LYN Cycling V9, Racing/Road bikes- Ironman Malaysia 2014

malleus
post Oct 21 2013, 09:50 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(djay16 @ Oct 21 2013, 08:54 PM)
I think I will take a look around bike shops then get back to this forum,

So far I've been to 2 boutique bike shops and the cheapest one had was RM1000+ and another was RM400 (I think), I really feel noob abt the price range of bike haha

Any suggestion for place with the most basic kind of bike, stuff like light material and special functions or gears don't matter to me, haha I thought of finding those typical bike you see in Japanese movies with the basket in front Lol
an entry level folding bike should be just nice actually. the one I mentioned, the Raleigh Uno while a bit on the heavy side and not as fancy as the more expensive ones, is built to last. and you can fold it away for storage when not in use too
danielcmugen
post Oct 21 2013, 10:15 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(xEpicFailGuy @ Oct 21 2013, 05:59 PM)
user posted image.
Probably like this type?
Thx for the pic, looks okay actually.

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 21 2013, 06:04 PM)
why don't you just give up on the hitch type since your car might not have it?

it's never gonna look nice.. it's more for function than to look good...be realistic about it...
How about the conventional type? Will it have anything stuck on the car permanently?
incubus_skj
post Oct 22 2013, 12:00 AM

oh mai gotto
1,749 posts

going to upgrade my wheels in these few days' time but unsure of which one having the most bang for buck. already asked around the penang outlets that sell tubular carbon wheels and these are my options:-

Reynolds 32 SLG - RM4050 (KSH)
Oseous 58 - RM4688 (Specialized Bayan Baru)
Zipp 404 - RM5500 (Giant shop)

really wanted the Reynolds 46 SLG but there's no stock at the moment :/

are there any other shops in penang that's selling other carbon rim brands? My budget around RM4k+ nia with tyres, so the Zipp is already out out out...

butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 12:08 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:11 PM)
Hi, Any good clipless pedal and shoes to recommend?
pedal <rm200 , shoes <rm300 any suggestion??
pedal, shimano 105 @ rodalink should be around RM150...

shoes, exustar, some models of scott, some models of diadora, some models of gaerne is available for around RM250~RM300, maybe even some shimano's...but, that is not important as the fitting might not suite you... best to go give it a try and then decide yourself....
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 12:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(djay16 @ Oct 21 2013, 08:49 PM)
The place I want to go is 30 secs drive haha, actually i dont walk sometimes because it rains and have been stuck at the park due to rain, with bicycle hope can pedal back quick enough haha, I rather not drive also
then an umbrella seems more like a solution to your problem rather than a bicycle...however fast a bike can be... you still get wet....

QUOTE(djay16 @ Oct 21 2013, 08:54 PM)
I think I will take a look around bike shops then get back to this forum,

So far I've been to 2 boutique bike shops and the cheapest one had was RM1000+ and another was RM400 (I think), I really feel noob abt the price range of bike haha

Any suggestion for place with the most basic kind of bike, stuff like light material and special functions or gears don't matter to me, haha I thought of finding those typical bike you see in Japanese movies with the basket in front Lol
you can go around klang meru or kapar there as i saw some old bike shops still there... in klang also there is a place specializing in selling those used japanese bikes for only a couple hundred bucks... usually without gears...might suit you...

http://japanusedbicycle.blogspot.com/2011/...d-bicycles.html
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 12:13 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 21 2013, 10:15 PM)
How about the conventional type? Will it have anything stuck on the car permanently?
no, once the hook straps are taken off... the whole rack is lifted off the car and folded away nicely..

roof type on the other hand will have the base mounted on the roof unless you want to spend a good 30 minutes everytime you want to go out ride....
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 12:26 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 22 2013, 12:00 AM)
going to upgrade my wheels in these few days' time but unsure of which one having the most bang for buck. already asked around the penang outlets that sell tubular carbon wheels and these are my options:-

Reynolds 32 SLG - RM4050 (KSH)
Oseous 58 - RM4688 (Specialized Bayan Baru)
Zipp 404 - RM5500 (Giant shop)

really wanted the Reynolds 46 SLG but there's no stock at the moment :/

are there any other shops in penang that's selling other carbon rim brands? My budget around RM4k+ nia with tyres, so the Zipp is already out out out...
what are you looking for in the wheels? aero factor, weight, stiffness?

oseous is the sweedish edco engineering wheels right? i think oseous is no longer in their lineup this year... if you want the deeper forty-six, why not you wait for it rather than rush now and then regret down the road....the thirty two on the other hand in tubular form is a very light wheel at sub 1100 grams... you might want to do a deeper research on the pads though as i heard it works the best with it's own cryo blue brake pads....you need to make sure you can acquire them rather easily when you pad runs out...

zipp on the other hand can work with their own cork pads, or sram or swiss stop yellow king gold pads very well...

there is no real bang for buck about this wheels...zipp has their argument on how their good firecrest profile works in windy conditions and also at yaw angles (if your 5.5k one is a new 11s firecrest tub)...reynolds on the other hand argues that their swirl lip generator works well under the design of paul lew... edco on the other hand, not sure... i think it's just swiss engineering you have to trust..

