19 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V7, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc

TSpristine
post Dec 12 2013, 07:08 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 12 2013, 02:29 PM)
yes alex was the one that builded the wc setup biggrin.gif
Not to say pale or yellowish but it dosen't look as white as it first was. Couldn't find review on this but Alex told me this was the downside going with mayhem pastel.
Performance wise it still is as cool as it was from day 1 smile.gif
Oh. I know where your coolant came from. laugh.gif

Anyway, when the first time you saw it, was it fully bled out? Coz otherwise the colour looks thicker when there's air inside. Also, pastel tends to pale. It is a pastel colour, after all.

All mayhem coolants have biocide in the composition, so you won't have to worry about algae. However, pastel white WILL stain. My white delrin reservoir has stains from being used with pastel. It's like all other white stuff. Colour runs and yellows/dulls.
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 12:31 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(qwe13 @ Dec 12 2013, 11:29 PM)
seriously?? which is better then? price?
Well, they say the Grand Flex fans are meant to replace the Scythe GT, but the Grand Flex are not going to be cheap. Already they're charing RM60/pc for GT which is dual ball bearing, I doubt it'll be cheaper for a proper FDB fan (not like Arctic F12s). Also in their write up they compare to sleeve bearings. Of course la better! doh.gif

On paper, the 1600 RPM Grand Flex fans are comparable to the 1850 RPM GTs (the ones we normally get). Slightly less static pressure on paper (VERY VERY slightly less), but pushes more air at a small increase in dBA levels. The top end 2000 RPM Grand Flex beats the Grey 2150 GT in terms of air volume, static pressure and is louder. Let's not compare with the black GTs which no one really sees or hears about.

Some reading material if you guys are interested:

Scythe Grand Flex Fans
Scythe GT Data

Also, in case you guys think I'm bluffing. tongue.gif

Regretfully, both Nidec and Scythe have decided not to continue their business relationship.

We will not be able to fulfill your Gentle Typhoon order.
We will be promoting the new Grand Flex fans. These are supposedly better than the Gentle Typhoons.
We need to get the message out to the public. I should have some samples by early next month.
By the way, Scythe reserves the right to the name Gentle Typhoon.
That means Nidec can’t sell the product to anybody with our label, our package, our brand and etc. attached to it.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Hank Peng
SCYTHE, Inc.

TLDR;

Grand Flex has potential to be better than Gentle Typhoon, but I don't expect it to perform as solidly as the Gentle Typhoon or work exceptionally well in certain conditions or come cheap.

This post has been edited by pristine: Dec 13 2013, 12:38 AM
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 01:14 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 13 2013, 01:11 AM)
pristine Ohh from u kah? biggrin.gif  But since using Arcylic tubing shudn't be worry about the plasticizer issue right? Need to ask Alex cuz he helped me for the wc smile.gif

infernoaswen Thanks for the info, copied for future reference. ^^ So it is not advisable to add dye into pastel I assume? sad.gif
Yeah, from me. haha! You shouldn't see plasticiser from using acrylic tubing. But algae is a possibility if the biocide effect runs off.

You CAN add dye into pastel. In fact, Mayhems dye is compatible with pretty much all their products. They use white base and dye to make all sorts of colours. Just not advisable to add biocide to your pastel coolant (or any Mayhems coolants for that matter).

BTW, UV reactive white, IINM has a slight yellow tinge compared to ice white, causing it to look not as bright as ice white.

This post has been edited by pristine: Dec 13 2013, 01:15 AM
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 01:22 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 13 2013, 01:17 AM)
Ohhh if I add white dye can ah? Make it more white? lol. At night the pastel still look as great as it was just that when in morning or there's light around it look a little bit yellow tinge like u said. smile.gif

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 13 2013, 01:18 AM)
Alex bought it from pristine via me laugh.gif There is nothing to worry about plasticizer, thats the advantages of using acrylic tubing biggrin.gif

You can add dye into it, shouldn't be a problem but I dont see why you would want to add dye to white pastel. If the colour combination didn't turn out to your liking then you are stucked with whatever colour you have laugh.gif Dye contains just dye, it should be safe. Just dont  need to add biocide.

