LYN Honda CRZ Hybrid Owners Thread V3, Hot Hatch Hybrid

Nitrous
post Aug 12 2014, 11:13 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2014, 11:04 AM)
i remember reading here before, to increase NA hp is much more expensive than charging
every one horse tambah is about rm 1k
so technically plus 20 hp, = rm 20k, of cos NA u can part by part, so not so ex
charging with everything in, maybe about 12-15k, at least also 40 hp more  brows.gif
That is correct... that is why if you have a lump sum of money, go for a centrifugal supercharging, smaller and more compact, design is almost "universal" with HKS and Jackson Racing doing the same design. I would if I have the dollop of cash with me.
Nitrous
post Aug 12 2014, 01:58 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2014, 12:58 PM)
shitt, till now hondata still doesnt support crz cvt? im having the cvt model

seems like, its still back to supercharge for the best bang
who is selling this centrifugal supercharging? our own msia company, protrex?

i think the brand is sprintex, from aussie, brought in by speedworks?
Hmm... sorry, my mistake, it seems like they might support CVT version now :
http://www.hondata.com/help/flashpro/index...atsnewtopic.htm
Check if your ECU is "RTW-U510" coded? However, note that in Hondata's website, the only local CRZ model that is supported is the manual pre-FL version. You would need to check with your local mechanic if it is possible (or PM me if you don't have any).
http://hondata.com/flashpro_cr-z.html

As for supercharging, the centrifugal supercharger is usually from Rotrex, a Danish company, and the whole kit can be custom built around the Rotrex supercharger (local folks build those piping and you can mix/match with other required parts), or you can opt for complete supercharger kits from HKS (uses their in-house GT centrifugal supercharger) or Jackson Racing (which uses Rotrex-same design as HKS and all other centrifugal supercharger). The supercharger is mounted on the location where the alternator used to be (CRZ does not have an alternator), just nice to fit the centrifugal supercharger. Note that by having this kit, you will need to remove the water bottle which stores your wiper fluids. You can opt to get those water bags as alternatives.

Sprintex is an Australian company, and their supercharger technology is different, as they use screw type supercharger and is mounted on top of the engine. Their design was initially meant for the Honda Jazz GE8, but since it is the same design as the CRZ, it can be mounted into our cars too. Have no experience in Sprintex though, thus I can't comment on it much. However, I do note that they would need to raise the hood a bit in order to cater for the screw supercharger.

Note that supercharger hardware itself is not sufficient, as you still need to fork out money for a fair bit of side accessories:
1) ECU controller or piggyback (Hondata, Emanage, Haltech, Motec) will be required to control everything, and make sure you don't blow your engine.
2) Dials for boost and temp (water & oil) to allow you to monitor the boost and temp.
3) Better cooling (at least a better coolant, if you are loaded, probably a new radiator).
4) Better brakes (big brake kits are recommended)
5) Better tyres for grip and better suspension
6) LSD if possible
7) A great mechanic...

All these adds up to considerable amount of $$, thus slowly work your way up. Oh yea, you would also need to ensure that your car is compatible with all those parts that you are planning to put in as well...

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2014, 01:18 PM)
gotten this from speed works web, ohh and they sell turbo kits for crz at 10k, advisable?

Honda CRZ NA Performance Kits (13 photos)
The Honda CRZ NA Development is completed with many months of testing and the final figures we have obtained are:
K&N Element Air Filter - + 4.8 BHP (4%0
K&N Open Pod - + 9.7 BHP (8%)
+ Hot Bits Exhaust System - + 10.8 BHP (9%)
+ E-mange Blue - + 17.3 BHP (14%)
like tat add up got 30+ hp liao wor biggrin.gif but this seems to be done on FL model
Sorry, never tried speedworks before thus no experience in them, but if their NA Tune can get 30HP, that is a damn good figure. Just remember to go for a base-dyno before you go for their kit, and do a after installation dyno to see what is the nett results.
Let us know the results...
Nitrous
post Aug 12 2014, 06:23 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(AveoHzq @ Aug 12 2014, 06:14 PM)
Actually been looking into Speedworks' turbo kit for CRZ.
They have a demo unit with the kit on, manual FL. The power is pretty awesome, with a bit of blow off sound. 10k for the whole kit including piggyback, intercooler, exhaust etc.

Now comparing with Proreka's Sprintex supercharger, a bit cheaper than Speedworks' turbo kit. Based on dyno charts, power gains are more or less the same. Both said they can install it for CVT but will boost lower and have to use gearbox oil cooler.

