so..
anyone can suggest me a good amp for hd 555? or izit good enuff without amp?
Headphones SENNHEISER HEADPHONES, User may post ur experience of ur HP..
Jun 12 2006, 10:02 PM
1,324 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Subang JAya USj |
so..
anyone can suggest me a good amp for hd 555? or izit good enuff without amp? |
Jun 12 2006, 10:21 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
Jun 12 2006, 11:49 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(Renovatio @ Jun 12 2006, 09:56 PM) Friend, you are a bit too fast in replying everyone Well hard to say since i haven't heard many myself. But like all good enthusaists, we'll take the plunge, sooner or later Anyway, yeah I know I haven't tried a lot of amps, I am poor remember? hehe I may eat my own words if I get to try LittleGhost's PPAv2 later, but maybe I won't. We never know Sound quality is very subjective no matter how scientifically (or financially) you want to prove the point. QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jun 12 2006, 09:56 PM) Geminist, lol, i'm not really a person of selling stuff unless i really don't use them. But i have always liked variety in audio, but i guess i've attached to these cans for now lol. Anyways, it's good having a good bench can. Probably i'll stick to it If cannot remove the pad to wash. Use Febreez to spray on the comfy..Dat killing bacteria perfume..haha (Forgot how to spell correctly) Yea.. I knw u bought a thousand plus AKG headphone after sticking here for a moment too. Hope u enjoy the phone until now~! Empire23, So by any chances, when u will goin to let go your HD650.... at HALF PRICE ~! Hee.... |
Jun 13 2006, 12:17 AM
1,040 posts Joined: May 2005 From: north + south |
QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jun 12 2006, 03:36 PM) which requires a whole new circuit. whoever said that the PPA v2 is overbright and harsh and piercing didn't swap them default transistors for all i care. it's now smoother than a hybrid tube! ![]() yeah, the thing that you see inside the drawer is a PPAv2. i have a bad habit of dissasembling things after a while. esp after listening to a better setup. QUOTE(Renovatio @ Jun 12 2006, 03:47 PM) wah.. you really ordered PPAv2 from thedoctor? hehe I think he should thank me for recommending business for him thank you Renovatio. want a picture with an autograf? |
Jun 13 2006, 12:50 AM
3,980 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: HeAv3N |
QUOTE(thedoctor @ Jun 13 2006, 12:17 AM) which requires a whole new circuit. doctor do u listen the little dot3 b4 with philips hp1000?whoever said that the PPA v2 is overbright and harsh and piercing didn't swap them default transistors for all i care. it's now smoother than a hybrid tube! ![]() yeah, the thing that you see inside the drawer is a PPAv2. i have a bad habit of dissasembling things after a while. esp after listening to a better setup. thank you Renovatio. want a picture with an autograf? hw this ppav2 compare with little dot 3 plan to update my amp any idea with done a great job pair with hp1000 |
Jun 13 2006, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jun 13 2006, 12:50 AM) doctor do u listen the little dot3 b4 with philips hp1000? hw this ppav2 compare with little dot 3 plan to update my amp any idea with done a great job pair with hp1000 nope. but Categg (i think) mentioned that the LD3 is a whole lot better than the SOHA. and judging that i didn't class the PPAv2 as far better than the SOHA, so theoritically, the LD3 is -maybe-medium-far- better than the PPAv2. it's like this, in simpler English : LD3 to SOHA -> LD3 far better (he said that SOHA is way behind). PPAv2 to SOHA -> SOHA a lil bit behind (not far better, at least i class it as not far better). so that should put : LD3 ------------------------------- PPA v2 --- SOHA. LD3 ----------far better----------- PPAv2 -little/not-far-better- SOHA. see the length of LD3 and SOHA? yeah, way behind. |
Jun 13 2006, 01:13 AM
^ and i have no idea what type of amp should compliment the HP-1000. i myself never heard the HP-1000 nor the LD3, let alone to make suggestions for it.
