19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Feb 19 2014, 02:58 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 19 2014, 02:21 PM)
Hi everyone, my old laptop broke down recently and I really need a new laptop here and would like to get some recomendations from sifus here.

1. Preferred Brand : Any ( Besides Acer)

2. Budget : Rm2800-3500 Max

3. Usage :

-> Assignment typing ( very important)
-> Listen music
-> Watch drama/movies (heavy usage)
-> Light gaming

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inch or 15 inch

** Additional notes
a) Very loud and good speaker
b) Stylish design
c) Light design
d) Strong wifi
e) smoothness in operating

Please recommend me as I urgently need a new laptop to do assignment and did not manage to do some research on laptop that suits my need.

Thanks smile.gif
15" light design only exist in Acer laptop :

Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

this one is best to fit you, full HD IPS screen for your better movie experience, and only 2.2kg for a 15" laptop. not to mention, specs are pretty decent as well.
raymondtong94
post Feb 19 2014, 05:52 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ Feb 19 2014, 05:39 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any (no Acer)
2. Budget: Max RM 3,500
3. Usage: doing assignments/watching anime/gaming purposes (mainly DotA 2 + a bit of SC2)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15 inch

Additional note: Does anyone know if there's any laptop that doesn't have chiclet keys + fulfills the req above?

Would like to ask if it's better to get a laptop with i5 or i7 processor

Thanks all for the help smile.gif
sorry to say, no non-chiclet style keys for your budget. the only laptops that benefits non-chiclet design are Illegear RS series (non Lite), Alienware and Dell Precision lines and they are the cost of a bomb.
as for processor, your usage with i5 is enough, i7 is overkill.

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099, 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

my best pick is Dell Inspiron 15 7000 cuz of the ULV dual core i7, decent graphics card and 'IPS on-par' screen. icon_idea.gif

PS - anime fan also? i am too! biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post Feb 19 2014, 11:33 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ Feb 19 2014, 10:07 PM)
Thanks for the help smile.gif any decent Asus laptops around that range?
Doesn't matter if chiclet or not, getting a mechanical keyboard so I can use it at home/hostel/something when I go for uni.. really hate chiclet keys.

Also would like to ask if quality and build wise, Asus/Toshiba/Lenovo/Dell/etc which brand is better?
ASUS N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3799[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard
not really recommended, due to DDR3 VRAM rather than the GDDR5 VRAM on the laptops suggested.

as for quality, all are the same. laptops are produced in vast amounts, so there will be lemon units in it. frankly, it depends on your luck.
raymondtong94
post Feb 20 2014, 09:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Feb 20 2014, 09:07 AM)
Just like azureknight94 said, its a software for ur hardware, sorry for probably confusing u with the terms i used :/,

Well if u want to go to lowyat to buy those laptops. I suggest u go to viewnet, or jackyyang's store on the 4th floor.. I may go there this weekend if nothing comes up to do some surveys haha smile.gif
C-Zone and Jayacom is okay too, just those shops that are too hidden (or bangla shop) will have high chances of being conned.
raymondtong94
post Feb 20 2014, 09:18 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Travis McCoy @ Feb 20 2014, 09:16 AM)
nehhh mind xD
I should be thanking you for taking your time explaining to me smile.gif
do you know the store name pc zone and sri store (forgotten it name sweat.gif )
I heard it pretty ok
is it true?
can share share experiences laugh.gif
PC Zone is a subsidiary of Viewnet, its okay as well. Sri Computer should be avoided, extremely stupid customer service (according to buyers review).
raymondtong94
post Feb 20 2014, 12:35 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

buying in malaysia will be cheaper but if that particular models arent selling in singapore, you might have warranty difficulties.
raymondtong94
post Feb 20 2014, 04:15 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Games4Life @ Feb 20 2014, 03:52 PM)
Please help me sifus...
Lenovo Y510P 5938-9550 – 15.6” FHD / i7-4700 / 1x8G / 1TB / Dual GT750M 2G D5 / W8 : RM3790/-

MSI GE40 2OC-433MY (Dragon Eyes) – 14” FHD / i7-4702MQ / 4GB / 750GB / GTX760M 2GB / W8 : RM3300/-

