7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

mingyuyu
post Dec 13 2013, 06:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 13 2013, 06:08 PM)
No choice every now and then I accidentally touch the back element cause I'm using belt system. Even lenspen also can't clean properly >_< Just bought a box of pre moistened swabs from Zeiss for cleaning, hopefully it will work well biggrin.gif
Still need to clean >_< else image quality crap also no point.
wonder if little smudge or dust on front element will affect IQ?
mingyuyu
post Dec 13 2013, 06:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 13 2013, 06:14 PM)
Mine kena back element... so... :S front element I have UV filter so not so worried on that.
owh... i most takut lens with back element that will move in and out during zooming, always vacuum dusts into the inner parts. my lens is naked at the front sweat.gif no money buy good quality UV filter (too cheapstake haha, end up putting the hood on 100% of the time, incase something bump into it)
mingyuyu
post Dec 14 2013, 12:16 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Dec 14 2013, 02:09 AM)
Smudge will cause flaring to be more prone.

I usually wipe with clean/new lens tissue soaked with 100% alcohol.
That also I slowly wipe to avoid wiping off the coating. 

I try not to use those used spectacle cloth as there may be some dust/oil there which you could drag across the lens.
didn't know that sweat.gif

i takut to use my micro fibre cloth anymore after using it for like half year, scare the dusts will gather on it and makes the cleaning worse by introducing more dusts on it. worst case is scratching the coating.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Dec 14 2013, 09:53 AM)
Youtube have alot of mirror cleaning video, all video also asking to wear glove and use only rocket blower to blow, look like u didnt follow the instruction haha, I did my without any problem, but my dust stil can be see after I clean it, I suspect its from the inside viewfinder, so I just leave it and HAVE to get used it sad.gif
yeah, those on mirror can be blow away easily and won't really annoy shooting but those that went into the prism will become really kacau since they wont go away.
mingyuyu
post Dec 16 2013, 07:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Hope you guys don't mind me posting pics over here (canon thread is pretty unactive and no macro guy inside also).

Housefly is really an easy subject for macro, they aren't very alert and large in size so you don't need something with really high magnification to take their pictures.

IMG_6068 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_6085 by tuna97, on Flickr

Don't halau me keluar tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 16 2013, 09:09 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 16 2013, 09:07 PM)
With open heart, we welcome u to jumpship laugh.gif
haha i don't care so much about gear one tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 16 2013, 10:03 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 16 2013, 08:22 PM)

Haha, canon or nikon, its the photo that matters, don't think anyone will mind

Maybe its time for a Macro thread  tongue.gif
Nikon thread = Macro thread already liao right? brows.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 12:37 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 16 2013, 11:54 PM)
You are always welcomed mate  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Yeah, houseflies are everywhere, and makes good practice hehe, especially those that are resting or love-making brows.gif
I love Shot 2! If you can get the moment where they secrete a ball of digestive juices (like the one by copperwire93), then it'll be more awesome! I'm still waiting for a chance for that shot haha~

Two more flies for tonight hehe- HoverFlies~

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR
Aperture - F7.1
Shutter Speed - 1/125 secs
ISO - 800
Natural Light
hehe then i think i will spam my future macro shots here than canon thread.

got really excited while shooting during this evening, then suddenly my flashgun's batteries died mad.gif

i dropped the wide angle diffuser and sticked a layer or paper on the flash head before using the ocotobox, the lighting does improve though biggrin.gif

really envy you guys got macro lens, i can only shoot with my 50mm reverse handheld, don't know when will be the day i drop the lens and killed it sweat.gif

awesome shot as usual, but the WB is abit too yellow to me?
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 12:33 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 17 2013, 09:48 AM)
Good morning haha icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah, it can be very exciting,especially when you come across some rare or very beautiful creatures :lol;
Yup, your lighting is quite decent already yo, keep it up~

Wah, you are still using handheld reverse 50mm? hmm.gif Why not plastic extension tubes? You are a Canon user right? SHould be easier to change aperture values via DOF-preview

Thanks for the input on the photo, you are right, really too yellow already haha XD
Changing Hues for yellows and greens fixed the problem notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i tried finding those tubes before, but many shops only sell the expensive electronic ones. do you know any shop that sells them? currently saving for tamron 90mm vc macro lens, i takut keep using the dof preview then remove the lens will damage the contacts one day.
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 02:02 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 17 2013, 01:55 PM)
Well, if you intend to get a dedicated macro lens one day, then perhaps there's no real need to get plastic ones... Unless if you don't spending ~RM30 just to practice a bit first laugh.gif I would say its definitely worth spending that small amount of money; sure beats risking dropping your lens hmm.gif

Most of the time you will stick to F16 anyway haha, so you won't use DOF preview that much also right? hmm.gif

Take a look in Garage Sales bro, there are ALOT of sellers selling plastic tubes  icon_rolleyes.gif
still need to plan about my budget, since even if i am going to buy the lens, it will be next year's mid or end. haha i don't shoot at f16, f8 or something gives me enough amount of dof already on a 50mm lens + 1.6x crop sensor.

will check there then, since my last visit to gs only returned me results of electronic's ones.
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 02:57 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 17 2013, 02:52 PM)
So no matter at which focal length, if the aperture no. is higher will auto means the aperture is smaller?

