14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[Official] Perodua Alza MPV Club V3, Car One Moment ,MPV The Next

singk
post May 30 2014, 10:53 AM

fellas, for the Alza facelift, do you observe that the air cond water dripping on the steering rack? in other word, the drain hose wasn't extended to get the air cond condensate to drip on other place than the steering rack. I just took the new car for my dad and found out this. I'm kinda concern on the long term effect on the water dripping and the rusting. I'll go to feedback to SC during my 1st service and see what they says. The car is just 3 days on the road, so far everything OK albeit i heard some ticking noise intermittent, too rare to happen that i able to nail it down.
singk
post May 30 2014, 11:14 AM

the EWP policy will spell out what is covered and what's not, with the track record of perodua parts quality, i believe EWP wasn't anything that is worthy to buy. But it's useful on proton cars.
singk
post May 31 2014, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(Eithanius @ May 30 2014, 12:24 PM)
el-crappo…! I thought they fixed the issue with a recall on both Alza and 1st-gen MyVi 2 years back…

Check your steering rack again see if the affected area is wrapped with some sort of transparent plastic, and if the water hose is extended...

Else go highlight to SC and get them fix it for you… It seems like P2 never improve on quality...
that's right bro, during the delivery, the 1st thing i check was the aircond host. It's not extended, and the condensate was dripping right on the steering rack! No plastic piece observed (i didn't pay really much attention to that, apparently it look like a painted surface, it should be smooth and shiny if there's any transparent plastic there)

I'll bring this issue to them when i send the car for 1st service.

I have a 7 yrs myvi that have the condensate dripping to the steering rack, lucky enough, nothing happened. Last time when i doing aircond service, the mechanic help to escape the condensate by slightly adjust the water dripping position.
singk
post Jun 4 2014, 11:02 AM

the pairing between gearbox & engine is important, the engine tuning and the gear ratio tuning is the determine factor. good engine tuning + good gearbox ratio = good performance; good engine tuning + sucks gear ratio = imperfection. Nothing is perfect and it always ties back to what you desired (torque? top speed? FC?)
singk
post Jun 5 2014, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(KennyL5 @ Jun 4 2014, 06:14 PM)
New Alza using iridium plug? Meaning can last for 100k?
i wonder perodua will treat their customer that nice. my bet will be the plugs are ordinary ones, iridium will be those that you need to fork out money to get from them. yea, iridium plug able to last "up to" 100k km, my myvi has it, running for more than 100k km (probably clocking 110k km since the plug installed), still going well, no misfiring, no knocking, no nothing, still doing a healthy 12.5 - 13km/l FC (1st batch manual).
singk
post Jun 6 2014, 03:09 PM

once in a while high speed should be good as it facilitate the run in and bedding in of friction surfaces. Ofcoz you don't maintain it for long period.
singk
post Jun 10 2014, 09:36 AM

fellas, anyone of you have the idea of the gearbox model for alza? i just done my 1st service and having chit chat with the P2 mechanics during service, they told me that the gearbox was different from the pre FL alza.
singk
post Jun 10 2014, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(paperclip @ Jun 10 2014, 09:44 AM)
Yes new alza fl come wit new gb, but not all fl got new, the early after fl launched have old gb. Bigger gb, different gear ratios....Not sure about gear ratios, but dis is wat my mech fren at Puchong sc told....
i see... so the old gearbox is bigger in size, or the new ones? about the gear ratio, probably they tweak the 1,2,3 gear ratio (maybe), as the rpm for 100km/h drive was still in the region of 2.5-3k rpm, which i presume it's still the old 2750rpm. Anyway, it's do look different from the myvi gearbox. If i not mistaken, old alza use the same gearbox as myvi's.
singk
post Jun 10 2014, 03:42 PM

nothing much can complain on my alza, the noise level on 110km/h is bearable for me. can't expect much when you pay that kind of pricing. i haven't sit in a vios that drives 110km/h before but my gut feel is vios could be comparatively less noisy but still it's not the class (of low cabin noise) of altis or camry, it's all down to the amount of $ you pay mate.
singk
post Jun 11 2014, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Jun 11 2014, 03:29 PM)
Alza would be good car for normal use / family use.. not for racing or high speed.