MSI GE60 2OD-437MY – 15.6 FHD Anti-G / i7-4700MQ / 8GB / 1TB 7200RPM / GTX760M 2G GDDR5 / W8 : RM3720/-

2. Budget: RM3k - RM3.8k

3. Usage: Heavy gaming, interwebz, movies, student stuff

4. Prefer: size <15.4 inch, gtx GPU, anything within above specs are ok regardless brands

Side notes:
- I'm gonna continue my studies overseas for 2 years so 2 years futureproof-ish for gaming is my priority
- Which is better in terms of stability and consistency in gaming? Dual-GPU (lenovo) or single GPU (msi)?
- Any commends or advice about other similar models are welcome

Thanks in advance
1. Want futureproof go for Illegear RS-15 Lite. Upgradeable graphics card for gaming performance.
2. More stable with single GPU, so MSI is winner.

or if you can go for a not so flashy ASUS counterpart :

ASUS N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

remember to ask for best price from sellers.
raymondtong94
post Feb 20 2014, 08:05 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Travis McCoy @ Feb 20 2014, 07:57 PM)
hmm I see, thanks wink.gif
I heard sri also should be avoid based on review as well
but I have a friend whom sell and repair tech stuff
he recommended me that shop though o_o
but I heard sri Is good for it spare parts,
not service.
QUOTE(Travis McCoy @ Feb 20 2014, 08:01 PM)
thanks tongue.gif
I'll try survey if I have the time.
is lowyat crowded?
like mid valley....
I never liked mid valley due to thr crowd-ness doh.gif
I worry it'll be TOO CROWDED sad.gif
sri computer is good for finding parts and accessories, not a good place to deal with warranty and services. lowyat is crowded on weekends (i work there before), so try your best to go there on weekdays. im sure you have some time at night after office hours (my POV).
raymondtong94
post Feb 21 2014, 12:59 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Feb 21 2014, 12:26 AM)
Currently having a headache now, in need of a new laptop a.s.a.p, probably this saturday,
might be going to lowyat to get it instantly, if i could, i wouldve placed an order for illegear,
but need set appointment to even see the unit  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
So here it goes

1. Leaning towards msi, lenovo, but still open to suggestion.
2. Max budget 5k
3. Specs are not tied down to anything
4. Mainly used for gaming and engineering related programming

If im not mistaken, the ones that are sold in shops at lowyat are a bit higher priced than the ones on this forum (due to shop rentals etc) right??

EDIT : How does the msi ge60-20e fares?
just place an order for illegear. you wont regret it after the purchase. nod.gif
regarding MSI GE60, the weak parts of it are the inefficient cooling system; much more hotter than Lenovo Y510P, with its GT750M model and bad colour production monitor.
raymondtong94
post Feb 21 2014, 01:09 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(user @ Feb 21 2014, 01:04 AM)
raymondtong94 how about mine? Any recommendation? tongue.gif
haha, if you asked me, i will totally stand out for Dell Inspiron 15 7000, unless if i wanted to play heavier game titles, i will get the Lenovo Y510P.
raymondtong94
post Feb 21 2014, 01:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Feb 21 2014, 01:08 AM)
So.. RS-15 lite, with the basic setup for 4999 then?
Should i go for delivery or pickup?
I just hope the 3.1kg it weighs wont be huge noticable from the 2.0kg im using now XD
if you arent going to customize options, basic setup with an ahem windows is okay as you can choose to upgrade in the future.
if weight is your concern, laptops that weighed 3kg and above is considered back-breaking (not for my case).
raymondtong94
post Feb 22 2014, 05:35 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 22 2014, 05:13 PM)
Hi All,

My Asus N45s isn't good enough to play the latest NFS. It gets heated up pretty quick & then it becomes laggy. So currently I'm looking to replace it. In terms of specifications I'm looking at:

1) MSI GE40 2OC-433MY Dragon Eyes
2) Illegear RE-15
3) Asus N56JR

I'd like to try out GTX series since I'm currently on GT series already. But at the same time I'm wondering if it's worth the extra RM1k to upgrade to GTX series for the games that I'm playing e.g. SC2, DotA2, NFS:Rivals or watching HD Movies (10 GB each movie)?

