130 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Headphones SENNHEISER HEADPHONES, User may post ur experience of ur HP..

mADmAN
post Sep 29 2006, 11:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Sep 29 2006, 09:25 PM)
U haf a HD650 already, wow smile.gif anyways, if u haf one, why set ur max at rm200, thats bull! U shud get an 0404 at least. Unamped HD650 is badddd.
w00t!!! hang on.... the 650 aint mine... belongs to muh boss laugh.gif he sold off his <2 hour old 595 to my colleague and got his 650 from davis today hehehhehe. myself...im kinda eyeing on the audio technica AD400 or AD300 (do feel free to comment on these as well notworthy.gif)

so im asking on his behalf.

as for the 0404 can someone tell me what exactly is it? EMU0404 right??? but whats that?? is that a chip? if it is what cards is it available on? kinda need a semi-detailed explanation on this as i dunno jack about what 0404 is sweat.gif and please also state where to buy the card... keep in mind that his budget is 200 max

as for the amp... his brother is an audiophile and may have a solution for him but have to wait til he getsback to singapore first. so amp is secondary at the moment. more importantly would be the soundcard

thanks in advance

EDI: read the replies again and 1212M and zhaolu D2 were also mentioned. needless to say im rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 29 2006, 11:47 PM
yeahs4.1
post Sep 29 2006, 11:42 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

u can search about EMU0404 or EMu1212 at creative website there. it;s under professional soundcard.

1 thing for sure, 0404 is gonna cost more than 200..

good luck, good hunt
ijan
post Sep 30 2006, 12:18 AM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 29 2006, 09:47 PM)
If you think the 650 is laid back, 0404 might be a good complement for the 650....if you really want more detail and air...get the 1212m or the zhaolu D2 if you want 1212m's quality with lusher mid range

@blackhart
u will know it is not as good as you think when you amped it properly smile.gif
My point exactly, try it amped (i mean amped properly, no micro mini or pocket stuff amp here!) and u would take back that statement.

Tell ur boss la, got sum big bux on a high end headphone, need to get an almost same big bux to get a source and also roughly the same big bux to get an amp, its normal lerr. RM200 for a source, then ur boss shud haf stucked with HD555 and lower.
mADmAN
post Sep 30 2006, 12:42 AM

10,530 posts

what to do?? he already spent so much on the headphones so he feeling mafan wanna spend more on the sound card...

so cmon guys.. gimme a good recommendation within budget biggrin.gif
Blackhart
post Sep 30 2006, 12:46 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Please give me some recommendation on head-amps for HD650 drool.gif currently I'm only using Little Dot II+.
empire23
post Sep 30 2006, 01:02 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 30 2006, 12:46 AM)
Please give me some recommendation on head-amps for HD650 drool.gif currently I'm only using Little Dot II+.
Most Swear by the PPX Series by the Ruskis at Singlepower, but i guess for all intents and purposes, the M3 or M Cubed does a superb job, or the PPAv2, heck even a SOHA.

Well, for some reason, HD650s and Tube geeks go hand in hand. I generally assume it's the tubes softer nature that complements the HD650's low end emphasis on dark and fluid sounding bass and mids.
Blackhart
post Sep 30 2006, 01:44 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Don't think I can the aforementioned ones can be easily available here unsure.gif .Even PPAv2 and SOHA also good enough for HD650?Then my LD2+ should be doing a good enough job here wink.gif
empire23
post Sep 30 2006, 04:48 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 30 2006, 01:44 AM)
Don't think I can the aforementioned ones can be easily available here unsure.gif .Even PPAv2 and SOHA also good enough for HD650?Then my LD2+ should be doing a good enough job here wink.gif
The LD2+ isn't specifically designed around a headphone load and generally all they do is stick a resistor there to give the normal output a voltage drop high enough not to fry your poor cans.

Maxxed out PPAs with Black Gates, Elnas, RN55Ds, RN60Ds, Silver hookups, WBT RCA connectors, Hand matched FC JFET pairs and OPA637s are a fine way to go, although the BOM will cost you an arm leg and an ass, and if you add in a discreet power supply ala STEPS, with all the expensive Nichicons, Vishay chokes, LDOs and Soft Recovery Diodes. You can be sure that your cost will top out past insane (1.2k minimum per unit maxed out not inclusive of PSU, PSU, add another 500 tops)

If you're even more hardcore, go for a balanced setup. Twice the fun at twice the price. One amp and one PSU for each channel. Might as well throw in a ladder stepped attenuator, mylar foil shielding, copper wire braids and Tyco IEM con-filters while your at it tongue.gif

Well, as per the above, my suggestion is to go DIY, you tailor the sound to your liking, your ability to pay, your space and your needs. I'm sure there are tons of audiogeeks out there who are willing to build something to your specifications given the funds. Be it an M3, PPAv2, PRII, PIMETA, Beta22, Dynalo and Such.

Although, people seem to lurve the Dynalo and it's PSU for HD650s.

