this 3820qm is better for oc than 3840qm
hmm why so?
Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!
Apr 16 2014, 09:01 PM
2,044 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
this 3820qm is better for oc than 3840qm
hmm why so? |
Apr 17 2014, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 16 2014, 09:55 PM) maybe because my 3840qm is not a good candidate for oc compared to 3820qm haha But does OC really helps in gaming? I mean CPU OC. GPU i understand. Until now I don't have the balls to OC as no more warranty for my R4 so I use it carefully you can try to oc it then play heavy games for 2 or more hours. see if the cpu can get overheated fast (turn hwinfo64's sensor page on while you do that) edit: my current cpu oc is level 3 for 3840qm (4.3ghz). max temperature is 93c at room temperatures (this one is using linx 0.65) guess what? cpu throttled at 2.89ghz I cleaned and repasted thermal on my Asus zenbook today |
Apr 26 2014, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 25 2014, 02:59 PM) Before i forget again, a friend reminded me about vindicator 18": Add-ons in Mid Valley is selling it at MYR 209.00. add ons as in? cant buy the bag alone? also for R4 what size? 17 or 18? How is this bag compared to orion. I don't really NEED it but my palms are itching. |
Apr 27 2014, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:01 PM) used is 1k cheaper but it comes with others upgrade as well. 120hz screen hands down wins even when you're not using 3D. Also it stresses ur eyes less too in my experience. And after you shitf from 120hz to 60hz you just don't like 60hz anymore. and of course I give u 1 year full warranty as well well, maybe u had to experience the 120hz. hoho. as naked eye we can see the differences. feel free visit me, I show u I have ordinary 60fps AW17 and 120Hz AW17 |
Apr 27 2014, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(noobie86 @ Apr 27 2014, 04:18 PM) hi guys , try taking out ur ram cleaning them n put them back.. also try to put just one ram and try. Hope this helps.Need some help got a m14x-r2 , got it about 2 years back it now fail POST test and got the one single continues beeping noise my laptop now. have contacted dell/alienware and it said mine is out of warranty ... check online it is most likely bios or rom corrupted anybody got encounter this and fix it ?? i love my m14x . so please help if there is a way to save it?? |
Apr 27 2014, 04:58 PM
Apr 27 2014, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 05:16 PM) Oscar's used AW17 Check how is the condition of used one. If just like new and pristineeeeeeeeeeeee condition then 9999RM is fair seeing it has 120hz screen and nvidia vision 2 glasses. Even if ur not fond of 3D. IF you're a gaming freak.. 120hz hands down. Also rest all depends on ur nego skills if u want bagpack mouse etc.. But i'd say those specs are SOLID. This means for 2 to 3 years u don't need to upgrade. My R4 is 2 years old and it's still strong with 3840QM + 680M. I don't feel the NEED of upgrade core i7 4900 16GB ram GTX780M blue ray 120hz 1920x1080 LCD (3D capable ) 750GB +64GB (SSD) going for 9999 and 1 year warranty. vs. (new) DELL ALIENWARE 17 LAPTOP 4th Gen Intel Core i7-4900MQ processor(6MB Cache,up to 3.9GHz w/ Turbo Boost) Genuine Windows 8 Single Language 64bit 750GB 7200RPM SATA 3Gb/s+64GB mSATA SSD Caching 16GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz Slot-Loading 8x SuperMulti Drive(DVDR/RW) Integrated Digital 7.1 Surround Audio Support NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M with 4GB GDDR5 Integrated 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet NIC Broadcom 4352 802.11 ac 2x2 and Bluetooth 4.0 Alienware 17 Anodized Aluminum 17.3 inch(439.42 mm) WLED FullHD(1920x1080) Anti-Glare Display FullHD Camera with dual digital microphones Alienhead Glow / AlienFX AQUA 8-cell Lithium Ion(86 wHr) Battery RM10999 3 years warranty, 1 vandictor backpack roughly copy paste from the fb post. Oscar did mention that the only difference between his used and new is monitor and blueray. The price 9999 not including 3 years warranty and windows 7 its going to be roughly around the same price if not more expensive that getting new. Edit: Oh I forgot to add the used aw17 oscar mention the monitor is more expensive roughly 1400 for the monitor and 600 for the glasses just to be fair. Need advice on this please :/ Also if you got the cash then go with AW 17 but if u wanna save bucks find a pristine condition R4. I think a pristineeeeeee condition R4 with 120hz screen 3840QM +680M+16GB still has a 6 to 7k value or even more is thr's a good SSD in it haha. But well that is just my opinion. Also thumbs up for Oscar for bringing in these AW beauties. This post has been edited by mansooriqbal: Apr 27 2014, 05:55 PM |
Apr 27 2014, 07:19 PM
Apr 28 2014, 01:56 PM
Apr 29 2014, 10:19 PM
Apr 30 2014, 06:26 PM
May 1 2014, 12:47 AM
May 1 2014, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ May 1 2014, 12:58 AM) Ok rephrase the question. Is it possible to get that configuration. I checked Alienware Malaysia site and they dont seem to have that option. Ok I get your question now. They used to have it but lately they don't also I would advice you to get it from third party as it's way cheaper then, unless you are claiming your AW bill from the company then that's another thing. You can call dell Malaysia for more info or maybe try contacting Oscar for AW deals? |
