8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

TSraymondtong94
post Mar 27 2014, 09:33 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Mar 27 2014, 08:30 PM)
this alienware m14x r4 damn hard to access, my ex sager so easy to access, need to tear all part @@, and i dont have the screwdriver that same size with the screw, also afraid i make wrong things as i currently doing my fyp..lol

do u offer such service raymond? if got can pm me, i already got the IC diamond thermal paste. icon_rolleyes.gif
as mentioned in my siggy. notworthy.gif
i have the screwdrivers. smile.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 28 2014, 09:19 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Mar 28 2014, 09:05 AM)
kk, maybe on next two weeks, as my schedule abit tight..hmmmm no more time for gaming and forum now,  fyp is really troublesome cry.gif
sure, just drop me a PM when you are ready. nod.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 28 2014, 11:27 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 28 2014, 11:11 PM)
I found something weird, my GTX 260M is set at 1V by default as it supposed to be 0.9V for M15x. No wonder the temps reaching 90+C when gaming. Dropping to 0.9V makes it drop to 75C
i believe every manufacturers was fault in voltage control, so as power users, we need to be smart to find the problems. nod.gif
and nice finding you got there. thumbup.gif 3 years ago i shouldnt sell of my M15x. sad.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 29 2014, 04:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 29 2014, 02:49 PM)
Yeah, I guess maybe the one in this M15x were meant to be in M17x.

CPU market has been pretty stagnant past few years. The main reason I buy this laptop if I wanted more speed I just change the graphic card to a modern one. I surprised the CPU were able to handle GTA IV smoothly
Not only GTA 4, any modern games do work fine as well. IMO, if you have a core i7 quad core processor with a MXM module graphics card, it can be a futureproof laptop.

How much was your M15x eh btw? drool.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 29 2014, 08:20 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 29 2014, 06:52 PM)
True dat. Crysis is slightly lagging but change to 7070M or something and it would be rocking. But I'm not gonna play serious games on my laptop, just some fun old games.

Bought it this month for RM1100, bargain of the century biggrin.gif
Upgrade to GTX880M brows.gif
Definitely worth the try.

Im thinking about to 'smuggle' a M17x at a cheap price and upgrade the graphics card. I very love the design of R3/4 than the R5.
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 30 2014, 02:10 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 29 2014, 08:31 PM)
I need to upgrade the PSU too sweat.gif We'll see.

Agreed, old Alienware laptops looks unique, the new one looks meh and too conservative. Alienware is like Lamborghini for car, supposed to look radical and different. Taken that away then there is no point of buying it, might as well save some money and buy Sager which looks boring.

If you can get one for cheap, go get it!
Sager is actually good for self-maintenance. i can calculate, total dismantling the whole laptop takes about an hour.

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 29 2014, 10:59 PM)
imo you can also consider to get a dfo unit. iinm there is one at MYR 3.6k (3820qm, 660m, 120Hz screen, with killer 1103) at garage sales. all you need to do is upgrade the gpu. 3820qm is much better than 3840qm in terms of oc.

edit: one of my m17x is a dfo unit, and a second-hand some more lol! there is nothing wrong with it since day one.
well, might consider about it. tongue.gif
just hope it can support latest generation graphics card.
TSraymondtong94
post Mar 30 2014, 09:53 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 30 2014, 06:55 PM)
Is it? But I'm truly surprised how EASY to access things in m15x. Two screws out and you have access to the important stuff, like upgrading RAM, upgrading HDD and cleaning HSF. Best bit is cleaning graphics fan don't even require me to take the heatsink off.
Yes its true. Sager or Clevo high performance laptops are well known for easy maintenance except the Clevo W740SU.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 4 2014, 08:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

those whom want my service can shoot me a PM by 8/4/14. laugh.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 9 2014, 01:38 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Krytone @ Apr 9 2014, 11:51 AM)
Does anybody know when did the m17 r5 came out in Malaysia?

