Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

scoutfai
post Apr 7 2014, 09:53 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(cashloke @ Apr 7 2014, 09:14 AM)
I love this AMNO NYC tutorial video better, he does not sell his products and his videos are very detail from A-Z.
Here a link to his tutorial:    http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYsa8SOy3TkoxI5D17s1u-w
I like his series of detailing drive clean videos too. Watch everyone of them.
But his stuff is not cheap one oh, i tell you. However he never bother to sell it as a mean of profit. He created them for his own use. Selling them to others are just secondary business to him.
scoutfai
post Apr 10 2014, 10:08 PM

433 posts

Finally have time to feedback on this topic.

I agree with you on the importance of aspect (1) and (3) should be the most critical to any detailer.
As a matter of experience, I used the RM5 cheap masking tape once and after the exhausting waxing, i still have to clean up the glue residue. Eventually some still cannot clean up by rubbing with cloth, forced to use turpentine, essentially removing my wax also. An experience that I will never forget.

I have never seen the green and tan color 3M masking tape on shelf in any hardware store before. Are you talking about these:

Is it these different color 3M masking tape built for different purpose, like cement surface, wood surface, plastic surface, etc?

Good point you bring up about the length of the masking tape per unit. I am also not sure about the length of a common RM5 hardware store masking tape. I could have secretly take one out of my father collection and then pull it all out to measure it accurately though tongue.gif kidding. Think the price per unit length (RM per meter) is what should be counted by user. I will dig more infor into this.

What about the black color, automotive masking tape? this sounds more like purposely designed for automotive surfaces. Used before?

ok so it is very confidence now using the 3M masking tape is a much better choice and wiser choice for detailer.
But it is very expensive, I bought this from Ace Hardware:
To be honest I actually feel shocked when the cashier scan it for me, it costs about RM34.90 per unit. Well Ace Hardware is famous of selling thing in luxury price range though.
I will need to search for a more affordable supplier of this kind of masking tape. If you happen to recall the Klang shop name and address, please inform me.

Since masking tape is a common consumable product for detailing hobby, do you guys here always have group buy activity for this type of quality masking tape?

By the way, by KB you mean Kota Bahru ?

This post has been edited by scoutfai: Apr 10 2014, 10:21 PM
scoutfai
post Apr 10 2014, 10:10 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 7 2014, 11:35 AM)
I previously bought ScotchBlue Painter's Tape, Multi-Use, .94-Inch by 60-Yard from Amazon @ US$3.67
http://www.amazon.com/ScotchBlue-Painters-...ainter%27s+Tape
That is very very very cheap compare to what I got from Ace Hardware here.
But after you include everything (shipping, tax, etc), by the time the tape reaches your hand, how much you have spent to acquire it?

No other cheaper local purchase alternative ah?
scoutfai
post Apr 11 2014, 07:38 AM

433 posts

New machine in the market

scoutfai
post Apr 11 2014, 12:44 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Apr 11 2014, 10:02 AM)
Anyone interested?

Meguiar's : D114 Detailer Rinse Free Express Wash, 1 Gallon - RM200 - http://www.meguiars.com/en/professional/pr...e-express-wash/

Meguiar's : D170 Detailer Hyper-Dressing, 1 Gallon - RM280 - http://www.meguiars.com/en/professional/pr...hyper-dressing/

Item need to order first and will take shipping 2-3 days. My location at Setapak.
Eih, I thought u were searching for the D114 then now you are actually selling it yourself?
Turn so fast from seeker to seller. shocking.gif
scoutfai
post Apr 13 2014, 10:08 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Apr 13 2014, 12:04 AM)
Ada..
Where you ordered those Meguiar's stuff which are unavailable in here from? Singapore? If Singapore is it directly from Hypercoat Singapore?
They charge you shipping?
scoutfai
post Apr 13 2014, 09:01 PM

433 posts

Want to ask do you guys use only one pad for one and only one product?
For instance, you have a cutting pad A for product A, pad A since bought new only used with product A.
Then now you purchased some product B, which is same cutting power like product A. Do you wash your pad A thoroughly and use pad A for product B, or you would invest into another new cutting pad B for product B only?
And then so on and so forth for product C, product D, etc... (I cant imagine how many pads will end up in your room, but this seems to be encouraged in western country forum community to avoid contamination).

This post has been edited by scoutfai: Apr 13 2014, 09:01 PM
scoutfai
post Apr 15 2014, 07:11 AM

433 posts

tongue.gif
Where you ordered those Meguiar's stuff which are unavailable in here from? Singapore? If Singapore is it directly from Hypercoat Singapore?
They charge you shipping?

@ikan_semilang

Bro please dun forget my questions.
scoutfai
post Apr 19 2014, 08:38 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 14 2014, 09:30 AM)
If you wash the pad, you should be ok to use the pad again with any product. Been doing that and don't notice any significant/major issues.
QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 13 2014, 09:42 PM)
If you very detail detailing person MAYBE you will have ONE product with ONE pad but majority ppl will re-used and wash it after that....
What about in the scenario where you have a new pad, you use it 1st time after a detailing session, then will you:

1) Wash it immediately, dry it and then store it. So that the residue product, and whatever you removed from the panel do not get dried and harden on the pad, causing dust and flake of particles in next use, which you do not know when, and you are not sure whether it will be the same product also.

OR

2) Just straight away put it inside a plastic bag and store it as it is without cleaning. If the next detailing session is using the same product, you just simply brush clean it or air blow clean it, do not wash it, and then re-use the pad again (so you can prime the pad using lesser product). Only wash it and dry it a day before the next detailing session (do not know when) if anticipate to use different product.

