8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

lsm1991
post Apr 14 2016, 01:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 14 2016, 12:19 PM)

For my pro-tip click on the spoiler.

much bagus protip! rclxms.gif
lsm1991
post Apr 15 2016, 05:38 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(DopamineLoops @ Apr 15 2016, 04:01 PM)
1. Brand : any
2. Budget : RM20k below
3. New/Used/Unreg : Both can
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI : ?
7. Type :
8. Remarks : Any car eligible for grabcar and uber driver, grabcar says any car newer than 2010, under need to be inspected, larger than viva or equal myvi and axia, uber no info
call them up/visit and talk to them 1st....
lsm1991
post Apr 18 2016, 01:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 18 2016, 12:59 PM)
Here are some 90's sports cars (some of them hero's) you might wanna take a look at....

1996 Mitsubishi FTO - a nice fully restored car being sold reluctantly by a couple of car hobbyist because they're going to migrate it is either a good deal or a good joke (coz it is a scam). FTO's are great cars and you can even fit an EVO engine inside if you want.

yay fto rclxms.gif bout that car, i have some comments, if anyone is serious about one of those, get a good well kept unit... pay more for it if you must, really nice understated cars thumbup.gif... car is actually pretty easy to maintain since many parts shared with other mitsu's (e.g: suspension, brakes, most of the engine, some electronics) but admittedly some parts like the interior trim are VERY difficult to find. This car, does however have one very prominent issue. rust on the roof... some cars suffer from it some others somehow just dont....

i think the white car on the add is really on sale, has a mivec + 4 speed auto trans, with a facelifted bumper and rare wing

but honestly there is there is another nicer red (manual) unit being sold at that price too, its owned by one of the fto club members who got hitched.... now that car is a really nice car

edit: **ohh ya, can also sumbat 6a13tt if you like torque brows.gif**

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 18 2016, 01:51 PM
lsm1991
post Apr 18 2016, 04:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 18 2016, 03:50 PM)
Nice chassis can sumbat anything from lancer evo range to galant vr4 range  brows.gif

yeap, pay more for something that is in good condition better than pay peanuts for something with many gremlins. many people wonder how this can be done, well it takes abit of planning and also luck.

bought a honda jazz when it first came out after finish loan 5 years later it was worth 40-50k. economist will tell you to keep the car or sell it for 50k then buy cheap car to use and put rest in bank. petrol head will tell you to buy cheap car for use and a older sports car for the money. direct trade-in to used car dealer or sell/buy individually.

that price can get an older impreza/evo and a kancil/wira.....just saying  devil.gif
hahaha luck is very very important in 2nd hand cars, especially with one this age..... that was my exact plan too, maintain my old saga + one sports car, but in the end, my place, no space to keep both cars so.... daily driving the sports car lol!

ohh ya bout the engine, cannot sumbat the old evo's, only 4-9 (terbalik).... brows.gif (it would be very very cramp though, the nose is very low down). I have seen these cars go for under 20k... but honestly its alot of effort to refurbish them. (i mean, what are you expecting at 20k ofc conditions would be pretty poor at that point)
lsm1991
post Apr 18 2016, 05:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 18 2016, 04:58 PM)
depends on what kind of sports car.  laugh.gif
a japanese sports car upkeep is still fine, probably about as expensive as maintaining a D-segment saloon.
conti ah?  bangwall.gif

yeah i know 4-9, imho it is the only one that matters since it is old enough that parts are cheap but not too old that it's technology is too old and ancient where repairs, parts procurement and amenities are vastly different from what we're used to in cars recently. amenities such as reduce warm up time -- remember old cars like sunny when turn on gotta wait long long for it to warm up before moving? cars nowadays start the engine can go liao.

nose low down isn't too good for malaysian roads thus real hard shocks are needed else every day scratch the bottom  bye.gif
hahaha!! conti sports car, well..... parts lagi susah, and as wel all know.... parts can cont quite abit.... their rarity, does not help in any way~ i liked the e36/46 coupes and the old clk230... those are abit easier since the mechanical parts are shared (trim would probably be a pain again)

far as the nose height problem i was talking about, its actually to do with the nose's available 'height' in the bay with the bonnet closed (not really the ground clearance) the evo radiator barely fits in there (it does but stuff needs to be modified) and the nose is really cramped with the ac condenser and the inter cooler

as for ground clearance, the prefacelift nose is okay, not really dif from a normal car if you dont lower the car in the 1st place, the facelift nose however is pretty low down.... (but imo does look sportier) there have been members who keep scraping the bumpers when going on ramps cry.gif
lsm1991
post Apr 18 2016, 05:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 18 2016, 05:22 PM)
like my friend that drives an Alfa Romeo Spyder told me.....conti sports car parts not cheap but so are some korean and china made cars.....but end of the day I'm driving an Alfa Romeo not some shitty China made car.

