The Official iPad Air Discussion Thread | V1, The Power of Lightness
k8118k
Nov 7 2013, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 6 2013, 03:47 PM) but even after deducting GST, the price in Singapore is still much more expensive after conversion to Ringgit. And FYI, not the full 7% GST will be refunded, i think they will charge 1% service charge for GST refund. Unless the shop at airport is selling it net of GST at the Duty Free zone. Is 64GB more than enough for an Ipad or 128GB will be more awesome? The price of the additional memory really very tempting - for the same amount of money, it just keep double up.  to be exact is 5.5% goods tax.
ImBoYbOy
Nov 7 2013, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 7 2013, 12:27 AM) i bought from hk. it is 64g wifi. it cost me rm2300. i will definitely go for ipad air due to its screen size. i hate smaller screen size. LOL . hk ? is it unlocked ? be honest i think there is no one like you that upgraded from iPad one. most of them i see is upgraded from iPad 3 or 4.. do you think u can again stick with the current iPad (iPad air) for few years like how u stick with the iPad until now ? yea. some peoples will go for iPad air bcoz of it's BIGGER's SCREEN ? tell me how u feel about the iPad ? is it's good enough ? do you face some problem like overheat or somethin else ?
SUSkimsim
Nov 7 2013, 07:24 AM
For myself I never like iPad design as heavy weight, like carry brick all the way.
After look at IPad Air, something tell me I gonna to get it...lol
crusher
Nov 7 2013, 01:28 PM
Still awaiting for the iPad Air come into Malaysia. Can't wait to get 128GB
bidfordun
Nov 7 2013, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(ImBoYbOy @ Nov 7 2013, 01:08 AM) LOL . hk ? is it unlocked ? be honest i think there is no one like you that upgraded from iPad one. most of them i see is upgraded from iPad 3 or 4.. do you think u can again stick with the current iPad (iPad air) for few years like how u stick with the iPad until now ? yea. some peoples will go for iPad air bcoz of it's BIGGER's SCREEN ? tell me how u feel about the iPad ? is it's good enough ? do you face some problem like overheat or somethin else ?  Of course unlocked. I nvr heard of locked ipad.  Haha I upgraded bcos the current ipad is simply not up to the tasks i wanna perform. I can stick wif the ipad air as long as it still has support for upcoming apps. It is definitely a million year light away from my ipad 1. everything feels snappier, it can handle any graphics intensive games i throw at it. I can feel the heat when i was playing some games, otherwise normal browing or flipboarding wont have any difference in terms of temperature difference.
silverchain
Nov 7 2013, 05:32 PM
No exact released date yet? hrmm :///
BarnabasCollins
Nov 7 2013, 05:57 PM
Im still waiting too. Do u think Machines will be lining up like the iPhone 5s launch?
TSwinkiedilwy
Nov 7 2013, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 7 2013, 07:24 AM) For myself I never like iPad design as heavy weight, like carry brick all the way. After look at IPad Air, something tell me I gonna to get it...lol don't hesitate any more. just get it!
ben3003
Nov 7 2013, 07:09 PM
apple malaysia still say nothing
Andrewtst
Nov 7 2013, 10:07 PM
After trying out iPad Air yesterday, I decide not going to get Air or mini 2.
iOS 7 is disappointment to me, the 100% pure smoothness no longer there. I had try 3 units from 2 different store at Singapore, I only can accept the device when running with Reduce Motion ON which basically change the flying out effect to fade.
The default flying out effect is too obvious jerking everywhere. I rate smoothness in iPad Air 90% which is much slower than score I give for custom Android 95% or Pure Android 98%. (I mean in latest flagship only).
Later I try out also iPhone 5s, the pure smoothness also not as 100% as previous iOS. I give it around 98 to 99%. The new iOS 7 by Apple no longer archive pure smoothness.
