7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

kevinlim001
post Aug 10 2020, 07:48 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 07:30 PM)
I'm checking out the minidsp 88, it looks pretty interesting. Would you say that getting this 88A is a better route than buying an overpriced pre-pro?
The picture to me makes no sense at all. Why would a piece of plastic tube change how resistance in a cable work? The picture shows it's just shifting the copper cores to the edge, why would that... change the sound? Mind explaining the science? Maybe I'm too stupid to understand the picture.

1. I don't know if my ears can tell the difference because I have not even tried any cables yet. But I can't just go spend 10k on a variety of cables then choose which is best right?
2. Don't know, that's why I'm choosing the equipments to go with it now. But why does cable matching to speakers matter in the first place??
3. Right now I believe they are just bullshitting their product (like this audioquest or monster for example), but then there are so many people that swear by it and it makes a difference.
If no name cable is good enough, then that's good. Save me few thousand which I put in to speakers.
Qed claim that the strands of conductor is only being utilised at 75% following the standard design .. the middle part is not being utilised therefore they put a core there so that the conductor surrounding the core can be utilized without wastage.

I am not recommending you this cable nor telling u this cable is good or bad. You asked what is I mean by technology I am trying to give u an example how technology is being applied by qed. Its not as simple as just a strand of coppers like u described. You can also argue that you can buy the same china copper lines and work as great as qed. I have no objection I don't stand by any brand on this case.

Audioquest is famous in isolating noise. I m using their sub cable.

I dont agree with cable matching speakers concept unless you are asking about the gauge sizing because your speaker ohm n distance will affect the awg of the cable u r buying.

I will say cable is like color of the paint of ur car. Speaker is ur car. Somebody like blue somebody like red. There no 1 set of theory how u should paint your car. There's nobody can advise you or guarantee u that u buy a set of cables and u will 100% like it. Instead of getting urself in circle just settle down with proper copper speaker wire and pay more attention like the gauge size that you need to run for different distance from your speakers.

If you worry you not be able to change ur speaker cables after you conceal it just run the conduit inside ur wall so u can pull up if u wish to upgrade in future.

I think I m going to leave to other shifu for the recommendation. And I hope I answer the doubt u have with my statement earlier.

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Aug 10 2020, 07:59 PM
kevinlim001
post Aug 10 2020, 08:00 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2020, 06:46 PM)
qed xtube is plastic inside. copper mix silver outside
u using qed bro? I wanted to try but the price turn me away..
kevinlim001
post Aug 10 2020, 08:49 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2020, 08:42 PM)
i got cheaper version of xtube serie. xt evolution.
bought 2nd hand since i want to learn first.

real xtube is very thick becos of middle plastic.
outside diammeter dont reflect on copper thickness
The awg make sense? Will they provide a ref awg no? But if ur speaker distance is not far it should be fine i guess
kevinlim001
post Aug 10 2020, 09:20 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2020, 09:08 PM)
qed got mention 5mmsq. urself convert awg.

i tell u my conclusion here with MA silver rx8 floorstand.
connect to HF. the overall balance became split (not instruments separation yaa) and totally not pleasant as before.
i guess due to 3way crossover? end up i connect to LF only.

next time use copper can ady. dont mix two conductor.
I see
What's the configuration are doing? Bi amp bi wire or jumper? Jumper with red at high black at low not helping?
kevinlim001
post Aug 10 2020, 09:52 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2020, 09:50 PM)
biamp. not point going back single wire, i didnt try 1HF 1LF
I see.. nvm thats the fun part of hifi never ending exploring to improve keke
kevinlim001
post Aug 13 2020, 08:43 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

i do agree with this.. rclxms.gif we cant feed all the information and compress so it can be understand in 1 day.

HT/Hifi are like tea/coffee.. not all us share the same taste bud. In the journey of learning, you learn and recognize the problem and find a way to solve it. Getting the fundamental correct is important and had been highlighted over over again. Basic stuff like power supply/room treatment has to be consider prior starting.

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Aug 14 2020, 04:13 PM
kevinlim001
post Aug 19 2020, 01:36 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

@JustCheeze - mind to share how much you will be investing for your new HT? What you are planning to buy?
kevinlim001
post Aug 19 2020, 04:24 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 19 2020, 03:35 PM)
That's what i will do, thanks.
If only can bring back home to trial. I ask the shop, they say cannot eventhough they admit what you hear in shop is different to what you hear at home... then how would I know what I'm hearing?  sweat.gif
Yikes sorry sifu. Point taken! Understand what you mean by power cable cannot change the sound, that makes sense. notworthy.gif

I see, so thats what it mean by coaxial driver. Ok ok I understand more now. The KEF didn't sound very bright to me, I think is just nice for my listening taste. Maybe I like bright speaker? hmm.gif
I will check out the Wharfedale Evo you mention, from online reviews seem quite promising and the design of the speaker looks nice too.

