Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

azarimy
post May 20 2008, 06:44 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

well, i can tell u that u can get a used LCD monitor in 2-3 shops in sheffield, but definitely not PC casings. but PC casings arent that cheap compared to lowyat prices. only get it if u really dont wanna waste that money anymore.

one technique i used to bring casings is to just bring an empty case inside the main luggage. roll and stuff all ur clothes inside the casing to save space. all the internal components like mainboard, harddisk, cpu, ram etc goes in the hand luggage. NEVER ever put it in the main luggage (cargo). i've lost a mainboard and a harddisk through that.
azarimy
post May 21 2008, 09:03 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 20 2008, 11:12 PM)
Good advices... Really appreciate!

Added on May 21, 2008, 8:00 amAnyone here brought LCD monitor frm M'sia to UK before?
Usually how do you bring it? Hang Luggage?
i've brought two.

my first 15" could it in my hand luggage. the 2nd time i brought a 17", and it had to go in the cargo. no problems whatsoever.

another tip on bringing stuff to the UK:

if u find urself severely limited due to baggage restrictions, u could send ur stuff over using DHL or fedex. ofcourse u could also use poslaju, but i dont trust them that much. but here's the thing. when those things arrive in the UK, it will go through customs. make sure u have ur contact number written clearly on the package. they will need to contact u (address also can). they will require a proof that u're a student, and those stuffs belong to u and ur wife.

they'll treat it as personal stuff that u bring over when u move house, hence they wont charge tax or anything.
azarimy
post May 24 2008, 06:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 09:56 AM)
How much does DHL and Fedex charge? Say I wish to send 25kg stuffs. Thanks.

Added on May 24, 2008, 6:02 pm
Not sure how much the difference the LCD price in UK and M'sia.
Buy one and send it to UK using DHL or Fedex. Worth it or not?

Added on May 24, 2008, 6:10 pmWhich mobile phone service is better at Sheffield, O2 or Vodafone?

Where to buy blanket/pillow at Sheffield?

Where to buy cheap computer parts (e.g. casing+powersupply, mouse, etc) at Sheffield?

it's about RM400++. cant remember the exact amount. if u're sending a monitor alone, it'll not be worth it. but if u're sending other stuff as well like things u already have, that should justify the costs.

mobile phone services are widely available in sheffield. it boils down to how u use it, and whatever offer that comes with it. O2 have been giving free pay-as-u-go (prepaid) sim cards for free. i think i still got a few if u want. just make sure ur phone is unlocked.

blanket, pillows and other stuff can easily get at the moor or some shopping complexes around the city centre. i can take u there and probably give u a walk around the essential places.
azarimy
post May 24 2008, 07:21 PM

10,672 posts

i assume u're bringing ur phone from msia? usually all phones in malaysia is already unlocked. if ur phone can swap between 012, 019 or whatever other services in msia, usually means ur phone can take any services in the UK.

if u want the free simcard, i'll give it to u for free lah. but i'll have to find it first, i know it's somewhere in the house... LOL.
azarimy
post May 24 2008, 10:19 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 01:00 PM)
Yes... I bring my Nokia 2600. Now my Nokia (still with Maxis simcard) shows O2 network. Does it mean it's unlocked?

Added on May 24, 2008, 9:02 pmBy the way, I found my housemates wear just a piece of T-shirt and a short pant and they don't feel cold at all. For my case, during evening and at night, I need to wrap myself with 4 clothes to resist the cold. Now it's just end of spring, I could not imagine what will happen to me when winter comes.
wait... are u here already? apasal tak cakap? LOL...

lets go minum2 or something...
azarimy
post May 25 2008, 04:56 AM

10,672 posts

dude, do u have a phone? lets go out tmrw, i'll show u around.

this is my number: 07756 966596

i'm not sure if asda and tesco is open tmrw (sunday), but i know asda is. u can get most of ur essentials there. asda superstore is open 24 hours, except saturday (till 10pm) and sundary (4pm).
azarimy
post May 25 2008, 05:32 PM

10,672 posts

onemilimeter, drop me a message today. i'm quite free at the moment. i'll be sort of busy from monday till mid june.
azarimy
post May 26 2008, 04:52 PM

