Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V28, Kitkat 4.4.2 is here !! ND3

Noobi3
post Dec 1 2013, 02:15 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 1 2013, 01:09 PM)
I personally prefer my dashclock setup, but that looks nice too.

Which reminds me, the stock Sammy lockscreen clock doesn't turn off the statusbar clock off automatically. I always found that a bit... weird.
309 messages for 3 contacts ? rclxub.gif
Noobi3
post Dec 2 2013, 07:01 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 2 2013, 06:46 PM)
But 4.3 TouchWiz feels so much user friendlier than 4.1.2
Note 3 perhaps ? tongue.gif
Noobi3
post Dec 3 2013, 11:41 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(maxubex @ Dec 3 2013, 10:17 AM)
this super wipe will delete everything inside internal sd card right?
so zip file must be place at external sd card?
Depending on which super wipe u choose . There is 1 to wipe only the phone and another to wipe the phone + internal SD . Do choose correctly and place your rom in your external to be safe or else u will end up with no rom in the phone

Go to ARHD thread for the options

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Dec 3 2013, 11:41 AM
Noobi3
post Dec 11 2013, 02:30 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Dec 11 2013, 11:40 AM)
As per conversation, warranty by Vector Digital. But there'll be some lead time because involving 3rd party (ipmart).

If it's by Vector Digital , u can go directly . No need to go back to ipmart . They r not the only reseller , most shops in LYP r also resellers but if u take back to them , they will ask u to go directly since it's faster . UNLESS it's not by Vector Digital , warranty is then by the shop . Just keep your packing , there's a Vector Digital Logo on it which is used by them to verify your warranty . No need record or whatever la . I claimed my Sg Sandisk purchased using my locally bought Vector Digitial box b4 also .
Noobi3
post Dec 14 2013, 12:19 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 14 2013, 12:02 AM)
Stop lurking LYN! I see your presence in Mobile Phones and Mobile computing forums
LOL
Noobi3
post Dec 24 2013, 01:06 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Dec 24 2013, 12:05 PM)
What is wakelock?
when u wake up and u find yourself trapped , room locked from the outside , phone barred , windows cant open , unifi/streamyx disconnected , u get yourself a wake lock icon_rolleyes.gif
Noobi3
post Dec 24 2013, 03:16 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 24 2013, 03:09 PM)
Seems like the battery drain issue is still there.

But there are no visible signs of my Note 2 being awake. 1% an hour drain. WiFi and cellular was disabled.

Even a percent an hour drain makes me go crazy. I don't know how those mostly and mainly or maybe only Chinese literate users install all those apps filled with AdWare, WeChat, Viber and those bogus Chinese made battery saving app that eats up 20% of the battery every night in airplane mode with 100% wakelock.
At times , turning on airplane mode is a bad idea especially if u have your apps sync frequently eg FB . Since u r in airplane mode , the app will continue trying to sync and ended up using more battery then u leave it on normally . I kena a few times , 100% becomes 10% or lower over the night due to airplane mode switched on
Noobi3
post Dec 24 2013, 04:54 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 24 2013, 03:35 PM)
I've greenified all those push notification apps:

Facebook, Twitter, Weibo, so airplane mode would be the best battery saving option for me (2% drop per day)

I don't use email sync. In fact any notifications I have disabled them all. This is why I have an iPhone for notifications, they give me faster push notifications and does not use up a significant amount of battery.

I think i'm starting to get sick of dealing with AudioOut_2, AudioIn_2, mdm_hsic0, battery-monitor, alarm_rtc, AlarmManager and more wakelocks.

Ever since I installed Xposed along with Unicon and a S$2.49 theme together with the EZ Clock, my wakelock has been very, very terrible. If I were to explain it in my terms it will be "horrendous". Battery life in 4.3 has been really bad on my Note 2. Airplane mode + WiFi + lowest brightness settings + underclocked to 600MHz with reasonable amount of undervolting, the max I could get was 8 hours of screen time. Cellular mode was worse, 5 hours as compared to the past with Android 4.1.2; I could easily obtain 12 hours of WiFi browsing and 7 hours of Cellular. Devil kernel uses 4 cores at once unlike perseus where the PegasusQ governor in both kernels differs so much.

Now i'm just can't be bothered to restore to Wanam v1.3 with all those restores and stuff. Doing such stuff takes me a day to backup, double check, fiddle in CWM, flash, restore and install missing apps from play store. N7105 lacks ROMs too.

Verdict: Androids are not for people who goes OCD over imperfections (at least WP and iOS tried hiding the statistics)
AudioOut_2 and AudioIn_2 is not a wakelock . U cant get rid of it unless u put your phone to silent mode . And IMO , Xposed drains battery higher then without it installed .
Noobi3
post Dec 24 2013, 09:54 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 24 2013, 05:09 PM)
It is always silent, I don't use my phones with ringtone. smile.gif

Then Xposed Framework is the main culprit?
Anyway , just ignore the Audio wakelock . U can check at XDA , its not a wakelock actually , just some Samsung's stuff . And as for Xposed , for me , its the culprit . I get way better battery life without it .
Noobi3
post Dec 25 2013, 05:41 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 25 2013, 12:35 AM)
Still provides better battery life as compared to CM based roms
Try this . Do get a better battery life on stock rom . Stock as in TW based , not CM or AOSP
Noobi3
post Dec 25 2013, 07:46 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(haru88 @ Dec 25 2013, 07:35 PM)
is the tweak really good?  hmm.gif
Why dont u try and find out ?
Noobi3
post Dec 28 2013, 12:06 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(j.cool @ Dec 28 2013, 11:52 AM)
Prior to SDS. There is a few signs.

