Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

yvonnesoo
post Sep 23 2014, 11:28 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

u can try Sum Guesthouse, Mr Egg Original Nampo or Terra Guesthouse.. T Money can be use in Busan but there is limited places that can reload.. never try vegetarian before as mostly their recommended or good food wont be in vegetarian tongue.gif

if you have more than 1 people (eg few friends), rent a wifi egg is good cause can share among them. it can connect few devices simultaneous.. if you have a credit card, some wifi egg rental deposit is waive.. btw, not all places got wifi connection and some doesn't work or need you to key in the password
yvonnesoo
post Sep 24 2014, 11:50 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 23 2014, 11:53 PM)
I'm going solo, hence the dilemma haha.

Yea I'm not taking into account the deposit. Just the rental itself for 2 weeks is about RM300++ already. Your point about not everywhere has wifi is exactly why I'm a bit concern about not having a connection. But I'm leaning towards risking it and having more money to spend right now hmmmm... hmm.gif
if you are going solo then no need rent the egg. save everything necessary on your google drive (view it on offline mode) then you can view it anytime without any internet connection. if you prepare everything and do your homework (know the direction where are you heading to including the subway line and exit), you won't get lost la. by the way, are you going to Seoul? in Seoul plenty of China foreigners working there and you can easily speak with them in Mandarin. plenty of Westerner and you may ask them in English. worst come to worst, ask Korean. the younger generation mostly know to speak in English as many of them study in the States
yvonnesoo
post Sep 29 2014, 11:36 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 26 2014, 11:55 PM)
You mean there's nothing in Gwangju? Nothing much, just look see some parts and stuff.

To be honest I feel like whenever I suggest any other place other than Seoul one of you guys will say that there's nothing there hahaha. But I still appreciate all the advices. thumbup.gif 

I guess I don't mind just chilling and sight seeing la XD

Gwangju rough itinerary:

Gwangju - Day 1
Bulguksa Temple
Daeneungwon
Anapji pond

Gwangju - Day 2
Gyeongju City Tour Bus
err?? your Gwangju attractions that u listed above is not in Gwangju u know.. it's in Gyeongsangbuk-do, Gyeongju-si.. sweat.gif

yvonnesoo
post Sep 29 2014, 11:44 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 28 2014, 09:50 PM)
In case you've missed it, some links are broken and the attractions stated are very boring especially those palaces sleep.gif

The places I wanna go
-Everland
-Wolmido theme park
To be affirmed with other spots nod.gif
i rather you go to Lotte World than Wolmido.. cause the theme park nothing to shout about. probably only their viking ride hmm.gif
yvonnesoo
post Sep 30 2014, 10:16 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Sep 29 2014, 09:45 PM)
I will be attending the Busan International Film Festival.. Anyone here going there too? I only have 4 days in Busan of which one day will be for BIFF..
So the rest i tot of going

Gimcheon Culture Village
Taejongdae
Apec house
Heundae
Spaland
Jalgalchi seafood market
Bermeosa temple
busan tower..
i would like to go but my travel date is not end of the month cry.gif

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 29 2014, 10:20 PM)
Hello guys

May I know whether can 4 people I'm a group share 1 T-money card? For the buses and subways travelling.

And regarding the phone rental, I just need to pay for the first phone and the second one is free of charge?
can't. t-money is transportation card. 1 person 1 card. what kind of phone rental and from which company? i suggest you rent an egg wifi instead

QUOTE(outsider @ Sep 30 2014, 01:32 AM)
I pay rm1k for ticket rm600 for hotel bring rm2.5k and creditcard usage about rm500 for 10 days busan n seoul. Actually i can save more if i dont drink a lots coffee.. i rarely use mrt... i usually walking from 1 destination to another. 1 days i walked from eujiro to gyeongbukgong to bukchon village to hyewah to insadong and back to myeongdong.. walk from morning to night... i stay im eujiro 3 ga

eat is expensive as same price as korea restoran in malaysia. Cosmetic cheap, accommodation also can be cheap.

just back from there
food wise i personally think is cheaper than msia as their portion is bigger. with foc water if you don't order special drinks la.. hahaha.. is their lifestyle that is costly.. once dine in coffee or cafe's and order with desserts.. can cost you a price of a decent meal.. but u can't resist cause their cafe's n coffee shops is so tempting biggrin.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 1 2014, 11:18 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Sep 30 2014, 08:19 PM)
I am quite a foodie so I do hope I can control myself!

