Lets talk salary v6

TStehoice
post Sep 8 2014, 02:21 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Sep 8 2014, 11:46 AM)
Cant compare because different industry. Mine is the lowest when compared to all of them  cry.gif
I can't comment much, i'm not from that field. but imo, i think you're doing not bad though.
TStehoice
post Sep 8 2014, 10:04 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Sep 8 2014, 08:03 PM)
i feel that his pay is quite low.. did u apply for jobs in Msia?
then you should quote him mah....
TStehoice
post Sep 9 2014, 04:54 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Sep 9 2014, 04:26 PM)
My sis is currently earning 3600 in a large company.  She applied for a job and stated her expected salary 5k cos she saw that is the salary range for that position.  The company offered her 4600 instead as she does not have the exact job experience requirement and with 5 years work experience  and just at 29 years old, they feel this is justififed and therefore 4600 is the best they can offer.

But now my sis is pushing for 4800 which she said the company is reluctant. Should she go ahead and take up the job?  Current company has contractual bonus 1 month but new company not guaranteed.  But if look at overall annual salary, new company of course more. I think my sis should not be choosy as 1k extra is a lot.

Furthermore her company now is going thru some retrenchment exercise but my sis said her position not in danger.
if she choose to stay, will her salary goes up to 4600 in less than a year time? How long will she take to achieve 4600 if she stay put?
if not, making a switch would be a better idea, of course you must take into account of work, distance, etc.

Not to forget she has no relevant experience, they are kind enough to give you a 21% increment is considered quite good already, many would have just try to match or give up a bit of upside by quoting that you do not have the relevant experience to shut you down. 29 is still young, but not so young if you venture into completely new things.

Also not to forget, more basic salary also means more EPF savings for your retirement, although the difference is not much, but do not neglect the power of compounding.

what's the current position and the new position?

the decision is still hers to make.

TStehoice
post Sep 10 2014, 09:07 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Sep 9 2014, 05:13 PM)
Her job now is something like Operations Exec, I think. Dunno what is new job but not in Operations. I am not sure what type of increment her current job gives. Distance wise she said new company further but she said they told her they are quite flexible on working hours so i guess she can come in a bit later or leave a bit early la. That is my understanding.

I told her to go ahead and take it but of course, decision is hers to made. It took me longer than 5 years to achieve that kind of salary range so for her to get >4k before 30 yrs old is good enuff i think. And the new company also allow to claim some other mthly claims (dunno what, didnt ask) which she said currently not available in her job.

Anyway, I just want to get others opinion on this cos she said I am not ambitious enough to demand higher salary if I am out looking for new jobs.
giving up the 4.6 doesn't guarantee her getting around that figure in the near term when she choose to stick with her current job, not to forget the loss of some epf too. what are the other monthly claims available in her new job?

I think she should try taking up the new challenge despite the 200 bucks lesser, it's not that much either, I concur with the below forumer.
and yes, you may not be ambitious enough to pursue higher. I got slightly more than 5k at 27 and promoted. So I guess you really have to put in some extra effort and extra miles to be more outstanding that the rest.

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Sep 9 2014, 05:14 PM)
Seen she had go for interview and get the job offered. Mean she intended & decided to jump. Just the paid is not as expected.

If this is a good company with good career prospect, why reluctant to join? Just look forward for long term and RM200 is not a big different.

Most company have HR policy which limit the range of increase for new joiner. Just give and take, you can't have everything you want.
yup, i have the same opinion like you, career prospect should come before the RM200.
some HR have the policy of giving out a max of 30% to prise someone over, I know there will be people disagree with this point, but this is how our Malaysian HR works. They claim everything in your offer letter is P&C, should not be discussed with anyone else, but they want to know their candidates' current salary. what a hypocrite, at least to me.

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Sep 9 2014, 11:04 PM)
Job Title : operation/field engineer
Job Desciption : offshore work
Years spent in company : 8 months
Company : local contractor
Industry : oil & gas
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : fresh grad
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree
salary : rm7k (basic+offshore allowance)

Kinda feel that I'm underpaid, so will move to a new company soon. Already got the offer.
wow, 7k for a fresh graduate cool... but before you demand for more money, maybe you need to gain more exposure before asking?
hardly work for a year yet already feeling underpaid? fuuhhh.... really budak lagi.. lol.. kidding, anyway, what's your next offer like, wanna share?

TStehoice
post Sep 17 2014, 11:03 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 17 2014, 06:08 PM)
Working on offshore oil rig is a demanding job. Not many people have the skills and commitment to do such a job, hence why he deserves the salary. People think you work offshore like shaking leg in office all day.. no, it's dangerous and tiring work..

I also don't understand this mentality of feeling like you cannot ask for more due to being a newbie at work... If you feel like you deserve a higher salary, chances are, you deserve to be paid more..

What's the worst that could happen if you ask for more money? They'll put you in your place or reject the offer. I doubt they'll fire you for asking for more.. unless you are a poor performer at work and your attitude stinks...If you ask politely and in a proper manner, you'd stand to earn more.
everyone entitled to their own opinion, whatever I think it doesn't matter to you.
do what you feel best for yourself. good luck if you think that's the best for you.
TStehoice
post Sep 26 2014, 03:07 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Sep 26 2014, 10:31 AM)
To further this, I feel gen Y is much fortunate than the gen X today. Fresh grad with a degree can get from RM2K salary compared with previously fresh grad gen X which got much much lesser.
but the same house which cost 150k back then cost 400k now ma.
so in a way, Get Y's purchasing power is much lower.
our purchasing power has been on the diminishing trend.
TStehoice
post Oct 1 2014, 01:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(MadKat @ Sep 29 2014, 02:08 PM)
IMO, the posting format lack of one important info. Location:
Salary differs from place to place, city to city all around the world.
okay, shall improve in the next posting onwards. also amended the first page, posting format.