hehe bigger bulging bonnet macam muscle car?  brows.gif
ohh sheet.... Alfa Romeo Spyder < can die trying to jaga
lsm1991
post Apr 18 2016, 11:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Apr 18 2016, 11:23 PM)
Long time never drop by. Got some question to ask over evo. Current lancer is my favor car but too bad CVT not going to give me a fun driving experience. How is the maintenance for this evo? How many common part they share with 4B11?
Current lancer is my favor car assuming you are talking about lancer but too bad CVT not going to give me a fun driving experience. How is the maintenance for this evo? lancer or evo now? How many common part they share with 4B11? they reffering to lancer's b10?

u asking about lancer or evo, am veli confused....

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 18 2016, 11:54 PM
lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 08:33 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Apr 19 2016, 01:26 AM)
Lancer comparing evo X. 4B11 against 4B11T.
I can't say for sure (actually this should be easily googleable) off the top off my head, but I'm gona say that, its going to be completely dif same like how the 4g63 is actually very different from the 4g63t...... Pistons cams, almost everything was slightly different.... Not sure why u are asking other than you want to bolt on a turbo...
lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 10:04 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Apr 19 2016, 09:56 AM)
That is why evo come in price. Just like civic type r. Many people thought fd2 same as fd2r after kit up. But they are not aware that type r is running light & strong chassis. Bolt on turbo is big no no for me unless everything from stock. I just want to know the maintenance for lancer evo X. Where to service the car since Mitsubishi will not entertain recon.
lol i think most ppl who really like cars would have known about this hehe, there are always reasons why these cost alot more...... ut sometimes, just sometimes, its actually possible to bring up a 'standard' version of the car up to the performance of the 'performance version'. This however is not always completely legal, and usually costs alot of money (which kinda defeats the purpose of getting the cheap standard variant anyway

about servicing it, u should really just join the owners club..... the really anal guys would be sending the cars to the best. trust me, in every car owner group, you will find guys that i)diy experts ii)technical-spec/data-experts iii)anal-must-be-perfect-103%-perfectionists iv)the dont give a damn guy v)budget oriented vi)hardcore-blowup-all-engines-dont-care-need-more-power guys

they know the car best, and can give you the best info (also depends on where you stay)

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 19 2016, 10:07 AM
lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 12:00 PM

309 posts

and it's the ugly boxy two round front lights version puke.gif
if its the gtv i actually really like that car sweat.gif i drool looking at it.... alfas v6 is eargasm

1)DIY experts aka kiamsap kings
- haha lucky some of them can do a good job! (1) and (2) very usually stuck together or one and the same cause they actually really know the car well
2) Technical spec/data expert variant 1 aka always finding compatible parts to reduce maintenance cost
3) AMBP103% perfectionist aka manufacturer cultist fap boys everything 100% stock from 3S or better rclxms.gif
4) DGADG aka lucky not to get a lemon but always laugh at people spend so much on maintenance
5) Budget orientated aka buddies of (1) and (2) but don't believe in (4)
6) HBAEDCNMP aka taukeh babi so free everyday also at workshop and sometimes "part time" help them fix other people car simple problem like puncture tire so they focus on fixing his "sports car"
7) Poison king aka buddies of (2) and (6) always importing JDM/USDM stuff like bodykit, rims, turbo kits, etc. most of his stuff are expensive and cut throat price but (2), (3) and (6) say its the best -- if u kenot afford u is poor fag like (1) & (5).
8) Car boot sale guy aka not as hardcore as (7) but have enough interesting accessories and used parts at an affordable price for (1) & (5).

haha very comprehensive list i think i fall into (5) but.... on the poor side cry.gif
lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 01:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(phantommvp @ Apr 19 2016, 01:24 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : preferably < 80K, at most 100k but don't want to resort to that
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matters.
4. Specs : Don't matter
5. Transmission : Auto will do
7. Type : Coupe/ Fun car to drive.
8. Remarks : Looking for something fun to drive and look at as well, preferably cheap to maintain. Am looking at CRZ/ Veloster (really wanted the turbo version but no second hand yet as far as I know). Any other suggestions that similar to these?
Coupe/ Fun car to drive + auto.... mana boleh T_T

copy paste
crz - easy to jaga, looks good, slow (but slow does not mean not fun)
civic-R (fd/fn) - has the performance (manual, sounds like a win to me)
volester - looks sporty, not truely a performance oriented car
kia koup - all looks no go
mazda 3 MPS - dont know peanuts about this...
scirocco/golf - i would worry abit bout the maintenance (though owners say its good)
208 - dirt cheap for such a new car, looks good, powerful, maintenance on the other hand... ermm
*euro r is another car, but dont know what you can get for that $*

much older cars
-celica - cheap and cheerful, has somewhat 'adequate' performance but old
-altezza - also cheapish and cheerful, rwd platform
-old scooby/evo - maintenance will be high
-old e46 coupe (i really liked this)

the hondas would be my top picks

lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 03:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(phantommvp @ Apr 19 2016, 02:36 PM)
I myself will much prefer a manual car as well, but considering that this will be my everyday drive with at least 2 hr stuck in traffic everyday from both going to work and coming back home, i think i will be glad i chose auto at the first place.