I have just travelled about 2000km for 5 days last week.  From KL > Alor Setar > Ipoh > Cameron > Gua Musang > Kuala Terengganu > Kuantan > KL.

I travelled following the legal speed due to many speed traps now operating.  Tyre noise definately better as not stock tyres.  Engine noise is noticeable though but for me considered better compared to other local cars.
Wind noise is a on going troubleshooting for me as the rubbers are shrinking due to heat and I park under sun daily.

can't expect much for a RM50k-60k car. but my friend said that it is much better than proton as he sits in both before.

I have tried my alza for 150kph before, but only for few minutes only.  Drive safe comes first.
agree to your statement bro. I tried my alza up to 140kph, though noisy (not as much as the roaring of Saga BLM) but the noise level is bearable for me. the car is design for normal use, the design and it's shape already told us.

Torque is mostly to address pickup or acceleration, not to sustain high speed... If you wanna know how it sounds like, get an Alza and rev it to around 2.8k to 3.3k rpm...

yep, torque is meant for pickup (to bring the mass up to speed), i drove my alza into the region of 2.8 and 3.3k rpm, yep, it feels comparatively noisy when the rpm venture into this range, but it's still bearable. A bit OOT, If you do some reference to myvi 1.5 torque curve, i bet you will not go into any rpm between 3k-4k region, the torque is relatively flat during this region, i.e rpm goes up, torque doesn't go up. the tuning for p2 engine are quite emphasis on low - mid torque, as the expense of high speed output. Proton goes different way (compare to P2).
singk
post Jun 13 2014, 10:27 AM

[quote=alexei,Jun 11 2014, 06:31 PM]
singk

My 2 cents.

agree to your statement bro, the iDSI engine achieves max torque at lower rpm by the dual spark plug and the swirl combustion chamber, higher compression ratio of 10.8:1 construction, while 3SZ-VE play around with valve timing, 16v dohc construction, in 16v engine, the powerband will far from perfect if you compare to the iDSi engine design (8 valves) due to the lower volumetric efficiency in low-mid rpm range. What Daihatsu did is, tweak the intake manifold and make it good performer in low-mid range at the expense of high rpm output (compare myvi 1.3 with iAFM 1.3 then you know the difference). I tried to look at the torque for both engine, relatively same torque level when both engine achieve max HP i.e around 120Nm hence both engine are quite well tuned (for a mass pro engine).

What i'm trying to bring out is "trying" (not prohibits) to avoid to step into the region of 3k-4k rpm as the torque is relatively flat at this region before it ram up to max on 4400rpm, hence the pick up wasn't that intense during this rpm range, rpm up, pick up no up = wasting fuel. You can see the pic. user posted image

P.S: maybe the torque curve a bit different on alza due to the presence of intake resonator while myvi doesn't has it.
singk
post Jun 13 2014, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 13 2014, 10:49 AM)
singkNice. Though I beg to differ with the acceleration between 3-4k.
At that region, torque is flat, so acceleration is linear, check the HP curve.
As the RPM encroach over 4k RPM, the torque peaks, and the acceleration increases... butt dyno feels a sudden kick... and then it lags again at RPM >4.5k.
yep, you got linear acceleration and due to the lack of torque growth (compare to lower rpm region that exhibits torque & HP growth), you feel less oomph.