Anyways, i'm building a Maxed out PIMETA for backpack use tongue.gif, with dual OPA637s, an OPA627 in the ground, Quad Buffers per channel, Alps RK027 as a pot, Hand Matched JFETs, Linkwitz Crossfeed, Philips Soft Recovery Diodes, WIMA MKT-2Ps, Maxed out TREAD Regulator, and i'm stuck between Silmics and some old Philips caps which i bought for no apparent reason. Wanna buy lol?
Blackhart
post Sep 30 2006, 09:52 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Dude...all that jargons are making me go rclxub.gif .I'm the not the kind of animal to understand the concepts that lie beneath it's exterior as how you put it blush.gif .I can't list the specifications to build an amp, someone just offer me a finished product please?? tongue.gif .J/K I've been spending too much on audio already recently, better lay off from upgrades for now whistling.gif
Eokboy
post Sep 30 2006, 10:13 AM

BRIX!
1,599 posts

Hey do you already have a working PPA? Managed to build a PPA? Do you have had the time to build a PPA? At least got everything in your BoM?

I'm so stoned at college...So many amps to build, so little time and money.

I'm not rich enough to put OPA637s in a PIMETA.
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 30 2006, 10:23 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 30 2006, 09:52 AM)
I've been spending too much on audio already recently, better lay off from upgrades for now whistling.gif
We hear it first... laugh.gif
empire23
post Sep 30 2006, 02:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Sep 30 2006, 10:13 AM)
Hey do you already have a working PPA? Managed to build a PPA? Do you have had the time to build a PPA? At least got everything in your BoM?

I'm so stoned at college...So many amps to build, so little time and money.

I'm not rich enough to put OPA637s in a PIMETA.
Waiting for my SILMIC IIs to arrive before building em. Currently building the PIMETA, missing a Browndog adaptor, DIP20 Socket and some WIMAs. Got any? I'm willing to trade my over stock of OPAMPs.
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Sep 30 2006, 02:24 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 30 2006, 09:52 AM)
Dude...all that jargons are making me go rclxub.gif .I'm the not the kind of animal to understand the concepts that lie beneath it's exterior as how you put it blush.gif .I can't list the specifications to build an amp, someone just offer me a finished product please?? tongue.gif .J/K I've been spending too much on audio already recently, better lay off from upgrades for now whistling.gif
when you addicted to the item it won't stop...........you will keep upgrade it won't satisfied.
Blackhart
post Sep 30 2006, 04:20 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Knock it off guys!Must....control......POISON......
Eokboy
post Sep 30 2006, 06:39 PM

BRIX!
1,599 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Sep 30 2006, 02:23 PM)
Waiting for my SILMIC IIs to arrive before building em. Currently building the PIMETA, missing a Browndog adaptor, DIP20 Socket and some WIMAs. Got any? I'm willing to trade my over stock of OPAMPs.
Silmic IIs for local bulk caps!? shocking.gif

DIP20 socket for multiloop resistors? I just cut some SIP strips, easier to read the labels on the PCB. And those tall WIMAs, 3.3uF MKS2 costs RM13 at Farnell. Browndogs can be had from Top-gun.

Oh shi- off topic
empire23
post Oct 1 2006, 03:31 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Sep 30 2006, 06:39 PM)
Silmic IIs for local bulk caps!?  shocking.gif

DIP20 socket for multiloop resistors? I just cut some SIP strips, easier to read the labels on the PCB. And those tall WIMAs, 3.3uF MKS2 costs RM13 at Farnell. Browndogs can be had from Top-gun.

Oh shi- off topic
Told you it was total overkill tongue.gif, planning solder over the resistors to make them hard so you can plug them in easily. That reminds me, where does i get high silver content eutectic solder? Stoopid pasar road Mekko solder, like sial only, lousy flowing characteristics. WTF? MKS2 so mahal?! Dem lazy to go farnell. Maybe we DIYer should get a bulk thread of sorts pinned, each person specializing in a few parts.

So far the only cheap piece of equipment i've been satisfied with is my Hakko Dash and Thermaltake Volcano 7+ combo. Why thermaltake? Makes an awesome iron holder and the thin fins can be used to scrape off excess carbon at the tip. Awesome combo i tell you. Just wish i could save up for some helping hands and superepoxy laugh.gif
ijan
post Oct 1 2006, 10:14 AM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

come on, a helping hand is like RM10-15 only lerr, unless ur talking bout real helping hand by rental tongue.gif u scrape ur solder by using the fin, ur tip wont last long la kawan.
empire23
post Oct 1 2006, 03:18 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Oct 1 2006, 10:14 AM)
come on, a helping hand is like RM10-15 only lerr, unless ur talking bout real helping hand by rental tongue.gif u scrape ur solder by using the fin, ur tip wont last long la kawan.
Kenot tahan lah, the solder just heats up so well after i scrape it. Nevermindlah, bukannye irons cost 500 ringgit each mah tongue.gif

Best helping hands? = Human lol. But if terbakar with soldering iron, kena tampar laugh.gif

Anyways wanna ask you dudes, how good are Philips capacitors, seems to be old but in pretty good shape, designation KO 138.
Eokboy
post Oct 1 2006, 05:02 PM

BRIX!
1,599 posts

Lol thread hijacked by DIYers!

DIY thread resurrected!
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Oct 1 2006, 08:04 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Oct 1 2006, 05:02 PM)
Lol thread hijacked by DIYers!

DIY thread resurrected!
Not that kena Hijacked by DIYers, sometime may off the topics thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

130 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:26 AM