19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2014, 11:12 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Jackson828 @ Feb 4 2014, 10:57 PM)
if car already did coating, i should using meguiars goldclass wash or nxt shampoo or ultimate wash n wax shampoo?
imho if you can maintain weekly wash just after the coating (how long was it since your last coating? ) if within a few weeks i'd say go with wash and wax biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 5 2014, 02:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 5 2014, 12:11 PM)
also, since i am now trying to wax my car at least once fortnightly i need some real advice as opposed to youtube.com videos. this is my first time doing it so i don't want to screw it up.

if according to the video, waxing is just as simplyeas applying the wax (paste form), wait until a white layer appears and then just wipe it off with a clean micro fiber cloth (just minimal strength required). my question is this, is this all there is to it?
youtube videos and information within the v1/v2 and this very v3 thread will suffice.

and yes if you mean JUST the waxing step.
however preparation is equally, if not even more important than the waxing step itself.
Quazacolt
post Feb 5 2014, 05:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 5 2014, 05:39 PM)
Ah ok. The last 2 I suspect are mere sealants / waxes but the first one may be a coating.
i can read chinese, and from there it's written as wax doh.gif doh.gif

so strike out all 3
Quazacolt
post Feb 5 2014, 06:23 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 5 2014, 06:12 PM)
LOL  laugh.gif

I think it may be my fault. Was looking at the wrong place.

I think the coating must be this one.

Price is RM 299.  sweat.gif
now we talking haha.

hmm who wanna guinea pig? LOL
Quazacolt
post Feb 5 2014, 07:24 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 5 2014, 07:18 PM)
You leh... your car no coating yet ma.
for the time being i prefer regular waxing since still got plentiful of defects even after 1 week of detailing project on my car laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 11:53 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Feb 5 2014, 11:01 PM)

Just wanna ask usually after waxing..do i need to top up with Ultimate Quik Wax or Ultimate Quik detalier? Or just leave it? Any1 can guide me?
use ultimate quik wax better. (last longer since it was meant to be able to use by it's own, however most people use it as a topper only)
leave UQD as it's intended purpose - QD
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 11:58 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Feb 6 2014, 12:37 AM)
Oh got it...then how abt the Ultimate Quik Detailer? In wht situation i should use this item?
again, QD. eg: random bird shit drop on hood, 1 small spot. you don't wash the whole car just for a spot right? that's when QD comes in. they have cleaning properties (eg: IPA, which may actually strip wax if not careful) which will dissolve dirt or in this case, that bird shit.

stuff like bird dropping/tar/tree sap/bugs etc are best cleaned before they harden/etch to the paint surface/clear coat. and QD is essential in doing that. i keep a very small spray bottle in my new car and whenever i see a spot i just whip out that bottle and tissue paper to QD>wipe smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 6 2014, 09:22 AM)
So, what i intend to do is to just wash my car and then after it has been completely wiped dry, to apply the wax. I know that we need to remove all the "contaminants" before waxing but what happens if the "contaminants" are not properly removed because i know some "contaminants" may need polishing in order to remove. What happens if these "contaminants" are not properly removed and i applied the wax?

What are the possible adverse effect on the paint job other than not being visually shiny?
what happens is that your wax/LSP (last step protection) durability is severely reduced. if you wax every week (eg: spray waxes) then it shouldn't be a problem.

and, it just doesn't feel nice sealing all the contaminants/defects under wax/LSP sweat.gif (you want your car condition to be tiptop/shiny shiny, no?)
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 12:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 09:47 AM)
Yeah...the pasar malam spray works about the same....until you try using it with some harsher chemicals. The grey ones are basically a chemical resistant sprayer. The sprayer, o-ring seal and piston are made of viton (if not mistaken la) as oppose to normal plastic and silicone/rubber in the normal one. Some chemical can easily damage the o-ring seal or piston on the normal ones.

Ultimate Quick Detailer is meant to be use as a wax/sealant 'booster' - it will boost the beading of existing wax/sealant. It's not really a 'quick detailer' in a traditional sense that's used for cleaning light dusting, smudges, etc. as it doesn't contain much lubricant/surfactant. You can use the UQD after a normal wash to 'boost' the beading and adding/topping up a little bit of protection to the existing wax/sealant. In other word, use the UQD as if you're using a spray wax instead of a QD.
speaking of spray bottles, the osren ones die to megs WB :/
lost 2 sprayers liao. so i use my sonax xtreme WC bottle and bought another sonax xtreme WC sweat.gif

and as mentioned (since i'm regularly using both UQW and UQD), UQW will do a better job for that purpose considering you don't need any cleaning properties after car wash biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 12:24 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 6 2014, 12:22 PM)
I intend to apply the wax once every two weeks.