My room dimension is 15ft long, 12ft wide. Ceiling height I think is 9ft if not mistaken. I try find if got any pictures to show or not later.
I don't dare ask any sifu here to open their home to me, especially at this covid time. I think people a bit sensitive for now. Is unfortunate. All I can do is look at photos of how ppl do their home cinema and I try to copy the parts that I can.
With room reno budget - maybe around RM50k+/-?

Planning to buy pre pro or good receiver, set of speakers aiming 5.1.4 setup if possible. Display I already have, bought LG OLED B9 not long ago. The confusing thing for me now is I don't know how much to put into speakers, how much to put into pre pro/receiver and how much need to put in to the other thing like cables and room treatment. Too many differing opinions on that.
with 50k for 5.1.4 you can do plenty of stuff d. first get your room + power supply sorted out then decide your pre pro. Then speakers - go for audition and pick the one that pleased your ear. By right at around these few months we are going to have KLAV but this year, due to covid it get canceled. At least you are able to audition some of the HT in KLAV if its happening.

Get some standard speakers cable and make sure those which you build in in wall can be change easily without hacking in future if you want to change speaker wire.

no room is the same, you will face your own acoustic problem with the room you are setting up. experience with placement of the speakers, sub or MLP. with your room dimension its better for you to utilize the long wall.
kevinlim001
post Aug 19 2020, 11:36 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 19 2020, 05:19 PM)
You using 3000 series? Any thoughts on sb-4000 and pb-4000? PB-4000 looks like a giant.
i am using PB3000 - fitting my car boot just nice, 4000 series is using a higher powered amp and .5 inch bigger driver. SB and PB behave in differently on the frequency response and the SPL. If you extreme low freq like in movies go for PB. if you like fast response driver with better precision over music go for SB. If you got a large room to cover you can consider PB series from 4000 or even 16 Ultra.
kevinlim001
post Aug 30 2020, 08:46 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 29 2020, 11:11 PM)
Ok so today I went and purchased 2x KEF LS50 + 1x KEF R2C as the LCR. This was what I auditioned at the hoe huat shop and I really like this combination. I hope I didn't make the wrong choice!  sweat.gif

As for receiver, I think I will be getting Denon X4700h as that what was recommended to me today too. It is within my budget and seem to be suited for the number of speakers I want to put in my room. The 4700h is good right?

The SVS sub, you think I should go for the port model instead? I think I should be able to fit 2x PB2000 in my budget.
go for ported model if
1) most of the time you deal with movies - more pressure and better low without fast rolling off
2) your room and accommodate the bigger footprint

seal model is better on accuracy if you are doing more music and you do not have big room

dual pb2000 pro is an good option.. get pb2000 pro if your budget allows. Pro comes with apps control and improved output compare to normal version
kevinlim001
post Aug 30 2020, 08:46 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 29 2020, 11:35 PM)
You will need very powerful amp for LS50, >150W/ch for satisfaction or add subwoofer.
sensitivity rated at 85db.. one of the lowest that i have come across brows.gif
kevinlim001
post Sep 2 2020, 01:07 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Sep 2 2020, 12:48 PM)
So do you think 2x SB3000 is good enough for my room?
Ya ok I agree with that. I think I already saved a lot by not buying the bullshit cables you advice me to ignore. Thanks again for the lesson. notworthy.gif

I will try go and audition the PB2000 soon. I just calculated the size of the subs, they seem to be perfect fit for front left and back right corner. I hear this is usually a good placement for dual subs correct?
your room is not too big.. if you plan to play loud then you should choose PB series. If you like SB natures, the set that is better than SB3000 is SB16 Ultra. SB4000 doesnt makes a lot of differences.

for music setup best is to put dual in front for stereo imaging.. for movies setup it varies.. you need to try and find the spot for the room.
some reading if you have not do so: https://www.svsound.com/blogs/subwoofer-set...oofer-placement and https://www.svsound.com/blogs/subwoofer-set...195-why-go-dual

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Sep 2 2020, 01:12 PM
kevinlim001
post Sep 10 2020, 08:01 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Sep 9 2020, 02:59 PM)
So just to update room renovation is nearly done. Cables are all pulled, floor tiling has all been re-done change to SPC flooring.

