25 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

> Uproar over change in SPM Moral paper format, It baffles students and teachers

TSleetan33
post Nov 20 2013, 03:21 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Nov 20 2013, 03:16 PM)
Blame themselves. Suppose to study. Not memorize
Did you take Pendidikan Moral before? The candidates are asked to memorise definitions word for word to answer the exam questions. They can't write their own moral definitions lest they will get their answers wrong.
5p3ak
post Nov 20 2013, 03:22 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

WTS popcorn.

mari-mari!

This post has been edited by 5p3ak: Nov 20 2013, 03:22 PM
SUSForgot Liao

QUOTE(NXJ @ Nov 20 2013, 03:18 PM)
You are the one who don't understand what I was trying to convey

Just like a product of the system itself.

I blame Malaysia's education system

Who set the questions?

Who set the format?

Who teach students to answer the questions and follow which format?

The students or the teachers?

So when I blame the system, who am I really blaming?
If you claim that I do not understand what you were trying to convey, it is because the way you wrote had CONVEYED THE WRONG MESSAGE !

Look at how many of the commentors in this thread are RE-POSTING your comment, as is, without adding anything
SUSabccab123

13 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Nov 20 2013, 03:21 PM)
Did you take Pendidikan Moral before? The candidates are asked to memorise definitions word for word to answer the exam questions. They can't write their own moral definitions lest they will get their answers wrong.
right on point.even if they give a better meaning,better definition of whatever the thing is,they still get a 0 marks,because they CAN only use the words that were provided in the 36 nilai crap.in other words 1 word wrong = 0 marks
zheng88

Nutritionist / Nutrition Counselor
485 posts

Sit for O-levels or do a certificate if SPM don't work out
SUSslimey

6,914 posts

Just abolish it from the test.
Let's just face reality. Scoring in morals for the exam doesnt mean that the person have good morals
SUSNXJ
post Nov 20 2013, 03:24 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Forgot Liao @ Nov 20 2013, 03:22 PM)
If you claim that I do not understand what you were trying to convey, it is because the way you wrote had CONVEYED THE WRONG MESSAGE !

Look at how many of the commentors in this thread are RE-POSTING your comment, as is, without adding anything
Because it is the truth
TSleetan33

594 posts

QUOTE(ps3 fanboy @ Nov 20 2013, 03:18 PM)
How is it that bad? My thought is a long as you understand the concept you can answer it. like chemistry or physics experiment if you can write in the paper you can do it in live setting.
funny la you, semua nak kait dengan corruption. shakehead.gif
One simple question, which subject did you take in your SPM year? Pendidikan Moral or Islam?
Do you know that if the students write their own definition in other words with the same meaning as the original one prescribed by MOE, they will have their answers marked wrong and scored zero?
teongpeng

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

How is it that bad? My thought is a long as you understand the concept you can answer it. like chemistry or physics experiment if you can write in the paper you can do it in live setting.
u don't study the subject u don't know how the system works.

in moral...understanding and using your own words to answer questions is pointless...because examiners are looking for specific phrases,
5p3ak

5,648 posts

MOE no inform students about the format change...

Truly Malaysian, endless possibilities.

This post has been edited by 5p3ak: Nov 20 2013, 03:25 PM
melvin91motorola
post Nov 20 2013, 03:25 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Nov 20 2013, 03:16 PM)
Blame themselves. Suppose to study. Not memorize
u study also x guna if u no memorize all the nilai-nilai, kata kunci, definisi

u think so simple
Hertz96

• The forbidden zone was once a paradise •
1,237 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Nov 20 2013, 03:18 PM)
All memorize soalan bocor only. Format change, everyone hancur lol
Get your facts right. It's been a closed test for many years. How can there be soalan bocor and also, the SPM papers are not even printed in Malaysia for your information. No possibility of soalan bocor.
PaulReedSmooth

161 posts

Oh yes yes. Those 36 bloody nilais.
Must memo word for word each definition.

It's just memorizing.
If you can memo well, then u are guaranteed to score.

/rant

Anyway pity those who took moral this year. If they didn't get A for moral, there goes their chance of scholarship.

in b4 tak suke sile kuar
SUSForgot Liao
post Nov 20 2013, 03:26 PM

How is it that bad? My thought is a long as you understand the concept you can answer it.
Your thought ?

Well, your thought ain't worth shit, as far as the education system in Malaysia is concerned

For them, YOU MUST ANSWER THE QUESTIONS IN PARTICULAR WAY, YOU MUST USE THE PRE-APPROVED KEY-WORDS and YOU MUST PUT EVERYTHING DOWN THE WAY THEY WANT IT, or else, you got NO MARK !

DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE STRUCTURE OF THE MORAL STUDY PAPER, Sir ?

From the way you write, YOU KNOW SHIT ABOUT THE SUBJECT !!!

madcrow
post Nov 20 2013, 03:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 20 2013, 02:14 PM)
That's why I strongly support Chinese school they are not as idiotic & flip flop as gomen school.
So memorizing is the best form of education?
SUSNXJ

61 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Nov 20 2013, 03:25 PM)
u study also x guna if u no memorize all the nilai-nilai, kata kunci, definisi

u think so simple
Then these students are worse

Already memorized all the kata kunci

Still cannot put them together into a proper essay
SUSabccab123

13 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Nov 20 2013, 03:24 PM)
One simple question, which subject did you take in your SPM year? Pendidikan Moral or Islam?
Do you know that if the students write their own definition in other words with the same meaning as the original one prescribed by MOE, they will have their answers marked wrong and scored zero?
give him a better example.

Definisi from MOE example = Saya cinta ibu.

If you write your own one for example = Ibu dicintai saya = 0 marks

This is not so accurate but my point here is same meaning but different words/sentence = 0 marks
5p3ak

5,648 posts

QUOTE(Forgot Liao @ Nov 20 2013, 03:26 PM)
Your thought ?

Well, your thought ain't worth shit, as far as the education system in Malaysia is concerned

For them, YOU MUST ANSWER THE QUESTIONS IN PARTICULAR WAY, YOU MUST USE THE PRE-APPROVED KEY-WORDS and YOU MUST PUT EVERYTHING DOWN THE WAY THEY WANT IT, or else, you got NO MARK !

DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE STRUCTURE OF THE MORAL STUDY PAPER, Sir ?

From the way you write, YOU KNOW SHIT ABOUT THE SUBJECT !!!
no need all CAPS la...I know you angry...but unless you really desperate for Bora-bora I dun think it's good idea to rage here...can debate it in a civilized manner smile.gif

This post has been edited by 5p3ak: Nov 20 2013, 03:28 PM
D-Frog

2,983 posts

Well.
A drastic change would not kill us. But will kill our A or B+ since we don't know the particular format for the experiment.
Like what to do on live settings.
Where to obtain the product. Etc
Ichibanichi
post Nov 20 2013, 03:28 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 20 2013, 02:15 PM)
No offence, Moral has always been a really useless subject as you gain practically nothing from memorising 36 nilai.

It could be a useful subject like A-levels Thinking Skills which is designed to encourage student to think critically and outside of the box but moral is a shitty subject that if you think outside the box, your responds is usually wrong because your answer isnt on the marking scheme. Used the wrong nilai, zero regardless how you argue with it.
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Pioneer taker for SPM Moral paper
Almost flunk my Moral Paper coz got P7

U should see my horror face when I received my SPM result....A1,A2,C3 no C4-C6 then saw one P7 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

25 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 

0.0228sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:52 PM