and thus you could ignore my comments above. and no, it's not Categg personally. because chernloon tells me that, saying that Categg says that. so it's more like Categg mentioned that to chernloon who in turns mentioned to me. like everything else in Audio, it's subjective. you might not like the sound of HP-1000 and says that it sucks, or you might find it better and says that it's godly and was sent from heaven and that it beats the *cough*HD650*cough*. This post has been edited by thedoctor: Jun 13 2006, 01:18 AM |
Jun 13 2006, 01:22 AM
677 posts Joined: May 2005 From: 1s and 0s |
QUOTE(thedoctor @ Jun 13 2006, 01:08 AM) nope. but Categg (i think) mentioned that the LD3 is a whole lot better than the SOHA. and judging that i didn't class the PPAv2 as far better than the SOHA, so theoritically, the LD3 is -maybe-medium-far- better than the PPAv2. Heh doc, getting sarcastic aren't you? Let me offer my 2 cents again to clear things up. it's like this, in simpler English : LD3 to SOHA -> LD3 far better (he said that SOHA is way behind). PPAv2 to SOHA -> SOHA a lil bit behind (not far better, at least i class it as not far better). so that should put : LD3 ------------------------------- PPA v2 --- SOHA. LD3 ----------far better----------- PPAv2 -little/not-far-better- SOHA. see the length of LD3 and SOHA? yeah, way behind. I say the LD3 is a good match with the HD650 coz it was originally tweaked using the HD650. Other people don't nessacary think so eg. someone's AKG K701 don't really match it well.. Compared with SOHA, the tubey flavour of the LD3 stands out more. Doesn't mean that SOHA isn't good, just that it sounds not so exciting to my ears. Where the LD3 excells in flavour the SOHA stands out in being more neutral and cleaner (noise floor). I've listened to both and i say i can live with either one. Boils down to what you want and what equipment you gonna pair with it at the end of the day. I've never heard of the PPAv2 yet but i'm willing to believe that it's a class above the LD3 and SOHA. But then again it isn't really fair comparing solid state to tubes no? Hope this helps |
Jun 13 2006, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(Categg @ Jun 13 2006, 01:22 AM) Heh doc, getting sarcastic aren't you? Let me offer my 2 cents again to clear things up. I say the LD3 is a good match with the HD650 coz it was originally tweaked using the HD650. Other people don't nessacary think so eg. someone's AKG K701 don't really match it well.. Compared with SOHA, the tubey flavour of the LD3 stands out more. Doesn't mean that SOHA isn't good, just that it sounds not so exciting to my ears. Where the LD3 excells in flavour the SOHA stands out in being more neutral and cleaner (noise floor). I've listened to both and i say i can live with either one. Boils down to what you want and what equipment you gonna pair with it at the end of the day. I've never heard of the PPAv2 yet but i'm willing to believe that it's a class above the LD3 and SOHA. But then again it isn't really fair comparing solid state to tubes no? Hope this helps doh.. never knew that the SOHA aren't really that far behind the LD3. sorry for the sarcastic comments, can't really get my mind off seeing Japan losing to Australia. in 6 minutes! guess i'll take a short nap now before someone slaps me. and yes, the PPAv2 shouldn't be compared to both. they have different flavors altogether. different strongpoints, and different sound. just like the HP-1000 and HD650. darn, i just did it again. This post has been edited by thedoctor: Jun 13 2006, 01:46 AM |
Jun 13 2006, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(thedoctor @ Jun 13 2006, 01:44 AM) doh.. never knew that the SOHA aren't really that far behind the LD3. sorry for the sarcastic comments, can't really get my mind off seeing Japan losing to Australia. in 6 minutes! my godnessguess i'll take a short nap now before someone slaps me. and yes, the PPAv2 shouldn't be compared to both. they have different flavors altogether. different strongpoints, and different sound. just like the HP-1000 and HD650. darn, i just did it again. me oso my friend lose money ho ka cai i din bet bek to the topic dun ppav2 = soha(jz the name not same?) |
Jun 13 2006, 07:42 AM
510 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
PPAv2 is solid state amp, SOHA is a tube amp. the difference is huge
Jun 13 2006, 07:56 AM
Jun 13 2006, 03:20 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jun 12 2006, 09:56 PM) Geminist, but i thought you are a Grado guy? IMO Grado and sennheiser have like total opposite signatures If cannot remove the pad to wash. Use Febreez to spray on the comfy..Dat killing bacteria perfume..haha (Forgot how to spell correctly) Yea.. I knw u bought a thousand plus AKG headphone after sticking here for a moment too. Hope u enjoy the phone until now~! Empire23, So by any chances, when u will goin to let go your HD650.... at HALF PRICE ~! Hee.... |
Jun 13 2006, 03:41 PM
3,813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i am still looking for a Wider soundstage headphone.
haha.. Got any good recommendation? |
Jun 13 2006, 05:04 PM
2,380 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
@littleghost
My fren geminist was never a grado guy, haha |
Jun 13 2006, 05:39 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Jun 13 2006, 06:34 PM
2,503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://davis-online-store.com |
Yet another Sennheiser thread?
HD650 very good one... can pawned all the headphones on earth... Come come got installment plan *Holy crap |
Jun 13 2006, 07:58 PM
3,813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Davis... ur Senn really got installment plan...
12 or 24 months?! |
Jun 13 2006, 08:21 PM
Jun 13 2006, 09:18 PM
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:46 AM |