1) I just notice my phone more laggy den usual, i tot its laggy cause more apps and data installed (3 weeks).
2) One day i notice my phone is bit hot. (Heat when you play high graphic game like RR3), I wasnt running any app in background.. end process but still same so i restart den it was fine (1 day).
3) A day before SDS, the phone shut down itself. I plug into power plug and switch on again. Work like charm.
4) SDS day, after work.. while doing gym, i check whatsapp a little in between session and next thing i knew. Its DEAD!
5) Took to Samsung service centre which is a stone throw away. Confirm SDS. Need motherboard replacement.
6) Yes if not mistaken it was on custom rom 4.1.1.
7) Phone is well taken care. No power bank charging and no charging while using. Sometimes i even off phone or switch to airplane mode for charging. No water damage. Dropped 2-3 times with rubber case but low impact (last was 6 months ago)

Bad luck:( Any one else can share their experience?
4.1.1 was known for giving SDS issue , both on N2 and SGS3 . That's why there was an update to 4.1.2 to solve the issue . IF u r were on custom rom , how come u didnt use any custom kernel that helps prevent SDS
Noobi3
post Dec 28 2013, 03:18 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 28 2013, 01:39 PM)
I seriously wouldn't say that the SDS 'fix' is even a confirmed fix. It's more like a stopgap band aid - what it does is try to stop or at least lessen the corruption from happening. Even than it only does so at the kernel level, NOT during CWM which is bootloader level (unless your CWM comes with a fix too).

In short, it slows the corruption down. It doesn't really stop it outright especially if you flash a lot of ROMs or stuff in a version of CWM that is not 'fixed' - which still comes with the risk of corrupting things.

Case in point, my old S3 was 'fixed' the moment the fixes came out, but in the end it died of SDS anyway, requiring a totally replaced mobo.

Hence why I was so desperate to find a unit that came with a 'sane' eMMC out of the box when I was buying my N2, and thankfully I found one on my first attempt.
Yup , u r right on that . At least better then SGS3 where SDS happens after 3 months of usage and above . That is scary . Even on 4.1.2 , there r a few and i mean a few kena here in the forum . 1 of them is our kak fruitie
Noobi3
post Dec 28 2013, 08:41 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Sampo @ Dec 28 2013, 08:18 PM)
Is already 24 hours since I updated to 4.3 direct from phone download. Go keyboard stop responding few times until I reboot. So far so good, battery life is better too.

No factory reset at all
Have u try to clear cache/data for go keyboard in application manager ?
Noobi3
post Dec 28 2013, 11:50 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Sampo @ Dec 28 2013, 11:47 PM)
I just did one reboot and everything is working fine. Preferred not to factory reset to maintain all my whatsapp group chat
Your whatsapp chat can be backup . And i'm not asking u to reset , just clear the application data/cache at settings > application manager
Noobi3
post Dec 29 2013, 01:47 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Dec 29 2013, 01:35 AM)
I just check my Note 2.. seems like it has Insane chips... what to do???
Dont bother checking ..... Most will come with insane chip . Just update your ROM to minimize it . I have used Note 2 since b4 SME set came out , touch wood didnt kena before .
Noobi3
post Dec 29 2013, 02:47 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Dec 29 2013, 02:27 AM)
Thank you for fast reply.. Shall i update it to official rom 4.3 or any custom rom? Or leave it on 4.1.2
Up to u . Personally , battery life on 4.3 was never as good as 4.1.2 but then again joytest got a good battery life on a custom rom . For me , I used to get 2-3% over night with wifi + everything sync over 8-9 hours . On 4.3 , it's more like 1% drop per hour
Noobi3
post Dec 29 2013, 03:53 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Dec 29 2013, 03:07 AM)
I see.. Anyway, this mean that SDS wont happen if i upgrade my Android os?

I also start to notice my note 2 keeps hanging while surfing through browser..
There is no guarantee SDS wouldn't happen . It just minimize the risk of it happening . There are cases SDS happened to forumers here as well after upgrade and some was on custom ROM with all the SDS patch .
Noobi3
post Feb 6 2014, 02:25 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Feb 6 2014, 01:50 AM)
I miss my Samsung U2 USB cable that came with my Galaxy W. I lost it or rather left it at my relatives home that I visited over the CNY.

Thats the only cable that can charge my S3 and Note 2s fast. The black cable that came with my S3 only could transfer 100mA from my Note 2 charger abd 300mA from my Note 3 charger. While the white one of the similar build and looks could charge 300mA and 500mA respectively. Without the U2 cable that could output 1.7A, I had to live with my old Nokia CA-101 that came with my Nokia 5800XM, at least it transfers at least 1.2A and 1.5A from Note 2 and Note 3 chargers respectively.

Not to mention all S3 and Note 2 cables are unable to do data transfer flawlessly.

For the time being I wanna find a quality cable that could charge my phone properly.
PM Brotan . Very happy with his cables
Noobi3
post Feb 8 2014, 01:51 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 6 2014, 10:12 AM)
Hi guys, mine is SHV e250k. This model is so hard to flash custom ROM and already update to stock 4.3. I heard once u update to 4.3 , u cannot root due to KNOX. Is this true?
No such thing . Rooting just trip your knox counter from 0x0 to 0x1 . Hard 2 flash custom rom ? I doubt theres much support for it in xda . U have 2 try china or vietnam forums for support . They r more into korean models then xda

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Feb 8 2014, 01:51 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0588sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:30 PM