Which approach is the appropriate one?

And another question, let's say you are sure that the pad is going to be used for a same product only, but the next detailing session is a car with different paint color than the current detailing session, and this two detailing sessions is just like at most 1 day away from each other, will you wash the pad or you just brush clean the pad?

This post has been edited by scoutfai: Apr 19 2014, 08:40 PM
scoutfai
post Apr 19 2014, 08:51 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(bakabakayaro @ Apr 19 2014, 12:04 PM)
hi newbie here.. anyone know where i can go to repair chipped paint on my car? scared it will start to rust if i dont fill the hole..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I only aware of two, but these infor kind of old, not sure the shops have closed down or not. You can try your luck.

(1)
Sprayless Scratch Repair
same shop

(2)
ChipsAway

I personally never used their service before. I just read about them before in other people's thread.

Alternatively, you can request a professional detailer to include this service in your whole car detailing session.
Example:
KC detailing

This post has been edited by scoutfai: Apr 19 2014, 08:53 PM
scoutfai
post Apr 19 2014, 08:54 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(cashloke @ Apr 16 2014, 03:55 PM)
You can try www.hopshopgo.com. It is a virtual delivery system
U used before?
scoutfai
post May 1 2014, 10:03 PM

433 posts

That's odd. Permanon has decent reputation. There are some Permanon coating service provider here in Lowyat.
Maybe you can write them a PM and inquire their method of application. So far I dun hear any negative feedback from the ppl who have their cars installed Permanon coating by them.

But from what I read in autogeek, Permanon Platinum has the most silica content. If Permanon Diamond not satisfactory to you, try Permanon Platinum. But if you wish to apply on glass also, according to manufacturer recommendation, only Diamond is recommended.
And since this is a product where you mix the ratio youself, try concentrate it.

This post has been edited by scoutfai: May 1 2014, 10:12 PM
scoutfai
post May 1 2014, 10:10 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 1 2014, 08:34 PM)
permanon is a coating or just layer of 'quick' wax  ?
I think he means this product:
Platinum Diamond 50ml

Description here:
Platinum Diamond

A coating that is not as famou as Opti Coat, 22PLE, etc but one unique thing about it is, you dilute it yourself!
Where as Opti Coat, 22PLE, etc you have to use it straight out from the bottle. And these Opti Coat, 22PLE all sold in small little bottle.
The Permanon can be bought in 1 Liter ! And then you dilute it youself, can be used on all surfaces. Feel like an economical spray wax with very long durability to me, but it is a coating, it has silica inside.
scoutfai
post May 1 2014, 10:14 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 1 2014, 10:10 PM)
frm what i have read, they marketed it as "semi-permanent coating" but i have seen some ppl use it as a quickie on top of their permanent coating eg opti coat
Anyway, some typo, should be permanon platinum instead of diamond
Oops then it is even more odd.
But i have never used this product myself so I am unable to give conclusive opinion.
Maybe it is a kind of coating which is not design to give extreme sleekness and water bead like Opti Coat and 22PLE ?
Just like wax, some wax not bead well but the protection is still there.
scoutfai
post May 1 2014, 10:28 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 1 2014, 10:19 PM)
ya.. mayb u are right, i should not judge its protection alone from water beading/sheeting. but sometimes couldnt help myself from doing that as looking at water beading on my car body is addicting biggrin.gif
I am going after water beading too although i know it prompts for water mark XD.
Bro have you read this before?
Permanon Platinum - Car Detailing For The Busy Owner

Author stated he used it for a year already and throughout the year he uses the provided shampoo in the kit.
scoutfai
post May 6 2014, 12:29 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 6 2014, 08:39 AM)
Not sure whether you can get the OC or CQuartz locally, but I'm sure you can can get DDJ Infinity Sealant from the DDJ Malaysia and I 'heard' that it's currently selling at a reduced price...just had a brief TT with him a couple of days ago while picking up a few stuffs from him.... tongue.gif
Hey Bro KrisMas, do u receive my PM ?
scoutfai
post May 9 2014, 08:50 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(vx55 @ May 9 2014, 08:26 AM)
Hi, I am the selected representative for 22PLE in Malaysia.
I will PM you for details.

Also, avoid Taobao or the so called China version of 22PLE, they are fakes.
PM me detail too.
scoutfai
post May 19 2014, 07:34 AM

433 posts

Just a question, is IPA with 15% concentration (ratio of 99% IPA to water by volume) sounds too less to you guys for the purpose of striping the paint in preparation for LSP application?
scoutfai
post May 19 2014, 03:40 PM

433 posts

Between these 4 plates, which one you guys think is better?

Lake Country 5”(125mm) DA Backing Plate vs Notty 5" (125mm) DA Backing Plate

user posted image vs user posted image

Lake Country 6”(148mm) DA Backing Plate vs Notty 6" (150mm) DA Backing Plate

user posted image vs user posted image

Price of the LC plate is close to twice the price of the Notty one.
scoutfai
post May 19 2014, 04:51 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 19 2014, 03:58 PM)
The foam for the LC backing plate (rotary) have quite a list of failures, I personally had 3 of them disintegrated and crumbled and I don't even do any commercial details (i.e. no heavy use). Not sure about the DA ones though. Personally, I'd go for Notty's just for that reason only.....
What a surprise!
Notty is China brand is it?
I do not see any foam on the plate from the picture alone, I thought backing plate has no foam. hmm.gif

Now I really need think should get the Notty 3" backing plate or the LC one.

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0678sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:18 AM