The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others
jirochl
Aug 15 2014, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(whitehawk @ Aug 15 2014, 03:15 PM) what type of floating plants that usually used in shrimp tank??? If you really need to have floating plants. You can use salvinia minima or frogbits. but do take note they multiply and grow very fast and soon will cover your tank. but they're much easier to maintain than duckweed.
jirochl
Aug 21 2014, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 21 2014, 11:43 AM) lol. it's the infamous supershrimp aka opae ula aka mini lobster which can live up to 20 years with minimum care. living enclosed in bottle like that will shorten its lifespan. better and cheaper to get it from arrow.
jirochl
Aug 25 2014, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Aug 24 2014, 08:10 PM) Hi all , do you all know what is the best food for crs baby ? It shall not be too rich of vitamin. Worry it cause anmonia. Please advice Seems like your CRS tank is doing pretty well.
jirochl
Sep 11 2014, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 8 2014, 08:39 PM) It is CRS tank , do you have any recommendation where to buy benebachi product with good price ? Between benebachi can put ugf filter and what is the advantage with put ugf ? Again what is advantage without ugd for benebachi soil ? Hi bro, IMHO, it's better not to use UGF if you're already planning to use with canister filter with chiller. It may deplete the buffer capability faster if you're running it with a canister and UGF is harder to maintain. Benibachi soil is just like any other shrimp soil can setup like usual and you don't have to follow exactly their step by step system with UGF as recommended by the shop. Better stick with just sponge and canister. Just my 2sen.
jirochl
Oct 2 2014, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Oct 2 2014, 01:37 AM) Anyone can tell me why baby shrimp can't survive and the elder prawn is fine? Is the under gravel filter use with the soil not suitable with Ugf will kill prawn slowly. My cars is die 1 every 3to 4 days. Van anyone advice ? Relax bro. You've got alot of typo.  Got enough biofilms for baby shrimps? Is it a new tank?
jirochl
Oct 8 2014, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(eolith @ Oct 8 2014, 01:41 AM) Any advise to quickly turn down NO3 in tank? I'm hitting NO3 in high ppm recently... need advise. What's your nitrate level? Can do water change until desirable level.. Or use products like Mosura Denitro.. More plants and less feeding will help.. Try putting some floating plants like frogbits or salvinia minima to absorb the nitrates. This post has been edited by jirochl: Oct 8 2014, 01:53 AM
jirochl
Nov 4 2014, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(falxon88 @ Nov 3 2014, 10:23 PM) Hello sifus! I just checked my tank water parameter and the readings are as below: Ammonia = 0 Nitrite = 0 Nitrate = 5 PH = seems to be in between 6.0~6.5 (JBL liquid) GH = 6 TDS = 180 I have some crushed coral in filter. Do I need to worry about the low PH? I had few cherry shrimps dead earlier, nto sure what was the cause though.. Hi bro, if I were you I would get a PH test pen to verify the PH first. If you're using liquid tester like API, it may not be able to detect anything less than 6. Although cherry is quite hardy, they don't really do well in low PH. Just my 2 cents. Of course, it could be many other reasons though.
jirochl
Nov 4 2014, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(falxon88 @ Nov 4 2014, 01:50 PM) I do have a PH pen but the reading is diff than the liquid one haha! Any idea where can I get the calibration powder for PH pen? I used up the original one that comes with it. I am trying to keep PH 6.8~7.0 but can't add more corals as I don't want to increase GH anymore... Hmm, guess I'll do small wc daily with RO water and see how it goes.  You can get the calibration solution ph7 (liquid) from 88petsmart or some fish shop may help you order them if you ask. If you're using RO, use inert substrates and remineralize with salty shrimp gh/kh + and save you all your trouble.
jirochl
Nov 5 2014, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Nov 5 2014, 12:15 AM) anyone can tell me , I have a borneowild soil and mineral at substrate. I found my gh is more than 8 .. it is inttoduce hard molting for my crs. my crs die every two week for 1 tail. can anyone tell me best way to lower down gh ? and also let me know best method for crs molting.. thanks Your GH should be around 4 - 6. Please monitor how much mineral you're dosing during water change. Could be too much. Maybe can try to dilute your tank water with water change using RO water. But do it gradually (less volume/frequent change) until desired GH is reached. Just my 2 cents.