Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

lsm1991
post Jun 23 2016, 12:28 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(christ1996 @ Jun 22 2016, 11:55 PM)
Hi, any Chevrolet Cruze owners out there?
Planning to get a used 11' Chevrolet Cruze 1.8, would like to know about the reliability & estimated maintenance cost. Average servicing cost? Availability of spare parts? Is it costly or hard to get; the cost of the parts is similar to what car?
dont know this car very well myself, but a friend had one.... he was thrilled at first cause it was a real fancy looking car.... looked good and all. basically 6 months down the road, he no like it so much... he said;
i)service fees were on the exp side - dont know what the exact values were but, to be fair sc's do charge more than workshops outside so that could be the issue
ii)car did have the power, handling - more show than actual go (this part yes.... he said it was slower than an lmst (do note that the saga is basically a tin kosong so its very light while the cruze is phat) *dont know about the handling cause i never did get a ride, so just his word
iii)fc is actually ok, its about average at that time - iirc he mentioned, he easily manages 10km/1L in pj traffic

iv)dont know about long term maintenance - friend sold the car off after 3 years so, no comment about things where this is concerned. IMO 3 years is abit too short to talk about reliability since issues usually crop up after that (note that he had no issues whatsoever other than a dead battery throughout his ownership)
*guy is now driving a civic (if im not wrong, cant remember....)
v)other odd complaints of his - tyres.... he complain very mahal (no comment here, low profile tyres memang mahal), he did mention that there were a few annoying rattles and sounds which he was not able to deal with

*mind me asking, why you picked this car of all cars out there? seems like a rather odd choice

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jun 23 2016, 12:36 AM
lsm1991
post Jun 23 2016, 01:02 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(christ1996 @ Jun 23 2016, 12:44 AM)
Thanks for the reply!
I wonder how much is the "expensive" service fees, is he comparing to a Myvi? Because if like an average of RM300 of servicing should be okay and not considered that expensive in my case.
As for your question, I'm planning to get a used C Segment car but preferably the Chevrolet Cruze or Nissan Sylphy 10'/11'. Well do you have any other suggestions that I could consider? I'm just worried whether the parts is hard to get in the future or not for the Cruze though, really need someone with experience to tell me about it.
i have no idea how much each service cost.. should be more exp than a myvi cause he had a myvi before that (also serviced at perodua). You should specify your priorities you want before any decisions are made.... economy, performance, comfort, space, branding, reliability, image, anything that comes to mind....
lsm1991
post Jun 23 2016, 11:04 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(christ1996 @ Jun 23 2016, 01:12 AM)
Then I would say high priority for comfort&reliability+sparepart availability&cost, medium priority for economy&performance (because economy and performance just does not come together, thus it wouldn't be so much of a high priority because an average for economical & performance will do) lastly, low priority for branding/image.
nissan 'syphilis' is well known to be one of the most comfortable cars in the segment, thought i should point that out.... it is abit 'odd' looking and does not like to be rushed but if those 2 are okay, its a pretty decent car.... (read up on the different variants/generations and about its cvt)
lsm1991
post Jun 23 2016, 10:40 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(SummerOntheWay @ Jun 23 2016, 09:46 PM)
There are several steps you should take in purchasing a used car. Do your homework by reading consumer car reviews and consumer car reports. Ask the people you work with and friends about different car models. Gather information on gas consumption of the make and model you are interested in buying. Ask to see the report. If they don’t have one, note down the car’s VIN number and By checking a vin with http://www.vincheckup.com/cars you will find out accident data, police data, and more info about the car’s history. Check the reliability ratings of each car and calculate the costs.Most people know that buying a used automobile is like rolling the dice. However, following the steps of a used car checklist is one of the best ways to protect yourself, your money and help minimize the risks.
Basically..... Know the car you want well.... Newer cars easy, old modified cars then it becomes complex.... Here in Malaysia, you can't really get a 'report'. There are ways of trying to get info like this but most of the time its not with the effort.... Easier to view the car and , have it checked out properly
lsm1991
post Jun 24 2016, 01:33 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 24 2016, 01:22 PM)
If I were you, go for Polo Sedan but then again its a bigger version of the Saga now........

