8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V33, Official 4.3 arrived in Malaysia

mtxx
post Jan 28 2014, 03:34 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jan 28 2014, 08:46 AM)
guys.

anyone using s820 or s920 ?

any comment?
wanna buy it for my waifu. coz her note1 start giving up on her.
get the moto G.
awesome phone. freakin fast.

i thought moto G is weak, but other than camera and storage, it kindda pownes s3.

screen super sharp, color very nice (not over saturate like amoled, not pale like sony screen)
battery so good, wifi all day, 5 hour SOT with 35% remaining. (it beats my s3 with extended battery)
it is actually faster and more responsive than s3, opening apps, switching between apps, animations, so silky smooth.

i dont feel benchmark is important, but did some test
it get 8k in quadrant, s3 only 5k+
antutu 17k+
A1 SD, 100MB/s read, 30MB/s write
(above score is on 4.3 jellybean)

great bettery life and nice looking stock android. only the camera tak boleh pakai. no nfc.
very good phone for the price.

mtxx
post Jan 29 2014, 07:31 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Jan 29 2014, 05:07 PM)
for some reason, my screen on imperium rom look more nicer vs slimbean/temasek rom sweat.gif
Should be same ma. What so special about imperium rom?

Different display mode?

mtxx
post Jan 29 2014, 11:29 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jan 29 2014, 05:16 PM)
once u go 4.4, u never go back  tongue.gif
Very true.
So satisfied with 4.4, I rarely post here anymore.
mtxx
post Jan 30 2014, 12:31 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Jan 30 2014, 08:30 AM)
Temasek 4.4.2 (forget which build) I kena twice my hp suddenly bootloop for no reason doh.gif then again it still beta.

So far I am using Slim bean 4.3.1 and Imperium rom 4.3 <-battery friendly rom

For 4.4.2 I did tested cyanfox, illusion <-quite stable.
I never gets bootloop in temasek.

In fact I never get bootloop in any rom.

How u get bootloop? Flash wrong kernel?
mtxx
post Jan 30 2014, 04:11 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Jan 30 2014, 01:09 PM)
mtxx

bro, this is what happen when i said a glance of apps/call log/setting - im using temasek v41
when i closed Facebook, or other apps, there will be a flash (1 second of last apps, in this picture was call log)..then after that it goes to homescreen as usual...any idea how to fix this?

it happen randomly
No idea. Your home button spoil? Maybe It register as long press when u short press
mtxx
post Feb 3 2014, 12:13 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Feb 2 2014, 09:38 PM)
i`ve just download kies and update to 4.3 , stupid samsung really did a bad job when it comes to updating through phone , need to download kies then can use 4.3 . To me this is sutpid and Apple is doing a better job than Samsung .
My iPad was stuck in DFU mode when I tried to update ota

Go google how much error iTunes is causing during updating.
Maybe I'm bad luck. But both my iPad and my mothers one got stuck in DFU when upgrading to iOS 6 and 7
Need to fully restore and lose all data only can update. And there is no downgrading. So stressful and angry.

At least for android, have cwm, can restore anytime.
mtxx
post Feb 3 2014, 12:14 AM

5,011 posts

Cm 10.2.1 released. Any one tried.

Does the camera animation lag fixed? Previously all Aosp 4.3 rom have horrible lag in camera animations. Eg, swipe at view finder to go to gallery
mtxx
post Feb 5 2014, 09:56 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(xarmx @ Feb 5 2014, 05:24 PM)
i'm still sticking with my ol'faithful slimrom 4.2.2. even the 4.3 stable version is acting stupidly.
Last week I went back to slim 4.2.2 also since I got fed up with the Bluetooth audio issue in 4.4
But 4.2 Bluetooth issue even worst. It causes wifi to get disconnected.

mtxx
post Feb 5 2014, 09:57 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 5 2014, 07:38 PM)
so far for me, 4.3.1 slimrom is awesome..... vs temasek 4.4.2 smile.gif
4.3 slim is good overall. But the camera animation is so laggy.
I paiseh to snap pic also. People see will think mine is pirated china s3.
Seriously any camera app also laggy on 4.3

mtxx
post Feb 5 2014, 10:01 PM

5,011 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2038273

If you guys are on 4.4 and using Bluetooth speaker,
You'll notice there is horrible music stutter, only affect Bluetooth audio. Normal 3.5 mm jack is working fine.

Finally there is a solution for it. Flash one of the Bluetooth driver in xda link above.
Now no more stutter, even using yank zzmove governator also no issue.

So happy finally 4.4 no more issues for me. Smooth, fast and nice.
mtxx
post Feb 7 2014, 09:56 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Feb 7 2014, 12:53 AM)
root and flash temasek v42, kinda do this blindly and guts  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

after this i need to read more. so far no problem. gonna wait till morning
using temasek rom since december. great rom
mtxx
post Feb 7 2014, 02:11 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Feb 7 2014, 01:27 PM)
Just updated to 4.3, and I don't feel any difference from previous version.