as for civic-r, which year do you think i can get with that kind of budget?

and for scirocco, there is no problem with the gear/ car in general? and how much would it be for normal maintenance work done with the dealership (considering the car still have any warranty whatsoever).

i wouldnt really consider a peugeot car,, as my parent has a 408 turbo and i kinda traumatized with the problem i had with the car.
i think its actually possible to get the earlier batch models for 100k+ (with a small plus) before... could just be clickbait, but i really think that if the owner is desperate, 110k is possible (otherwise find an fn2, also looks good but seems abit smaller)... i tought u didnt want a manual.... type-r's are manuals.... imo a low cost fun car = crz... very decent nippy car

peugeot yeah.... friend bought a car round the same time as me, (last year @30+k) 308t, tranny kaput... wah the bill ended up costing around half the value of the car..... teruk~
lsm1991
post Apr 19 2016, 03:28 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 19 2016, 02:07 PM)
Best among the rest. Its in my wish list, looking for a good one if its available for sale.

Btw, will the maintenance kill my wallet ?
really depends on what is considered expensive to you hehe.... as i am learning, rare cars, sometimes parts can be difficult to source (those parts that are different that is)... mechanically speaking, its just like any other e46, iirc even the driveshafts are shared (dont take my word for it, am not expert in this model)

i liked these conti cars, clk230, e36/46 coupes, fiat coupes, 147/156(must be v6) but in the end i went with the old reliable japs
lsm1991
post Apr 21 2016, 12:51 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 21 2016, 12:40 PM)
2005 Maserati Grand Sport Coupe 4.2 V8 - talking abut rare look at what I found, doesn't get much rarer than this on our roads, this is an absolute master piece but most malaysians won't understand it. the typical malaysian sports car buyer will ask...

1) cheap to maintain ah?
Duh! rare cars like this can probably be counted with only 10 fingers or less in malaysia, expect it to be cheap?

2) powerful or not?
Yes! it is powerful but it isn't the kind of cars to bring for track days or traffic light racing coz you don't like the car tailgating behind you. It is the sort of car with such a smooth engine and musical exhaust you'd wanna slowly drive around Bangsar, Pavillion, Bukit Bintang, etc. a few rounds to show off, it's much happier going full throttle on the highway from JB to PG, or leisurely drive on twisty coastal roads with a sexy lady beside you.

3) fuel efficiency good or not?
its's a 4.2cc v8 bro what u expect? Kancil 660 fc?  laugh.gif
it might be a gas guzzler but you do it in style, but since it is an italian and not american v8, it is most likely efficient but the perspective is it is efficient for a 3500cc to 4500cc engine but it is not going to fight fuel economy figures with mundane cars below 3500cc.

end of the day they will give a smart ass reply like....aiyah 170k can buy recon VW Golf GTI also very fast what and cheap to fix doh.gif  rolleyes.gif

ahhhh !!!!

shield my eyes.... ohh wait its alright, my wallet gives me immunity from these cars hehehehe

this is on whole another level or rare.... its all about the perspective
lsm1991
post Apr 21 2016, 12:57 PM

309 posts

thats a 4k road tax bill right there..... theres one of the old generation Legend's near my office, very run down but the owner is still driving it! have always wondered if he actually pays taxes for it....
lsm1991
post Apr 21 2016, 02:47 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 21 2016, 01:17 PM)
after a certain age they can apply for classic car status for cheaper roadtax.

2012 Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4 Turbo - how good is the Fiat group's 1.4 turbo anyway? At first I thought they sourced it from VW Group but instead after Googling I found out that the FIRE engine (not Bomba) is 100% their own technology. Seems like a sweet engine but it is one of those i refer to as new generation soulless euro turbo's -- cheap to build, fuel efficient, low carbon emmisions but zero character.
have no idea how good most of these new engines are haha, ill stick to those dinosaur, easy to maintain, cheap old environment hating engines haha

not easy to get classic status,
1)car must be of high value (this is fair)
2)stuff must be original.... compulsory stuff i know off include, engine, steering wheel, rims.... (kay...)
3)should not be modified other than electronics and braking systems or something along those lines (what happens if new brakes are so big, original rims dont fit?)
4)you need to have 3 cars under your name (why!!!??) i guess those guys who want to own a classic car with huge engines can deal with it by going off and buying 2 junkyard kancils and dumping them somewhere behind their house

