The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others
jirochl
Apr 10 2014, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 10 2014, 12:38 PM) which model of hailea air pump? i have around 5 of them, didn't notice any smell unless it burn up, but air pump always vibrant and when you put it stick/lean on the rack/wood etc, it actually consistent scratch/rub against these surface, this may heat up the plastic body then come the smell. Also check the air hose and aquarium fan, two of my up aqua fan burn up and it engulf my house with plastic burning smell. If possible hang the air pump in mid-air. Hi bro arrow, the air pumps are Hailea 9905 with adjustable flow. I'm actually not that bothered by the smell that much. Just that my wife keep complaining about the smell and the vibratting noise haha. It's because she just got pregnant and it's giving her nausea.  I'm thinking to replace the sponge filters with HOBs for now and just keep one air pump for the UGF to minimize the smell and noise. Two up aqua fans burnt up?? gosh, that's really bad quality.
jirochl
Apr 19 2014, 07:52 PM
I just witnessed a rape and kill scene. I saw a male fire red on a pregnant female seems like they were doing it. Then female was released and was motionless after that. confirmed dead now. what just happened??
jirochl
Apr 20 2014, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 19 2014, 11:06 PM) Allright,did you know anywhere can bought the tds calibration liquid ? How much is your current TDS?
jirochl
Apr 20 2014, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 20 2014, 07:20 PM) I think 150 is fine with CRS. If you want to lower down the TDS can just add RO water. QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 20 2014, 07:23 PM) Can crs grade a ,s , ss mix in one tank ? What is disadvantages of the mix ? Can cherry chilli red mix with crs ? Will then cause mix ? I think the disadvantage is that you will have higher chances of getting a mixed grade babies if they breed. Mixing only the same grade crs will have higher chances that the babies will be the same grade as the parents. Cherry and CRS won't interbreed since they're from different species. This post has been edited by jirochl: Apr 20 2014, 07:41 PM
jirochl
Apr 21 2014, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 20 2014, 09:47 PM) Erm, i just visit the axis ampang aquatic, saw him temperature is 26 degree but its able to breed . I thought must have 21 -25 degree for breed. Surprise me. Saw him got a crs name sumo crs sell around rm60 to rm120 per piece. Do you have this kind of grade ? The boss at aquatic is using aircon to maintain the temperature. I doubt the average temp there is 26 probably lower most of the time. I think sumo is the lower grade PRL? not sure but he's selling mostly benibachi shrimp there.
jirochl
Apr 24 2014, 09:19 AM
Hey guys, anyone here wanna post some nice pics of your shrimp tanks or shrimps here? Can spice up this thread a bit.. Come come don't be shy
jirochl
Apr 24 2014, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 05:28 PM) Another one just dropped dead. Bloody hell. Just added some prime and charcoal just in case. This sucks Perhaps something other than your water parameters are killing your shrimps i.e. airborne pollutants? Tested your water parameters?
jirochl
Apr 25 2014, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 25 2014, 04:31 PM) I have A grade shrimp tank right now, i plan to go for SSS grade shrimp but worry about the SSS grade CRS tolerate water parameter level as it will more fragile. Any thing i need pay attention before introduce SSS grade shrimp . please advice I'm also a newbie in keeping CRS currently only have S/SS grade. I guess if your grade A CRS are doing well in your tank, SSS should do just fine if your parameters are right. Mind to share your current water parameters? You may need to check out the TDS difference before introducing them into your tank, use drip method for longer period with airstone during acclimatization if there's a huge difference (learned this from sifu arrow  ). There are many contradicting advice as some said TDS 100 and below is best for CRS and other said higher 150 - 200 is ideal. Mine is around 160 so far so good. Also, do make sure you refrain from kacau your tank too much like putting your itchy hand inside (contamination), never stirred up the soil, don't overfeed and they should be fine. Some people also use slow drip method during weekly water change, and remineralize their RO water to TDS 150 before putting them into the tank as CRS is very sensitive to water change. BTW, why not start with some less expensive SS first before trying out the SSS? They should be the same in terms of hardiness albeit the difference in patterns.
jirochl
Apr 25 2014, 11:01 PM
Anyone here interested to get some Malaya shrimps? Want to give away mine for FREE. I've got around 11-12 tails. Self pick up. Let me know guys..