Does 4.3 improves my S3 performance and stability?
frankly speaking 4.1,4.2,4.3,4.4 no difference in smoothness.
4.2>4.1 for lock screen widget and photosphere cam
4.3>4.2 trim support
4.4>4.3 less ram usage, more free ram, and cached apps

last week i flash back 4.3 and 4.2 slimbean, feels same only for smoothness. dont feel any downgrade in terms of smoothness whatsoever

for note3, they got kitkat update already. my friend say other than battery icon turn white, no difference also.
lol...note 3 already very very fast. at all time also have 1+GB free ram with 20+ apps in cache.
clash of titans 100+MB so big also can be kept in cache. shocking.gif
mtxx
post Feb 10 2014, 12:07 AM

5,011 posts

Yank kernel. Awesome with zzmove governator
mtxx
post Feb 10 2014, 06:57 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(boonseng @ Feb 10 2014, 12:20 AM)
shocking.gif impressive..7 hours of usage with such long stand by time lolĀ  drool.gif
bro wanna ask did u enable the power save mode on samsung default settings not the kernel one?
because i used before yank kernel's one will experience some lag on swiftkey(obvious one) if i enabled power save on samsung default settings, with zzmove governor (kernel settings)

if enabled power save mode the cpu hits more on 1000 mhz, rarely 1400 mhz
if disable power save mode the cpu hits fairly more on the 1400 compare to the above one, i hope u get what i meantĀ  notworthy.gif

I use 3000 may battery
I use swiftkey and there is no lag
My yank kernel is mostly default, but max cpu is 1.4 GHz, no screen off cpu limit, and no audio mod

I use cm11 by temasek, there is no power saving mode.
That is a Samsung touch wiz feature

This post has been edited by mtxx: Feb 10 2014, 06:58 AM
mtxx
post Feb 12 2014, 06:36 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Feb 11 2014, 08:50 PM)
hi..is anyone here using the cm11 latest 4.4.2 currently, i cant seem to slide left in the home screen to access google now, and the voice resignition for 'ok google' is not working too at the home screen..anybosy knows why?

good rom though, super smooth and stable
You need to flash banks gapps to get Google edition launcher.

Cm 11 is using their own trebuchet launcher.
mtxx
post Feb 12 2014, 09:35 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Feb 12 2014, 09:21 AM)
Yes..u r right, I don't have the Google launcher but I already flash the gapps..I have all the apps like normal..only the launcher missing..you have any link bro for it? Thank you
http://goo.im/devs/BaNkS/GApps/4.4.2

here you go.
i personally dont get whats the hype with GEL (google edition launcher)

there are too many problems and lack of features

problems
~icons are crazy huge, causing some icons to be blur
~only 4x4 grid which is BIG waste of space
~extra steps to add widgets and create new page
~wallpaper issues, since first page is defaulted to the extreme left, whatever wallpaper you set, you'll only see the left side
~waste of battery, always listening using mic while in home screen

lack of features (compared to nova)
~no custom icons
~no gestures (swipe up/down with 1/2 fingers or rotate clockwise/anticlockwise to launch apps/activities)
~customizable grid (i prefer 5x5 grid)

mtxx
post Feb 12 2014, 09:00 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Feb 12 2014, 12:06 PM)
im on v45..not using pie...
i never update, i think v43 is stable already

temasek nightly sometimes will have some screw ups in some version.

some screw ups from previous version eg. hangout video upside down, camera cant connect error
those are solved quickly but still wasted alot of my time cwm restoring back to previous version that work

v44 have issue with streaming video from fb or youtube, no picture, only sound, need reboot to solve
v45 apparently breaks the notification led

also i notice since he add screen recording, phone gets laggy abit.
his rom is 200MB, after i delete lost of rubbish systems apps, it became 160MB, then only i flash.
you can open the rom zip file using 7zip program, then delete stuff you dont want, or replace stuff you wan inside.

i deleted all the live wallpaper, useless ringtones, and bloatware system apps (terminal emulator, dsp manager, stock messaging, trebuchet, screen recorder, omniswitch etc)

This post has been edited by mtxx: Feb 12 2014, 09:01 PM
mtxx
post Feb 12 2014, 09:03 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Feb 12 2014, 01:29 PM)
using boeffla...
pegasus - boefella mode
CPu - undervolt -75
Gpu - undervolt -75
charge - AC 1000 , USB 800
never try before...
undervolting will eventually lead to SOD.
phone deepsleep until cannot wake even after you press power button. need pull battery
mtxx
post Feb 13 2014, 12:04 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Feb 12 2014, 10:33 PM)
I did the 4.3 update last week when i got a OTA notification.....Biggest mistake

After the update, phone went bongkers! worst part was i didn't backup anything, but luckily enough i manage to get some backup

To make matters worst i couldn't get the phone to connect to my pc, usb or wireless, couldn't access some folders, include my photos

Finally decided to reset back to factory, wiping all data
After the reset phone is back to normal, but painfully have to install back all my programs and some data loss

So for those who have not update the phone, either don't do it or backup ALL of your stuff before you do

I'm going to permanently switch off the software update
Now thinking of rooting my phone.......
Direct upgrade without factory reset for a major software version will surely have risk of weird issue. Especially when u have lots of apps installed.

And I can't believe you trust Samsung that much with their ota by not backing up. Even apple screw my iPad when I update ota from ios6 to ios 7. I got stuck in DFU mode (android equivalent of boot loop)

The point is, always backup before os update. It's common sense.
mtxx
post Feb 13 2014, 08:26 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Feb 13 2014, 12:21 AM)
Well, i have not  had any issues for the past 2/3 updates since i got the phone late 2012, thats why i blindly press the button......buta buta oledi masuk longkang...... cry.gif
Used to backup every month or so, but since early 2013 i somehow lapse, serves me right !!  mad.gif

Well, at least i can advise other users and share my experiences with this updates, and after much searching, the 4.3 is problematic especially OTA, those using kies don't have any issues

Funny thing is that the phone decided to move the pix folder back to the phone although i still had ample memory on the SD card
your previous updates are normal bug fixes, still on the same android version. 4.1
now you are skipping 2 versions ahead. and since android 4.2, the file system is different,
the internal memory have a new location. surely there will be issues regardless how hard samsung tries.
best is a clean install to avoid weird issues.

even a device as fast as note 3, the kitkat update cause some slow downs for some (a minority, not all) device.
since 4.3->4.4 is very different as well

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:10 PM