132 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v5, Investment,Trader,Financial Ratios,HUAT?

danmooncake
post Jan 7 2014, 11:56 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 7 2014, 10:41 PM)
you paper profit 100%+ by now?  rclxms.gif
I took a little profit for FB, I wait for more breakthru at 59 before adding or pull back.
59 seems to be resistance.

Shanicehong
post Jan 7 2014, 11:58 PM

18 posts

does anyone know that we need to apply for ITIN in oreder to open trade account?
danmooncake
post Jan 8 2014, 12:06 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Shanicehong @ Jan 7 2014, 11:45 PM)
does anyone know how to sign up the DRP for sstocks that offer div reinvestment? I check with my broker, she said the stock that I mentioned did not provide so, whereby I check the company web, and it does.
do u think my broker just being sucks n not doing her job? sigh
DRIP (Dividend Reinvestment Plan) stocks are mostly available for DOW component stocks. eg. XOM, CVX, CSCO, JPM, BA, etc

But, you need to know the US IRS treats dividends as earned income - whether it is pay in cash or in stocks.
You may need to pay upfront (up to 30%) for any earned income since you're non-resident alien (for tax purpose).
Therefore, I believe it is better to go for growth stocks for capital gain than dividends if you're non-resident.
Please do research carefully before setup a DRIP plan with your broker otherwise you'll end up a negative surprise at dividend payout time.

danmooncake
post Jan 8 2014, 12:42 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Shanicehong @ Jan 7 2014, 11:58 PM)
does anyone know that we need to apply for ITIN in oreder to open trade account?
It depends on the broker when they need a ITIN number or not. Most of them do not if they allow foreign traders as long you file W8BEN form.

But, if you wish to collect dividends and want to file for refunds later with US IRS, you will need an ITIN number if you do not have US SSN number.

danmooncake
post Jan 8 2014, 11:07 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 7 2014, 12:21 AM)
Took a short position in TWTR..  tongue.gif
Closed out short here at 58. I can't believe TWTR is making me more money than AAPL now. doh.gif
yok70
post Jan 9 2014, 04:52 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 8 2014, 11:07 PM)
Closed out short here at 58.  I can't believe TWTR is making me more money than AAPL now.  doh.gif
Apple seems pretty tough on this support area. Wondering if it could reach my target 525-530. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Jan 9 2014, 04:53 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 9 2014, 05:45 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 9 2014, 04:52 AM)
Apple seems pretty tough on this support area. Wondering if it could reach my target 525-530.  hmm.gif
It could flush there easily once that thin ice cracks (that 50ma line).
Sold the 552.50 calls to make some money. Let see how it turns out by Friday.
TSnetmask8
post Jan 9 2014, 09:45 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

DJIA and S & P Index = down, shakehead.gif BUT
C, MGM, LVS, ETFC, MPEL, LYG ..etc breaks price record HIGH again notworthy.gif

U Invest in Assets or Earnings??
Value Investor - Quantitative or Qualitative Approach?

Many ppls expects a correction of 10% or more in 1st Qrtr 2014 after logging more than 30% in year 2013..
Why follow majority analyst/ppl's view/prediction? DARE to be exceptional ..Be greedy while others are fearful??
Be Exceptional provides a revolutionary approach in knowledge development. laugh.gif

Taper/Stop QE = Good, as USA economy will sail into the deep sea by its own self, without any supporting
policy/help.. Low interest rate thumbup.gif is also good too for country economy in USA/Japan/UK ..
foosh
post Jan 9 2014, 11:00 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 6 2014, 10:48 PM)
Uncle Ben/Aunt Yellen machines won't stop yet, may slow down but ain't stopping so far and
we won't see interest rate increase probably till end of 2015.

China - still facing uncertainty and choppy. Market is telling us something.
Euro - recovering slowly (certainly still a bargain).

Tonight, Chinese ETF (FTSE 25 Xinhua) is pulling back big.. if falls thru 200ma, it can spell trouble.
Thanks for the feedback....

Jobs stats good, people getting jobs, people will buy house buy insurance....

My money on financials and insurance.

btw, im a TOS fan too. Been using for 2 years now.
Shanicehong
post Jan 10 2014, 12:30 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 8 2014, 12:06 AM)
DRIP (Dividend Reinvestment Plan) stocks are mostly available for DOW component stocks. eg. XOM, CVX, CSCO, JPM, BA, etc

But, you need to know the US IRS treats dividends as earned income - whether it is pay in cash or in stocks.
You may need to pay upfront (up to 30%) for any earned income since you're non-resident alien (for tax purpose).
Therefore, I believe it is better to go for growth stocks for capital gain than dividends if you're non-resident.
Please do research carefully before setup a DRIP plan with your broker otherwise you'll end up a negative surprise at dividend payout time.
Oh... Ok. I understand that the dividen payout may charge for 30% n I thought that to reinvest May avoid the charges. But now I understand that. Thank you.

yok70
post Jan 10 2014, 04:44 AM

12,698 posts

testing the support 538 few times now. lets see if it could break it down! then we can see 525 area. brows.gif
yok70
post Jan 10 2014, 05:08 AM

12,698 posts

investors are optimistic on tomorrow's jobs data?
so now once again good news is bad news?
hmm.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 10 2014, 06:09 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 10 2014, 05:08 AM)
investors are optimistic on tomorrow's jobs data?
so now once again good news is bad news? 
hmm.gif
I expect bad news... (as in less than expected).
I think the market is due for a short term correction.

I'm seeing buying are slowing. Very tight range now for SP500.

Are u ready with some cash at sidelines?

yok70
post Jan 10 2014, 03:01 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 10 2014, 06:09 AM)
I expect bad news... (as in less than expected). 
I think the market is due for a short term correction.

I'm seeing buying are slowing.  Very tight range now for SP500. 

Are u ready with some cash at sidelines?
oh ya, always has some cash waiting for the bears. icon_rolleyes.gif
foosh
post Jan 10 2014, 10:13 PM

168 posts

Job stats shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 10 2014, 10:15 PM

10,123 posts

The UE number is 6.7% now (getting closer to 6.5%) but the growth number is only 67k (that's really weak).
The economists now blame the weather and saying now this number is not reliable. laugh.gif

yok70
post Jan 10 2014, 10:29 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 10 2014, 10:15 PM)
The UE number is 6.7% now (getting closer to 6.5%) but the growth number is only 67k (that's really weak).
The economists now blame the weather and saying now this number is not reliable.   laugh.gif
now bad news is good news or bad news? i blur oledy... rclxub.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Jan 10 2014, 10:29 PM
mikehwy
post Jan 10 2014, 10:44 PM

17,100 posts

purely by stats, UE drops below the 7.0 benchmark for over 5 years -good news.

This signals slower economic growth for the US and could help to delay the QE2, or reduces its quantum - good news.

The increase in non-farm payroll is the slowest since 2011 - Bad news.

If we all win before the cny, then - goos news. lol

danmooncake
post Jan 10 2014, 10:59 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 10 2014, 10:44 PM)

This signals slower economic growth for the US and could help to delay the QE2, or reduces its quantum - good news.

Before CNY? laugh.gif anyway, I'm looking at the China market now, maybe some good opportunity there
after the big sell off early this week.
yok70
post Jan 10 2014, 11:33 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 10 2014, 10:44 PM)

rclxms.gif

132 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:49 AM