No bashing, I am saying my sincerity view after test out. iOS 7 is not running perfectly in higher resolution like iPad Air or iPad mini 2.
kunamiya
Nov 7 2013, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 7 2013, 10:07 PM) After trying out iPad Air yesterday, I decide not going to get Air or mini 2. iOS 7 is disappointment to me, the 100% pure smoothness no longer there. I had try 3 units from 2 different store at Singapore, I only can accept the device when running with Reduce Motion ON which basically change the flying out effect to fade. The default flying out effect is too obvious jerking everywhere. I rate smoothness in iPad Air 90% which is much slower than score I give for custom Android 95% or Pure Android 98%. (I mean in latest flagship only). Later I try out also iPhone 5s, the pure smoothness also not as 100% as previous iOS. I give it around 98 to 99%. The new iOS 7 by Apple no longer archive pure smoothness. No bashing, I am saying my sincerity view after test out. iOS 7 is not running perfectly in higher resolution like iPad Air or iPad mini 2. Ios 7 is a big change over , so you might give apple some times to make them perfection . personal tot , i also think ios 7 not look as good as ios 6 , cause the new ios 7 look good in white device but not the black device . because of the vibrant color
ImBoYbOy
Nov 7 2013, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 7 2013, 01:44 PM) Of course unlocked. I nvr heard of locked ipad.  Haha I upgraded bcos the current ipad is simply not up to the tasks i wanna perform. I can stick wif the ipad air as long as it still has support for upcoming apps. It is definitely a million year light away from my ipad 1. everything feels snappier, it can handle any graphics intensive games i throw at it. I can feel the heat when i was playing some games, otherwise normal browing or flipboarding wont have any difference in terms of temperature difference. LOL ya mie / sounds like me so outdated. yea. i believe u can stick with the iPad air for at least 3 years.  wondering when will be release in Malaysia  plan to get one too. about the storage will be a big problem for me. dunno should go for which one. so far u tried the iPad air. overall for the iPad air consider good enough or not ? opinion needed
Andrewtst
Nov 7 2013, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(kunamiya @ Nov 7 2013, 10:46 PM) Ios 7 is a big change over , so you might give apple some times to make them perfection . personal tot , i also think ios 7 not look as good as ios 6 , cause the new ios 7 look good in white device but not the black device . because of the vibrant color Ya, agree, wait Apple smooth it out 1st before I decide on buying or not.  I do love the new interface much, actually the new interface make me wanna buy it.
KKW
Nov 7 2013, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 7 2013, 11:10 PM) Ya, agree, wait Apple smooth it out 1st before I decide on buying or not.  I do love the new interface much, actually the new interface make me wanna buy it. Lol andrew, you also interested buying iPad? btw, did manage snap some photo? I still don't have time to visit singapore apple store
Andrewtst
Nov 7 2013, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 7 2013, 11:12 PM) Lol andrew, you also interested buying iPad? btw, did manage snap some photo? I still don't have time to visit singapore apple store  No oh, I didn't take any photo during tryout, a lot people wait for trying, so I not spend extra time taken photo.
KKW
Nov 7 2013, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 7 2013, 11:15 PM) No oh, I didn't take any photo during tryout, a lot people wait for trying, so I not spend extra time taken photo. I see. I thought you are buying Note 10.1 2014? The design of iPad Air and interface attract you?
TSOM
Nov 7 2013, 11:29 PM
well, maybe you can try Sony Xperia Z tablet and see how it compares to iPad Air.
Andrewtst
Nov 7 2013, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 7 2013, 11:19 PM) I see. I thought you are buying Note 10.1 2014? The design of iPad Air and interface attract you?  I think I may buying Note 10.1 - 2014, not sure yet, the current try out of iPad Air not really impress me much to taken it.
KKW
Nov 7 2013, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 7 2013, 11:31 PM) I think I may buying Note 10.1 - 2014, not sure yet, the current try out of iPad Air not really impress me much to taken it. Oh I see.. Before this I was considering between Note 10.1 2014 and iPad Air.. After deep consideration, I was wondering why I need a bigger size of Note 3 and it have most of features that note 3 has it.. Then I decided go for iPad Air because of different platform and unibody
TSOM
Nov 8 2013, 03:16 AM
how long before Apple stops updating iPad Air?? I want to know the lifespan.  I used to have an iPod Touch until it receives no update liao.