10,672 posts

well, today (monday) is bank holiday, so a lot of shops are closed. try and google bank holidays to find out more about it. UK doesnt have a lot of holidays, so they take opportunities every bank holidays to go cuti, so lots of kedai will be closed today.

about tesco, i dont think there's a bigger tesco near SHU. the biggest tesco is the one near the arts tower near sheffield university, but it's not a walking distance. u can take the tram towards malin bridge or middlewood, it's the 2nd stop after the university stop. ask the conductor coz i cant remember what the stop is called. tram ticket is GBP3 for a whole day. one way is about GBP1.60 or 1.70 cant remember.

with the tram u could also go the opposite way to meadowhall. this is the biggest shopping complex in midlands, so u can practically get everything there. there's an argos outlet there too, which u can get practically everything under one roof for a bloody cheap price.

duvet (some malaysians call it "toto") should be about GBP 10-15, and it's always white in colour. u should get a duvet cover as well, bcoz it's not that comfortable sleeping with a duvet only. u can get it at argos or any shops around the moor, or primark, TJ hughes, the coop or a few others around the city centre near the castle square tram stop. that should be very near to SHU.
azarimy
post May 26 2008, 07:11 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ May 26 2008, 11:08 AM)
let say i am 3/4 cpga holder in IT field, could I do my master in UK? .. is it hard to obtain a scholarship? .
yes u could. i can tell u without doubt u can secure a place in a university in the UK.

scholarship is a whole different ballgame, though. u could browse this thread from the beginning, there are lots of links of scholarships strewn about...
azarimy
post May 29 2008, 06:10 PM

10,672 posts

lord, nowadays virgin media is offering a 50quid cashback if a virgin media user recommends their services to a new friend. both parties will get the 50quid casback each. so i guess the guy might be trying to cash in on it. it's perfectly legal, but ofcourse, u dont know the guy.

however, i'm a virgin user as well. now if u want the 50quid cashback... call me biggrin.gif heh heh heh...
azarimy
post May 29 2008, 10:33 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 29 2008, 01:53 PM)
I got your post just now. Thank you very much.

Regarding the contract I need to consider carefully before signing. Thanks.
couldnt u nego for 6 months?
azarimy
post Jun 1 2008, 04:54 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cherub @ Jun 1 2008, 08:25 AM)
Hi all. Have been lurking around for quite some time now and finally got myself registered today. Anyways, there are a few things that I hope you guys can help out with. I have two conditional offers from sheffield and leicester (mechanica engineering) and I'm currently torn between these two options. So these are my questions:

1. Anyone here studying in leicester? Need a general idea of how life as an international student there is like. can't seem to get any helpful info from the website.

2. For those doing MEng (Mechanical engineering) in sheffield, are we allowed to spend a year in the industry (working) before going back for our final year?

Hope you guys can help out. Thanks.
1. my wife studied in leicester for 3 years. to be honest, there are primarily 2 cultures in leicester - british and indian. these two forms the majority of population in leicester. there are smaller communities of pakistani, sri lankan, bangladeshi, chinese (mainland), and some eastern european. but these are quite small. however, leicesterians have always pride themselves of multiculturalism.

student population on the other hand is quite diverse. it shouldnt be hard to fit in. moreover, the universities (both leicester and de monfort) are located in the city with the residential areas very close around it, so it's quite a close-knit community. the city itself is not too big, and the cost is not as high as other big cities.
azarimy
post Jun 2 2008, 09:52 PM

10,672 posts

send it to my house in sheffield. i have a huge basement LOL...
azarimy
post Jun 6 2008, 06:45 PM

10,672 posts

i often TT my money from CIMB in msia to natwest in the UK. they usually apply a fixed charge, i think about RM16 or something like that, regardless of how much i TT.
azarimy
post Jun 11 2008, 10:35 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jun 9 2008, 06:02 AM)
Actually I checked the Maybank website and it said that besides the charge by Maybank, the destiny bank (e.g. Natwest in this case) might impose some charge for the TT, and Maybank could not tell how much because every bank every country is different. From your comment, it looks like Natwest will not impose any charge for the TT money FROM Maybank.
i've never done a TT from maybank, only from CIMB. natwest do not charge for the TTs from CIMB to my natwest account.
azarimy
post Jun 18 2008, 07:59 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jun 17 2008, 09:01 PM)
How's the call quality (to M'sia landline) of Skype?
Is there any constraint? For example, GBP5 must be spent in one month, etc?

