BTW you guys should really read this if you are OCD about safe washing method.
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/produc...-guard-2bm.html
Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
May 28 2014, 09:36 PM
433 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
BTW you guys should really read this if you are OCD about safe washing method.
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/produc...-guard-2bm.html |
May 29 2014, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(GRexer @ May 28 2014, 12:41 PM) Dewalt 894X is M14. 5/8" is about 15.9mm, how you manage to lathe it to M16 which I think is means 16mm ?Both sizes can get the right backing plate in Malaysia although M14 should be more "plug and play" as the EU machines all use the M14 size. We used to rethread the 5/8" plates from US into M16 back then. (At least, for me, that's what I did since I have access to a lathe) |
May 29 2014, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 28 2014, 02:40 PM) Here we go. This was during one of those gathering that we had. Comparing the few machines. Courtesy from one of the kakis. In this videohttp://youtu.be/ZLH2CGj0G7o There is not really a NEED for the grit guard. But it saves that little hassle that you'd need to go through tho...... Yes it has the soft start. But a little different from the Makita. This DeWalt got a little more torque so it got that initial 'jerk' (like when you lift off a stiff/short clutch on a car) before it slowed back down. When it's in rev, then it's all well like the Makita. It makes me feel like DeWalt 849X has no soft start at all when the user completely pull the trigger suddenly. Is that correct? Does Makita also behave like this? |
May 29 2014, 07:59 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE Nowadays, I don't wash my wheels with soap unless it's oily or really necessary which they are not 90% of the time. How you manage to keep your daily driver wheel so clean 90% of the time? So usually you just wash with plain water on the wheel? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « No I did not state to not cause any motion in the water at all, this is not possible. I merely state do not spin it wildly to the extent of creating vortex spiral. Usually if I was to rinse my mitt in the rinse bucket with grit guard, I do it in vertically up and down motion, I do not spin it. I will use my hand to rub it (just like the way you would do to wash T-shirt manually) during that up and down motion. For grit whose size is so small there could be chance that they will keep floating in the middle of the water before it sinks down to the bottom. But then this comes the advantage of using mitt and not plain microfiber towel to wash, one of the purpose of the mitt is to keep the grit (if there is) trapped under those little hairy fiber and not gliding on the paint surface. Of course it will not achieve this with 100% assurance. In fact, once a touched wash method is used, there is no 100% assurance already. So combining the practical factors for an average Joe in term of cost, time, water volume used, I think this is an acceptable method. In some places at the Europe and States, if someone is letting too much free flowing water pouring on the street he can actually get fined. It is this stricter regulation makes the detailing community in the western world promote the 2 buckets method, and then some modifies it to like Garry Dean 2BM, or AMMO Larry 2BM + Foam Gun, etc. And not forget grit guard usually last a life time unless one does something really stupid with it. So I think it worth the investment. 2 buckets method + grit guard has always been taught as a way to minimize potential damage on the paint surface during washing procedure, it is never advertised (not even by grit guard manufacturer) as a way to eliminate damage. All methods as long as not touchless will never qualify as 100% safe. I am sure you have look into great detail on the safety level of different washing method base on your obsessiveness At the end of the day, at least at the time we living at, 2 buckets method + grit guard will remain as the most KISS (keep it simple stupid) method yet produce acceptable result to most persons eyes. This post has been edited by scoutfai: May 29 2014, 08:10 AM |
May 29 2014, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(GRexer @ May 29 2014, 11:35 AM) You actually answered your own question. Why can't a smaller hole be made slightly bigger? Wait , you mean you lathe the backing plate hole is it? It's actually both diameter and slight difference in thread pitch. Oh, well, there's always thread adapters to change from M16 to M14 and vice versa anyway. I thought you lathe the thread of the rotary polisher. That's why I feel strange how come if original diameter on the RB thread is 15.9mm you will manage to lathe to 16mm, adding material on it. |
May 29 2014, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ May 29 2014, 07:27 PM) gosh the instruction says hikari takes up to 2 weeks to completely harden and avoid car wash during this time.Seriously? two weeks of curing time, that is very hard to achieve for most people who only own one vehicle and use it as daily driver. |
May 30 2014, 07:42 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yes you are right that it does not state what condition will need 2 weeks curing time. Nevertheless, how do we tell it is finish cure? The process of application of sealant isn't will interrupt the molecular cross linking of the substance? Is it instructed by the manufacturer? This Hikari is best to you because? So if in Malaysia want to buy the only way is online shopping? |
May 31 2014, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(scoutfai @ May 23 2014, 01:05 PM) Regarding serious rock chip damage, always have a thought to put up some filling putty first then only put touch up paint on top. Using touch up paint drops to fill it seem like taking forever to get it done nicely. Anyone knows what kind of putty most suitable for this purpose?For this purpose, what kind of putty is best? Something like this. It exists in the market but I just do not know what kind of putty used and what solution to wipe it away. |
Jun 3 2014, 08:03 AM
New toys arrived! Let's spread some poison. Finally is my turn to poison others.