Usually we use dye for distilled water like in my loop smile.gif
Wah. so many exchanges. lol.
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 01:25 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 13 2013, 01:22 AM)
haha no wonder~~ despite its little yellow on the morning it still is a beauty at night. Can't stop looking at it before going to bed haha.
Neways the lifespan should be roughly around 2-3 years right? But should change loop once in every 5-6months?
Good to know you like the colour.

2-3 years is actually kinda possibly overexpecting. Lifespan is about a year-ish. You don't NEED to flush/clean/rinse your loop unless you have a good reason to, but it's a good habit if you wanna just check to see if everything is fine. Or if you've got temperature issues and want to see the cause.

Some guys run maintenance on their loops once a year or once after 18 months. Depends.

Just keep an eye on your coolant, you'll need to top up after awhile due to evaporation.
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 02:13 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 13 2013, 02:06 AM)
ohhh so I guess I should wait and see. biggrin.gif When got enough fund to add on 2nd rad that time then need to flush ba. Btw those coolant once is removed from the system then can't be used already right? smile.gif
Also I read somewhere on Mayhem website state that the coolant is toxic hence not suitable to just flush into toilet or drain, how to dispose it then?
Yeah. When you add a 2nd rad, clean your loop.

If you want to reuse, can. But make sure it's clean and looks the same as day 1.

Locally I don't know any "safe" way to dispose of the coolant. Overseas they have their rules and stuff. Here, I'd just say dilute it with A LOT of water and just flush it in the drain/toilet. sweat.gif
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 11:16 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Dec 13 2013, 11:13 AM)
apa apa, nonononono~ pristine mana price aku brows.gif
Dei. Confirm with me what you want first can or not. doh.gif
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 04:45 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Dec 13 2013, 04:31 PM)
Corsair SP or GT in terms of performance?
Currently using GTs for my 240mm radiator. but the design really  doh.gif
SP vs GT, IMHO, about the same. Just different bearing technology and reliability. I'd pick the GT though for performance/reliability. SP for looks.
TSpristine
post Dec 13 2013, 10:40 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Dec 13 2013, 08:12 PM)
Oh! Thanks sifuss  biggrin.gif

another question. Do i need to clean my cpu and gpu block after I drain my loop?
I drain my loop 3 months ago and I only clean my radiator.
Then I put gpu,cpu block and radiator in sealed box.
Open up the block if you can, check it. If need to, clean it.

QUOTE(ijatneda @ Dec 13 2013, 09:15 PM)
Guys,how do you test the PH kit that came with mayhem biocide?
I dip the test paper,but untill it dry,the colour is about a same between two different solution which is i know one is acid and the other one is alkaline.
The test kit that came with the biocide has a chart for the paper. use that as a guide. This one also can summon infernoaswen
TSpristine
post Dec 14 2013, 10:14 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 14 2013, 10:00 PM)
ohh sad.gif Btw any other cheaper high static pressure fans for Rads ah? aside of SGT and SP120, they really kinda cost a lot lol.
Not many choices for GOOD high static pressure fans that don't lie on specs sheet. That's one of the reasons I opted for low density radiators. Less FPI, but more choices when it comes to fans. Then to make up for the loss of performance from being a low density rad, just get a thick one. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Dec 14 2013, 10:01 PM)
the new swiftech fan i guess.correct me if im wrong.  laugh.gif
+1
TSpristine
post Dec 14 2013, 11:21 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 14 2013, 10:56 PM)
what model ya? I found helix on google but I guess that's not it
Swiftech helix is the correct one. Looks a little like SGTs, but white.
TSpristine
post Dec 15 2013, 08:35 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 15 2013, 08:18 PM)
ohh itvlooks quite nice smile.gif what's the estimated price in msia?
IIRC it's about 35
TSpristine
post Dec 15 2013, 09:57 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 15 2013, 09:31 PM)
ohhh still it's cheaper than SP120. smile.gif Will take note on that for to buy list next year! biggrin.gif
U also got bring in stock for those? ^^
Yeah, I have the helix. Let me know when you want them and I'll confirm the price for you. smile.gif
TSpristine
post Dec 15 2013, 11:55 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 15 2013, 10:36 PM)
sure sure! smile.gif Oh ya wanna ask usually the temperature would be 3-4 degrees higher than room temperature right? As in when cold boot.
Eg Room Temperature around 23-24C
Rig CPU temperature 27-30C
Rig GPU temperature 30C