May 4 2014, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 4 2014, 12:05 PM) take note before buying cards with GTX800M cards. as stated by putochip123, he stated that current GT800M cards are still based on Kepler architecture, which could be a tuned up variant of previous generation cards. performance increase is around 20% more than previous generation card. if you are dying for latest architecture, please wait and if urgent to get a laptop, just get now. maxwell FTW! |
Jul 3 2014, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jun 28 2014, 09:54 AM) Bro what's the latest driver for 7260ac? 17.0.0.34? If not can you pass me the exact download link for latest drivers? Thanks! P.S. I saw you bought another 780M |
Jul 3 2014, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 3 2014, 06:57 PM) the latest for 7260.ac is 17.05. just follow this to get the updates. stasio is doing a good job keeping us updated Thanks man! don't forget to grab the bt software too. oh you saw that haha! the 780m upgrade should be very simple to you. i did it in the non-3d model so there were some additional steps. (more on that later) just did a 3dmark run and scored 5175 in fire strike at stock clocks, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/3452523 oscar is a reliable seller So how much difference do you feel in terms of 680M vs 780M? |
Jul 4 2014, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 4 2014, 12:16 AM) from 680m to 780m, it's not a night-and-day difference. (the main reason being the version gap is too close to each other) the best candidates of the 780m upgrade are actually those with anything lower than 680m. maxwell eh if you really wanna feel something, the safer bet is 980m and up. |
Jul 5 2014, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 4 2014, 11:45 PM) note: this is the how-to for gpu upgrade for alienware m17x r4, non-3d model. Thanks bro! Might bug you after an year or so if upgrading to 990M but makes me wonder if it will be supportable with R4 hmm. I hope so.first, some explanations. in terms of display panels, there are two type of models for r4: 1. 60Hz screen - non-3d model. supports dedicated gpu (dgpu) and integrated gpu (igpu); 2. 120Hz screen - 3d model. supports only dedicated gpu. the difference in terms of bios settings between two models in the context of gpu upgrade are: 1. 60Hz screen (non-3d) - PEG (for dgpu) is disabled and igpu is enabled by default; and 2. 120Hz screen (3d) - PEG (for dgpu) is enabled and igpu is disabled by default. the above bios settings are hidden in stock bios and you cannot change them. however, in order to do a gpu upgrade in r4 (especially in non-3d model), you need bios options to be set to PEG enabled, and igpu disabled (like the defaults in 3d model) this is when unlocked bios by slv7 at techinferno.com comes into play. his unlocked bios allows you to change the required bios settings. since this is an unofficial bios, you must run it in legacy bios mode. (that means in bios you need to switch from UEFI to legacy mode, and disable secureboot). also, you need to install windows in legacy mode for compatibility reasons. so the steps are really simple (based on the tutorial, http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17...tml#post91201): 1. flash your r4 with A11 stock bios. in the bios menu, load all defaults and press F10 to save the changes (http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/DriverDetails/Product/alienware-m17x-r4?driverId=Y9N0G&fileId=3210573985). just runt the dell bios installer and it will downgrade/upgrade your bios automatically. make sure the battery is installed and power source is active; 2. prepare the dos bootable usb and flash the bios (http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17x-aw-17/1964-%5Bm17x-r4%5D-unlocked-bios-versions.html grab the unlocked bios, [FPT]-M17x_R4_BIOS_A11_-_[unlocked]V2.zip, necessary files to create the dos bootable usb, FPT tools, and prr tool from the first post); 3. configure the unlocked bios (http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17x-aw-17/6688-m17xr4-upgrade-gpu-gtx780m.html#post91201) 4. install new card; check the placement of thermal pads (http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17x-aw-17/6688-m17xr4-upgrade-gpu-gtx780m.html#post91201) 5. reformat and reinstall windows in the legacy mode; 6. for w8/8.x, disable driver signing and reboot (http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17x-aw-17/6688-m17xr4-upgrade-gpu-gtx780m.html#post91201) 7. install gpu drivers with modded .inf; first go to http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/ NVIDIA Video Drivers and Tools section, and find the matching modded .inf for your geforce drivers (tagged with 'Mobile OEM'). extract the geforce drivers from geforce.com with 7zip or winrar. then put the modded .inf into Display.Driver folder (overwrite it if necessary). finally run the installer. 8. after successful install of drivers, enable driver signing and reboot (http://forum.techinferno.com/alienware-m17x-aw-17/6688-m17xr4-upgrade-gpu-gtx780m.html#post91201) 9. done for w8/w8.1 users, the next time you wanna update your gpu drivers, just repeat steps 6, 7, and 8. |
Jul 7 2014, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 7 2014, 03:25 PM) Thanks Sifu! Install urself no issues. Unless you can't then call the dell professionals. Congrats on ur new buy. I am still drooling over that 8GB 880M hehe. Good tips. Will do the backup image this week. And also, later will hunt for a 512GB mSATA SSD for it, and do a fresh install of Windows in it. If I install it myself, no issues right? Or is it better for me to call a Dell service personnel to come over and install for me? |
Jul 12 2014, 12:16 AM
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:55 AM |