1) It was nicely packed in a box and shipped all the way from Singapore. Thanks to Jeremy from Shinecars. ![]() Plenty of cushion. 2) Taking the stuff out one by one from the box like opening Santa present. In this case the difference is I have to pay. ![]() 3) Finally arrive at the main character of the whole box. ![]() 4) A glance of all the items in the box ![]() 5) LC 5.5" flat pad ![]() 6) LC 3" flat pad and plate ![]() |
Jun 3 2014, 08:04 AM
7) Some horse hair brush.
![]() 8) Boar hair brushes. Boar hair brush might not be preferable by some due to religion reason but the hair is indeed soft. Nevertheless there is always alternative like horse hair brush. ![]() 9) Hand pal. For sanding disc and wax applicator pad hand application. Evenly distribute the pressure. ![]() 10) Wheel woolies. Some commented this is something will not last long but I am still eager to try. ![]() 11) Wheel brush ![]() 12) Finally, the main purpose of this purchase, the Ultramate Traditional Dual Action (DA) Polisher. ![]() 13) It is actually exactly the same as the famous DAS 6 PRO in the Europe. How do I know? Well the user manual comes with it printed DAS 6 PRO So I guess it is a same design sold to other company and re-branding. Just like Daihatsu to Perodua. ![]() 14) One thing I find it funny is that the serial number is hand crafted. ![]() If you are wondering why would I get this age old 8mm throw traditional DA and not the famous RUPES bigfoot or the established FLEX 3401, the reason is I wish to be able to change different size backing plate. And I need to do glass polishing, wheel brushing (I will get a brush backing plate soon from OSREN). But who says I am not getting one, my next target will be ........ a DEWALT 849X first, then only a RUPES. If this UltraMate + DeWalt combo manage to satisfy me I probably will not get the RUPES to save cost, after all I am just a home user. Let's talk about the machine. It is rated input wattage 880W and it does have a lot of power. But that does not mean I can't bog it down, just very hard. Can't wait to experiment on this weekend. Never feel too old to get some new toys for myself BTW the total damage is SGD510+. No tax by Malaysia Customs, which I feel glad. Probably has to do with the trick of under declare the value of the items in the box by half. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 3 2014, 09:02 AM |
Jun 3 2014, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 3 2014, 08:12 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Arghhhh.. Kena poison ady.. Congrats on your new toy.. Still waiting for my makita.. BTW, rb also can change the backing plate to 3", right? Or we need to customize it? Thank you. All RB are equally versatile. They can change to all kind of size of backing plate, even a free spinning or force rotation dual action head attachment (from Dynabrade). As long as the thread size and thread per length compatible you can use it already, or else get a thread size convert adapter will do. You straight jump from hand to RB? This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 3 2014, 09:10 AM |
Jun 3 2014, 10:22 AM
Jun 3 2014, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 3 2014, 09:29 AM) Yes No need sweat if you have a bonnet to train then you will be fine.But tried twice before (not doing it for whole car) and i felt in love with it.. Currently having unused bonnet for me to practice.. But no RB yet.. Start saving and get the toy. Wish to see you join the club soon |
Jun 6 2014, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 6 2014, 12:55 AM) Went to hardware shop and the guy told me can use wall paint masking tape instead of painters tape.. He said that it will not tear off the car paint.. You need to be aware of their level of expectation and definition of "sophisticated work".Does your zhapalang tape could be the same he mentioned to me? To most people, swirl is not even consider a paint problem. Orange Peel is something only nonsense people will complain about. So what is considered okay, acceptable risk to them, might not be acceptable to you at any bit at all. You yourself understand your own demand the best, so you cannot take others' advice for granted and blindly believe it in. Experiment with it, and if the result is within your expectation, continue using it. Otherwise, continue the search. Cheap masking tape has a tendency to leave glue reside, being over strong or too weak in adhesive power, and some might not be chemically resistant enough so when your product mix with it, the color (if it has one) can actually dissolve and stain your paint. I have once used cheap masking tape during waxing, end up it leaves a lot of glue residue. The residue is so strong that I have to use mild solvent like turpentine to rub it. This does dissolve the glue residue but at the same time it also removes the wax adjacent to it, so I have to delicately apply wax at this area again. It is a double work for me. Learned it once and never repeat the same mistake again. That does not mean all RM5 masking tape is worthless piece of shit, but you need to evaluate each yourself and once you successfully find one: 1) Share it here of course. 2) Stick to the combination that works for you. Like Mike Phillips from Autogeek always say, choose something you like and use it often. |
Jun 12 2014, 11:49 AM
Talk about this good quality (chemical resistant, grey color head), large volume (1 liter) sprayer or foamer, other than OSREN, does anyone knows where else can get something that is similar to the sprayer and foamer carried by OSREN?
