azarimy
post Aug 5 2008, 08:13 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Aug 5 2008, 11:31 AM)
Hi youngkies, you mentioned current account in your previous reply, so I assume a saving account doesn't issue debit card right?
savings account issue a debit card as well. i have both current n savings, and i have 1 card for each.
azarimy
post Aug 6 2008, 08:10 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(zydoce @ Aug 6 2008, 11:33 AM)
How about if we apply for scholar @ loan ? Do we need to get that 100k in our account as well ? Or it's already another case ?
it's another case, although have similar method and implications.

if u're under a scholarship, the sponsor will provide with a letter that indicates they're gonna sponsor ur entire fees plus monthly allowances. during the application process, the uk-visa company will contact ur sponsor to verify ur status. if it's all green, u should be ok.

if the sponsor only covers partial fees or did not come with monthly allowances, u will still need to provide proof that u can sustain urself there or cover the other half of the fees. perhaps RM100k in the bank should convince them enough.
azarimy
post Aug 7 2008, 02:09 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Aug 6 2008, 06:05 PM)
Which bank do you register for a saving/current account?

Just to make sure, are there any differences between UK's current account and local one?

Why current not saving?
natwest for both accounts.

i'm not exactly sure if there's a difference. it all looks the same to me biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Aug 15 2008, 12:49 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2008, 04:41 PM)
oic
coz my diploma course is link with northumbria's degree course..n it makes me can complete the degree faster

my bro got intro me uni of plymouth but it takes so long to fin..mayb 4 years

any advice?
if u plan to finish of early, might as well just study in some cheap college in malaysia.

nowadays there are too many overseas graduates in malaysia. employers have learned how to choose those from the good universities and put aside the not so good ones. 20 years ago, sure, u can just graduate from any university in the UK or US and everybody would be welcoming u with open arms wink.gif.

my advice: go find a really good uni.
azarimy
post Aug 15 2008, 06:29 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Aug 15 2008, 10:25 AM)
HEY GUYS URGENTLY NEED TO KNOW:

OK, basically I need to know how much is the postage fee for a letter from UK to Malaysia. Probably using regular post. This is because UCL accomodation requires us to buy an international reply coupon and  send it together with the accomodation form so that they can reply. However, the posmalaysia branch at my area dont' sell it (do any branches sell it? and how much?), so the people at the post office asked me to buy a bank draft. But I don't know how much should I buy....Please advise. Thanks. Sigh, should be able to do online la, kononnya technological age. pfft.

P.S I know I'm late for the accomodation.
what's in the envelope? just papers, right? it should cost 79p (RM 5.xx).
azarimy
post Aug 16 2008, 08:16 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 16 2008, 11:54 AM)
can anyone list out wat is needed for apply uk student visa?
urgent.. tq
couldnt u find it in the website?
azarimy
post Aug 22 2008, 08:05 PM

10,672 posts

it's a sticker slightly smaller than a passport page that has ur picture printed on it, details of the visa (validity, duration, type, allowance etc), stamps, hologram, security stuffs and all that.
azarimy
post Aug 26 2008, 12:07 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SFX @ Aug 25 2008, 03:42 PM)
Will be going to University of Sheffield this September. What are the banks available in Sheffield?

For those who have studied there, can you recommend me what bank to use?

Thanks in advance.
there are lots of banks in sheffield. all banks available in the UK are available in sheffield.

personally, i would recommend natwest bcoz of the extra stuffs they often give to students.

QUOTE(cissal @ Aug 25 2008, 03:57 PM)
Is it a public holiday today at the UK?
Tried calling my uni at 11pm and 6pm but nobody answered.
yes. today is bank holiday.
azarimy
post Aug 28 2008, 06:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 26 2008, 02:56 PM)
hi, i wanna ask for my friend..
they plan to go euro trip after finish their study..
so anyone know where can they keep their luggage in london?
cheap and safe???
any place? they dun wan to take 30kg luggage around euro..
i've found delivery service that is relatively the same price as keeping the luggage in london.

standard price for keeping luggage is GBP5 per luggage per 24 hours. so assuming u have 2 bags totaling 30kg, that's 10 pounds a day. eurotrip takes what? a week enough ah? that's GBP70.

delivery service to malaysia (lembah kelang area) is about GBP80 per carton (61x51x41cm, max 35kg). refer here . delivery zones vary, but lembah kelang is the cheapest. the most expensive one would be sabah sarawak, which is about GBP120 per carton.

trust me, traveling around europe, u'd want to keep as little baggage as possible. u'd be buying lotsa stuff around there, so u might not wanna keep a heavy luggage around. send it back home!
azarimy
post Sep 11 2008, 11:38 AM

10,672 posts

nowadays there are alot of halal butchers scattered around london, u're bound to stumble upon one of them one way or another. it also depends on where u stay. if u're staying in mid-upper class areas, there's a low chance of having a halal butcher around there. but go to any mid-lower areas, there's a plenty.
azarimy
post Sep 11 2008, 10:05 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Raining @ Sep 11 2008, 12:26 PM)

time in UK is 7 hrs slower than Malaysia,

if I slp at 11pm in Malaysia, that means in UK I will be slping at 4 pm in the afternoon,

any suggestion how to set myself so I can used to the time in UK?  sweat.gif
it's easier for u to come over here and tune ur bio clock here. one of the easiest way is to resist from sleeping the day after arriving. just sleep throughout the flight.

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0510sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:53 AM