The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

tehoice
post Feb 15 2016, 03:29 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Feb 11 2016, 01:51 PM)
A berried shrimp found.  Hope to see babies soon.
congratz with the new shrimps (soon).... hehe
tehoice
post Apr 4 2016, 11:24 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Mar 30 2016, 11:03 AM)
Yes, I'm always happy to share. Hope others can benefit too, but my setup may not necessarily suit everyone. Mine's an aquascape tank, so the setup is different from shrimp tanks. I follow the ADA method. Visited their showroom and they helped me with planning, setup, maintenance, equipment, plants, everything. ADA are experts in Aquascape tank but they are not shrimp specialists. Some equipment however are not ADA due to the price.

Priority is healthy plants, fishes, little algae and finally some nice shrimps. Breeding shrimps are actually the lowest priority, but since I've met all the earlier objectives then I have nothing else to do but to breed them too. As you know shrimps are a challenge because they don't like CO2, fishes or high nitrates - all essential ingredients in an aquascaped tank. I'm still tweaking to find the sweet spot to balance all of these, but will not make drastic changes because of shrimps.

ADA 90p Tank. (3 feet, 170 liters.)
ADA Lights Grand Solar 1
Filter Eheim Classic 2217
Filter media - course/fine filter, NA carbon, ADA bamboo charcoal, ADA Bio Rio
Chiller regulated 25C - sometimes I set to 24C but too much condensation.
Substrate system - Penac, Bacter, Clear Super, Tourmaline, Power Sand for base. Aquasoil for planting and I use some Shirui sand for decor (white sand).

Setup date 1st May 2015 (11 months)
Critters : ~ 110 tetras (various), 10 rasboras, 6 ottos, 8 yamatos, few hundred RCS, few dozen Tigers, ~ 15 CRS/CBS mix, 8 Blue Diamond, 10 Tigers (variant). Some say its overloaded, but I don't fully agree. It depends on good filtration.
Plants: Eleocharis carpet, MC, Rotala, Moss, Buceps, Mini Fissidens

Photo period 10 hours
CO2 : 3 bps, follows photo period
Night aeration - when lights out, air pump goes on
WC : weekly, 30%.
Filter cleaning once a month.
PH swings from 6.7 to 7.3 every day because of CO2 injection.
TDS 160, GH ~5, KH 3, Ammonia/Nitrite 0, Nitrate 30-40.

Ferts is a daily schedule (see image).
whoa! may i ask how much did you invested in the entire thing? thumbup.gif
tehoice
post Apr 8 2016, 02:36 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(pentel @ Apr 7 2016, 11:00 PM)
Yeah, usually the day before the cherries die, they do not move much, and just stay at one place. They will also stop eating. Now I'm down to only 2 cherries. The crystals are still doing well, happily scavenging around and eating whatever I feed. Maybe I should just keep crystals instead.
yeah, why cherry when you can have crystal only.....
tehoice
post Apr 11 2016, 09:44 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(pentel @ Apr 9 2016, 03:04 PM)
A yellow cherry is around rm8 while yellow King Kong is rm70. To be honest, I'm still very new to this and can't differentiate a yellow cherry from yellow King Kong! They look the same to me.. Lol..
hahah, i see alright! me too, cannot differentiate them. still very new! bangwall.gif
tehoice
post Apr 28 2016, 10:39 AM

5,529 posts

just wanna check with you guys, have anyone of you guys used such chiller before? as below:
https://world.taobao.com/item/530208107501....0.eFgIUc#detail

Thanks!
tehoice
post Apr 28 2016, 11:11 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Apr 28 2016, 11:01 AM)
erm i've seen the fish shop at my place here using it, but he uses it for very small tank only, roughly 30x30x30 cm cubes and slightly larger. and its around RM500+
yeah, my tank is a 1ft cube, i'm thinking to use it for that tank.

