134 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

thenoobone
post Oct 11 2014, 07:09 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Oct 11 2014, 07:05 PM)
My girlfriend (soon to be wife) has a dream to open a pastry and bakery shop. However, she doesn't have any experience or any knowledge of it. Plan to fulfill her dream with our savings by renting or buying a lot in few years time (location not important yet). This will be our sideline business since business has better security than just working as employee until retire. Profitable or not is not the point, is about fulfilling her dream and have a steady and stable life with this business.

So my question is, is it better for her to learn by joining a pastry /bakery shop or to take diploma/degree to study it. I'm not sure about this industry whether is it worth to pour some money to study than learning it through real-life job right away.

Another question is, how much would it take to start this business? What kind of things I should take note?

Thanks alot smile.gif
Cook ownself sell online

Cookies and cakes ,
3rdEdition
post Oct 11 2014, 07:17 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Oct 11 2014, 07:09 PM)
Cook ownself sell online
Cookies and cakes ,
I think she would rather to have physical shop to sell them lol. But of course, that's a good idea before starting big to get some response from the people.

Thanks anyway smile.gif
thenoobone
post Oct 11 2014, 07:20 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Oct 11 2014, 07:17 PM)
I think she would rather to have physical shop to sell them lol. But of course, that's a good idea before starting big to get some response from the people.

Thanks anyway smile.gif
Why not try selling online?
u open physical shop ( invest )

Then end up the things that u coook not nice / no review / nobody knws

Or simply cook for fun and give out to frens / family ask them test.
philyong
post Oct 12 2014, 12:42 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Oct 11 2014, 06:46 PM)
Abang got hankypanky or not ? r  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
We are a fully licensed family spa. So I hope you respect and watch your words before you speak.
thenoobone
post Oct 12 2014, 03:56 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(philyong @ Oct 12 2014, 12:42 PM)
We are a fully licensed family spa. So I hope you respect and watch your words before you speak.
ok

This post has been edited by thenoobone: Oct 12 2014, 04:21 PM
Wan+
post Oct 16 2014, 06:08 PM

169 posts

Anyone can give any idea of salary structure for workers working at retail shop in shopping center like those shop selling shoes, sports item, clothing, boutique etc ???

LeoWillis
post Oct 16 2014, 07:00 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Wan+ @ Oct 16 2014, 06:08 PM)
Anyone can give any idea of salary structure for workers working at retail shop in shopping center like those shop selling shoes, sports item, clothing, boutique etc ???
For normal retail promoter should be:
basic salary rm900 (outskirt according to governmnet minium wage), rm1000~1200 in KL
commision 1~3%

SUSSammich!
post Oct 16 2014, 09:50 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Oct 11 2014, 07:17 PM)

Thanks anyway smile.gif
ya get response from ppl but dun sell online..

who the hell will order pastry online and wait u odeliver few days later? Going through the wrong way will only brrak your wife confidence.

Maybe try bake and give to kolik for free and get their feedback. Or can sell pasar malam.

Depends wat kind of bakery she want to do. If simple stuff probably not much. Investment mostly will be on the kitchen equipment like oven and stuff
thenoobone
post Oct 20 2014, 06:02 AM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Oct 16 2014, 09:50 PM)

who the hell will order pastry online and wait u odeliver few days later? Going through the wrong way will only brrak your wife confidence.

Maybe try bake and give to kolik for free and get their feedback. Or can sell pasar malam.

Depends wat kind of bakery she want to do. If simple stuff probably not much. Investment mostly will be on the kitchen equipment like oven and stuff
How u know people dont order bakery via online?
ONLINE MUST BE POSTAGE?
CAN MEET ON SPOT AND COLLECT?

Why so sceptical ? You open shop but then failed = learning lesson ?
So ezy is it life , not all gifted or have enuf money to start up shop , online is good base.

nyunyu
post Oct 20 2014, 06:26 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Oct 16 2014, 09:50 PM)

Not sure if you've done your homework or pick a logic on top of your head randomly but this is common practice. Some sought after bakery does take order online and deliver it few days or weeks later. Take kuih raya business, for the popular ones, they have huge backorder.

My suggestion, maybe can sell a "dried" pastry and package it right with good designed boxes and labels. Other than selling them online, market it to convenience stores near your place and expand from there.
SUSSammich!
post Oct 20 2014, 12:52 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Oct 20 2014, 06:02 AM)
How u know people dont order bakery via online?
ONLINE MUST BE POSTAGE?
CAN MEET ON SPOT AND COLLECT?