and every 3 years kene spot check to reapply for the classic car status
lsm1991
post Apr 22 2016, 10:24 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(xxxJOxxx @ Apr 22 2016, 10:09 AM)
Thanks for ur info  biggrin.gif
Yes, it is very difficuly for me to choose as my fav is cr-z but my dad prefer civic/city. New Jazz best suits my budget but i heard a lot of negative review from my friends (mostly saying that its low performance)
young fella, sure like crz.... but understand that
i) its 2nd hand so it will cost abit more for upkeep in the near future, a new car would come with warranty and obviously, basically no wear and tear when you 1st get it
ii) the crz is 'less' practical than the city, 2 doors vs 4 doors
iii) about the performance figures..... erm, all 3 (other than the civic) are about the same.... a stock crz is a all show no go kinda car, the civic would be definately be faster
lsm1991
post Apr 22 2016, 11:52 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(xxxJOxxx @ Apr 22 2016, 11:47 AM)
Guess I have to leave cr-z and focus on others. Civic is a good choice but my biggest worry is the maintenance. Hope i manage to get a nice used civicĀ  thumbup.gif
if the biggest worry is the maintenance, then get the city/jazz.... crz will probably cost you the MOST long term

**ohh wait sorry..... i read you wanted to focus on the crz** oops!!! im blur

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 22 2016, 11:53 AM
lsm1991
post Apr 22 2016, 12:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(RChance @ Apr 22 2016, 12:18 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 80-120k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : Sports / Sedan
8. Remarks :

Basically I am having a 2012 Vios as an everyday car and nothing to complain about it over the years. Been toying with the idea for an upgrade for a couple years now. I am considering getting a weekend/getaway car preferably a sportier one. Been considering second hand Audi TT but would like some input from sifus on the pros and cons on the maintenance, and potential problems. Somehow I am not a fan of Volks and Peugeot so can we discount both of them out?

I actually would even consider selling off my Vios just to add some cash reserve and upgrade to another daily car. However with that I think I would need something more spacious and practical (4 seater). Anything within the lines of sedan or even SUVs might be considered.

I am very much open to suggestions and critics.

Thank you for your inputs!
i notice... everything you have actually named, are german cars..... hmm.gif for a very nice luxurious powerful jap, why not mark x (as abang zenix has been happily promoting)

*thats one of my fav 'luxury' cars around
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Apr 26 2016, 04:42 PM)
That Nissan Latio hatchback with body kit looks sweet man, thanks for the suggestion, by the way what do I need to check when test driving the used car? Don't want to run into alot of problems after buying it.
something i posted a long time back

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 18 2016, 07:49 PM)
basically.... check everything, i had my own checklist... i was an idiot so i didnt write it down and everytime i went, i forgot a few items bangwall.gif

+can check normally
++hardcore mode
*random tips

-interior
+check wear and tear, see if it matches the mileage
+ofc check the specs to confirm trim level (cruise control, airbags)
+check the electronics....
++stripsearch, look for stains under the trim at the sides and the bottom feet wells, also look for rust at the corners (this means pulling out the seats for the back and the mats at the bottom, but this is more applicable if the car is like 20 years old)
*on japanese cars, the general year of manufacture can be found on the seatbelts (not sure bout potongs, never checked)

-engine
+this one... u pandai pandailah, too many ways to check, many dif ideas
+no funny sounds, check if fluid levels are up, color all ok? (shops usually dah cover all problems here)
+leaks (unfortunately i have seen cars pre and after masuk kedai, signs of leaks all missing)
+some have poop on the engine covers - means car has not moved for some time, check harder now!
+ask bout belts, oil whatnot, all adds up
++look out for mods.... (but this car less likely to be molested)

-exterior
+check for accident damage, search throughout the car!!!! look underneeth, look at the sides, look at the front radiator mount/subframe with the bonet open, any strange curves and its a sign the car has been repaired (anything funky, take pics hehe, no funky also can take pics! we mau tengok)
+check rear spare tyre area for damage
+check for overspray, some fellas respray the cars to coverup damage some will admit resprayed, some wont (ask before vewing, pretend you dont know nuts)
+in the engine bay, u can find info on the car (from the plate, u can tell the color, trim, some cases engine, differs from car to car)
+check tyres, all same?(not same means kept on a budget) any bald spots?(means been sitting), wear rate same?(if no, allignment) also check its age (dont forget the spare)
+lampu
++jackup! see if bottom nais or not!, also helpful to find oil leaks~

-driving
+check steering ade veer to any direction,
+brakes ok,
+no funny sounds, some would advise you tekan abit to see if it does anything funny

remember take your time~~
not sure if i missed anything

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0815sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:14 PM