knew about this bak kut teh restaurant. no bother to try also.  tongue.gif  have you try?
Tried a few times.
For Malaysians, it wouldn't be very good. But for me, I just use it as something to bring foreigner friends to eat.
"You wanna try Chinese Malaysian food"?
Though there's no more Malay Malaysian restaurant here anymore because of the Felda scandal. cool2.gif
koonghx
post Jul 13 2016, 07:15 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2016, 06:24 PM)
yeah. this is what i'm thinking too. i tell my friends to try it out and bring them to try again when they came to Msia. for them to compare  tongue.gif
1 thing I am frustrated about is that no one promote tourists to eat IMO the best Korean food.
순대국 sundaegook

유가네 yugane and 안동찜닭 andongjjimdak are frequently recommended to tourists but those two sucks. vmad.gif vmad.gif

My romanization is horrible because I never bothered to learn it.

This post has been edited by koonghx: Jul 13 2016, 07:16 PM
koonghx
post Jul 14 2016, 01:11 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 14 2016, 12:07 PM)
is alright. i know to read hangul. beginner level only lolz. ewww.. i dislike sundae.
yugane and andong jjimdak is franchise restaurant and is no doubts people will recommend it. if i'm not mistaken, they have branches out of korea. btw, i like jjimdak but is from andong or from other restaurant. it's way delicious than the andong jjimdak restaurant. this andong jjimdak price is quite expensive  cool2.gif  oh yeah also the 토속촌 삼계탕 and others for me is over rated as well but it's full with tourists cause famous. however still have some local working adults frequent the restaurant also
Next week is 초복 btw..
Gonna go try 보신탕 whistling.gif
koonghx
post Jul 14 2016, 03:25 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 14 2016, 03:22 PM)
ewww...  puke.gif people should stop this meat consumption.. also i think i read that due to animal right, younger gens of s.k consume less of this type of meat?
More due to it not being popular since young people are less likely to be exposed to eating it.
I for one, don't care as long as the animals involved are farmed and not stolen from people's house.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0324sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:41 PM