500+ so expensive here. sad.gif
tehoice
post Apr 28 2016, 11:19 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Apr 28 2016, 11:17 AM)
or if you dont mind drilling a hole on ur aquarium, might want to consider this, saw someone selling it but not sure of the availability

Here
thx for the recommendation, 1st time seeing such stuff. okay.... will take note for that.... but not so soon lar....
tehoice
post May 12 2016, 01:53 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 12 2016, 01:51 PM)
tehoice nah

ini the farder up there, his child just below him

ini the mother while berried

ini one of the earlier blue velvet
nice.... hehe....... waiting for it.... lol drool.gif
tehoice
post May 12 2016, 02:33 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 12 2016, 02:00 PM)
size wise i think i can manage
budget, if its really that good, perhaps i wont mind spending extra. so just this part i need your reassurance hahaha. super silent as in how silent? tongue.gif
i have outlet manifold as the current pump is just 1 outlet, and i need 1 for running the sponge filter and another 1 for air stone to "age" the water which i use for water changing. distance wise pump is at floor area, sponge filter around chest area, the air stone is just as tall as the pail is.
brows.gif sabar sabar
sabar-ing..... hehe....

i'm using this...
http://www.hailea.com/e-hailea/product1/ACO-5505.htm

i have 2 of these and 1 5501.

not bad i must say, i only turn it on like maybe 30% power, still can power 8 sponge filters in 8 tanks.

it is also relatively silent... cost me about 60++

tehoice
post May 12 2016, 03:55 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 12 2016, 02:36 PM)
berapa lui?
i cant remember how much, but around 60+ geh....
tehoice
post May 12 2016, 09:47 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 12 2016, 01:51 PM)
tehoice nah

ini the farder up there, his child just below him

ini the mother while berried

ini one of the earlier blue velvet
mai, at night liao. more pics lai. hahaha
tehoice
post May 13 2016, 11:31 PM

5,529 posts

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
tehoice
post Aug 19 2016, 10:23 AM

5,529 posts

how come this thread macam slow down ad. how are the shrimp keepers doing?

my orange failed, but cherry succeed, how come ar? i wanna buy a few tails to try again. arghhh....
tehoice
post Sep 26 2016, 09:36 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Sep 22 2016, 09:32 PM)
Just wanted to let you guys know that the new Fluval Spec with upgraded LED is here.

[attachmentid=7588746][attachmentid=7588747]

cheers !
what does it do?
tehoice
post Sep 26 2016, 04:31 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Sep 26 2016, 12:01 PM)
Its a pretty all in one tank with an oversized filter all is good other than
the previous version led light that came with it sucked. can only grow low light plants.

with the upgraded led. good for medium to high light plants.
good for Shrimps, be it CRS, Sulawesi, or OpaeUla  , or fishes alike.

my current setup is a high tech 19L spec, mini aquascape with CRS breeding like rabbits  tongue.gif

(can hide the co2 atomizer in the post filter chamber. away from sight)
i see.... okay thanks for the info!
tehoice
post Oct 20 2016, 10:16 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Oct 18 2016, 02:38 PM)
i give cucumber..is it ok?
i saw my friend feed before, they love to munch on the cucumber!
tehoice
post Oct 20 2016, 10:23 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 20 2016, 10:18 AM)
got boil before? skin got removed?
not sure wor, i didnt ask, i get there, already feeding them.

what shrimps you have now?
tehoice
post Oct 20 2016, 10:34 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 20 2016, 10:30 AM)
same old same old

blue velvet with 3 CRS which i bought for testing purposes. my 1 blue diamond dunno go where d, maybe forever alone commit sepuku

i have been neglecting them for a while since too busy, no water change for almost 3 weeks!  cry.gif

my tank temp is not cool, sometimes can reach almost 30 degree. surprisingly the CRS is doing well hahaha

good thing is i got them when they are still small, now fat fat already

next step is, see if they can breed in that condition o not  tongue.gif
that condition, can survive but maybe cannot thrive. talking about breeding, let's see.. hehe...
tehoice
post Oct 20 2016, 10:57 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 20 2016, 10:35 AM)
ya, but they look like having fun lol

night temperature will be better, can go down to 25 or less

just day time only naik abit depending on weather
i see, post a picture of your tank and see? drool.gif
tehoice
post Jan 16 2017, 04:57 PM

5,529 posts

looking to purchase fire red/bloody mary/blue neocaridina shrimps, anyone have?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:29 PM