12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v4, From 29-Nov, unlimited 1% cashback only

victorywp
post Mar 27 2014, 09:04 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Mar 27 2014, 04:27 PM)
i still don't get it...

Let's say if we take 10,000 and pay interest rate of 3% = 300,
So, we are only charge total 10,300. For 12 months, 10,300/12 = 858.33

So, after 12 months, we only pay additional 300 only which is 3%...how to get 5.49%?
it's easy to understand...

when you take and put rm10k in yearly fd, you can't touch the money until it mature 12 months later.
but you need to pay monthly installment of 858.33 every month = how do you get the money to pay?
if you have the additional money to pay the monthly installment, you don't even need to take the loan in the first place. laugh.gif

and if you take and put the rm10k in monthly fd, yes, the fd will mature monthly, so you can use the money to pay the monthly installment every month.
but as you pay the installment every month, your principal rm10k will be getting smaller every month, eventually you will unable to generate the same profit to pay off the fixed interest rate which was charged on the principal rm10k. nod.gif
victorywp
post Mar 28 2014, 03:12 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(mletee @ Mar 28 2014, 03:09 PM)
don't have information in their website..weird
yeah bcs still new, only received via sms...
victorywp
post Apr 2 2014, 10:06 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 2 2014, 09:52 PM)
1% cash back is so boring... but still I keep it... for use on car service, dining and shopping that don't takes in Amex.... Hmm... really considering Watami but I don't stay in KL...
use watami for the 3% quarterly cash back doesn't need to be in kl. laugh.gif nod.gif
victorywp
post Apr 11 2014, 05:15 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 11 2014, 04:34 PM)
Just sharing. Get a called from OCBC that offering cash 4k with 3% interest rate for 1 year.

Interest rate will be reduce if the amount you have settle early within 1 year.

No document is needed, phone call will do
that's a flat rate of 3% interest, which is not worth if you don't need the money.
victorywp
post Apr 11 2014, 07:31 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 11 2014, 07:05 PM)
Oh I see, Some more he said you are one of the selected customer... bla bla bla.

Said it is as low as interested offer, I straight away reject and he still want to talk and said good for business what... Just end the call.

But I have cancelled their credit card, but still, they can call me? Meaning that information is still active on their system, has yet to delete ??
but this offer supposed to be given to existing ocbc cc holders. bcs the offer that you going to take will be deducted from your credit limit.
victorywp
post Apr 12 2014, 09:55 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 12 2014, 12:14 AM)
3% one time charges for the monthly installment for 1 year.
If thats the case, not bad also hmm.gif Put in fix deposit, you can earn maybe 1%, rough estimation. haha... earn RM40 per year... good enough for a meal...
it's flat rate 3% means higher in effective rate which will be higher than fd rate = not worth.
victorywp
post Apr 12 2014, 11:21 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 12 2014, 10:36 AM)
You mean 3% per month/per annum? If flat rate 3% per annum... I think it is still worth.
i mean 3% flat rate per annum is still not worth to put in fd. unless the fd rate is higher than 5.5%.

why? bcs the effective rate of 3% flat rate per annum is 5.49%. you may check the conversion of rates here:
http://loanstreet.com.my/calculator/flat-t...calculator.html

further explanation as below:
QUOTE(victorywp @ Mar 27 2014, 09:04 PM)
it's easy to understand...

when you take and put rm10k in yearly fd, you can't touch the money until it mature 12 months later.
but you need to pay monthly installment of 858.33 every month = how do you get the money to pay?
if you have the additional money to pay the monthly installment, you don't even need to take the loan in the first place.  laugh.gif