Before I tell the contractor to close the wall, may I ask one last time this cable is good enough for surround right - https://actsessory.com/2019/02/08/scp-14awg...-speaker-cable/
share some photo later rclxms.gif

if its possible runs conduit / trunking in your wall so that the next time you want to change speaker wire you still have a way to do so.
kevinlim001
post Oct 14 2020, 08:14 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dhouseng @ Oct 14 2020, 03:57 AM)
Guys where is best place to buy SVS subwoofer? I'm from KL
look for max
https://www.maxxht.com/contact

kevinlim001
post Oct 20 2020, 08:26 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Oct 18 2020, 10:50 PM)
Hey guys

This whole home theater setup I honestly don't understand. Can someone please guide me? I really don't understand the purpose of woofer , sub woofer and 5.1 speakers etc etc ..Planning to buy 65" tv. I would like to have a nice sound system setup to go along with it. My budget is around 2-3k. What best can I do with this?
Thank you
lets start with the basic.. 5.1 indicates the number of channels /speakers.. the first number 5 indicates you have 5 speaker that gives you surround audio on the ground level. .1 indicates 1 unit of subwoofer. In the recent years, there is another extra channel being made up for sound coming from above.. so in recent format you will see something like 5.1.4... where .4 means there are 4 speaker being used for the audio from above.

The whole idea here is to put you in a zone where you are surrounded by audio
The image above shows a 7.1.4 system

Next we move to the purpose of the woofer. The woofer is a speaker with big driver (from 8 inch to 16 inch).. The job for this speaker is to send low frequencies that will bring impact on your action movies (guns firing/explosion etc etc). Without it you only hear the sound but you cant feel the impact

with budget of 2-3k you have pretty limited option. If you have a standard HT plan ahead and you have nothing with you yet, you can look for a budget Audio Visual Receiver (AVR) and 2 bookshelf speakers to start with then slowly add in.. AVR is like a multichannel amplifier that process audio from your TV or your bluray player and send signal to your speaker.

If you do not want to invest too much you can spend your 2-3 k on a sound bar which is an upgrade over tv audio.
kevinlim001
post Oct 20 2020, 10:33 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Oct 20 2020, 10:16 AM)
Thanks champ. Amazing explanation and reply. I have 0 setup right now. If you were in my position, what would you invest in with 3k? What would you start with?
seriously it depends what you want.. for me i know where i m going.. let me share u my case.. i inherited a set of 5 surround speakers being driven by pioneer HT (those combo set that you see from shopping center where u can connect small speakers to a dvd player).. when i moved to my new house - maybe short circuit the pioneer HT burned and refused to turn on.

I started to invest on AVR to drive the 5 speakers.. then i bought a subwoofer.. then i upgraded my center speaker (the most important speaker where most of the conversation from movies will comes from this speaker) then the first sub i bought having problem and i bought a new sub.

slowly to upgrade the fronts to give better sound stage and to upgrade my avr are part of my next upgrade list. maybe after that only think of ceiling speakers for atmos

rough idea of the cost of the avr when i bought it was around 2k+, the subwoofer also 2k+ that time..

HT/Hifi are pilled up by cash.. the more cash u r spending the better system u r getting.. thou some may disagree..

in ur case , like i said if you are not planning to spend a lot in future, u can just get a simple component set (let it be samsung/sony/panasonic) with those slim speakers or sound bar and enjoy..

if u r serious of having a plan down the road you can start investing on a AVR and start with 2 speakers and slowly add in.. you can also look for second hand speakers/receiver

kevinlim001
post Oct 20 2020, 11:01 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Oct 20 2020, 10:38 AM)
Perfect. I understand now. Let me do little research. Yes I do plan to upgrade in the future.
go ahead and explore.. come back once u have plan.. we can give some suggestion if required. we cant be spoon feeding you here from 0-100% because not all of us shares the same expectation.. u need and explore but feel free to check back when you have problem.. we have a lot shifu in this tread.. i m also learning from them cool2.gif

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Oct 20 2020, 11:02 AM
kevinlim001
post Oct 23 2020, 02:12 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 23 2020, 02:02 PM)
bro ur 101 wiki too complex to beginner
i suggest u simplify further
still too complex ka.. let me think think doh.gif
kevinlim001
post Oct 23 2020, 02:17 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 23 2020, 02:14 PM)
edited ^^ can refer again
ehehe thanks for the feedback.. let me include that element also
kevinlim001
post Nov 17 2020, 12:48 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Nov 17 2020, 12:10 PM)
folks, need recommendation. i have 65 x90 (sony), and ps4, and nintendo switch, (later ps5) all going to TV thru HDMI. i realize that i wont be able to do the cabling for a true 5.1 setup. so would like to do a 2.1 setup, for a good movie experience.

this is def not HT setup, as the hall is big, and i would just up everything in the front.

Bookshelf is 180cm width. while the sofa are 280cm width, and distance from tv is around 300cm.

Shall i get receiver? which one?
for front speakers, which?

if the experience folks say that 2.1 is a waste of money for audio. then i'll just stick with TV speakers. :/
2.1 definitely going to win over your TV speakers.
whats your budget.. besides receiver and fronts you might want to consider subwoofer too.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:56 PM