Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> How to choose a good Cooker Hoods & Gas Hobs ?, Kitchen appliances hood / hob / oven

views
     
weikee
post Apr 27 2014, 11:33 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Mohdnorazman @ Apr 27 2014, 10:24 PM)
Try rinnai. Some kitchen shop said the flame fire is great
*
Highly recommend Rinnai. No regret.
weikee
post Apr 28 2014, 08:41 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(bluishblueblack @ Apr 28 2014, 01:11 AM)
I am from Ipoh, can you recommend where I can check out r8nnai? Presently my research is limited to online store xammax and builders hardware. Xammax has a number of rinnai hood + hob packages, do you guys recommend any particular models? Am trying to keep budget to about rm4k for the three items. Previously noticed builders hardware had some affordable fotile deals which even comes with sink and faucet.

I couldn't make it to perfect livin and so plan to visit homedec this week. Any tips to share re finding a good deal at such fairs?

Appreciate any advice! Thx.
*
Sorry I don't have contact on Ipoh. I deal with JF Home @ usj 9 for rinnai. I know the seller "iamsobloodysick" also sell rinnai, you can contact them. I have compare the 2011 rinnai and fotile hob before, fotile is no where near compare the Rinnai Inner Flame Technology.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 03:08 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ May 18 2014, 11:45 PM)
I have a Rubine MCH-LAZIO hood which comes with a 3 pin plug. However when my contractor pull the wire for me to install the hood..there is only 2 wires - red and black. Is that normal? Then where am I suppose to connect the green (earth) wire if I don't want to use the3 pin plug?
*
Earth is important, ask your contractor to correct it. And make sure he actually add back the earth not putting a dummy earth wire.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 10:48 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ May 19 2014, 10:44 AM)
Yea, that's what my dad told me too. But the contractor told me for hood normally all no earth wire  rclxub.gif

I will request him to add the earth wire
*
Can run without earth, when it fry can may also fry the human too.. Especially when spill over soup.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 10:49 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
That make me wonder, is he tapping from another power socket or direct from Circuit box?
weikee
post May 19 2014, 01:53 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ May 19 2014, 01:39 PM)
From another power socket right next to it. Any problems with that?
*
Yes, If you are sharing, you risk burning the internal wires. Electric hob can go up to 4000 watt and more depend on model, and normal 2.5mm wires won't be able handle that load. If you loop you need to know what is being shared, some house share same wires for few socket.

You need to know your Hob max current requirement, and its recommendation wires size.

Assuming you have hood too, and from your information, I assume he also loop the same wires for hoob.

Good luck.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 02:33 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ May 19 2014, 02:28 PM)
I think you may have misunderstood. I'm talking about my hood only, I'm using gas hob. My hood is the one without the earth wire, and the wire is loop from another power socket.
*
Opps, sorry. Hood not so much concern on power drawn.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 03:30 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ May 19 2014, 03:16 PM)
But still need earth wire right? Since it is made of stainless steel
*
Every electrical equipment that have earth cable is there for purpose. Is better to earth it.
weikee
post May 19 2014, 04:17 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(idoblu @ May 19 2014, 04:01 PM)
I just checked my new hood. Came with a two prong Euro plug....no Earth also.

My 6000W (total) Induction hob dont even come with any instructions on using what kind of plugs or wiring requirement. Best to connect straight to wire or go thru a plug better? Plug and socket at least can turn off the mains
*
Wow, 6000Watt? I hope you have minimal 6mm cables to support. And No socket can handle 6000 Watt. You need a heavy duty switch that can handle minimal 30Amps.
weikee
post Jun 8 2014, 09:15 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Your comparison on your utensils only. Some people will have bigger some will have smaller. I have much bigger wok, looking at the photo I don't think it can even use the 2nd burner if using that burner.

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 8 2014, 08:58 AM)
Yes true, just do your own research and you will know which is a better suit model for your cooking. I already tested both models and it is true that GAG 86309 flame power is slightly stronger than GCG 90301 but the flame for GCG is already very powerful as commented by other forumers who already purchased and used the hob. I also uploaded a video on GCG flame comparison with other brands and proven it is much stronger and gas saving due to the one piece burner design and fotile burning technology only 3.8kW gas input required to produce strong flame.

Here is one of the reason why most of our customers prefer FOTILE GCG 90301 over other hobs. If you would like to know more just drop by my showroom to have  a look at the actual product and for us to explain the details such as Flame area coverage, maintenance, durability, wok support design and Etc. When looking for a good hob, dont just look at flame power have to look at other factors as mentioned above, a good Hood as well, not just suction power is important.
https://www.facebook.com/builders.hardware/info

user posted image
*
weikee
post Jun 8 2014, 09:54 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 8 2014, 09:21 AM)
well this wok size is suitable for 6-8 persons which is quite the standard size but ofcoz there are bigger one. However the wider hob size 900mm of GCG 90301 is the maximum size already as a standard hood size is 900mm. I actually took home a GAG unit and put it in my house for testing so i could compare them better.
What is the best way to understand a product other than using it yourself which i believe end user could do this. There are many other photos/videos on comparison but you need to drop by my showroom to view them, wont b uploading online.

