5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

MacBook Pro Retina User Thread, All you can feedback here and report in.

SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2013, 06:17 AM, updated 10y ago

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Anyone of rMBP user you all can report in, if have any issue of feedback do we can sharing those on hardware or software an issue.

Because everyday have lot of thread to asking about retina display an issue or problem.

So now we have user thread here, anything you can update for latest news.

Internal layout design all was different you can find out here for more info : http://www.ifixit.com/Device/MacBook_Pro_13%22

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 15 2013, 08:22 PM)
Anyone test your MBP before of normal HDD speed test?

i just realise about the speed..  drool.gif

MBP 13 non Retina, after upgrade into OCZ sata 2 Vertex speed, feel that recent already.

rMBP late 2012 edition

rMBP 13 Late 2013 edition
Count me in..cheers

This post has been edited by kimsim: Dec 18 2013, 06:27 AM
SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2013, 10:59 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 18 2013, 10:45 AM)
[WTA] Has anyone tested the thunderboltII port?

1. Can we use old thunderbolt cable / minidisplay-hdmi? No such thing TBII cable right?
2. Stutter-wise - 4K movie (download) play to extended display
3. Speed-wise transferring 10GB movie file to Drobo 5D for example
All thunderbolt cable was the same.

From late 2013 MacBook Pro retina only offering with thunderbolt 2 port.
This it transfer rate more faster than thunderbolt 1.

Find out as my data here : http://vintagephotograph.weebly.com/thunderbolt-adaptor.html

This post has been edited by kimsim: Dec 18 2013, 11:01 AM
SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2013, 12:29 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Dec 18 2013, 11:42 AM)
So far no issue on my MBPR late 2012 except on the fan roaring at random times ( on window 7 now 24/7 due to software incompatibility )

But in Mac OS X it run quiet and a beast. just having some little problem with my screen. =X
End up how you solve that screen?
SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2013, 12:41 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Dec 18 2013, 12:35 PM)
my screen issue just a a quick glism like 0.5 second at very random. only happen once in the blue moon. now don't have anymore. haven't resolve it yet. =X

Any idea what causes this? or is the connector lose?
Graphic issue or retina display too sharp and refresh then no issue.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 9 2014, 12:28 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Jan 9 2014, 11:48 AM)
so far my air doesn't give me any problem,used it a lot outdoor and in the robotic lab where it's exposed to a lot of aluminium dust and other metal.get 256gb,or not later u would regret if u have bootcamp.
they would deliver to your add,don't worry,it will reach your house safety laugh.gif
Somemore 256gb more fast read/write speed
SUSkimsim
post Jan 9 2014, 02:30 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(JeremyLord @ Jan 9 2014, 02:18 PM)
Does MacBook Air 13" display is okay? Will I see pixels because I'm used to my Full HD smartphone display? I'm currently having headache on choosing either MacBook Air 13" i5,4gb & 256gb SSD or MacBook Pro 13" i5,4gb & 128gb SSD. MacBook Air 13" cost RM3749 and add RM100 can get MacBook Pro @ RM3849. Arghhhhhhh  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif
Air is lighter a bit.
But these is no improve model.

Unless air come with retina display and thunderbolt 2.

For me I would go for late 2012 retina MacBook Pro..lol
SUSkimsim
post Jan 9 2014, 02:41 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(JeremyLord @ Jan 9 2014, 02:35 PM)
Does 4gb ram enough for 2013 rMBP since I'm using for assignments, YouTube, MS office? not for gaming though.  blink.gif Apple is now still selling the MBP with disc reader, is that retina or not?
Enough or not enough is depend how u usage..
SUSkimsim
post Jan 9 2014, 03:15 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(sann.tiro @ Jan 9 2014, 02:54 PM)
Anyone use 13" rMBP for editing photos in Lightroom? How is it? Does it lag?

I am planning to get the 2.6/16GB/256 SSD 13", but heard from forums that some people experiencing UI lag on the 13". I would have gone for the 15" if not for the higher price and being less portable compared to the 13"
R u serious in need 16gb ram?

Not need lah, 8gb & 256gb good than enough, these is dunno how fast do you read & write for saving photos.

Lightroom only color profile editor.

Inb4 of my MBA late 2011 4gb ram & 128gb dunno how fast to work with Nikon NX capture 2 and editing on D800 Raw files of 70-80mb per each file.