On another note, I have just booked the KTX tickets online for Seoul-Busan. However, I found out that the KR Pass is more economical and offers rides on the KTX as well. May I ask if I could book seats on the KR Pass or would it be of first-come-first-serve basis?
if u are in group. purchase the saver. cheaper
yvonnesoo
post Oct 1 2014, 12:08 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Oct 1 2014, 11:43 AM)
Thank you for your suggestions. I will be travelling in a group of 4, but we will be taking the KTX only one way from Seoul-Busan so the KR Pass is not that economical after all. I would like to ask about the cancellation and refund process of the tickets for KTX (not the KR or Happy passes). Anyone of you experienced the process before? From what I read on the website there will be a fee incurred even when you go to the counter to get your refund 2 days before departure.
KR pass not only on KTX. u can travel on KTX-Sancheon, ITX-Saemaeul, Saemaeul, Mugunghwa and Nuriro trains as well if u plan to go other area.

i'm not sure whether got any changes or not now. once u book, they will not charge your credit card. they only started to charge your credit card the amount once you redeem the ticket at their counter. unless u redeem your ticket already then you need to go to the counter for refund. if someone didn't redeem their ticket, it will be automatically cancel. fyi, i bought ITX last year and my korean friend explain it to me on the procedure

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 1 2014, 01:11 PM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 2 2014, 11:30 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 2 2014, 02:26 AM)
want to ask. if go to n seoul tower is better to ride the cable car or take shuttle bus? as i know both way also need to walk.  if by bus, the walking distance from the parking lot to reach the top is it far?~
3 options. you can walk up (many koreans do that) or take the cable car or by bus. if by bus, the walking distance to the tower is near as it stop right below n seoul tower
yvonnesoo
post Oct 2 2014, 05:36 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Oct 2 2014, 03:01 PM)
woo. nice arrangement there for budget travelling.
recently AA have return ticket all in @ RM499 only. which is a very attractive price to travel. sadly already book my Korean Airline flight a month ago sweat.gif
my fren bought return ticket all in (luggage, meal, etc) RM500++
yvonnesoo
post Oct 2 2014, 07:08 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(kca @ Oct 2 2014, 05:44 PM)
Is it recommended to take arex commuter train fr incheon to seoul station? Staying in insadong. Only take trolley bag 22 inch
it depends on where you staying. sometimes bus arrive nearby your guesthouse/hotel so it's better to take bus instead cause if you take subway, many stairs.. n walk a distance to exchange to another line.. tongue.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 3 2014, 11:24 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 2 2014, 09:55 PM)
how about the walking distance from arex line exchange to line 2, hongik uni. station?
where is your guesthouse? hongik station got many exits and some with stairs. if you have big luggage be prepared as hongik exit usually crowded and many peoples most of the time whistling.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Oct 3 2014, 11:24 AM
yvonnesoo
post Oct 7 2014, 01:12 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 4 2014, 12:30 AM)
guesthouse at euljiro 3-ga exit2. im planning to ride arex train to hongik stn. then ride to euljiro3.

the airport limo bus also got reach there but the walking distant to guesthouse further than walking out from the euljiro stn.
take bus is straight arrive at the location and u only need to drag ur luggage to the guesthouse. take arex + subway. u need to alight at hongik, drag ur luggage to transfer to subway line 2. reach station u still need to drag ur luggage to your guesthouse.. u ownself do your calculation lo.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 4 2014, 12:33 AM)
alright but some people say very far  sweat.gif cuz i know if take cable car also need to walk like 10-15min from myeongdong stn.
err.. in korea be prepared to walk alot. 10-15 mins walking distance is like nothing for koreans. if u can't walk that far, you might need to to double think whether you need to have free & easy trip or not. as alot of attractions in korea need to have alot of walking.. not to say some road is hilly as well whistling.gif

QUOTE(fondo @ Oct 5 2014, 10:46 AM)
Hey guys,

Is it recommended to stay in namsan guesthouse for final shopping? looking for hostel ard myeondong/dongdaemun or any other option based on your experience?

Will be staying forest hostel in jeju, is it better location?

Thx.
if your aim is to shop for beauty products.. stay near myeongdong area.. namsan guesthouse 3 is the nearest.. or you can try out super junior new opening guesthouse at myeongdong if you are his fans.. rclxm9.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 8 2014, 11:50 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Oct 7 2014, 09:04 PM)
Yvonne.... u like korean pr or local korean ~~~

Know so well all korea places 😂😂👍 laugh.gif  laugh.gif
no la i'm not. i wish i am. lolz. korea is just like my 2nd home hehe. also got korean friends over there so sometimes go visit them.. korea so big, actually i still haven't finish explore yet. btw, i'm flying to korea end of this month tongue.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 8 2014, 02:57 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(hong1380 @ Oct 8 2014, 01:46 PM)
Hi, anybody went to Alpensia Ski resort before? It would takes up 3 hours from airport to Alpensia right?

