Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

yvonnesoo
post Oct 13 2014, 05:33 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 13 2014, 04:52 PM)
i asked the guesthouse owner to book the ticket so shouldn't have problem. my only problem is don't know which place to go first. haha  sweat.gif

if i go nami 1st. let say i depart from seoul at 9am, will i arrive gapyeong at 10/11am? travel by subway
have to depends on which station you are departing and whether you wanna straight go by normal train or transfer line using itx train
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 10:31 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

actually there are a few railbike in Korea. to name a few is Jeongseon Auraji Rail Bike & Samcheok Ocean Railbike but both is at Gangwon do area tongue.gif of cz their scenery is better compare to Gangchon Railbike

if have extra time to spare can go la.. can even go try experience the Sea Train..
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 11:13 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(amidamaru @ Oct 14 2014, 10:46 AM)
is it easy to find halal food in korea?
if you are in Seoul shouldn't be an issue. can find halal food in Itaewon
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 12:47 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(amidamaru @ Oct 14 2014, 11:42 AM)
how about busan?
yes but not much. you may need to google to find the place
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 03:15 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

some muslim is very particular on "halal" term. food must be prepared in halal way.. eg the way they slaughtered and etc. some will bring instant noodle or cook at the guesthouse. but some of my muslim friends that is not particular will not mind (just ask them don't put pork meat or opt for vegetarian) since they are travel overseas..

고기 is meat. doesn't mean is pork meat.
돼지고기 is pork meat
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 05:03 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 14 2014, 04:14 PM)
Banpo Bridge water fountain is it a must visit place? I want to go there but my itinerary quite pack . ><
if you have extra time la... cause you might end up can't see it.. you need to go to their website to check the schedule but it's in korean. it's the world's longest fountain. actually the light fountain quite nice and lotsa people go there to stroll at night near the park
yvonnesoo
post Oct 14 2014, 07:41 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Oct 14 2014, 07:00 PM)
You are technically correct as that is the definition of 고기 from the dictionary.
But when you tell the 아줌마, 고기 빼주세요. The 고기 means pork.
For example, when you order 소고기볶음밥, if you say 고기 빼주세요. The ahjumma will say 고기 안 들아가는데... 소고기만 들어가요.
Another thing to note for Muslims, is that 야채볶음밥 or 김밥 sometimes have 햄/ham inside them. So, be sure to tell the ahjumma to 빼 the 햄 or 고기.
aiyo the problem is not all know to read & speak in Korean. later the staff will reply back in Korean, end up he/she rclxub.gif make situation more worst. somemore if the waiter/waitress is busy they won't entertain or have time to even read the sentences on your handphone oh. some ahjumma don't even know to read. suggest use simple word or worst come to worst body language.. that is what my muslim friends told me their experience when they travel to Korea haha.. some more particular one will pack and bring own food whistling.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 15 2014, 02:04 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

Seokchon Lake is near Lotte World. google online for the directions.

not interested on the rubber duck as saw it from other places already.. is same duck but different view only hehehe

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 15 2014, 02:05 PM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 15 2014, 06:44 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

it seems like you focus and spend more time at Jeju attractions while Seoul focus on shopping and food? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 15 2014, 06:44 PM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 15 2014, 08:26 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Oct 15 2014, 06:57 PM)
yeap yeap. haha. just a relaxing trip since its just 2 of us. previous trip was so rush and tired, hence this time we take it free and easy.
but your Jeju trip go many hiking & mountain.. look hectic but since in Seoul you just opt for shop n food shouldn't be an issue lor.. go try out all their food & cafe!! thumbup.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 22 2014, 02:01 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Oct 17 2014, 12:22 PM)
going to korea next Monday .. wonder hows the weather. Weather forecast show cold but my friend who is currently in korea said is not cold...

torn whether wanna bring long john or not....
For M'sian that not use to cold weather night not stand it. Somemore lately raining
yvonnesoo
post Oct 30 2014, 10:52 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(kbchong @ Oct 30 2014, 12:48 AM)
Any idea where giving the best rate for RM to Korea Won?  Someone advise me to change RM to US$.  When in Korea, change US$ to Korea Won.

it depends the exchange you get from RM to USD. if high why take the hassle to change to USD. better change to Won. unless you can get better USD rate, then different case la.. btw, if you exchange USD to Won have better rate in Korea
yvonnesoo
post Nov 3 2014, 03:27 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

told you it's not enough if u only go for 8 days for so many places.. but at least u got cover some main attractions.. btw, you got a reason to go for another trip. tongue.gif

yvonnesoo
post Nov 4 2014, 10:51 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Nov 4 2014, 07:48 AM)
I am in dilemma whether to go Nagoya or Busan. I know in Nagoya there is a place (korankei) that is very beautiful with all the autumn leaf and I guess that alone is worth the trip.While Busan has all the many beautiful beaches and sea which i like, but I want to see autumn leaf as I never see it before.

