10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

more2teayap
post Apr 27 2013, 08:06 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Apr 27 2013, 08:55 AM)
http://www.head-fi.org/t/142410/diy-guide-...n-a-metal-grado

here ya go! housing is large enough so going to give it a shot

actually a bit dilemma'd I could make it into single side entry but hmmm...

things for me to consider

1. Single side entry
2. RCA or Mono 3.5mm
3. Will the extra parts behind the driver affect the sound quality?
you might want to retain the dual entry cable input, single entry tends to make the sound unbalance. just suggesting wink.gif
more2teayap
post Apr 28 2013, 07:15 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

wallet bleeding..
more2teayap
post May 11 2013, 11:15 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ May 11 2013, 03:39 PM)
ging,
the beshtest cable suppose to add nothing, like sommers and highly praised mogamis

but if you into cables w/ coloration/added zing/ajinomoto,go for it

thats what eq for, the pro guy use eq to tune sound
purists hate eq,they prefer a more twisty road depend on cables to change sound

hehe

quad core cables are just overkill for short ic, form follows function ging
Most of the audio enthusiast prefer their output to have less digital sound and more analogue, that's why they don't want to do digital EQ, however, analogue EQ are acceptable.
more2teayap
post May 12 2013, 04:45 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ May 12 2013, 01:17 PM)
youre sirius?

all well known audio industry brands now have digital eq as their top models (klark teknik, dbx, rane, behringer---just naming a few)
anything analog eq do, digital eq/dsp can do even better,,,,more flexible and accurate (high precision math/algo)
the premium eq for car audio/ice are now digital type too, analog eq are only for budget models

rane wrote an article 30yrs ago concerns the problem of analog eq, and had use constant-q to getaway from it
http://www.rane.com/note101.html
now they just use dsp

any sirius audio enthusiast should do sound correction/processing in digital domain and use analog end only for amplification,,,,,,,,,
nice bedsheet,,,,you've good taste[/spoiler]
---------------

id recommend industrial circular connector for your next project, since you like to use dozens of wire

e.g,,,, http://www.binder-usa.com/product-line/lis...ical-connectors

aerospace/military/medical/precision instrument standards (even kevin Gilmore use it)
2-8 contacts per connector
locking type available,,,,
for studio and industrial use ok, but for personal listening, many hifi sifu doesn't use EQ
more2teayap
post Jun 2 2013, 06:54 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Latest project
more2teayap
post Jun 3 2013, 01:02 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jun 3 2013, 11:17 AM)
looks good, more2teayap

isit teflon hookup wire?
it doesn't feels like teflon, some kind of very soft pvc.
more2teayap
post Jun 4 2013, 05:04 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 3 2013, 10:49 PM)
I feel like I'm getting noise from my USB ports out of nowhere there will be a loud hum according volume which fades in and out. And during the hum there will be loud distorted beeps. Getting a ferrite clamp if it doesn't work might build a new cable for my odac.

Any suggestions?
Try it on the second desktop/laptop, humming might be ground problem, ferrite might not work, but worth to try. beeps on DAC normally is driver problem. Correct me if i'm wrong.
more2teayap
post Jun 4 2013, 01:16 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 4 2013, 10:14 AM)
i also think it might be ground proble  but not sure how to fix that haha. its not driver problem because this happened on my E10 and also once I changed to ODAc also it happened so I think it might be USB problem
try it on other computer to make sure smile.gif
more2teayap
post Jun 4 2013, 03:40 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 4 2013, 02:32 PM)
Alright will try. Also any recommendation for making a power cable. Mine is pretty old and afraid that the inners are corroded or oxidized. Using 10+ year cable from generic PC psu to power my amp.
get some supra lorad power cable brows.gif

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jun 4 2013, 03:41 PM
more2teayap
post Jun 4 2013, 05:04 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jun 4 2013, 04:44 PM)
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articles/doeswirematter.htm
the generic power cable would do just fine, ging
actually it does makes difference, if the transferred current is not clean, then it affects the performance of an amp, do try it out in hifi shops. smile.gif
more2teayap
post Jun 4 2013, 06:31 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 4 2013, 05:16 PM)
i want find like belden 19364 or 83083 but cant find it anywhere online and need buy by roll. do you think jalan pasar has the 19364?
not quite sure about that. You need to ask around.

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jun 4 2013, 05:37 PM)
I tried  smile.gif 

medical/lab/precision equipments are more critical about power requirements etc than our consumer audio equipments, its funny to see these machines only use generic power cables hehe

im more concern about the power supply inside than the cable powers it,,,

weird eh, it did change my setup's sound signature some good some bad laugh.gif

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jun 4 2013, 06:32 PM
more2teayap
post Jun 13 2013, 08:08 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 13 2013, 02:46 AM)
would your 22awg silver cable fit into an IEM?

currently looking for 26AWG OFC or SPC for my GR07 that i wanna recable anywhere local I can get them?
canare l4e6s is 24awg, 22 i think is l2t2s size
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 04:36 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 24 2013, 09:27 PM)
where can i find techflex that can fit L4E6S and L-2T2S or maybe something that's soft and flexible like this?

http://cdn.overclock.net/a/af/af82ce13_IMG_2979.jpeg
So far I can't find genuine techflex locally, all overseas. Most local ones are just normal pvc
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 04:50 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 04:42 AM)
hmmm alright thanks was thinking of dual entry for fostex using combination of l2t2s and l4e6s

plug > l4e6s > y split > l2t2s > headphone

to keep the black insulation instead of the blue and white cables haha
both of their sound signature are almost the same, only L2T2S have slightly thicker mid lows. Why not try mixing other brands of cables? Oh btw, L4 have 4 have 4 cores right? why mix? hmm.gif
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 11:30 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 11:03 AM)
i dont want to remove the black insulation
but if you solder another cable on the Y split, wont that make it prone to damage from pulling?
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 11:46 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 11:37 AM)
than how do you propose i fix this predicament T.T I don't want the blue and white color to show
cheapest way is to heatshrink them
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 12:01 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 11:54 AM)
hmm is there any nylon multifilament sleeving around?
got, but most i find at jalan pasar smallest i found is 7mm, not sure got smaller or not. Mine i ordered from my supplier. 3mm
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 12:31 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 12:06 PM)
hmm with the insulation stripped is it still possible to use nylon?
hmm? Meaning?
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 01:57 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 12:41 PM)
Anything smaller than 3mm that can fit the blue and white cables?
you only want to fit 2 cables in 1 sleeve right?, i think 2 or 3mm will do
more2teayap
post Jun 25 2013, 02:22 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 25 2013, 02:04 PM)
the white and blue cables from the L4E6S and since it's dual entry yeah should be 2 cables 1 sleeve. Mind if I buy some nylon sleeving from you? I'm planning a dual entry removable cable mod. In addition going to try to do this as well

http://cdn.head-fi.org/a/a7/a7355cc6_CAL2.jpeg
how long do you need?

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:54 PM