I am contemplating on buying now or wait on the GTX800 series cards. Any suggestions? :-S

Thanks!
R5 was released last year bro, R6 for GTX800 series.

you can wait if you arent urgent to get a new laptop.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 11 2014, 12:30 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 10 2014, 12:59 PM)
deciding to let go my alienware x51, check out my siggy for more smile.gif
also considering selling my m14x r2 after that.

planning to upgrade to alienware 14. biggrin.gif
wow, seems like you will be traveling a lot. smile.gif
need my service before selling off your M14X R2?
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 11 2014, 12:49 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 11 2014, 12:32 PM)
yes bro, of course smile.gif will definitely contact u, need toget all things inside cleaned up first before selling  thumbup.gif
better be fast, as i will be looking for a job soon. laugh.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 14 2014, 07:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(zat_90s @ Apr 14 2014, 07:38 PM)
hi everyone..i wanna know about best booting windows speed. i got configured my m17xr4 n equipped it with samsung 840pro and its take exactly 20s to boot win 7 ultimate.. do anyone know how to make it more faster? maybe 10s? biggrin.gif
use windows 8. less than 10 secs.
windows 7 is generally more 'heavier' than windows 8.

or use RAID 0.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 12:20 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

hi guys, i have an issue with the M17x R2 display. yesterday, after i helped my friend to clean and repaste his M17x R2, the display appears to be bluish and if looked closely it appears to be thin blue vertical lines. the blue vertical lines suppose to be black in colour as during boot up, at alien logo the entire screen suppose to be black except the alien head logo.

as i cant find any solution, i decided to head home 1st as it is very late in the night and solve it by tomorrow. then, i was told by my friend that GPU-Z is showing that crossfire is not enabled, and in Catalyst Control Center there is no crossfire option anymore.

can someone help me to identify the issue?
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 01:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2014, 01:26 PM)
this one is most likely the cable connection issues. should try to reseat them. if you also touched the lcd cable, check the connection to the mobo also.
well i did tried to resit it a lot of times but no luck. i worry it might be the cable being faulty.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 02:27 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2014, 02:11 PM)
yes, these cables are somewhat very fragile. must handle with extra care.

er reseat which cable? the xfire cable or the lcd socket cable, or both? as long as you don't touch the end that connects to the display panel, it should be fine. (that part is kind of tricky for newer aw17) however, it's possible that you accidentally pulled it and made the connection loosed. you should also take a look at it i.e. this end that connects to the display (don't pull it out. just reseat it)
i resit both. to access the CPU i need to remove the LCD cable as well. i just hope it can be resolved due to faulty GC as he is having crossfire issue.

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Apr 15 2014, 02:23 PM)
Probably bro. Try using another cable?
no cable. does ebay has R2 ones?
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 03:01 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2014, 02:51 PM)
oh it's a little different when you do it for aw 18. the xfire/sli cable covers the cpu heatsink but not the lcd cable. (always take out the lcd panel with lcd cable attached to it, away from the chassis first).

you can trouble shoot to see if it's the xfire cable by taking out one card and test with only one card.

for cables you should also check taobao. you need xfire right?
M18x is different than M17x R2. i didnt go further to remove the LCD just to clean and repaste the CPU and GPU.
i will try with drivers 1st, then the cards. im a little worried as this is the 1st time i ever encountered this, and i will be blamed for this.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 03:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2014, 03:19 PM)
oh ya the laptop in question is m7x r2 sorry. well, it's better safe than sorry, especially when fragile parts are in the way.

for the cables check this:
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=35023519647
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=18716590263
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=17004213644 - this one you need to ask the seller for ati xfire cable for m17x r2
i think i need to prepare LCD cable as well, as im very suspicious towards that part.
do you have idea how was it written in chinese? im not chinese educated. tongue.gif

dang, bad luck always happen on me. sad.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 15 2014, 03:40 PM
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 04:09 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2014, 03:53 PM)
it's called 屏线
thanks. i will identify and fix 1st, then only order.
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 15 2014, 05:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:21 PM)
m15x owner
added to the owner list.
welcome on board the mothership. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 16 2014, 12:01 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

finally managed to solve my client's M17x R2 screen issue.
actually the faulty part is just the graphics card sitting, resit the graphics card and blue vertical lines gone. now works like charm. sweat.gif

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:03 PM