is that means I don need to drive over 3000rpm will do? 3000rpm is about 110-120km

i can say that is correct, driving at top gear @3k rpm yields you 110-120km/h, you go faster, the air resistance grows significantly i.e the air is pulling you back further, without additional torque, your engine need to work harder.
My own personal opinion is drive around 3k rpm will be sweet for fuel economy sake. Better still you drive around 80-90km/h, i found that most cars did pretty good FC during this speed range (like my myvi and my pop's Saga BLM)
If you are racing kaki, think no further, step your leg hard enough, let the engine roar, squeeze out higher torque and hp and fulfill your needs. biggrin.gif
singk
post Jun 13 2014, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(stelamezie @ Jun 13 2014, 04:09 PM)
Hence shorten the engine life for hard racing. tongue.gif
well, it's expected. biggrin.gif it's good as it "helps" the automotive industries (coz you need to change parts or car when it worn off)
singk
post Jun 13 2014, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(ERiKoChAn @ Jun 13 2014, 04:47 PM)
thanks for the advice. later gonna try~to maintain 3000rpm hehe
try maintain 2k rpm drive at top gear, even lagi sedap, more fuel saving, but you will feel sien because you will feel like you drive like an old man.
singk
post Jun 15 2014, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(stelamezie @ Jun 15 2014, 07:39 PM)

Is this good? Or I can achieve lower?
What's ur driving condition? Full city drive? If it's full city drive, then is allright. I'm getting about 8l/100km for mix driving cycle. Could be better if I drive more frugal.
singk
post Jun 15 2014, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(fazlittc @ Jun 15 2014, 06:24 AM)
Ive servis 1k recently and i noticed a water dripping under the car but i couldnot find it where. My fren said it must be air cond water. It is like a water dripping onto eksoz. Any xperience the same?
Should be air cond condensate. Or exhaust vapor when you idle for too long.

singk
post Jun 15 2014, 09:24 PM

QUOTE(stelamezie @ Jun 15 2014, 09:13 PM)
Hmm...that mileage on ODO is just based on since I got my car from 2nd of June 2014 up until now, I drove to sepang, PJ, KL area. Travel quite few places in a day, city drive to highway, like Raja Laut area to jln duta, to kesas and etc.

Think it will slowly get better FC since I have done my first service few days ago as well as I drove it every day to train it tongue.gif
Try reset your FC meter and observe the FC. Yea, try train the ECU to suit your driving style, I guess the ECU able to learn up ur style really fast, I drove my girlfriend's myvi just for a day, and tomorrow I'm getting her complain of her throttle feeling awkward,try drive more than 70 if you have chance, I observe that the gear will usually stays at 3rd gear if you go around or lower than 65kph.
singk
post Jun 15 2014, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(stelamezie @ Jun 15 2014, 09:54 PM)
I though so  rclxms.gif
perodua engine is design for low octane rating, RON 90 if i not mistaken. So 95 or 97, it shouldn't be any difference. I tried shell RON97 once, and the was the only 1 time i tried RON97, FC remains the same.

I do know some engine e.g Mazda skyactiv, volkswagen, insight hybrid does feel the difference as the engine is tuned to suit to RON95, hence giving it a RON97 should brings out the "hidden potential"of the engine by a bit.
singk
post Jun 16 2014, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(stelamezie @ Jun 16 2014, 02:35 AM)
You know what, after I reset FC meter and I drove from Bukit Jalil to bukit bintang parked my car went for a drink and drove home, this is what I get O.O

is logical to have that number after reset, it takes some distance to get a more precise reading, i bet the number will increase if you trapped in jam especially, i was driving back from PG - Ipoh last week and i reset the FC meter while i'm cruising, guess what? 4.5L/100km! i knew it's bluffing for sure. In the end, when i reach Ipoh, the FC looks really good, 6.5L/100km, after 2 days of city drive, the 6.5 number wasn't there anymore, it goes up to 7.8 instead.
singk
post Jun 16 2014, 10:29 AM

i went to service and have a chit chat with perodua techician, the alza FL is getting new gearbox (as we all knew it), and (he told me) the new gearbox is taking in more ATF, 2.9L(?), in the owner's manual, it states 2.2L, so i dunno which is correct. Anyhow, the dipstick reading shows the fluid level is OK (albeit is shifted to P and engine shut, but it should be representable as the car just put to a stop for like 7 minutes). Perhaps any sifu who is familiar with this new gearbox able to shed some light on this? Thanks.

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:50 AM