Is it advisable to take the Lift/Gondola rental for newbie? XD

yes average 3 hours from airport to alpensia ski resort

if you no take the lift/gondola how do you manage to go up the trail? hmm.gif
yvonnesoo
post Oct 8 2014, 04:35 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 8 2014, 04:17 PM)
so coincidence. i'm also going to korea end of this month ^^
when is your travel date? mine is 20-27 oct. depart to busan and back from seoul
yvonnesoo
post Oct 9 2014, 10:37 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 8 2014, 09:52 PM)
opps different date. me 29oct - 5nov. smile.gif
i already in msia by that time hehe

QUOTE(ckweng @ Oct 8 2014, 10:09 PM)
Hardcore yvonnesoo, annual pilgrimage to South Korea?
sometimes more than annual but definitely not for religious devotion haha... just for relax and meet up buddies

QUOTE(outsider @ Oct 8 2014, 10:18 PM)
Wow... i wish i can travel so often like u to there... i more miss busan than seoul
i don't think i travel that often compare to my friend that travel almost every month (to many countries) btw, you need to explore more on seoul to find out the gems hehe.. you can explore other provinces

tips.. those who wanna stay in myeongdong but bored of namsan guesthouse. may try out this new recent mom guesthouse open by 1 of the super junior member. it's a a guesthouse plus cafe.. location very near to myeongdong subway smile.gif

http://mom2014.net/

yvonnesoo
post Oct 9 2014, 05:35 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Joycelee @ Oct 9 2014, 04:29 PM)
Hi, i check the flight tix from Seoul to Jeju is like RM 500++ round trip.

Is this consider expensive? anyway, i will be going in april/15
expensive. you need to check out during promo time. usually range around RM200-300 for return ticket
yvonnesoo
post Oct 10 2014, 10:59 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Oct 9 2014, 11:18 PM)
Guys (or girls), which brand of face mask is the best in terms of price+quality?

I would like to buy about 20-30 pieces, but not expensive ones.

I assume Myeongdong's the best area?

Reason: Planning to get a combo of snacks and masks as souvenirs. Not a fan of keychains and deco items.
do u know there are so many different brands and varieties? shakehead.gif can't differentiate between which one is good or not as people have different skin types.. somemore what can you expect from a cheaper mask?

if you want better one, buy snail mask as currently it's popular but it's not cheap. average cost rm8++ per piece. if you want to buy cheaper mask, choose any mask that come in a package (consist of few masks)

for mask you can find a lot at myeongdong and lotte mart for snacks or foods
yvonnesoo
post Oct 10 2014, 02:20 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Oct 10 2014, 01:08 PM)
Yea I understand that there's tonnes of brands, already that many in Malaysia I can only imagine Korea lol.  shocking.gif  Just wondering if there's a generally popular or "trendy" ones.

Wow snail  blink.gif Sounds fun, will keep a lookout for these. Quite pricey but maybe I would be lucky to strike a deal or something  hmm.gif .

Just one piece for one friend as a thought, so the actual function won't matter much I guess. Maybe mix of oil control and a few moisturizing ones. First come first serve  tongue.gif
than i suggest you buy few packs (consist of few masks with different function) to give your friend or etc as souvenirs la tongue.gif

too many brands and each brand, their mask function almost the same. only difference is packaging. buy according to your budget

yvonnesoo
post Oct 13 2014, 11:51 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(wj91 @ Oct 11 2014, 08:46 AM)
hi, just wanna ask about the KR pass.  During the reservation, there is a column "Expected date of arrival in Korea". Should I put the date of arrival in Korea or the date to use KR pass? I will arrive in Busan but use KR pass after few days there.
expected date of arrival is the date of your arrival. not the date you use the kr pass

QUOTE(fondo @ Oct 11 2014, 04:13 PM)
yvonnesoo, below statement in first page referring to...u?
It sounds like you, it looks like you...maybe its not you :l

Jokes aside, since you are Jeju frequent guest, is there any event in Jeju during Christmas? Say eve and the day itself.

Surf the visit korea and...the event calender did not highlight any.

Gao meng arghhhhhhhhhhhh
yup. it's me lol.. btw, i'm not frequent to Jeju. i'm frequent to Seoul only lol. actually Christmas for Korean is just another extra celebration. not a really big celebration like Chuseok or etc.. not all celebrate although there is quite a number of Christian but majority is Buddhist. i don't think Jeju have any event as most of the people there are more traditions haha..

QUOTE(xriies @ Oct 11 2014, 06:52 PM)
im going to seoul end of this month. there's one day im planning to go gangchon rail park and nami island. Is it advisable to go rail park in the morning then go nami island by afternoon? or should go nami island first? btw. normally how many hours ppl spend their time in nami island?
if you don't plan to spend a lot of time at Namiseom should not be an issue. but you will have an issue at the rail bike. fyi, it's better to reserve or purchase the ticket before you go to the rail bike as tickets almost sold out most of the time especially weekend or certain timing.. somemore the timing is not frequent. if you reach there and the ticket sold out, you can opt for another timing but it's a waste of time lor.. cz u need to wait for few hours unless you stroll around nearby places and return to the park

timing: 9 am / 11 am / 1 pm / 3pm / 5pm.

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:38 PM