Lol
SUSkimsim
post Jan 9 2014, 03:57 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(sann.tiro @ Jan 9 2014, 03:42 PM)
Thanks for your reply.

By any chance, have you ever tested editing photos in Lightroom on rMBP 13" 2013?

I know it is fast on MBA, but that's not what I need to know. Fast at MBA, doesn't mean it doesn't lag on rMBP smile.gif Again, I know, the specs are higher on rMBP, but I just need to check if anyone really use Lightroom on a rMBP 13" and edit photos on regular basis. Especially on scaled resolution (14XX or 16XX)
Wanna fast even late 2012 non-retina 15 inch still the best and fast like hell.
Mine is 4gb ram only. But already changed to samsung 840 pro SSD.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 14 2014, 01:10 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Jan 14 2014, 12:37 PM)
There is a long thread on the Apple forums on eye strain from using the Retina MacBook Pro. True or not?

Eye strain from LED backlighting in MacBook Pro
Not sure, retina display already 2 yrs in the markets now, so far no ppls complain about it and got complain an replacement already.

SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2014, 07:59 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Jan 17 2014, 01:18 AM)
Why regret on 128gb?
He regret of 4GB Ram in factory package.

SSD can be upgrade and just Ram is soldered on logic board.

Like that more cost saving and weight cutting edge too.

This post has been edited by kimsim: Jan 17 2014, 07:59 AM
SUSkimsim
post Jan 19 2014, 11:01 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(NetMaestro @ Jan 19 2014, 07:58 PM)
Just received my rMBP 13" 8GB 256GB two days ago. Bought on Jan 10 Friday sale. My first Apple notebook ever after many years of using the alternate platform.

Now looking for a nice cover as it seems shame to have any marks/scratches on the matt finishing.  Went to a couple of shops in PJ but all seem to run out of stock of the  rMBP version.  Any suggestions were it can be found?

NetMaestro
Actually you can find in notebook sell thread, there have many reseller to selling it 3rd party rMBP cover, I'm using that, so far so good never scratch on my rMBP any hairline marks, the only reason without using and easily getting marks.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 25 2014, 11:39 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 25 2014, 08:43 AM)
Haha, for me 6.5 hours already quite good compared to my old laptop.  smile.gif
Using it to watch short ted talks on flight.  thumbup.gif
Did you upgrade into mavericks?
SUSkimsim
post Jan 25 2014, 04:53 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(pookiefoof @ Jan 25 2014, 04:50 PM)
I went to few Apple stores included Harvey Norman, surprisingly no stock for Macbook Pro Retina for 128GB only 256GB.  sad.gif
before CNY most of them already bought it all rclxms.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jan 25 2014, 08:55 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(pookiefoof @ Jan 25 2014, 05:07 PM)
Before CNY got sales? I thought most of the people will choose 256GB.
Bonus not enough then go for 128gb these was still own a rMBP right. rclxms.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jan 25 2014, 10:02 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Jan 25 2014, 10:00 PM)
I bought a rMBP last year. Switching from WINDOWS laptop to mac has been hell for me.

Just can't get used to MAC. I know MAC is able to do loads of stuff, but I just find it difficult to use instead of windows.

Abit regret buy rMBP. Feel like selling and switch back to windows...lol
Lol go for bootcamp into windows
SUSkimsim
post Jan 26 2014, 08:20 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 25 2014, 10:52 PM)
Im new to apple, actually what the point if buy a macbook pro then bootcamp into window? Is that market don have any window laptop is better than a macbook pro retina now? So alot of ppl here choose apple?
Windows platform still got their cheaper version of laptop & PC to setting up as budget cost for entry level, even copyright windows still anywhere in around the world. rclxms.gif

These is just like android phone vs iPhone, you can ask which one is expansive and nice to used?

SUSkimsim
post Jan 27 2014, 03:28 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Jan 27 2014, 02:25 PM)
SSD is much more reliable than HDD.
You are right, most of SSD after used set and bought it over and the performance of speed still getting faster and winner than brand new HDD.
SUSkimsim
post Feb 17 2014, 07:53 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(iz1011 @ Feb 17 2014, 03:04 PM)
Reporting in! New user of MBPr!
Welcome....
SUSkimsim
post Mar 9 2014, 07:33 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Mar 9 2014, 12:04 AM)
I'm going to buy an rMBP in JB. Any good resellers to recommend?

I have my reasons of not buying online.

Machine at jusco or citisquare or Danga city mall smile.gif
For apple authorise center

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0647sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:13 PM