8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

35% Drop In Job Vacancies, Any of you got problem getting job??

TSKOHTT
post Oct 23 2013, 09:55 PM

1,388 posts

QUOTE(lampard53 @ Oct 23 2013, 04:41 PM)
hai i want to know at what section in bookstore can i get one of those books? noob here sorry  sweat.gif
Can check with the PIC of the MPH....

In between, there are two pinned thread in LYNs which talked about CV and interview preparation...should be useful for us.
SUSDharma123
post Oct 23 2013, 10:42 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 22 2013, 11:23 PM)
Wow. Bro I wasn't saying its your fault wei. Why you sound so bitter? Im just telling you tht is how it is supposed to be and I acknowledge tht there is a huge gap between reality and expectation but seriously just because your company is shitty you wanna push the shit to your auditors? And say its their fault now? Why are we the scapegoat for the shit the company or your predecessor handed to you? And I still dont think im wrong about saying its not supposed to be the auditors role to dig for documents and prepare schedules. Just because u had thr tough luck of getting screwed by your clients in the past, why do you want to curse the future generations to follow your fate?
Yes it is very easy for you to say that is is not suppose to be the auditor role to dig documents. But you are not in the client's shoes.

Its not just me, any job that you will go into next time, you will have to clear shiit. Yes, your predecessor won't be there to teach you how its done and there is a lot of shiit to clear. If there is no shiit, the company won't be bother to hire you. They hire you to solve shiit, that is what commercial job is about.

And don't be thinking that your co-workers will be helping you, guide you and teach you. This is not audit where the senior will provide you with the training. Once you are in commercial, you're on your own, you have to figure everything yourself. I don't like this situation as much as you will, but this is something most of us have to face.

Therefore, its not my tough luck, it is the tough luck that every auditor has to face when they make the transition from audit to commercial.

The thing is, audit firms like EY and BDO, they will dig for the information. I am especially impress with BDO, they are so independent, my boss likes them. Unlike PWC, they seem very spoonfed.

In my past 3 jobs, I have listen to finance bosses make this joke time and tme again, not to give the auditor too much info. Why? Because when you explain to them, they come back and ask more questions. Most of the time they don't understand at all, keep on asking questions. I was once an auditor, so it is understandable that auditors ask questions, because they are not in the shoes of the client doing the work. But to ask for 3k start pay, based on the knowledge thay have, i agree on this matter.
SUSDharma123
post Oct 23 2013, 10:44 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(lampard53 @ Oct 23 2013, 04:41 PM)
hai i want to know at what section in bookstore can i get one of those books? noob here sorry  sweat.gif
aiyo you can search it in the job section la.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 24 2013, 12:04 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(septzz @ Oct 22 2013, 11:29 PM)
who in their sane of mind would do that? I myself graduate from oversea also have a hard time to find a job. Even giving the chance for interview is also not easy these days....
from any of these schools?

http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2012/1...aphic-popup.jpg

discuss further;

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004034
SUSchickenshit36
post Oct 24 2013, 12:50 PM

509 posts

Don't know how it applies in here in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by chickenshit36: Oct 25 2013, 11:24 AM
gloomberg
post Nov 4 2013, 11:44 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Oct 23 2013, 10:42 PM)
Yes it is very easy for you to say that is is not suppose to be the auditor role to dig documents. But you are not in the client's shoes.

Its not just me, any job that you will go into next time, you will have to clear shiit. Yes, your predecessor won't be there to teach you how its done and there is a lot of shiit to clear. If there is no shiit, the company won't be bother to hire you. They hire you to solve shiit, that is what commercial job is about.

And don't be thinking that your co-workers will be helping you, guide you and teach you. This is not audit where the senior will provide you with the training. Once you are in commercial, you're on your own, you have to figure everything yourself. I don't like this situation as much as you will, but this is something most of us have to face.

Therefore, its not my tough luck, it is the tough luck that every auditor has to face when they make the transition from audit to commercial.

The thing is, audit firms like EY and BDO, they will dig for the information. I am especially impress with BDO, they are so independent, my boss likes them. Unlike PWC, they seem very spoonfed.

In my past 3 jobs, I have listen to finance bosses make this joke time and tme again, not to give the auditor too much info. Why? Because when you explain to them, they come back and ask more questions. Most of the time they don't understand at all, keep on asking questions. I was once an auditor, so it is understandable that auditors ask questions, because they are not in the shoes of the client doing the work. But to ask for 3k start pay, based on the knowledge thay have, i agree on this matter.
Being on the commercial/client side before, I have to concur, except about EY BDO since I have not dealt with them before. There are tons of 'issues' in commercial, usually those 'sou jao xi' from previous or current seniors who are bound to be there for the rest of their life.

But what I do notice from some PWC auditors are that they are not educated on the 'client-dealing' front, ie EQ/IQ imbalance. Always ticking people off, have a high sense of entitlement with no regard or respect for the client.

This post has been edited by gloomberg: Nov 4 2013, 04:14 PM
SUSDharma123
post Nov 4 2013, 01:37 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 4 2013, 11:44 AM)
Being on the commercial/client side before, I have to concur, except about EY BDO. There are tons of 'issues' in commercial, usually those 'sou jao xi' from previous or current seniors who are bound to be there for the rest of their life.