Polo Hatchback if you are young & vibrant .

Its a good buy at 60k now, demo car ok too
haha no problematic dsg but..... fresh grad + euro car not exactly a recipe for great success
lsm1991
post Jun 24 2016, 06:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 24 2016, 04:33 PM)
that means i should go to klang valley to buy used car or i should try bargain harder in jb?
sobs the cars i likes were actually cheaper outside kl..... sob sob ahh well
lsm1991
post Jun 25 2016, 12:31 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Jun 24 2016, 11:48 PM)
Hi Zenix,

I was looking for used SUV, such as 2003-2006 Ford Escape, Honda CRV and Nissan X-Trail, just noted the Subaru XV is selling at attractive price, what do you think about the Subaru XV?

Thanks in advance!
u should call up and check if those Xv's are still available.....

top tip, unless you for some reason just want to own a ford escape in particular, i would suggest you skip that car.
lsm1991
post Jun 26 2016, 12:15 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 25 2016, 08:25 PM)
In a dilemma...

Lancer 2.0 AT + hmm why not the inspira, basically the same thing, has a few things more? but tless fancy cy badge
- Maintenance  is low.
- Spacious cabin for 4 ppl.
- Medium comfort.
- Solid handling, reasonable good pick up for overtaking with shiftronic AT
- Leather seat.
- Cheaper by 10k
- Classic car. classic?? i thing both cars will be great classics 15 years in the future but remember, it will be probably easier to get parts for the lancer at that point cause there are more of them around
- technically more powerful than the crz, then again does have a bigger engine
Honda CR-Z MT
- Medium maintenance cost
- Sport cabin for 2 ppl. May not be sustainable over the long run... 6 hours a day, you better not fear small spaces
- Smaller cabin, not as comfortable some people love the sporty kinda interior so you really have to view one to decide if its for you
- Handling claim to be good, got Electric motor boost for low rpm range. handling is good, but its not very powerful
- Eco mode, Sport mode, normal mode. Fun to drive (driving 5-6 hrs per day, so its kind of important) whoa driving so much
- Interactive dash meter, change between green/blue/red depend on driving style. +nothing much actually
- S Plus feature. Give a 5 sec boost in torque power via electric motor. Like a very mini turbo. +nothing much actually
- Manual transmission 1-6 gear. (i like manual...) 6 hours a day, might one day be a pain in the arse
- "Green" car. The motor is assisted by a small electric motor, slightly lower Co2 emission. other than being a self conscious citizen this brings no benefit to you
- Unique look. Not as many on the road.
- Edgy and stuff with new tech.

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
you gona spend 6 hours a day in the car..... you better test drive both to see if you really like them.... just a note, a harsh car gets old real fast when you have to spend extended amounts of time in it...
lsm1991
post Jun 26 2016, 01:44 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(2wcp @ Jun 26 2016, 09:13 AM)
Name: Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI (B7) vs Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo
Price: 118k vs 128k
Both new