Most forumers also asked me about Fotile JQG9009 hood such as performance, noise and etc, well to explain better i will replace my current EH10BQ hood with JQG9009 by next week and then you can expect more photos and videos smile.gif
*
My guess you don't cook much. That wok for 6-8 person? Seriously go try vegi that 8 person see how much it overflow. If that not enough try fried rice. Practically, I don't know who will use a wok coking and at the same time use the small burner the same time.

Anyway, I am not a fotile hob fan. Rinnai hob so far still be best performance especially the inner flame, introduce to few of new home owner and they never complain.

Hoob, fotile is good, but not the cleaning part.
weikee
post Jun 9 2014, 08:16 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 8 2014, 11:33 PM)
well during Chinese New Year, grandma and aunties came to our house, we use the same wok to cook, that is why i say it is sufficient, we only have one wok at home, i don think ppl will waste space and keep many size of wok in their house. Well, i do the observation while my mom does the cooking.
*
That's your definition of the size for 6-8 peoples. Other may not. Some maybe smaller so the other model if hob will be sufficient too right?

My wok good for 6 people, and is already bigger than the wok you shown.
weikee
post Jun 11 2014, 08:34 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
My earlier quote "Maybe is only me only, i felt is overselling/marketing here" yes it maybe I take it personal.

If other don't think that, is good. Is only me than.
weikee
post Jun 11 2014, 11:46 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Now a debate to debate or not haha... Let it go... let it go....

weikee
post Jun 11 2014, 01:32 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Jcyteh @ Jun 11 2014, 12:49 PM)
Normally the built-in oven uses 13 A or 15 A plug?  Is it safe to use 13 A plug if 15 A is required?
*
Is better to overspec than under. Difference model oven have difference ratting. Check the manual.
weikee
post Jun 12 2014, 01:58 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Jcyteh @ Jun 12 2014, 01:19 PM)
If the oven is 2300 W, so 13 A plug is enough?
*
Yes, 2300Watt is 10Amps. Enough if you are not sharing the same MCB.
weikee
post Jun 12 2014, 03:05 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Jcyteh @ Jun 12 2014, 02:58 PM)
Sharing MCB? The 13 A plug wire is pulled directly from the main switchboard...no looping. Like this ok?
*
Yup.
weikee
post Jun 17 2014, 10:39 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 17 2014, 10:08 AM)
Great! Now im facing #MH370 on the BH sub-con installer! If I failed to reach the installer, what’s more BH can assist me? They also facing the same #MH370 as me!

16/6/14 – Monday
11:19AM - Called #BHSubConInstaller trying to confirm / reminds installer on the 2pm installation but nobody answer my call.
2:00pm – I reached my place & I smsed #BHSubConInstaller telling him I’m at my place waiting. 2:12pm – no show of #BHSubConInstaller nor I get any calls.
2:12pm – keep calling #BHSubConInstaller but went into voice mail.
2:18pm – called #BHSubConInstaller but went into voice mail again.
2:21pm – called #BHSubConInstaller but went into voice mail again. 
2:22pm – I notified Control Tower (BH) on the missing #BHSubConInstaller!

Time is running out for me! My last contact with #BHSubConInstaller was on Friday  yesterday (16/6/2014. 2pm). Notified control tower (BH) at 2:22pm on the missing #BHSubconInstaller since yesterday!

Interesting development which I need to pressure BH to get my hood installed before my “moving in house ceremony” on 21 June! Yesterday evening, kena lectured kaw kaw by my home minister aka finance minister aka PM aka mum. Plus I purposely took leave for this installation! Very negative images impacted on me on #BHSubConInstaller
As at updates just now (9:26am), Control tower still failed to get in touch with #BHSubConInstaller !

While im typing the "long gas" comment, the #BHSubConInstaller called! Apologized and said his phone missing yesterday.  rclxub.gif

Now new appointment being arranged. #PrayForBHSubConinstaller will come on time and complete the installation!

end.
*
Sub con, even Main con all cannot give 100% trust la, must have backup plan, and put in buffer. If you need your house ready by May, tell them you need it by March. If you move in on 21st, tell them you move in 10th even to the seller be it BH or someone else. No doubt BH give you ASSURANCE. Alternative DIY and install your own, save money and gain experience like I do. Always remember, we are dealing with human (especially Malaysian with the rubber band habit)

weikee
post Jun 17 2014, 04:57 PM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Fazab @ Jun 17 2014, 04:24 PM)
I always tell the contractor /installer to call me the day before appointment to confirm.

If he don't call I will call him.

If no confirmation consider appointment is off.  I won't wait. Better he suffer for his inefficiency, not me.
*
If he off, he only loose one contract from you, but your entire schedule may get screw. Imagine you plan move in on Sat, and expect contractor to come fix your A/C on Wed, painter going to come Thurs to finish up the work after a/c installed. Suddenly A/C contractor "no show", and ok he don't get the job. But who going to do your job?
weikee
post Jun 18 2014, 08:10 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
12,019 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 18 2014, 12:07 AM)
I m terribly sorry bro, this installer has been installing our hoods for several years and had been reliable until recently World Cup. I already warned him not to be late this time and will remind him again on thursday and friday morning.
*
If world cup is the reason, is better to ditch them. That is unreliable.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0950sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th September 2022 - 09:20 AM