and if you take and put the rm10k in monthly fd, yes, the fd will mature monthly, so you can use the money to pay the monthly installment every month.
but as you pay the installment every month, your principal rm10k will be getting smaller every month, eventually you will unable to generate the same profit to pay off the fixed interest rate which was charged on the principal rm10k.  nod.gif
victorywp
post Apr 12 2014, 09:59 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 12 2014, 02:30 PM)
I'm quite dumb of this(flame me if you guys wish), what's the difference between effective interest rate and interest rate?
the difference is between flat rate vs effective rate. explanation as per above your question.
victorywp
post Apr 13 2014, 11:07 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 12 2014, 10:03 PM)
Seems like got it, thanks.
QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 12 2014, 11:14 PM)
thanks victorywp, haha  tongue.gif I understand liao after plotting in excel. laugh.gif
But if in need of some cash, I think it is still quite worth, definitely better rate than ah long but do loose out to housing loan rate..  laugh.gif
you are welcome. it's good to share information here with each other and learn from each other. thumbup.gif nod.gif
victorywp
post Apr 15 2014, 03:14 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Apr 14 2014, 10:28 PM)
hi all sifus, mind to let me know any way to increase my credit limit on my OCBC Ti?
submit your latest payslip(s) or ea form or increment letter or any other documents to support your application to increase cl.
victorywp
post Apr 15 2014, 09:28 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 15 2014, 09:08 AM)
How long you have been using the card.
To make your application sure approved, make sure this is your second year using the card, else it will be harder hmm.gif
or at least after 6 months of using. nod.gif
victorywp
post Apr 16 2014, 11:06 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(6306324278 @ Apr 16 2014, 11:04 AM)
Once I get the trolley, and terminate it. I don't have to pay any fee right? Including the gst rm50
did you check the t&c? i can't be sure, but i think it should have a clause whereby you may need to use it for at least 6 months or something like that?

This post has been edited by victorywp: Apr 16 2014, 11:46 AM
victorywp
post Apr 17 2014, 10:11 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Apr 17 2014, 09:49 AM)
im using old titanium now..can i terminate it..reg for new titanium?
i want trolley bag  biggrin.gif
i think only for new cc applications right?

This post has been edited by victorywp: Apr 17 2014, 10:15 AM
victorywp
post Apr 18 2014, 03:55 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Apr 18 2014, 01:00 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Wouldn't it be too troublesome? Personally I feel very weird hassle even to maintain 2 cards, not to mention 3 cards. ohmy.gif
yeah, quite troublesome. for those who maintain more than 2 cc (with different cb features) will usually have an excel spreadsheet to keep track their transactions.
victorywp
post Apr 19 2014, 04:59 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Apr 19 2014, 03:29 PM)
anyone still using OCBC WMC? eversince i got it i have not utilise much. feel like canceling it already (lazy to wait til 1 yr). anyone pls tell me the benefit of this card
benefit? 1% cash back on every transaction with no maximum cap.
victorywp
post Apr 22 2014, 10:38 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(fornax @ Apr 22 2014, 10:31 AM)
According to reliable source, mobile banking app would be out within 1-2 months or so. Should be around June i guess.
great, i need the ocbc mobile banking app as i have 1 savings account, 1 housing loan account, and 1 renovation loan account with them (besides 2 ocbc cc). sweat.gif
victorywp
post Apr 23 2014, 11:53 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Apr 23 2014, 10:55 PM)

tempted by the 46 led tv offer ...free samsung ativ phone..
check online the price is rm2800 for the led tv sweat.gif
lol... they include the ativ phone cost into the tv price as well.
victorywp
post Apr 23 2014, 11:56 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 23 2014, 11:05 PM)
hmm, because of the system enhancement, 2 of my transactions on 05/04 somehow not included in my 11/04 statement. Another 50 days of interest free period for me, lol
that 2 transactions surely 5 digit expenses. that's why you are so happy to be able to save a lot with the 50 days interest free. right? biggrin.gif
victorywp
post Apr 24 2014, 04:46 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(cx2531 @ Apr 24 2014, 04:18 PM)
can obcb titanium use at oversea? but seems got charges right
yes, can be used at overseas with charges applicable.
victorywp
post Apr 25 2014, 10:15 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 25 2014, 10:09 AM)
lol, 5 digits with decimal place in between
just places that doesn't accept amex

time to get watami, need to plan when to apply so can fit the quarters for my insurance properly  tongue.gif
yes, you should get watami for all insurances. rclxms.gif

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0283sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:40 AM