[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)

kenlimfornication
post Jan 14 2014, 06:41 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jan 14 2014, 09:23 AM)
Call back to where u bough from and ask about the shop only.
Thanks very much for your advice. That was the very first thing I did as it requires much less time for me to log on here and type and ask. Obviously I got the same/expected/usual answer of "Just come back to us, don't worry". I don't think they are even aware of the online warranty thing.

I strongly believe are all familiar with some of the services in Malaysia (not generalising, only some). They say that when they sell you stuff. When problem arises, "Oh you should have blah blah blah..I don't have black and white blah blah blah"

I'm trying to avoid that and go directly via the distributor/manufacturer since the service is provided.
suelin
post Jan 14 2014, 08:24 PM

Can anyone figure out my 2-3 year old air con is making a loud clanking/clicking/ticking/knocking/mechanical sound every 2-3 mins or so? Its a york 1HP model if that helps.

Any idea how to fix or how to avoid in the future?

JinXXX
post Jan 14 2014, 08:40 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(suelin @ Jan 14 2014, 08:24 PM)
Can anyone figure out my 2-3 year old air con is making a loud clanking/clicking/ticking/knocking/mechanical sound every 2-3 mins or so? Its a york 1HP model if that helps.

Any idea how to fix or how to avoid in the future?
bearing problem ??
kianchun555
post Jan 15 2014, 09:07 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Jan 14 2014, 06:41 PM)
Thanks very much for your advice. That was the very first thing I did as it requires much less time for me to log on here and type and ask. Obviously I got the same/expected/usual answer of "Just come back to us, don't worry". I don't think they are even aware of the online warranty thing.

I strongly believe are all familiar with some of the services in Malaysia (not generalising, only some). They say that when they sell you stuff. When problem arises, "Oh you should have blah blah blah..I don't have black and white blah blah blah"
I'm trying to avoid that and go directly via the distributor/manufacturer since the service is provided.
I do agree with you up to certain extent. However, direct dealing shall depends on the items which you are dealing with. For some home appliances like your microwave, washing machine, refridgerator, TV etc, it can be direct contact or send to the main distributor/manufacturer for warranty. However, for items like Air-Cond, it required some skills to dismantle the unit, hence, calling a distributor directly may not be the best solution.

I personally feels that, it is best to get a shop with good reputation and after sales service, of cause, sometimes their price might be slightly higher but it will save you lots of troubles when anything happened. This is similar to buying insurance product, but nowadays, consumers main concern is only focused on 1) PRICE, 2) PRICE, and 3) also PRICE.
Therefore, when problems arises, then only start to regret rclxub.gif.

Chigme
post Jan 15 2014, 09:14 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Jan 14 2014, 09:14 AM)
I just bought 2 York air condition units. Their warranty need to be registered online. I've registered the indoor unit but can't a site for the external unit. anyone has any idea?
Just register indoor unit will do, the outdoor will auto cover with indoor unit.
vicbro_95
post Jan 15 2014, 09:44 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(kianchun555 @ Jan 15 2014, 09:07 AM)
I do agree with you up to certain extent. However, direct dealing shall depends on the items which you are dealing with. For some home appliances like your microwave, washing machine, refridgerator, TV etc, it can be direct contact or send to the main distributor/manufacturer for warranty. However, for items like Air-Cond, it required some skills to dismantle the unit, hence, calling a distributor directly may not be the best solution.

I personally feels that, it is best to get a shop with good reputation and after sales service, of cause, sometimes their price might be slightly higher but it will save you lots of troubles when anything happened. This is similar to buying insurance product, but nowadays, consumers main concern is only focused on 1) PRICE, 2) PRICE, and 3) also PRICE.
Therefore, when problems arises, then only start to regret  rclxub.gif.
Agree with you on this. I end up taking another contractor to install my air cond...is much more expensive...i nego the price down until the stage he say if you nego some more i need to use china made and low quality pipes...
kianchun555
post Jan 15 2014, 02:17 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(vicbro_95 @ Jan 15 2014, 09:44 AM)
Agree with you on this. I end up taking another contractor to install my air cond...is much more expensive...i nego the price down until the stage he say if you nego some more i need to use china made and low quality pipes...
Lol. sweat.gif Everybody need to cari makan. I believe you can get a few quote, and that will give you an indicative of the market price. Sometimes, expensive not necessary the better one. However, friends & family experience, and forumers experience, can help on getting some good contractors/seller.
kenlimfornication
post Jan 15 2014, 03:24 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ Jan 15 2014, 09:14 AM)
Just register indoor unit will do, the outdoor will auto cover with indoor unit.
Finally, an answer. thank you very much.
vicbro_95
post Jan 16 2014, 06:43 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(kianchun555 @ Jan 15 2014, 02:17 PM)
Lol.  sweat.gif Everybody need to cari makan. I believe you can get a few quote, and that will give you an indicative of the market price. Sometimes, expensive not necessary the better one. However, friends & family experience, and forumers experience, can help on getting some good contractors/seller.
Yup,this is reccomand by office friend...
meteoraniac
post Jan 16 2014, 08:55 AM

1,099 posts

hi Sifus

may i know generally what is the minimum height required for installing cassette air con... or rather how much vertical space would a cassette ceiling air con would occupy?
monkey9926
post Jan 16 2014, 09:21 AM

292 posts

hie all,

anyone hear of aircon price increase after cny, or simply assume everything increase after cny? lol
halcyon27
post Jan 16 2014, 12:14 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Jan 16 2014, 08:55 AM)
hi Sifus

may i know generally what is the minimum height required for installing cassette air con...  or rather how much vertical space would a cassette ceiling air con would occupy?
Different cassettes model have different chassis height based on HP. 2-2.5HP falls between 22-28cm height. Anything more than 2.5HP typically range from 27-30cm in height. There are slimmer cassettes with 16-23cm height but those are not in this market yet.