QUOTE(z800r @ Sep 30 2014, 07:53 PM)
Job Title : production supervisor
Job Desciption : production line
Years spent in company : 0.5 month
Company : Local
Industry : production company
Tenure : permanent.
Employment Level : executive
Experience before joining : fresh grad
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor of Engineering
Salary: RM2100 under probation. Once confirmed, rm2350..

Okay or not?? Kinda low sad.gif  sad.gif
i think you're doing okay, just give it some time. experience comes first for you.
TStehoice
post Oct 17 2014, 11:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(busted10 @ Oct 17 2014, 08:51 AM)
Hi ZZMsia, Thank for the reply.

currently, this my 3rd job,i seek salary advise for upcoming job interview.
position Senior Executive, Finance & Corporate. what is standard salary range should i ask?

Thank again.
finance and corporate? corporate finance is it? shocking.gif

which company? then maybe I can help advising a bit.
TStehoice
post Oct 18 2014, 10:34 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(busted10 @ Oct 18 2014, 12:32 AM)
hi, thank for the reply, company name is alam flora sdn bhd..
Senior Executive, Finance & Corporate position as per email i received.
what's your scope like? not sure what you will be doing in your new role.
TStehoice
post Oct 19 2014, 01:39 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(busted10 @ Oct 19 2014, 01:32 PM)
Hr said more on acc payable side..anywork here before? Work life balance?
not sure sorry, i'm in corporate finance.
TStehoice
post Oct 19 2014, 05:10 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(busted10 @ Oct 19 2014, 03:06 PM)
Your job scope? Mind to share?
anything deal with corporate exercises, i.e. merger and acquisition, ipo, privatisation, bonus issue, rights issue, divestment and many more.....
evaluate company's performance, come out with recommendation. For own company, take care of the balance sheet too. debt, dividends, etc.
TStehoice
post Oct 21 2014, 04:00 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Oct 21 2014, 03:12 AM)
Your job scope seems interesting, smth like venture capitalist?
nola. in cf.
TStehoice
post Oct 29 2014, 02:27 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(entire @ Oct 29 2014, 01:45 PM)
anyone have tried open own small business? like chatime/coolblog? how much profit can get? budget to open? tired of makan gaji only, thinking doing small business
chatime? prepare 500k for the franchise fee first, not sure about coolblog. if you open those small burger stall, then seems more possible.
TStehoice
post Dec 12 2014, 10:17 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(enrius @ Dec 10 2014, 01:50 PM)
Job Title : ES Consultant
Job Desciption : Enablement services
Years spent in company : nearly a year
Company : Software MNC
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : None
Highest paper qualification/ education background : PhD. (Computer Science)
Annual Salary : Around RM100k with bonus+commission
one yr of experience can net you 100k a year, good what.
despite your strong background. which is still good.
TStehoice
post Feb 19 2015, 11:44 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Feb 19 2015, 09:00 PM)
Job Title : Senior Design Engineer
Job Desciption : PCB Design
Years spent in company : 10
Company : Sony EMCS Malaysia
Industry : Manufacturing
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master in Engineering Management
salary : RM5700

OK/not
tq
i'm no expert in your field, but i thought you could be deserving more than that, you are underpaid by your experience and qualification, in my opinion.
TStehoice
post Feb 20 2015, 12:08 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Osho @ Feb 20 2015, 12:04 AM)
Job Title : Audit Associate
Job Desciption : Perform statutory audit
Years spent in company : 3 years
Company : Medium size audit firm
Industry : Audit
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining : 1 year
Highest paper qualification : ACCA
salary : RM4k

OK?
3 years in audit..... with 1 year prior to joining...
thought you should be AM under fast tracked path.....
TStehoice
post Feb 22 2015, 12:55 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Osho @ Feb 21 2015, 03:39 PM)
1 year prior was tax associate. My firm very low turnover for managers and seniors. All managers are internally trained (no hired manager from other firms). So even my super seniors already manager level but still don't have AM title.

Jump?

What to expect if jump?
i see.... but 3 years of audit experience, could be am title ad... that's what i think.....
TStehoice
post Feb 23 2015, 05:07 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Osho @ Feb 23 2015, 01:25 PM)
How about pay? Am I underpaid?

What to expect if I wanna jump to commercial? 30% premium feasible or conservative?

I have headhunter wanna propose me to bigger audit firm (Top10) can pay almost 30% premium but I prefer not to work at audit anymore if wanna jump plus I know for sure Top10 workload sure at least double.
best is just get into big 4 instead of the rest of the top 10.
pay wise i really couldn't advise you much, i'm not in audit line myself.

maybe you can get into commercial with a bit more premium, but the progression may then slow down a lot compared to you staying in professional line.
if you don't wanna do audit anymore, consider investment banking? cf? dcm? ecm? etc?
but workload could be even more than audit tbh. if you're tired with heavy workload when you're young. maybe you can consider becoming those accounts exec in commercial. your call.
TStehoice
post Feb 24 2015, 01:14 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Feb 24 2015, 11:29 AM)
almost 3 years since my last update,

now - 4.5 years experience, electrical engineer, salary 4.1k.
4.5 years of experience and getting 4.1k? where's your location if we may know?
TStehoice
post Feb 24 2015, 03:16 PM

5,529 posts

good luck to you.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0286sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:19 AM