7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

mingyuyu
post Jan 4 2014, 11:25 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2014, 11:16 PM)
All this bug photos makes me wanna shoot some too... time to hunt for lens xD
haha jelly you all can buy unlimited lenses tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 8 2014, 08:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 8 2014, 12:08 PM)
Nat Geo time! hehe
Macro shots for today thumbup.gif

Please click photos for descriptions~
that bokeh on the last picture, watched spider making it's webs too last week biggrin.gif but too bad it's evening that time and I am under shade of leaves.

IMG_7872 by tuna97, on Flickr

mingyuyu
post Jan 11 2014, 08:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 11 2014, 08:41 PM)
5dm3 or d800 af is better? i mean in terms of accuracy n consistency..
where can i get my hands on canon's ff camera to try? if nikon is bts.. canon leh?
i think the 5D m3 should be better? i've seen quite many people shoot serious sports with it, while with the d800 i don't really see them everywhere.
mingyuyu
post Jan 11 2014, 09:23 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jan 11 2014, 09:16 PM)
Fuiiiiiiyoh 10k,  drool.gif
The D800's AF is plenty capable lah, just the frame rate problem only at 4fps.  laugh.gif
Even my D700 also can sapu it in terms of fps  whistling.gif  (syok sendiri)  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
but imagine going back home and trying to import all those 36mp files into your computer tongue.gif

sometimes i wonder why nikon didn't let people to choose the MPs for their files. hmm.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 11 2014, 09:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jan 11 2014, 09:30 PM)
Normally people who shoot sports for magazines or newspapers leh, won't bother with raw files 1, they'll just shoot in jpeg or tiff to maximize buffer and also can straight pass the shots to the editor d.
i know, but how many people would need d800's resolution for newspapers/ magazines? it will be really awesome if nikon can offer other resolution of raw files to their cameras (for example a 24mp or 12mp for d800? brows.gif )
mingyuyu
post Jan 11 2014, 09:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jan 11 2014, 09:43 PM)
Lol, nowhere did I mention people are using D800s for those kinds of work, normally they just get those flagship bodies with high FPS can d.  laugh.gif

The raw size selection really only applies to the D800/e because the rest of their lineup only tops out at 24mp whos filesizes are still manageable in maximum quality raw.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i was talking about the d800's 36mp files (haha sorry for not being clear). of course, those d4/1d will have smaller files.
mingyuyu
post Jan 12 2014, 06:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Anyone know what bug is this?

IMG_7993 by tuna97, on Flickr

It looks like dead or something because it can still move it's legs but not flying or what even if I used sticks to touch it.
mingyuyu
post Jan 12 2014, 07:35 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(XBONE4LIFE @ Jan 12 2014, 06:46 PM)
helo sifu PF T.J.

i have narrowed down the cameras to d600, d7100 and canon 70d.

d600 is entry level full frame camera, price is a lot more expensive than d7100 and 70d with little improvement in resolution and color, but is still ok for my budget. normally what the price difference between fx and dx lens? if fx lens are more expensive then i better go dx lol.

d7100 is good and affordable. cons are it does not have touch and flipout screen but i dont know what is the purpose of flipout screen? they say some photos need flipout screen to capture but i really dont get it. body made by aluminium, a plus plus point to me.

canon 70d is similar to d7100 with touch and flipout screen, color lose d7100 but anti noise level better than d7100. made in japan, a plus point to me.

i usually shoot close distance objects in details and not interested in bird shooting etc, but i do have interest in wide angle and fish eye lens, what lens do you recommend?

about battery part, is the battery rechargeable like phone and laptop?

sorry for many questions this is my first time buying camera a bit nervous.
1: the sensor performance between fx and dx is almost day and night in high iso and also dynamic range. but if you don't use high ISO that often, it's more than enough to get a d7100 or 70d.

2: you might think that you don't need it, but that's because you never encounter with such situations before. it's really useful if you shoot group photo/ video or "close distance objects in details"(as you said), you will find the usefulness of it because you can check focus/ preview pictures in a totally different angle compared to fix screen.

3: most fx lenses are more expensive than dx lenses, but there are some exceptions. i can't really tell you each lenses since I am not using Nikon, but if you are interested in canon FF too, there are some top quality L lenses that are only 2-3k for new (17-40L, 24-105L, 70-200L f4, 100L, 200L, 135L and etc).

4: body made of aluminium or not, theses cameras can easily lasts you at least a few years. they are weather sealed too, means you can shoot in rain or outdoor (but they are not waterproof by any means). there's a reason why not all cameras are made of full metal, it's because manufacture can cut cost and also reduce the weight of a camera.