What do you guys think between the 2?
Whichever you choose, make sure you :
1) do a base dyno with your own car with the dyno machine they will be running on later post installation (do not rely on manufacturer/shop's dyno). Also ensure that you run on the closest gear to 1:1, which is the fourth gear in CRZ.
2) Install and go for post installation dyno on the same machine u run the base dyno on.
3) Post here and let us envy you tongue.gif rclxm9.gif
4) Tapao any cars that cucuk u on the road thumbup.gif
Nitrous
post Aug 13 2014, 01:42 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:48 AM)
+ 11111111111111

nitrous, thanks for the info
well i understand the other items that come with certain mods
i just want extra hp with less complication

standard exhaust modding, or ecu/piggyback im quite fine with it

turbo wise not so, scared of all the hassle and maintenance
i heard good reviews about the supercharger on usability and everything, hence i looked into sprintex or jackson
sprintex seems much simpler, easy to install but lesser hp, and the bonnet issue

jackson abit costly for me, and im not sure which tuner in jaybee can bring in let alone install it  sweat.gif
Heat might be a problem for Sprintex as well, you might want to doublecheck on those who have installed it if they have any such issues, may be due to lack of intercooler.
Jackson Racing kit is expensive, and so is HKS one (both are the same design). Note that locally produced centrifugal SC kits and Jackson Racing kits uses Hondata, thus if it is not compatible with you car, you will need to strike them out. HKS kit uses F-CON, and it is mentioned in their website that it does not support Auto-box as well.
http://www.hks-power.co.jp/en/product_db/s...harger/db/15196
Tough luck bro...
Nitrous
post Aug 14 2014, 03:39 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 14 2014, 10:32 AM)
er.... alamak macam ni, no hope for me ? cry.gif  cry.gif
i remember reading some guys here have supercharge their cvt crz, no?

hoepfully someone who did it could share their experience

so what other options i have for cvt crz? any ideas?
I have seen people supercharging the auto CRZ, but not here though, in COCM FB.
They may be using Sprintex and Emanage Ultimate. Do check with the guys there...
Nitrous
post Aug 19 2014, 05:48 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 19 2014, 03:05 PM)
are there any special tuners in kl tat does CRZ?
it seems here to me in jaybee mostly jack of all trades, master of none
Avantgarde Mechanic, at PJ SS2... does my car, and plenty of other CRZ...
Nitrous
post Aug 20 2014, 11:51 AM

212 posts

[/quote]
QUOTE(AveoHzq @ Aug 19 2014, 06:10 PM)
I think for our cars its better to go specialists shop that are familiar with our cars. Like Avantgarde and JC. They've done lots of crz and that just gives us a peace of mind. Thats just my opinion notworthy.gif
I would agree with AveoHzq, it would be the best to go for folks who have handled CRZ more frequently as they do have the experience and knowledge to work on it. I frequent Avantgarde for my servicing & mods etc, so far i find them to be good and knowledgeable in Honda cars. It is also easier to get parts for our cars if you go to Honda specialist like Avantgarde.

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Aug 20 2014, 07:29 AM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

wow...looking at advangarde FB so many CRZ....so many activity going on there....and its near to my dad's house?????
It is located in SS2, near Taman Jaya LRT station. Becareful of "poison" there... thumbup.gif
Nitrous
post Aug 22 2014, 01:51 PM

212 posts

The HPD Kit is now official, for those with the moolah to spend :
http://paultan.org/2014/08/22/honda-cr-z-hpd-supercharger/

Nitrous
post Sep 3 2014, 01:31 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Sep 3 2014, 10:44 AM)
but the way he approach me definitely not NA...coz he was left behind 3 poles...i was speeding to reach 190kmh...but still he can overtake me? im pressing like 90% already...

his speed at that time surely 19Xkmh to overtake me...
Time to Supercharge your car? laugh.gif
Nitrous
post Sep 4 2014, 09:27 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Sep 3 2014, 03:32 PM)
ooooo man....need rm12,000.....thats 1 thing...if go for sprintex add only 40hp...but safer for the hybrid system...if go for turbo add 70hp will damage your hybrid system....so whats the point here...

so conclusion want more power will harm the hybrid...if opt for lower output cost like hell.... rclxub.gif
Buy and pasang, and then make us proud ... nod.gif laugh.gif Make sure got video...
Frankly, I would still go for Rotrex SC rather than turbo or Sprintex. Major engineering and tuning companies like HKS, HPD and Jackson are using the same design, thus the design should be pretty sound/solid and should be good in terms of parts availability. 50-70 ponies should not be a problem to obtain....
Nitrous
post Sep 4 2014, 01:37 PM

212 posts

Long post below on my opinion...
QUOTE(civicspoon @ Sep 4 2014, 12:20 PM)
i heard from mechanic(he also has a crz) rotrex SC did get 180hp...but then everytime top speed warning light for hybrid came up. he said that this will shorten lifespan of the battery...he also said sprintex SC only add up 20-30 hp but then battery hybrid is unharmed...

not sure of this...guys what do u think? anyone has suoercharged their CRZ?
Personally, I do not think it will shorten the lifespan of the IMA battery, both engines and IMA battery are not directly linked and both discharge/charge is controlled by the IMA ECU. This is not your standard 12V battery that we are talking about, which is charged by the alternator powered by the crank pulley. IMA ECU will cut off charging of that battery when a certain limit is reached. The IMA will also protect the discharging of the battery if your speed or RPM is too high, even on stock cars the IMA will do it (you will notice that battery does not assist at high rpm). If the battery gets too hot (happened in mine a few times), the IMA will also retard battery assist, causing your car to lose power.
By the way, what is top speed warning light? As far as I know, there are no speed warning or cuts for our CRZ (you'd notice some folks did in excess of 200kmh on the streets), thus not sure what your mechanic meant by that. However, I do know that there is a speed sensor inside the gearbox itself, which measures the velocity of the gearshafts to allow appropriate charging of the IMA battery. As far as I know, if you change your final drive, it can cause the velocity measurements inside your gearbox to go abit wonky, and IMA charging to go a bit nuts. Is this what he meant? You should be safe provided you leave your final drive alone, it only affect your car if you have changed the final drive or some LSDs.