jirochl
Apr 26 2014, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 26 2014, 02:32 AM) My ph is 7.2 ,gh =3 kh=0 and temperature is 24 I think your ph is a bit high for high grade CRS, ideal should be around 6.0 - 6.8. GH is too low as well. Should bring it up to 4-6. This post has been edited by jirochl: Apr 26 2014, 03:51 PM
jirochl
Apr 29 2014, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 29 2014, 10:00 PM) I introduce new member 4 tail sss and 2 ss CRS into my Grade A CRS tank at last saturday. But today i saw got 2 new member is die. i dont know what is the reason. The old CRS is still working well and no issue. I am curious why the new member is die ? i immediately use water test kit to determine need change or not. but it look no need . My NH3/NH4 , No2 and no3 all is 0 and PH is 7.2 Anyone have idea why my new CRS die. please comment. Agreed with budakdegilz, higher grade CRS S-SSS are probably more sensitive to changes in water parameters than grade A CRS due to selective breeding. Did you check the TDS difference between your seller's tank and your own? How much time did you take to acclimatize them? Using slow drip method? Probably sifu arrow could shed some light.
jirochl
Apr 29 2014, 11:37 PM
Stumbled upon a full Caridina species grading chart. Not sure if you guys have seen it before. Pretty interesting. This post has been edited by jirochl: Apr 29 2014, 11:40 PM
jirochl
Apr 30 2014, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(bg2014 @ Apr 30 2014, 10:28 AM) I'm quite fine, but the Neo shrimps are not I only have PH and Ammonia tester now, PH is 6.0, Ammonia 0. I'm sure the TDS should not be lower than 160 since I'm using tap water with Tension Gon anti-chlorine. Some of them died after molt, some of them just died with no reason. btw, Im thinking of buying a GH tester, any idea which of the brands out there should I buy? Some of my buddies said the API GH tester is very difficult to differentiate between colors while Sera is better, other said otherwise... So i'm kinda confuse now  I'm using the Sera GH tester and it's quite easy to read. The color will turn from red to green noticeably once the right GH is reached.
jirochl
May 9 2014, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(whitehawk @ May 9 2014, 05:38 PM) hi i already tested my water parameter gh 3 kh 1 nitrite 0 can i know the parameter is suitable or not? GH should be 4-6 or they will have problem with moulting. You can use Mosura Mineral Plus to slightly raise your GH but it will also raise your TDS. This post has been edited by jirochl: May 9 2014, 05:56 PM
jirochl
May 9 2014, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(bluecoat @ May 8 2014, 09:11 PM) hi all fsifu Can we use ketapang leave to lower down PH for CRS tank and after put in ketapang leave , do it require to take it out from tank after some period ? I think ketapang will lower ph but very mild only unless you put alot of them in your tank. You can leave them in there until the leaf botak, shouldn't be any harm done.
jirochl
May 25 2014, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 24 2014, 04:27 PM) Anyway... tanks sealed. Wish me luck  All the best
jirochl
May 27 2014, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Candlenie @ May 26 2014, 04:26 PM) guys, wanna ask something. My tank is a well cycled tank (about 6 months already) but seems like my shrimps dont usually survive more than 1 month in the tank malayan seems fine, but yamato usually will go missing after few weeks. There is no soil in the tank, full of anubias, and with normal fishes only (tetras, glass catfish, borneo suckers and 2 snails) normally whats the main cause of shrimps dying? Probably you can post a pic of your tank?
jirochl
Aug 15 2014, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 15 2014, 10:13 AM) wao. it's been a month folks ~ no update? How's your shrimps ??  I guess many shrimpkeepers are more active in the fb group instead.
jirochl
Aug 15 2014, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 15 2014, 11:00 AM) Haha. Do we have Shrimp FB group? Im trying to avoid that, not convenient to have that in office  Haha. We sure do. FB what group also have now. Look for Neocardina Farmer group.
jirochl
Aug 15 2014, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 15 2014, 12:08 PM) Where got clean... the shrimp poo all over the place Also cos its summer here = massive evaporation = massive top up = massive rise in TDS But so far this setup has been pretty maintenance free lah Didn't top off with RO water? No worries about TDS rise if you do that.