136 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 09:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2014, 06:09 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: none
2. Budget: rm1500
3. Usage: ms office, surfing, watch vids
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13" the lighter the better

thank you  smile.gif
13" notebooks are generally more expensive due to lower production nod.gif
How about this one?
11.6"
Dell Inspiron 11 3000, Celeron N2815U + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[1.43kg]. 4GB, 500GB, W8.1

*extend warranty to 3 years icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 09:14 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(suereyaable @ Mar 16 2014, 08:28 PM)
Hello. I need some suggestions to buy a new laptop.

1. Preferred Brand : ASUS or LENOVO

2. Budget : RM 2k

3. Usage : video editing (Adobe After Effects), 2D animation (Adobe Flash), Adobe Photoshop and light gaming.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size :14" or 15"

Thank you in advance!
Try to look for these:
14"
Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

The more powerful Mobile CPU will give you the extra juice you need for your editing needs nod.gif
*Use remaining budget to upgrade RAM to at least 8GB (higher better). Photoshop will benefit more from higher RAM and extra HDD space as well.
Can consider upgrade the HDD to an SSD or hybrid SSD later on when budget permits, that will further boost your notbeook's performance icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 09:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Mar 16 2014, 09:06 PM)
Hi guys, would need some help in recommending a laptop/ultrabook for my work and entertainment purposes.

1. Preferred Brand - No specific preference, as long as good after sales service
2. Budget - RM4k
3. Usage - Will be using Autocad and photoshop. Plus for casual entertainment.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 to 15 inch, preferably touch enabled

Appreciate if you all can give a nice recommend, would like something light for portability.

Hoho! You are in luck~
Definitely this:
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

*extend warranty to 3 years
I would recommend looking for bro Oscar putochip123 here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...1751731?fref=ts
He might have some cool promotions going on~ Last I heard he got stock up this particular model as well. Try to persuade him to throw in an SSD for you brows.gif brows.gif SHould be possible with your budget~
@udio_jr
post Mar 16 2014, 09:36 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 09:16 PM)
Hoho! You are in luck~
Definitely this:
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

I would recommend looking for bro Oscar putochip123 here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...1751731?fref=ts
He might have some cool promotions going on~ Last I heard he got stock up this particular model as well. Try to persuade him to throw in an SSD for you  brows.gif  brows.gif  SHould be possible with your budget~
Thanks for the prompt response!

But is there any other models available which weighs around 2kg or less? Need something lighter if possible.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 09:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Mar 16 2014, 09:36 PM)
Thanks for the prompt response!

But is there any other models available which weighs around 2kg or less? Need something lighter if possible.

This one then icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
MSI GE40-2OC-290MY, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4199[1.9kg], 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W8

But do take note that slim and light notebooks will not be cool in terms of temperature icon_rolleyes.gif

tachlio
post Mar 16 2014, 09:50 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 09:16 PM)
Hoho! You are in luck~
Definitely this:
15.6"
Dell

He might have some cool promotions going on~ Last I heard he got stock up this particular model as well. Try to persuade him to throw in an SSD for you  brows.gif  brows.gif  SHould be possible with your budget~
Where did you get this price? I cant find via Dell web..

or need call CS for customize it?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 10:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Mar 16 2014, 09:50 PM)
Where did you get this price?  I cant find via Dell web..

or need call CS for customize it?
Here you go: http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-7537/...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn
Check out the link, bro Oscar can offer even cheaper price brows.gif

tachlio
post Mar 16 2014, 10:31 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 10:01 PM)
Here you go: http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-7537/...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn
Check out the link, bro Oscar can offer even cheaper price brows.gif
thumbup.gif Thanks...

Currently using Lenovo Y410P

My wife PC broken so need to replace for her.
Thinking pass the lenovo to her and purchase Y510p or this
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 10:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Mar 16 2014, 10:31 PM)
thumbup.gif Thanks...

Currently using Lenovo Y410P

My wife PC broken so need to replace for her.
Thinking pass the lenovo to her and purchase Y510p or this
Dafaq, saw your siggy! You have a Precision! drool.gif drool.gif
wizoxt
post Mar 16 2014, 10:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 09:04 PM)
Although AMD GPUs are pretty awesome for the price; the same cannot be said for AMD's CPU nod.gif
Since you are working on video editing and stuffs which can be rather CPU intensive, its better to stick to Intel  icon_rolleyes.gif
Actually I am a IT newbie lol~~ do you mean that AMD's CPU performance is slightly slower than Intel's CPU or slower by a decent amount?
Or do you mean the durability of AMD's CPU is shorter than Intel's CPU?
If it is slightly slower maybe i can tolerate with that blink.gif blink.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 10:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wizoxt @ Mar 16 2014, 10:47 PM)
Actually I am a IT newbie lol~~  do you mean that AMD's CPU performance is slightly slower than Intel's CPU or slower by a decent amount?
Or do you mean the durability of AMD's CPU is shorter than Intel's CPU?
If it is slightly slower maybe i can tolerate with that  blink.gif  blink.gif
Oh, was referring to CPU performance... and its not only slightly laugh.gif
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html

Find and compare AMD A10-5750M against an Intel i7-4700HQ and you will know what I mean: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html
yorusama
post Mar 16 2014, 11:04 PM

Hello, I need help to get a gaming laptop that at least able to support the games below without lagging D:
If could would love to have window 7 instead of window 8.