If in doubt, try asking Avantgarde... they have done tons of SC CRZ.... a most recent SC monster just rolled out of the garage recently. laugh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 4 2014, 12:27 PM)
i wish i do biggrin.gif
but i seen in trading pages there is one sprintex sc for sale, going ard to a few vehicles already, the super charger so tahan to remove here n there ar?
Yes, provided the kit has been taken care during installation and dismantling. Superchargers have extremely tight tolerance, hence their high price, but they are usually manufactured using good quality materials to withstand abuse such as heat and knocks.
But I still won't take up sprintex kits, I trust HKS with their design and engineering... so will stick back to centrifugal design kits, just my personal taste (worried about heat issue on engine).

QUOTE(knine @ Sep 4 2014, 12:41 PM)
bos...avantgarde got their own in house rotrex SC arrr? i think i saw it on their FB page...got any info on this?
Yes they do. They use Rotrex superchargers, comes with intercooler and stainless steel piping (custom fabricate), and Hondata to control everything. Think they still use Synapse bypass valve too.... As usual, they use only Torco oils for their cars. Call them for more details... if you need their number, PM me...

All the best guys!
Nitrous
post Sep 4 2014, 01:41 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Sep 4 2014, 10:47 AM)
Can Rotrex SC fit into the FL CRZ ?
Hi, I am not sure about FL CRZ; I am pretty sure the hardware can go in, but so far I don't know of any ECU/piggyback which can control the SC kit for the FL ECU once you have plugged the hardware in.
Sorry, not able to help on this... try asking your modding mechanic..

This post has been edited by Nitrous: Sep 4 2014, 01:42 PM
Nitrous
post Sep 4 2014, 05:01 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Sep 4 2014, 04:26 PM)
Do they have a test car SC CRZ?
Nope.... only customer's car. If the customer allows u to have a go, then yes....
If not then too bad.
Nitrous
post Sep 16 2014, 09:15 PM

212 posts

For those interested in getting the ultimate rims for your CRZ, I am selling my 18" Volk Racing CE28N Genesis limited edition rims, at the link below. Thanks!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3350844

This post has been edited by Nitrous: Sep 16 2014, 09:20 PM
Nitrous
post Sep 17 2014, 10:54 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Sep 16 2014, 09:58 PM)
Crz mau jual dy?
Unfortunately so...
QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Sep 17 2014, 12:37 AM)
Chris, GOOD LUCK on your Sales.. wish i can get those rims.. as they are really damn LIGHTTTTT... but too bad..
Bro, beli aje... $$ can find back but this rim no longer available... drool.gif icon_idea.gif
Give you discounts la... tongue.gif
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:31 AM)
nitrous, any other items demod?
At this moment, only Takeda intake and Hondata is still available, but they have been spoken for.
The last item on the list would be the rims.
Nitrous
post Sep 18 2014, 09:43 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Sep 17 2014, 09:29 PM)
can i give u PD cheque ? haha.. or installments lah.. our comp not paying me good enough lah.. unlike u.. bahahha
I dont mind if installment not too long, can discuss bro.... If got time we go sit at pelita and talk about it brows.gif
QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Sep 17 2014, 09:31 PM)
i highly recommend you to get his exhaust pipes... comes with muffler.. and later when u get your N1 muffler u can sell the one the you got from him.. tongue.gif only if the items are still for sale..
Ejat took and masuk into his kereta already.... biggrin.gif Only thing left now are the rims and Takeda Stage2 Wrinkle Black PRO DRY-S Air Intake (potential buyer yet to turn up). Hondata has been taken up too. If anyone interested on the remaining items, please let me know...
Nitrous
post Sep 18 2014, 10:24 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:44 AM)
aisey... how come so fast sold out?
sold with the car is it?
Nope, car returning back to stock standard....
Most parts were sold while I was demodding them at Avantgarde, most saw those parts and wanted them at the same time. Not much left I'm afraid... but are you interested in the Takeda? biggrin.gif
Nitrous
post Sep 18 2014, 11:44 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:38 AM)
fit for cvt? and how much
PM'ed you...
Nitrous
post Sep 19 2014, 09:29 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Sep 18 2014, 07:37 PM)
i might reconsider the Hondata .. hahahah  tongue.gif
Hondata sold bro... unfortunately. Need to use Hondata to barter trade the cost of de-modding my car.
Nitrous
post Sep 22 2014, 05:31 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Kikifish @ Sep 22 2014, 01:43 PM)
whahaha, thanks for your BCBR bro!
Eh? U mean you are the guy who bought my BC BR?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0295sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:58 PM