But what I do notice from some PWC auditors are that they are not educated on the 'client-dealing' front, ie EQ/IQ imbalance. Always ticking people off, have a high sense of entitlement with no regard or respect for the client.
The pwc auditors think they are the top tier, crem de la crem, so they think they entitled to ask any question. Schedule also have to do for them, no idea what they learn. That is why when commercial hire them,, they hire them to do corporate work.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2013, 02:20 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Nov 4 2013, 01:37 PM)
The pwc auditors think they are the top tier, crem de la crem, so they think they entitled to ask any question. Schedule also have to do for them, no idea what they learn. That is why when commercial hire them,, they hire them to do corporate work.
Awesome! Corporate work sounds good to me.
SUSDharma123
post Nov 4 2013, 04:29 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2013, 02:20 PM)
Awesome! Corporate work sounds good to me.
Depends...if you do for our blady china man listed companies, could be quite boring.

Some may even be consol job.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2013, 04:57 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Nov 4 2013, 04:29 PM)
Depends...if you do for our blady china man listed companies, could be quite boring.

Some may even be consol job.
Consol okay what.. What most people want after leaving audit is a 9 to 5 job rite. Tired of the hours.
(then after 1 year they complain about lack of progression)
SUSDharma123
post Nov 5 2013, 10:25 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2013, 04:57 PM)
Consol okay what.. What most people want after leaving audit is a 9 to 5 job rite. Tired of the hours.
(then after 1 year they complain about lack of progression)
Consol job very boring la. Have to chase subsi and assoc co for accounts. Bosses no appreciate you, hire you for sake of consol only. No future in conso job.

Then corporate job like raising equity or financing for your co also quite boring. Usually is those china man co who want to get access to these funds because their co no money. At first they give you good pay rise, after that your salary cannot increase, no increment.

Better go work for merchant bankers or RAM.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 5 2013, 10:42 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Nov 5 2013, 10:25 AM)
Consol job very boring la. Have to chase subsi and assoc co for accounts. Bosses no appreciate you, hire you for sake of consol only. No future in conso job.

Then corporate job like raising equity or financing for your co also quite boring. Usually is those china man co who want to get access to these funds because their co no money. At first they give you good pay rise, after that your salary cannot increase, no increment.

Better go work for merchant bankers or RAM.
merchant banker or ram very good progression ka? I tot they oso quite messed up one.

SUSDharma123
post Nov 5 2013, 10:52 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 5 2013, 10:42 AM)
merchant banker or ram very good progression ka? I tot they oso quite messed up one.
Dunno lar, I never took this path. I went to do factory stuff instead.
gloomberg
post Nov 5 2013, 12:51 PM

510 posts

merchant banker = corporate banker?
ram = rating agency malaysia? Good la, who say not good. High in market value, after a couple of years working. Exit opportunities are plenty too.
Zara Anbalagan
post Nov 15 2013, 09:48 AM

45 posts

Hi Guys ,may be this can help you all..

IF you're looking for a job desperately and would love to have a job in OIL & GAS companies in Malaysia .

Please register at http://petrojobsasia.com/ and apply for the jobs which meets your qualification with ABSOLUTELY NO FEE.

And this is no scam ..

Watch our corporate video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnLjp-lIupM or email me at zara@petrojobsasia.com for more details.
badyuan
post Nov 15 2013, 01:19 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:52 PM)
This star is talking crap la.
Now is October ya know? It is off peak period. No surprise there is drop in job vacancies.

I so far got two job offers. Still ok what.

Stupid star got no statistical evidence, simply go and say it is due to the increase in retirement age. So unprofessional this star journalists. If you see UK newspaper all their titles are backed by statistics.
Statistics can simply made up only mah, din't u oways heard "according to a research done by UK bla bla bla" , I oways wonder how reliable are those data hmm.gif

gaeria84
post Nov 15 2013, 01:54 PM

837 posts

Not really, I just went for an interview today. It's not what I wanted though, so I will reject it when the time comes. laugh.gif
SUSDharma123
post Nov 16 2013, 05:46 PM

229 posts

Don't know mang, I been out of this industry for a long time.
ryan18
post Nov 16 2013, 11:21 PM

2,406 posts

accounts assistant can jump into tax associate/consultant in big4 ka?let say if have 3 yr experience + CPA (without CPA 3yr work experience,only pass all the professional papers)
will enter as fresh associate since big4 might discount work experience or will be offered maybe senior?

NoOne82
post Dec 1 2013, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 16 2013, 11:21 PM)
accounts assistant can jump into tax associate/consultant in big4 ka?let say if have 3 yr experience + CPA (without CPA 3yr work experience,only pass all the professional papers)
will enter as fresh associate since big4 might discount work experience or will be offered maybe senior?
as someone with almost 4 yrs experience in a big 4 firm, you'll start as 1st year associate.....after you applied and get called up for interview, ask your interviewer (most likely managers/partners) specifically if there's any chance of you getting promoted to 2nd year associate after working for 6 mths (most big 4 firms have half yearly performance review for promotions)... I would say the answer you'll get is yes.... but in all big 4 firms, every staffs is assigned with a performance manager (someone who monitors your performance based on reviews given by your seniors or other managers) and whether or not a staff gets promoted majority of the time depends on the performance managers decisions.... I have seen staffs who have previous job experience get promoted to 2nd year associate after 6 months.....it all depends on performance (how fast you are in learning and getting the things done correctly, your attitude, your PR skills as it is important to get ppl to be fond of you..etc)

they will not offer you a senior position coz obviously you can't lead a team as you dont' even have basic audit skills.....

but, audit is not everything... what we know in any particular company is very limited as we just sort of "touch and go" at every job coz deadline and time cost is crucial in our field.... thus, an auditor in a big 4 who then transfer to business advisory/internal audit/tax would have to re-learn new skills......

however, if I am you, I'll apply to be an auditor in big 4 as a 1st year associate as what you learned would be valuable if you plan on being an accountant in future......

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:50 AM