Of course i want my car to look at its best but as a beginner, i intend to do what is the minimum required of me first to make sure my car paint job is given the most protection that my currently ability can provide  cry.gif

The thing that i am worried is that sealing those contaminants under a layer of wax would harm my paint job.
if you're that worried, use AIO's as sifu Krismas advised smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 02:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 01:57 PM)
hrrmm...curious. The only product that killed my chem resistant sprayer is DDJ Supernatural Red Mist. Have you tried unscrewing the nozzle and cleaning the inside? They might just be 'clogged'....
you mean the small plastic "cap" that screws on the nozzle right? yeah unscrewed, wash/clean it, no go sad.gif

product just never comes out anymore.
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:40 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 04:36 PM)
the only portion of my car(s) paint that are damaged are only those caused by inconsiderate *so-called* human beings or accidents.... tongue.gif
to me, stone chips, LOTS of them sad.gif

as i've said - speeding and detailing aren't the best of friends lol
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 04:43 PM)
lol don tail too much la =P
unfortunately, Malaysians don't practice the "right/rightmost lane for overtaking only" a lot sad.gif
even the new car also kena liao as Krismas also pointed out "don't waste my time on them" lol.

i mean, if you have a car that gives out around 100-120 torque at just 2k rpm, peak torque at 4.2k rpm at around 170-180 torque, and >200km effortlessly... you'll end up tailgating a LOT of people like it or not sad.gif

it's a very fun engine/car. wink.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 04:54 PM)
LOL itu macam pun boleh -_____-"
ini post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=66085602
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 05:55 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 05:09 PM)
lol was referring to ur 'tailgating' xD ya aware that stonechip are nutz biggrin.gif
oh itu a:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_4B1_engine
Engine type Inline 4-cylinder DOHC 16v, MIVEC
Displacement 1.8 L (1,798 cc)
Bore 86 mm
Stroke 77.4 mm
Compression ratio 10.5:1
Fuel system ECI multiple
Peak power 103-105 kW (140-143 PS) at 6,000 rpm
Peak torque 177 N.m (90 lb·ft) at 4,250 rpm

lol
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 07:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 05:11 PM)
the Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer is on sale at Sonax HQ, provided that it hasn't being 'scooped' by the kakis here already...check out their fb page.... tongue.gif
omg can help me get one? how much/where is their hq anyways?

thinking of trying out a bottle haha
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 08:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 08:15 PM)
I could give u their fb page but....... tongue.gif

They're at Glenmarie, Shah Alam, behind Posche showroom. One row after Car Nanny. Or...ask uncle google la..... mad.gif
wah far, help me get? LOL

=edit=
https://www.facebook.com/SonaxMalaysia
oh hey public... wah nice pricing lol

actually, looks like subang wo... i can reach lol.
nvm it is at glenmarie sad.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Feb 6 2014, 09:12 PM
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 10:08 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 10:04 PM)
ooo the sales til 15 feb ;D i can help u get one if u want, but probably next week wink.gif
hmm i may visit them this sat, see how lol...
Quazacolt
post Feb 7 2014, 02:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 7 2014, 11:34 AM)
HEADS UP GUYS. Small detailing TT tonight.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry64924504

Also something special....car boot sale for some of the stuffs that my friend is letting go his stock. Helping him to get rid of the stuffs cuz he's shutting down. I'll list down the items but don't ask me about the price ya...need to come and look see for yourself. But I can tell you that it's a closing down sale price so you it will definitely be something special. First come first serve & cash terms only.
oh noes later rebut rebut liao laugh.gif

if everything sold out when i arrive then ok la save money sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 7 2014, 02:59 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 7 2014, 02:01 PM)
Yeah, after reading so many lengthy explanations, i think i will settle just for quick detailing wax. i have always feared the hazing of cloudy patches on my car.

there shouldn't be any problems with those quick detailing waxes like "Meguiar's Quik Wax" for instance right?

I wonder if i apply the quik wax, can i still apply a spray topper on it or would it be completely rendered useless  unsure.gif
quik wax is ALREADY a spray topper doh.gif

and yes, very brainless/no effort application

spray/wipe on, most people wipe off, i don't even f***ing bother. (not wiping off)

19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0590sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:16 AM