Something like that should be normal right? smile.gif
How did you get your temperature readings? Before Windows boot or after? Also, idle temperatures can actually match room temps. I got mine 1-2 degrees lower than my room temperature before. But that's idle temps.

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Dec 15 2013, 11:45 PM)
personally let say both GT and Helix the same price,which one will u choose?
Haven't held a Helix before, so I can't say for sure.
TSpristine
post Dec 16 2013, 12:21 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 16 2013, 12:03 AM)
If GT can have the white coloured fans I'll go for it biggrin.gif Dono why I love the colour contrast of White and Black fans. :/ Personal preference I guess biggrin.gif
I was thinking of spraying the SP120 fans to white but I'd guess that'll spoil the performance ba doh.gif
You can spray a thin layer of white paint, it'll be fine. Just make sure the finish is smooth. irienaoki and unequalteck have painted their fans before.
TSpristine
post Dec 16 2013, 11:38 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Dec 16 2013, 03:19 AM)
can anyone share their drain port kits?
I have no idea what to buy and how to assemble..
People usually either use T-blocks, valves, fillports, rotaries, or a combination of them.

QUOTE(ValityMental @ Dec 16 2013, 11:15 AM)
Anyone know where to buy watercooling stuff in Kota Kinabalu. Needed urgently!
Try niclasteoh. I don't think he's in kota kinabalu, but he's in EM.
TSpristine
post Dec 16 2013, 12:05 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(ValityMental @ Dec 16 2013, 12:01 PM)
He is in Kuching. I need XSPC kit he doesnt have it
noobandroid?
TSpristine
post Dec 16 2013, 05:53 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(qwe13 @ Dec 16 2013, 02:38 PM)
I dont think it would be any problem... perhaps if u have some "seredak" (dont know what it is in English), then there would be some problem if u start ur system without cleaning it first.. i left my loop more than a month using EKs coolant, no problem
I think the word you're looking for is sediment, right? Like if there's like sandy or flakes of dust/etc in the coolant, right?

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Dec 16 2013, 02:43 PM)
Guess what arrived for me today! Anyone wants to play a game of guess the serial? 9x9/1000

drool.gif good for you bro. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif looking forward to the finished rig. brows.gif

TSpristine
post Dec 17 2013, 12:53 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 16 2013, 09:50 PM)
Anyone know where I can get water block for R9 290?
Niclasteoh: Koolance R9 water block. But it's about RM500.

OR

APES: EKWB water block. Not sure how much.

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Dec 17 2013, 12:05 AM)
And Pristine isn't he using white dye? o_o Or it's actually mayhem pastel+distilled water.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jVPehMaHgM8
Not sure how to tag vid here :/ Skip to 2.25
Two options.

Mayhems white coolant (pastel premix/concentrate)

OR

Ice Dragon white nano fluid.
TSpristine
post Dec 17 2013, 01:39 AM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Dec 17 2013, 01:32 AM)
new project
watercooled.
need to ask whether the default WB from MVF and MVIF are reliable since i heard aluminum base is not a good material for WB.

Anodized Aluminium is fine, IIRC.

19 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0520sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:39 PM