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 22 2013, 12:28 AM
incubus_skj
post Oct 22 2013, 12:43 AM

oh mai gotto
1,749 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 22 2013, 12:26 AM)
what are you looking for in the wheels? aero factor, weight, stiffness?

oseous is the sweedish edco engineering wheels right? i think oseous is no longer in their lineup this year... if you want the deeper forty-six, why not you wait for it rather than rush now and then regret down the road....the thirty two on the other hand in tubular form is a very light wheel at sub 1100 grams... you might want to do a deeper research on the pads though as i heard it works the best with it's own cryo blue brake pads....you need to make sure you can acquire them rather easily when you pad runs out...

zipp on the other hand can work with their own cork pads, or sram or swiss stop yellow king gold pads very well...

there is no real bang for buck about this wheels...zipp has their argument on how their good firecrest profile works in windy conditions and also at yaw angles (if your 5.5k one is a new 11s firecrest tub)...reynolds on the other hand argues that their swirl lip generator works well under the design of paul lew... edco on the other hand, not sure... i think it's just swiss engineering you have to trust..
wow, thanks for the explanation! what I'm looking for in the wheels are;

1. looks great
2. light

other than that I'm fine with whatever else they offer... both KSH and KT Cyclone tell me they don't even know when they're expecting their next shipment of Reynolds wheels, so it might take quite a while.. just found out a shop selling Miche wheelsets on the mainland. Is this brand's SWR full carbon wheelset good?
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 12:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 22 2013, 12:43 AM)
wow, thanks for the explanation! what I'm looking for in the wheels are;

1. looks great
2. light

other than that I'm fine with whatever else they offer... both KSH and KT Cyclone tell me they don't even know when they're expecting their next shipment of Reynolds wheels, so it might take quite a while.. just found out a shop selling Miche wheelsets on the mainland. Is this brand's SWR full carbon wheelset good?
frankly, your criteria no.1 is the killer... kills all other logical reasoning for a set of wheels....

unfortunately, what looks good nowadays on most bikes are high profile wheels and with high profile wheels.... the are usually not that light... so, the question will then turn to how light do you expect?

zipp actually has some lower end lineup like their zipp 30 and zipp 60 which is slightly cheaper... but not quite that cheap and they are heavier and does not offer the same firecrest shape if i am not wrong.... not sure what else is in penang... but rm4k, i can't think of great looking wheels... i personally would go for some paired spoke ones like rolf prima or corima winiums or mcc.. but those babies will set you back a good 8k....

not sure about miche other than they make campy compatible stuff...
miaopurr
post Oct 22 2013, 09:02 AM

587 posts

FFWD looks awesome.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 22 2013, 09:03 AM
KTCY
post Oct 22 2013, 09:24 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

How about lightweight ?
http://lightweight.info/gb/en/fernweg
miaopurr
post Oct 22 2013, 09:34 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 22 2013, 09:24 AM)
can get around rm4k?
KTCY
post Oct 22 2013, 09:37 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 22 2013, 09:34 AM)
can get around rm4k?
don't know laugh.gif

or get giant PSLR-1 aero
3.5k only if not mistaken wink.gif
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 09:37 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 22 2013, 09:02 AM)
FFWD looks awesome.
Fried Fish With Doughnut?
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 09:41 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 22 2013, 09:24 AM)
if you have the money.... those are 5 figure wheels... like madfiber, mavic cosmic carbone ultimate, campy hyperon ultra two, reynolds rzr...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 22 2013, 09:34 AM)
can get around rm4k?
if can and authentic ones, i want 3 sets....

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 22 2013, 09:37 AM)
don't know laugh.gif

or get giant PSLR-1 aero
3.5k only if not mistaken wink.gif
3.5k might as well get mavic rsys slr....just another couple hundreds more....

bbs had a set taken off a new bike last time for less than 3k....not sure if still there....

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 22 2013, 09:49 AM
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 09:47 AM

593 posts

mmmmhhhmmmmmm.... exquisite...

miaopurr
post Oct 22 2013, 09:47 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 22 2013, 09:37 AM)
Fried Fish With Doughnut?
fast furious weird donkey
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 09:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 22 2013, 09:47 AM)
fast furious weird donkey
why would a donkey look awesome... and a weird one somemore...
miaopurr
post Oct 22 2013, 09:52 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 22 2013, 09:49 AM)
why would a donkey look awesome... and a weird one somemore...
no idea. operative word; weird
butthead
post Oct 22 2013, 09:54 AM

593 posts

Froome, Wiggins could ride 2014 Tour together

see him no up?

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top