Opinion?
Should I go for specs or long term maintenance prospect...
frankly speaking..... im a fan of the civic, my vote would go to the civic.... its a beautiful car and being a honda, it will be cheaper to maintain (not saying cheap, just saying cheaper then the passat) civic comes loaded with specs as well...... comparable to the passat if in not wrong. Im sure you know about the potential issues surrounding passat's dsg (pretty sure its using the problematic one). At the moment, some owners in thailand have experienced some issues with their cvt as well, not sure why so maybe wait a while to make sure its resolved.
lsm1991
post Jun 26 2016, 07:01 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 26 2016, 01:56 PM)
Heard that Civic 1.5T have issues , whereas 1.8 so far no issue yet
if u mean that overheating thing..... its not just the 1.5, from the pics of the cars in the sc, u will see that some were actually the 1.8 (the na ones) which lead me to suspecting that its probably one of the shared components, in this case the cvt.... engine itself seems fine, only thing 'not so great' with the 1.5 is the servicing interval which is kinda short....
lsm1991
post Jun 27 2016, 02:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 27 2016, 01:15 PM)
You want to talk abt FC, yes, my Wira, pump rm50 can pergi balik Seremban ~ KL 3 times in a week & still have enough fuel for town driving until the orange warning light come out. Calculate how much mileage I clocked yourself. Its a Manual 1.5 , carb model, of course la the carb tuned by a carb expert in Seremban.
biarlah dia.... he is abit....errrrr...... dont even know how to explain it... he talks about one thing, then hops off the the next thing, then copy and pastes everything (usually the exact same repeated thing all over the place) for really god knows what reason..... and this whole process repeats and loops forever in an sad sad infinite loop which would make superman bleed if he was a programmer bangwall.gif

i mean, he replied to your post which had nothing to do with tiny cars, irises, myvis or fuel consumption... there was absolutely no correlation between your post and his reply...... when a post has the keyword iris in it, my eyes instantly look to the left to check who said it.....
lsm1991
post Jun 27 2016, 02:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 27 2016, 02:14 PM)
I dun want to play Wira or Proton/Perdua anymore cause been driving it for the past 19years already........

Now I am looking to buy a E46 & keep my Wira as a spare car.  Time to try Conti cause my frens told me "once you tried Conti, you wont look back" . I also fully understand that the maintenance of a Conti may triple the cost of a Wira, but I am well prepared already..............  devil.gif  And because of that I am buying it via Cash only & get ready spare cash monthly  to upkeep it like paying monthly installments .................

Like zenix once told me, an upgrade from Wira > E46 is a "big upgrade" for me already, so now I am ready to take the plunge. Wish me good luck. Thanks
all da best! i went sushi proton cause... i actually had no real legit reason... just liked my japanese proton~~
lsm1991
post Jun 27 2016, 03:18 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 27 2016, 03:05 PM)
hehe price is good, go take a look, if decent cond, might be worth ur time..... this car is also looking quite stock and thats in many ways a good thing... its alot easier to look at stock cars compared to those modified ones....
lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 09:42 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 28 2016, 09:35 AM)
2000 Merc CLK200 - if you like big coupes let me show you something, although there is a model with a 2300cc engine I think getting this model with the 2000cc engine is better since with two reasons the "K" in the name means it is a Kompressor model which in Mercedes terminology means it has got a supercharger with stock power output of about 130PS but since it is a supercharger some clever engine tuning can increase that by 5-25% without worry/modifications just use better engine and gear oils and the car won't fall apart especially the gearbox as it uses the 5AT from the V12 S-Class it can really handle the power. Iinm this 5AT gearbox would become common in all Merc models from 2000 onwards. Safety wise it has all the stuff that's beginning to be standard on Japanese cars nowadays -- Traction control, Stability control, Anti-lock braking system (ABS), Brake assist (BR), etc. For about the price of a high spec Perodua Axis new you can buy a 16 year old Merc that is safe, powerful, and prestigious. Maintenance isn't going to be cheap, that's a given, however if you compare Merc maintenance with BMW/Audi/VW's usually Merc's will be cheaper to maintain and some how specialist are more competent with Merc electronics than BMW's i dunno why.

this is a car i considered as well..... also quite a pretty looking car long as its unmodified. There are 2 or 3 around my place, one of the owners say its not ridiculously expensive to maintain, just slightly higher than mercs of the same era. He did mention that, some stuff does cost a bomb to repair, stuff which fail unexpectedly such as the compressor (dont ask how this failed), chairs and some of the electronics (x ingat which one he mentioned).... justs dont expect it to perform like a sports car, this is a cruiser to drive leisurely in drool.gif

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.1003sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:26 PM