5: for battery, dslr batteries are charged off camera most of the time (not sure if USB can charge also?). that means you will get a external charger to charge your battery.

mingyuyu
post Jan 17 2014, 03:09 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Anyone here bought DF? I went to Batu Caves this morning to shoot Thaipusam and I must say the DF looks sexy in real life (albeit the stupid pricing and low specs tongue.gif)
mingyuyu
post Jan 17 2014, 08:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 17 2014, 08:40 PM)
Wanted to buy the Df until I saw the price, now looking at A7 instead LOL.
it does looks good imo, but the looks definitely doesn't worth that much. it's like buying a myvi then put on GTR bodykit on it and sell at rm200k. didn't see any a7 today though tongue.gif tons of 1Ds/ D4 and leica.
mingyuyu
post Jan 17 2014, 09:23 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 17 2014, 08:50 PM)
Well, I just got back from a trip... and carrying the D800 along is seriously a pain in the ass. Am seriously considering something smaller and I still want FF so... =/ A7 sounds like the good choice. Or maybe I should just go for something like Fuji perhaps.
but most mirrorless don't focus as well as DSLR and there's not many good tele lenses for them also. that's the only 2 points that holding me back from changing to fuji
mingyuyu
post Jan 17 2014, 09:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 17 2014, 09:28 PM)
You referring to speed or accuracy? Besides I don't bring my tele lens on travel anyways (70200? Nah...)
speed for stills it's alright, but lets say you want to track something, then mirrorless can't do that well. oh you want to get it solely for travel? then of course you won't be needing a 70-200 tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 17 2014, 10:50 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Jan 17 2014, 10:38 PM)
Haha.. Same dilemma as me before..
Now quite happy with x100s
Autofocus is quite ok for travelling

Haish.. Now using 3 system..
All with their own strength
Everytime want to photoshot had to ponder
Wich one will i bring

ahha that's the pain when you have too many choices tongue.gif i only have 3 lenses but already thinking for long time which one to bring out already everytime i am going out
mingyuyu
post Jan 22 2014, 08:40 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Macro shots using the 100L biggrin.gif

IMG_8883 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_8820 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_8836-2 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_8845 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Jan 23 2014, 04:41 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 23 2014, 04:30 PM)
Your photos are getting better and better man! notworthy.gif
I love #4, very alien-like treehopper haha  laugh.gif
thanks biggrin.gif

haha it looks really unreal with the saturated green color when blasted with flash.

a true macro lens will really improve anyone's macro shots thumbup.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 23 2014, 08:05 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 23 2014, 06:31 PM)
Common house jumping spider? Probably this one then brows.gif

You don't have to worry about jumping spiders, they are too small to be harmful nod.gif

The spider probably attached a "drag line" onto your clothes, it climbed towards you to avoid falling right onto the ground  laugh.gif

No worries man haha!

Tarantula though is a different story, those are large spiders, and their bites will hurt... though most of the time you won't find them in urban areas  icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyways, there are many other insects or stuffs to shoot macro with~
Noneed to worry about the spiders too much mate!
admire how you get so many spider shots, they always jump away or jump towards me (which is so damn scary) when i try to focus + put my light around. damnn borrowed my friend's 100L until next week but can't find anything to shoot today. mad.gif

Some other shots I took yesterday, any idea why does hoverfly sleep (i think so? since it's late evening and it just stops there) by hanging itself to the branch like a bat?

IMG_8858 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_8867 by tuna97, on Flickr

+ 1 extra fly shot

IMG_8849 by tuna97, on Flickr

and diffraction is really something anyone should avoid when shooting macro, since it will make your shot looks misfocused. sad.gif

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Jan 23 2014, 08:16 PM
mingyuyu
post Jan 23 2014, 08:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Anyone watched this review yet? it's just so entertaining and kinda punches Nikon in the face for creating the DF.

http://www.slrlounge.com/lee-morris-hilari...review-nikon-df
mingyuyu
post Jan 24 2014, 08:18 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Reaching 1:1 magnification + proper lighting tongue.gif

asd by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Jan 25 2014, 06:07 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

More macros, some new bugs.

IMG_9117 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_9022 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_9074 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Jan 27 2014, 07:57 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 27 2014, 06:16 PM)
The Fuji will be accurate but I bet it's slower than your D800.

If it was faster, every sports shooter will switch to Fuji liao.  biggrin.gif
it's really fast, i am quite sure faster than a lot of dslr. mirrorless focuses damn quick actually, fuji might not be the fastest, but those m4/3 can focus in split second, you can search for the videos on youtube.

fast is one thing, but they don't perform that well in tracking yet. in sports, you don't only rely on speed, you need something that can track the movement instead. still, i think mirrorless might be able to catch up with dslr's tracking speed one day since there are already cameras with contrast + phase detection focusing.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0237sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:24 PM