Added on June 18, 2008, 5:12 am
Another question... Just chat with Vietnamese. He asked me how much I spent for the flight ticket. I told him, if I'm not mistaken, it's about RM3600 (or USD1143) for one-way ticket, frm KLIA to London on MAS. Then, he said why it's so expensive. His flight (Singapore Airline, one way ticket too) was from Vietnam to Singapore to Manchester, and it costed him about USD700 plus only. Why so much different?
skype line is good enough to chat, albeit occasional slight delay about 0.5 to 1 second. i'm not sure if there's a limit though. i havent spent my balance for about 2 months now, and it's still there.

anyways, about ur MAS ticket, i assume it's the sponsorship ticket? if it is, the price is marked higher than market value. this is one way the government "helps" MAS. normally MAS' ticket price is just slightly higher than Singapore Airline.
azarimy
post Jun 18 2008, 05:59 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jun 18 2008, 09:37 AM)

btw, 'sponsor ticket'? what that's mean?? blush.gif
when a JPA scholar embarks on his journey to study overseas, JPA will issue one way tickets for him and his family to his destination, and later one way tickets back after he has finished. these tickets are part of the sponsorship, so u dont have to pay one cent. JPA will pay MAS directly.

i dunno how true it is about JPA paying the marked up price to MAS, but i've been on a coupe of sponsored trips, and it is marked pretty high than market price.
azarimy
post Jun 21 2008, 04:34 PM

10,672 posts

how many accounts do u have?

i have two natwest accounts: current and savings, and two debit cards, one for each.
azarimy
post Jun 27 2008, 11:13 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(WillHung @ Jun 27 2008, 02:59 PM)
why the hell is everyone going to sheffield? its like mini malaysia there biggrin.gif im getting a sense of dejavu as i've been to broadlane ....but a longggggggggg time ago.
coz i'm there. u know how attractive i can be... tongue.gif

cherub, 70++ what? per week? tell us more about urself. are u married? are u looking forward to cook or eat outside? what's ur budget? are u sponsored?

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 27 2008, 11:14 PM
azarimy
post Jul 6 2008, 05:52 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 6 2008, 03:54 AM)
12000/Year means 2 Sems?
we use terms terms instead of semester. there are generally 4 terms in a year, but normally only two of those are active terms for studies: autumn and winter. the other two terms, spring and summer, are usually reserved for post grads, extra subjects or something like that. most of the time, spring and summer are holidays.

QUOTE(budak_macho @ Jul 6 2008, 09:37 AM)
guys

Im a lepasan SPM with 9 A1

I would like to know,

Where is the best place in London to take LLB(Hons)Law full or part time.And what is the expected tuition fee?
(btw I see the South Bank University,izzit good?)

And if I choose part-time,what is the best part time job can I do to cover up my tuition fee throughout my study period?

And I guess after i get my degree thinking to take MBA of Law,so suggest me on tis biggrin.gif

For MARA loan,maximum how much ? biggrin.gif

Btw,international student and local (local UK) fee isnt same rite? biggrin.gif

Thanks and sry for questioning these noob question tongue.gif

and how about acommodation and living there?What is the expected budget annually if I live in rented room tongue.gif
u cant do part time studies in the UK, as ur visa will not allow it. fees are usually between GBP9000 to GBP12000 (international students), so assuming u're not spending the money at all, u need a job that pays GBP1000 per month. but if u wanna work, u can only take part time jobs with maximum of 20 hours per week (visa limitations), so i doubt u can actually earn enough to cover ur fees.

in london, expect to pay GBP5200 to GBP6500 per year for a small room. a cosy, intermediate room will cost about GBP7000 to GBP10k per year.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0564sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:26 PM