Why so sceptical ? You open shop but then failed = learning lesson ?
So ezy is it life , not all gifted or have enuf money to start up shop , online is good base.
QUOTE(nyunyu @ Oct 20 2014, 06:26 AM)
Not sure if you've done your homework or pick a logic on top of your head randomly but this is common practice. Some sought after bakery does take order online and deliver it few days or weeks later. Take kuih raya business, for the popular ones, they have huge backorder.

My suggestion, maybe can sell a "dried" pastry and package it right with good designed boxes and labels. Other than selling them online, market it to convenience stores near your place and expand from there.
ookiez if u say so...

can u show me example of website successfully do this online bakery thing?
thnx
Razer.Ken
post Oct 20 2014, 03:16 PM

902 posts

Anyone making money online through advertistment here?
pchan
post Oct 22 2014, 05:56 PM

161 posts

My sister is thinking to place her homemade recipe drinks (something like soymilk,seaweed ,lemonade jelly ) for selling at restaurant/kopitiam .

Anyone from fnb field can give me some insights on how much they usually charge as commissions? She is targeting to sell 30 packets per day for the price of RM3 per cup.
My sis has no prior experience in fnb at all....

whyseej00
post Oct 23 2014, 02:06 PM

731 posts

I want to move to Ipoh to start a business and stay there but not sure what to do. Any sifus here in Ipoh looking for partner? Or staying in Ipoh, have a business plan and looking for partner? PM me and we can discuss further
pisces88
post Oct 23 2014, 04:21 PM

3,971 posts

anyone has experience doing room rentals to foreigners on holiday using condos or apartments?
SunofaBeach
post Oct 24 2014, 01:24 AM

413 posts

Hi all,

I have been trying to look for business planning guidance in LYN and it seems not a lot were discussed.

I would like to share my part here.

I am planning to utilise my free time and skills providing services in writing business plan for any entrepreneur who is thinking to start a business but lack of confidence to hit the go button or strong business plan to support the business funding from their investors.

There are many keen people who wanted to have a go on their own business failed to even getting a start due to a long list of unknown areas and lack of capital. Many of them may not be qualified for getting loans or grants, so the next helper would be convincing people to invest in their business. In order to achieve that, there are a series of work to do from defining the actual business mission to preparing financial forecast, calculating ROI and risk as well as many aspects in setting up business.

At the outcome of my service, I hope to help my clients not only in better clarification of how his/her business could be rolled out, but also to achieve more confidence in inviting investors.

I started this only a few months ago and one of my best achievement was I have helped a small entrepreneur in writing his business plan who wanted to set up a small manufacturing plant but lack of capitals and not qualified for any loans. I am pleased that my help allowed him to successfully convinced a total of RM 700k funding from his friends and relatives which now enable him to set his foot on the path of his business idea. The great thing about this was he only paid me little fees for my time and effort, in return he earned a key to open his door which was my great pleasure.

For the pleasure of seeing a business idea take off successfully, I wish to continue giving such help to any growing seed. wink.gif

SunofaBeach
post Oct 24 2014, 01:41 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 23 2014, 04:21 PM)
anyone has experience doing room rentals to foreigners on holiday using condos or apartments?
I would like to share some of my experience.

During my time in the UK, such business is called B&B (Bed and breakfast). Many foreigners appreciate living the local life and eating the local specialties. I have been to both B&B and hotels which I would say some B&B did give a lot of good memories which you probably rare to feel from hotel stay.

Depends on location, can be a really profitable and meaningful business.

A friend of mine who started when he was a student, he rented out his spare rooms to tourists to UK and even the locals who travel around the country. The friend did not really do for living but he had accumulated a long list of feedback from his guests and now he does not need to pay his rent as all the spare rooms are often booked and he sometimes make extra pennies.

There are a lot of areas to consider in such business but if you are in suitable locations, it might be a worth try nod.gif
Razer.Ken
post Oct 24 2014, 09:35 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Oct 23 2014, 02:06 PM)
I want to move to Ipoh to start a business and stay there but not sure what to do. Any sifus here in Ipoh looking for partner? Or staying in Ipoh, have a business plan and looking for partner? PM me and we can discuss further
Why Ipoh? Better market meh?
Razer.Ken
post Oct 24 2014, 09:35 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Oct 23 2014, 02:06 PM)
whyseej00
post Oct 24 2014, 09:44 AM

731 posts

QUOTE(Razer.Ken @ Oct 24 2014, 09:35 AM)
I just want to stay in Ipoh. Makes sense to start business there. If No business opportunity then better not move there

134 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:22 AM