I like the MSI & Illegear cause it's roughly around the same price, plus the specs is pretty good too. But what do you all think? After few years, is Asus customer service still horrible & their laptop still has heat issues?  Or are there any other laptops that has similar specs to what I'm looking for?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
what is your concern about the laptop other than movies and games?
because my pick here is illegear. best customer service, good airflow and highly customizable. price isn't expensive either
raymondtong94
post Feb 22 2014, 07:00 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 22 2014, 06:14 PM)
Can last approximately 3 years la, don't wanna buy new one too frequent & I think 3 years is about time anyway.

Now my dilemma is the Illegear vs MSI. Illegear has better specs (in terms of GPU) but I like the MSI better cause it's 14" (LOL yea I know it's kinda lame but I felt 15.6" is kinda big). Maybe I should go look around for 15" laptop to roughly gauge how big is 15".

Illegear is fairly new in our market no? Whereas MSI has been around with their gaming laptop already, so on that sense I felt MSI is more stable.

I'm currently using Asus N45s, so going to either the MSI or Illegear is an upgrade for me. But I'm wondering whether the extra bucks is worth it or not based on my usage. The most GPU intensive game I'm on now is NFS Rivals & SC2, I'm not a FPS player.
MSI is okay so far but the warranty service is questionable. so you may need to pray a lot if you buy MSI. anyway, illegear is stable as well. they started bringing in sager laptops at start since 2011. around mid 2012, they started building Clevo laptops and rebrand it to illegear (their own branding).
raymondtong94
post Feb 22 2014, 11:54 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 22 2014, 11:53 PM)
are you selling these? Where are you based? I live in East Malaysia.

Cant go any further than 2.5k so is the Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14 the only option for my budget?
sifu TJ is a biologist, and also a photographer.
raymondtong94
post Feb 22 2014, 11:57 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 22 2014, 11:28 PM)

you want tough ultrabooks, go for the older generation ASUS Zenbook (within your budget) or the older Dell XPS 13 then.
raymondtong94
post Feb 22 2014, 11:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 22 2014, 11:56 PM)
Well, ive seen you providing solid recommendations in the thread. Do you have any for my situation?
too bad, previously i worked at Viewnet but i have to resign that job to take a course. however, try PM the fellow forumer devour. he is a reputable seller of laptops. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Feb 23 2014, 12:08 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 23 2014, 12:03 AM)
i meant recommendations on laptops for my situation. Because as of now, i only have the Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14 as an option. I'd like more options just in case the shop i go to does not have this particular model.
sorry my bad. maybe you can take this :

Lenovo S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

cheaper but a little heavier though. as usual, upgrade RAM to 8GB and extend warranty to 3 years. want blazing fast loading speed, can go for SSD (128GB RM300++, 256GB RM600++).
raymondtong94
post Feb 23 2014, 01:17 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 23 2014, 12:50 AM)
Ohh...I see, thanks for the info ya smile.gif

I have done some research and I found out
1) Lenovo Y510p -> I don't like the design
2) Asus N550JV -> Overall quite nice, but say from review says that battery life is not that good.

If I want to get normal laptop that is tough and at the range from RM3000 to RM3500 or more a bit till RM3700, does any laptop fits to my  requirement?

1) Doing assignment
2) very slight gaming (like CD games),
3) watching drama (quite heavy)
4) Internet browsing
5) Listen music (Sometime i use speaker, sometime i use headphone)
6) Strong battery
7) Stylish design
what about macbook air?

Apple
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD@RM3599[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

macbook won the strongest battery among the other ultrabooks. the design is a little plain but for me anything with anodized aluminium finish is cool looking.
raymondtong94
post Feb 23 2014, 10:20 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2014, 10:16 AM)
But the 180 degree connector kills me hard. mad.gif  vmad.gif
My HP laptop already undergo 6 chargers changes last year.
Because of that.
If they included a 90 degree converter kit that would be better.  rclxub.gif
i dont kinda believe the connector is acting up, perhaps maybe your HP laptop's brick is malfunctioning.
raymondtong94
post Feb 23 2014, 04:32 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 23 2014, 02:07 PM)
would the Dell Inspiron 14 7000 be better than the Ideapad flex 14 (with 8gb RAM upgrade)?
the dell inspiron 14 7000 RAM is not upgradeable aftermarket. notice the soldered RAM, as stated in the specs sheet.

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:03 PM