Does normal shoplot hardware shop carries something similar? Ace Hardware has some but (i) volume usually lesser than 1liter (ii) price not so competitive, would rather go back to OSREN if has to purchase from there. But the quality is good for those chemical sprayers carried by Ace Hardware. The other reliable options I am aware of is the Meguiar's one but that one selling way overpriced by Hypercoat Malaysia. Edit: Suddenly has an idea, this weekend wanna try whether the OSREN sprayer head can insert, turn, and tighten on the 1.5L or 500ml soft drink water bottle or not. I remember I saw some sellers just selling the head. Though I always doubt is it so easy to find a bottle whose thread can fit the head nicely, and the length of the tube is sufficiently long or not. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 12 2014, 11:54 AM |
Jun 12 2014, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 12 2014, 12:02 PM) QUOTE(GRexer @ Jun 12 2014, 12:20 PM) The price OSREN are selling those Torco CR sprayers, the white 1L bottle is almost free. I agree, why want to make simple thing so difficult just to save a few bucks? If manage to find a cheap bottle to replace, next time if bottle spoil, can replace easily. I personally think the foamer carried by OSREN does not spray out foam in even direction, it kind of like tilted to one side. I have several of them they all behave the same. The OSREN grey sprayer working fine for me. But two of them have one weakness, that is when you shake (as in carry around), it will leak out water. I have tried before others (but I am unable to find it again) that will never leak. So these products as good as they can be, still have weakness in their design. Imagine if that bottle flip because of a cat or mouse, the next day all the product will be gone. It's never appear bad to me to have more choice. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 12 2014, 12:52 PM |
Jun 12 2014, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 12 2014, 12:56 PM) anything spoiling, it's the head, and that's the huge bulk of your cost. That is malfunction due to chemical erosion, yes I agree the head will be die first in this scenario. Other situation like a drop from table or puncture by sharp object will most likely kill the bottle first because the head is so much sturdy built. Never wish to try that though.and yes, from my experience it leak too... thankfully i found that out before i have to carry it anywhere in my car I actually tried a not so perfect solution for the leaking problem. You need to add a rubber ring. But the disadvantage is, the design is purposely have a internal slot there to let outside air enters into the bottle when product is sprayed out. So when a rubber ring is used, it can still be sprayed, but the wall of the bottle will start to compress by outside air pressure. I am not so accept this side effect so I did not continue to use the rubber ring. But if you need to put it in car or a vibrating storage space where the bottle has chance of flipping down, this is a useable solution to you. Just make sure after each use, open back the head a bit to let air in, otherwise I fear the prolong period of deformed bottle wall will cause permanent deformation. ![]() Currently using the above one for very aggressive chemical. But it suffers from the same weakness like the OSREN sprayer in that it will leak if shaken. Carried by Ace Hardware. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 12 2014, 01:47 PM |
Jun 12 2014, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 12 2014, 03:03 PM) i have like 3-5 bottles and been using for at least 3-4 years (or maybe 5-6 years) so far all work perfectly well. All are chemical resistant sprayhead bought from AG long ago. Not the type, but the different ratio mixing. I like to grab and go. I dislike have to come back and mix and store the remaining in another container. I wonder HOW MANY type of chemical or dressing are u having Isn't the CR sprayhead carried by AG same like the one carried by Osren? |
Jun 12 2014, 10:02 PM
Well after I tried it today, it actually works!
![]() Just fit perfectly. The height of the Osren sprayer tube is just the right size for a common 500ml drink bottle. Now I know why some online seller can carry just the head nozzle alone. Not only for replacement of damage nozzle but also for people who have plenty of recycle bottle to use. The cap of the water bottle on the left also fit nicely on the Osren bottle. So next time can have several 500ml bottle with different ratio mix ready. Rare ratio like 1:1, 1:2, etc usually do not use frequently so 500ml bottle seems just right. Then the original bottle cap can secure it inside the bottle nicely. Once need to use it, just exchange the nozzle, use the water bottle cap to close the Osren bottle that will prevent accidentally flip over. As long as it is same product, no contamination. Though chemical resistivity is another question. Given I average 1 month 1 100 plus I do not find it problem to throw the bottle away once it is eroded by the strong chemical if it is ever that corrosive. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Jun 12 2014, 10:03 PM |
Jun 12 2014, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jun 12 2014, 06:49 PM) Osren is still the cheapest. Others also have it, but still the same fate. Oh really? Nevertheless price wise I am not surprise that Osren sprayer is the cheapest here. I have 1 from ACE, chemical resistant type. OK but more expensive than OSREN. Just quality wise wonder got better one or not. More output per spray. and can spray at any angle even upside down. Most attractive is do not leak even when shaking! |
| Change to: | 0.0600sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:51 AM |