'The lens aperture is usually specified as an f-number, the ratio of focal length to effective aperture diameter.'
I thought is focal length/aperture no. = aperture diameter... icon_question.gif
eh got say like that meh?

i thought aperture value = amount of light the lens can let through? focal length doesn't matter at all. look through your viewfinder and you know, a f2.8 lens gives u bright view and a f5.6 lens gives you a dark view.
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 03:13 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 17 2013, 03:12 PM)
Thats the answer gave by Wikipedia when i search 'aperture'. doh.gif

Ya, thats why i confuse. By right at max zoom, my kitlens should be darker than min zoom...i observed that too.
don't need to learn into so detailed la, you won't need these infos also when shooting.
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 04:58 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 17 2013, 03:34 PM)
Ohh nono it doesn't work that way the aperture diameter thingy..

That's why lenses like

14-24 F2.8
24-70 F2.8
70-200 F2.8

are very expensive because throughout the zooms it has a constant aperture of F2.8! biggrin.gif

Sigma has a 120-300 F2.8.. Drools!!
wait until u see the Bigma.

200-500mm f2.8 zoom
mingyuyu
post Dec 17 2013, 09:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Any idea what are these?

IMG_6186 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_6261 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Dec 18 2013, 10:57 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 17 2013, 11:25 PM)
Dayum, nice one! Can use for defence too XD
LOL, great share man! notworthy.gif
Awesome shots man!
#2 might be an incy bitsy too yellowish~
Your cats have grown bigger yo  wub.gif
#1 is an assassin bug! Nice find~ Even better if you can find it assassinating something brows.gif
Cannot see #2 clearly haha
Keep it up!  thumbup.gif
haha okay thanks a lot. that yellow bug is quite big in real life, i wanted to capture a side profile of it, but I bumped into my flash stand and my speedlite dropped and smacked the bug cry.gif about the 2nd shot, it's some kind of "shit" looking bug that's everywhere around Kari Leaves. looks really weird.

more pics

IMG_6172 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_6180 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Dec 18 2013, 06:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 18 2013, 06:35 PM)
Great attempts on the two photos, especially the 1st one!
That's a long-legged fly in the 1st photo, extremely sensitive critter! Its almost impossible to capture one directly from the front with flash, since its so fast that even with flash you will not be able to photograph it on timeĀ  brows.gif
Some subjects are like that, it takes experiences to know which ones will react that way laugh.gif

The 2nd one is a treehopper I think, I've never seen a variant like this before haha~
Nice~
haha thanks a lot. I've heard you saying about that before, so I approach them really slowly. Surprisingly, they didn't care about my presence at all, as I reverse my lens, the distance between my lens and the subject is only few cm, but I managed to take tons of pictures of them from different angles. They will get scared by flash, but they will return to the same spot after flying away for few seconds. macro is really fun since you can learn about how specific bug behaves biggrin.gif

EDIT: Updated with today's shot using Tammy 70-200

IMG_6336 by tuna97, on Flickr

IMG_6324 by tuna97, on Flickr

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Dec 18 2013, 08:11 PM
mingyuyu
post Dec 20 2013, 09:12 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 20 2013, 01:25 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/st-chua

i find their camera super duper cheap especially d610 o.o

SPECIAL PRICE!!!NEW NIKON D610 BODY RM4999..BRAND NEW NIKON BOX SET..1 YEAR WARRANTY..CALL 016-2129900 FOR FAST DEAL..TRADE IN WELCOME.. - JST AQUACAM <chuaseetat@yahoo.com>
that shop is trustable i think, i dealt with him before.
mingyuyu
post Dec 21 2013, 12:10 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 20 2013, 11:49 PM)
if it's rm4999.. i think i might get d610 instead of a used d600 since i no need worry the dust/oil, and more accurate WB for the d610. dilemma/
you can call him to check anyways. mind you, the shop doesn't allow you to test the camera for fun unless you already decided to buy it and want to test before paying.
mingyuyu
post Dec 21 2013, 12:16 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 21 2013, 12:11 AM)
i tot all camera cannot test?  hmm.gif
i mean for some larger shops, you can go there and ask for them to let you test specific camera (try shoot some pics, play with the settings etc). but that shop doesn't allow you to do so since it is a small shop and doesn't have any units on display also.
mingyuyu
post Dec 21 2013, 12:37 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 21 2013, 12:35 AM)
isit? i never asked them to let me try nikon df before leh..since display unit oni up to d7100.. can ask one isit?
I think they had almost every famous nikon models ever made? not sure if can test every camera though, most of the time i went in there just to drool at Nikon gears then leave.
mingyuyu
post Dec 21 2013, 09:50 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Dec 21 2013, 09:49 PM)
Eh I'd like to ask if there's any majorly significant difference if I use Photoshop or Lightroom to process the RAW format photos?
lightroom is easier to use, photoshop is more complicated but can do really precise things smile.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:16 AM