1. Preferred Brand : none

2. Budget : RM 3.5k

3. Usage : gaming (guildwars 2/ Need for speed / Assassin creed / Metal gear solid rising and others(actions games))
(mid quality graphics should do the job)

Thank you ;3

This post has been edited by yorusama: Mar 16 2014, 11:05 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2014, 11:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yorusama @ Mar 16 2014, 11:04 PM)
Hello, I need help to get a gaming laptop that at least able to support the games below without lagging D:

1. Preferred Brand : none

2. Budget : RM 3.5k

3. Usage : gaming (guildwars 2/ Need for speed / Assassin creed / Metal gear solid rising and others(actions games))
(mid quality graphics should do the job)

Thank you ;3
Top of the line icon_rolleyes.gif
15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

attacusatlas
post Mar 16 2014, 11:32 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 09:10 PM)
Holy sh*t, that is one awesome budget you have there laugh.gif
Anyways, depending on your definition of "light game", the recommendation varies.
If you are talking about playing the latest games in the market, then there's only one pick to be honest haha

Illegear Configure Illegear units here: http://www.illegear.com/
13"
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

*Upgrade to SSD, extend warranty to 3 years, get an OS, upgrade to 8GB RAM at least

If you are only referring to flash/ FB games, then can consider these:
13"
Acer
Aspire S7-392-74504G12, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8.1
Aspire S7-392-74508G25, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (2560x1440; touch)@RM4999[1.3kg], 8GB, W8.1

Asus
UX301LA-DE017H, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (2560x1440; touch)@RM4499[1.4kg], 4GB, W8.1
UX301LA-DE016H, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (2560x1440; touch)@RM5399[1.4kg], 8GB, W8.1

Dell
XPS13, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3999[1.37kg], 8GB, W8.1, backlit, 55Whr
XPS13, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM4999[1.37kg], 8GB, W8.1, backlit, 55Whr

Lenovo
Yoga 2 pro, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (3200x1800 IPS; touch)@RM4199[1.39kg], 8GB, W8.1, 2 yrs

Sony
Vaio SVP13218PGB, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.06kg], 4GB, W8SL, stylus

Toshiba
Portégé Z930-2035, i5-3337U+ Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3799, 6GBm W8, 3 years
Portégé Z930-2037, i7-3687U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM4899, 6GB, W7P/W8P, 3 years NBD

*Prices in RRP
* Extend warranty to 3 years, upgrade to at least 8GB

Recommending 13" for better viewing experience. Personally I would opt for the Dell XPS13 mainly because of Dell's awesome complete cover warranty which also includes accidental coverage (definitely worth buying). Repair time is within 1-2 business days only unlike other brands that you have to send your notbeook in yourself and might have to wait up to 2 months for repairs sweat.gif

Can also consider the Sony if you fancy all the extra features like stylus and extra docking option.

Try to avoid those with resolutions higher than Full HD since most programs ain't optimized for such high resolution = things will appear too small on the screen = headache  laugh.gif
Hi, thanks for the recommendations. That is quite a long list I must say.

To be frank I have been a Sony vaio user for the past 12 years, and I may be biased towards Sony but I am keeping my option opened.

How about the SVF13N17PGB? What is your take on this?

This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Mar 16 2014, 11:37 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2014, 12:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Mar 16 2014, 11:32 PM)
Hi, thanks for the recommendations. That is quite a long list I must say.

To be frank I have been a Sony vaio user for the past 12 years, and I may be biased towards Sony but I am keeping my option opened.

How about the SVF13N17PGB? What is your take on this?
The Vaio Fit 13 is a pretty great choice nod.gif
Decent specs though a bit on the expensive, which is normal for a Sony
Here's a review: http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/10/rev...-thousand-cuts/

There were concerns on whether the hinge can last or not nod.gif
qwaszxzxzx
post Mar 17 2014, 03:06 AM

1. Preferred Brand: thinkpad, hp, dell
2. Budget: rm5000
3. Usage: workstation
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15'
G&PRaymond
post Mar 17 2014, 08:48 AM

Dear fellow Sifus,

Wanted to buy a laptop after using a Toshiba for 6 years spoiled,

1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo, Toshiba, Asus
2. Budget - about 2k
3. Usage - surfing internet, mostly downloading & watch HD movie, music, Microsoft office & project, very minor to no gaming. ( Hopefully multi-tasking without lack)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" and above. (personally like larger screen)

Thank you in advance!
tachlio
post Mar 17 2014, 09:45 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 16 2014, 10:37 PM)
Dafaq, saw your siggy! You have a Precision!  drool.gif  drool.gif
Precision for my CAD work brows.gif

What I dont like Y410P is the screen... the color seen dull compare to Dell...
And only highest brightness level is acceptable. sweat.gif

i worry Y510P will having same issue as 410P

p/s : This new laptop will replace my current for editing photo.
Major usage
- Photoshop CS6
- Adope Premier Pro - Video editing

Any good suggest for above usage?

This post has been edited by tachlio: Mar 17 2014, 09:47 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2014, 11:39 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(qwaszxzxzx @ Mar 17 2014, 03:06 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: thinkpad, hp, dell
2. Budget: rm5000
3. Usage: workstation
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15'
Not really sure whether its possible to get a 15" workstation for RM5k hmm.gif
The HP Elitebook and ZBook starts from RM6.2k...
As for Dell Precisions, information is restricted by Dell, you'll have to contact them directly nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 17 2014, 11:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(G&PRaymond @ Mar 17 2014, 08:48 AM)
Dear fellow Sifus,

Wanted to buy a laptop after using a Toshiba for 6 years spoiled,

1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo, Toshiba, Asus
2. Budget - about 2k
3. Usage - surfing internet, mostly downloading & watch HD movie, music, Microsoft office & project, very minor to no gaming. ( Hopefully multi-tasking without lack)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" and above. (personally like larger screen)

Thank you in advance!
Can consider this one icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Lenovo
Ideapad Flex 14, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM1799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; color: black
Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; colors: black/orange

The SSHD will give you a boost in terms of performance thumbup.gif Will end up faster than couterparts without one ~

136 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:33 PM