For cassette, my take is the ceiling height 11' minimum with a 40-50cm drop for allowance in clearing beam height in situations where beams criss-cross installation location. Meaning that for some locations with beams criss-crossing, the pipes have to clear beneath the beam so the drop must accommodate that. The crucial one is the water outlet which usually goes to the nearest possible outlet either an outside wall (easiest) or toilet. The drain pipe must drop in a gentle slope and hence they don't necessarily have to be drained where the compressor is if it's not the nearest. So the false ceiling must take drainage slope into account.

vjeyamahla
post Jan 16 2014, 12:50 PM

56 posts

[Dear sifus,

I am currently looking for air cons to install in 4 bedrooms and living room. I have done all the concealed copper piping and the wiring and paid a huge sum for it to the developer for these additional work. Now, I find all the money spent might be a waste as most air con comes price include installation. Only one was willing to reduce RM 50 per aircon unit. Another suggested to get air cons from the the air con piping installer. I managed to get hold of them but they do not have he brand I wanted. Is it wise to buy the air con and get them to install them or let someone to do the whole thing?
cavaliars
post Jan 16 2014, 06:19 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(vjeyamahla @ Jan 16 2014, 12:50 PM)
[Dear sifus,

I am currently looking for air cons to install in 4 bedrooms and living room. I have done all the concealed copper piping and the wiring and paid a huge sum for it to the developer for these additional work. Now, I find all the money spent might be a waste as most air con comes price include installation. Only one was willing to reduce RM 50 per aircon unit. Another suggested to get air cons from the the air con piping installer. I managed to get hold of them but they do not have he brand I wanted. Is it wise to buy the air con and get them to install them or let someone to do the whole thing?
what brand are you looking for? btw even you do all conceal piping, remember that the aircond still have a lot of work to do...they need to mount the aircond, mount the compressor, connect the piping you install, readjust if it is not enough length and also install the wiring... conceal is only part of it...

i have the same thinking as you that installing aircond is easy simple installtation, but after i saw the installation at my house today, is no easy simple job...need to be cautious and tidy...or else will have problem later...mine simple installation as compressor and blower unit is very near...but still took almost 3 hour... this is with the wiring done and no piping conceal...

for your info i bought my aircond from the installer straight...1.5HP daikin inverter and 1.5 panasonic basic unit...i didnt go thru any shops.

This post has been edited by cavaliars: Jan 16 2014, 06:20 PM
hannahmackay
post Jan 18 2014, 01:43 PM

Earlier, I was using non-inverter air conditioner, but then on the recommendation from an experienced technician from ac repair vero beach, I bought inverter for my air conditioner as it maintain the voltage and also protects my ac from unwanted fluctuations.
NiGht@HaWk
post Jan 18 2014, 04:49 PM

41 posts

Hey Sifus,

May I kindly know what is the best brand for 1hp & 1.5hp A/C and what is the price?

reddevils10
post Jan 19 2014, 03:28 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(hannahmackay @ Jan 18 2014, 01:43 PM)
Earlier, I was using non-inverter air conditioner, but then on the recommendation from an experienced technician from ac repair vero beach, I bought inverter for my air conditioner as it maintain the voltage and also protects my ac from unwanted fluctuations.
wow got spambots here also ah...
SUSkimsim
post Jan 20 2014, 09:55 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Share my living Aircon again using with additional filter.
Free of dust blocking on the coin.

After remove the filter

After washed and reused

czlee88
post Jan 21 2014, 01:59 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 4 2014, 04:42 PM)
Is all the new houses now those concealed piping meant for non inverter or inverter. If it is non inverter, any solution if I am to install inverter one?
you can try to install a daikin inverter R22 series
meteoraniac
post Jan 21 2014, 09:53 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 16 2014, 12:14 PM)
Different cassettes model have different chassis height based on HP. 2-2.5HP falls between 22-28cm height. Anything more than 2.5HP typically range from 27-30cm in height. There are slimmer cassettes with 16-23cm height but those are not in this market yet.

For cassette, my take is the ceiling height 11' minimum with a 40-50cm drop for allowance in clearing beam height in situations where beams criss-cross installation location. Meaning that for some locations with beams criss-crossing, the pipes have to clear beneath the beam so the drop must accommodate that. The crucial one is the water outlet which usually goes to the nearest possible outlet either an outside wall (easiest) or toilet. The drain pipe must drop in a gentle slope and hence they don't necessarily have to be drained where the compressor is if it's not the nearest. So the false ceiling must take drainage slope into account.
hi halcyon27,

Thank you for the detailed explanation. Looks like I have to look for other alternatives since my ceiling height is pretty low at 9.5 ft sad.gif To add insult to injury, there is beams surrounding the installation location so have to compensate on my ceiling height even lower..

107 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:58 PM