Is there any place to see autumn leaf in Busan area in late November this year?
And is late November a good time to go to beach?
go for both la.. after go Nagoya than to Busan or vice versa tongue.gif late november go to beach you can't do much also and is very windy

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Nov 4 2014, 07:51 AM)
Yesss would definitely be back to spend one whole week in Seoul next trip!  smile.gif  How's your trip going on? The weather in Seoul's pretty chilly isn't it? It went to as low as 1 degree Celsius while I was there.
i already back to Msia on 29 Oct. by that time weather already started to get colder. it went as low as 1-3 degree also. my Busan trip kinda disappointed as first 3 days raining non stop cry.gif can't manage to visit some attractions. i will be back for next round plus to Gyeongju and surrounding city tongue.gif

weather is better in Seoul but is cold especially the wind blow. in Seoul, i just chill arould and find friends to eat and shop haha..

so for me is pretty much have plenty of times.. just that time is not enough for shop, cafe hopping and foodie!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Nov 4 2014, 10:53 AM
yvonnesoo
post Nov 5 2014, 11:09 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Nov 4 2014, 08:51 PM)
tight budget. so can choose 1 only. japan got more maple leaf. busan got nice sea and beach but windy is not a problem cuz i am not naked anyway haha
got nice sea but it's only nice during spring or summer or beginning of autumn ler.. else so cold plus the strong wind you won't feel wanna step out tongue.gif

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 5 2014, 10:01 AM)
wut. for real? i'll be flying next Sat. night.
if so, i think i gotta bring 1 more long pants sweat.gif
yes. for real it's very cold especially if raining than temperature can go lower. my friend still in Korea (but in Busan) and haven't back yet. she told me her lips and skin crack. i have told her earlier to do preparation but she ignore me saying that Busan is further down so won't be that cold sweat.gif main concern is the wind that blow towards you. sometimes it's 15 degree but very windy, you will feel like 5-6 degree. so you imagine if raining or cloudy without sunshine. if you are those afraid of cold, can bring more clothes but i suggest you buy over there la.. so many choices and got sales now.. more choices and style is nicer tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Nov 5 2014, 11:10 AM
yvonnesoo
post Nov 5 2014, 12:10 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 5 2014, 11:50 AM)
Our skin are used to humid conditions.
So when visiting cold countries like Japan & Korea, must apply moisturiser to the face everyday. Lip gloss too.
due to cold weather plus wind blow is dry. than shower hot water somemore.. skin sure loss moisture and tends to dry.

apply adequately and not too much. if not when you back to Msia, you will have outbreak tongue.gif cz over moisture. some encounter this issue..
yvonnesoo
post Nov 7 2014, 11:16 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Nov 7 2014, 09:52 PM)
Yeah I checked the weather on the day I got back to Malaysia and found it to be raining in Busan. What did you do while it rained though? It did not rain at all during my trip luckily.
I love Korea for the food! Not sure if it's only me but I tend to compare Korea to Japan. Food in Korea is definitely much nicer! How's the weather there at the moment?
I had wanted to take the shuttle bus but took the taxi instead from Gapyeong Station to Nami Island and Petite France coz' the queue for the shuttle bus was too long (and it was freezing!). The price was not that bad since there were 4 of us.
i hang out with my korean friends at the cafe and restaurant.. chatting and enjoying my holidays haha.. guess what? i went to taejongdae and it rain heavily. rain frequency, stop and rain again cry.gif . danubi train not in service as well. my korean friends and i walk under the rain.. of cuz with umbrella la.. hahaha. but quite a mess situation. imagine walk by foot for the whole park while raining whistling.gif
yvonnesoo
post Nov 8 2014, 12:17 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Nov 7 2014, 11:58 PM)
Taejongdae Park is hilly! And you walked the whole park!  rclxms.gif It must be super cold with the rain and the wind and the already cold autumn?
yeah sweat.gif beginning is just drizzle then walk half way heavy rain lolz. no choice cause we walk half way already so die die also must walk back to the main entrance even though raining. since already half way into the park, no different if reverse or go straight biggrin.gif i remembered we go straight down to the lighthouse for a quick photo, suddenly rain pouring down. all of us quickly ran up the stairs with umbrella that was going to fly off. so exhausted as the stairs gap is big and slippery shakehead.gif

plenty of places i have to skipped out. such as Gamcheon village, Haedong Yonggungsa temple, Haeundae, Gwangan bridge cry.gif

go again next round when i back to my 2nd home tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Nov 8 2014, 12:18 AM
yvonnesoo
post Nov 11 2014, 12:23 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(kca @ Nov 10 2014, 07:55 PM)
Thanks for your feedback in the EG sim card. Are your foing the reservation online?

Dataroam maxis is rm36/day is more expensive leh..I guess 1gb data is enough for a week and it cost around rm100

Any other suggestion?
rent a wifi egg if you are with a group of friends. olleh wifi egg cost only 5500 won per day.. around rm17+-
connection is superb fast. not all places got free wifi and sometimes can't access. quite troublesome if you wanna search for free wifi. going around and finding places will be more convenient if you have connection.. trust me smile.gif
yvonnesoo
post Nov 11 2014, 10:10 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Nov 11 2014, 09:53 AM)
Back from my 2 weeks trip and there's still 25k worth of credit in my T-Money.

Reloaded a bunch in Seoul before my trip down South since you can't easily find TMoney machine. Was planning to refund at Busan airport but the maximum is 20k only, and there was no way to spend any of it.

Oh well  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
actually u can reload t-money in Busan. just selected GS25 or etc. you need to ask the person inside the mart whether do they provide t-money top up whistling.gif

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:55 PM