QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 18 2013, 11:30 AM)
having halo effect in HDR is like an instant kill to your pictures, proper HDR pictures shouldn't have halo
actually it can be done with just 1 RAW file instead of exposure stacking
Halo effect is the white glow of the subject which prominent on top of another layer right? How'd you reduce this effect? Some say use "smoothing" slider, but I don't think it's in Lightroom or Pshop, probably Photomatix. I would like to learn bracketing and stacking multiple exposure first before into single raw hdr.
Here's another tryout, I noticed there's halo effect of the hill, but still can't figure it out to reduce it. Pantai Bukit Keluang HDR by NurAzam, on Flickr
QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 18 2013, 12:48 PM)
if you use lightroom only then you have to mask it very careful and slow with your brush tool and also play with other sliders too
in photoshop there is a auto mask feature that can easy select the hill only, leaving the sky untouch then you can do your adjustment on the hill only and not affect the sky
for other software i dont know la, i use lightroom to do it only
Thanks for tips! I'll try merging the raws from lightroom to pshop, then see if there's auto mask feature available with this method, save it in .tiff later reedit in lightroom.
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 18 2013, 03:09 PM)
Bro, i think it is better if u shoot only the building & the sky... The wires should not be there
In the photo above, ur sky is too much and ur subject/ building too little... Just my 2 cents... Im also still learning
Haha! Okay. I'll take my time and think of better composition next time. But I kinda like that swirling-round wire pole. The first one has overkill sky, I know. Might as well, make HDR from in-built option, another one manually for 5 bracketing just to see the difference.
There's another video tutorial by Remelli for Single RAW HDR on Lightroom.
Hoyeah! Right bbcode!
This post has been edited by copperwire93: Oct 18 2013, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 18 2013, 05:56 PM)
What about Green.L?
Tried one of those Green L cpl. Not much a change, only RM50 for 52mm diameter. If you want to get a UV filter (though I really oppose of using it), might as well get a good one.
UV filter that comes with my Tamron makes picture softer and harder to focus. Cheap one I guess, (I think it's from Green L too )
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 06:05 PM)
52mm Green L? Those are selling for just 10bucks apiece in digicolor
A CPL really? I didn't bought it though because no matter how I rotates the change is subtle.
Bought a second hand Hoya HD at the end. A good one, you can touch the glass but it catches little fingerprints. It stated that it also resistant to scratch, don't want to experiment it.
Went for another landscape test for Tamron. Notice the softness at the right corner. Probably this what reviews are all about, or perhaps my aperture is not that narrow enough to focus on it.
More to come, tomorrow back to campus and glued with study table.
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 19 2013, 09:30 PM)
Hey I think its actually a great shot there Only distraction I think is the tree blocking the 2nd building, go chop it down I don't think I'd notice the softness if you didn't mention it haha Look forward to more of your photos~
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 19 2013, 09:38 PM)
Dayumm man. This photo is excellent.
Thanks! Shame for the obstructing tree though.
Here's another two. Not as what I expected but... it's a process of learning, I guess.
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 20 2013, 12:56 AM)
Sorry guys, need your guys advice.
I was in the middle of hunting DSLR(between Nikon D5100, Canon 600D, Sony A58), I was offer by my friend new set the Sony A58 unopened box at RM1399(include 1 8gb sd card and bag only), worth to grab?
Never know about Sony. I'll make this short like any other advise for those choosing their DSLR, consider your budget, your style of shooting, read some reviews -know about stuff you're about to buy, go find some samples at shops and hold it in your hands. See which is which suits you. Good luck!
QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:38 AM)
A question... I borrowed my friend 35mm f1.8g for ytd event shoot. I notice that if I crank up to f1.8 is more hard to focus on to the eyes than I use f2.2.. how come?
I want that smooth feel on f.18 but is just so hard to focus.. any way to fix this?? like the focus spot, settings, etc..
using D3200 + nikor 35mm f.18g
I learnt this from some of the sifu, sometimes when it is hard to focus, it's because we're to relying on the focus point rather than the techniques.
Some of the techniques he taught me is, you can choose the any of the focus point, but make sure the focus point is on contrasting colours. For eyes, you could lock the focus on between the iris and the white area of the eye. See if it works.
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 22 2013, 05:32 PM)
I'm very interested, but too bad, still sticking to buying either a D800 or maybe this end of the year depending on the difference in price because no budget atm.
But recent buyers of the D600 are soooooo gonna rage.
Hahaha! You bet! I've seen so many people selling their D600 in forums and FB pages these days.
QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 24 2013, 10:37 AM)
_DSC1488-2 by KepongKaki, on Flickr This is what I mean, the out of focus with f1.8..
Looking at the distance, I think you're too close so it cannot focus. This might be cheap workaround, but get back a little, then crop it if you want that close picture. Nice shot, love it!
QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 25 2013, 05:49 PM)
wow......amazing pics there!!!
Thanks! Although, I think only the first one works, the others are like quick snapshot since I wanna hurry. Sun moves up quickly.
I'll probably will sell of my Sigma 18-200mm since there's not much of a use now that I have UWA. Anyone tried Tamron 90mm macro? Might trade in this sigma for the tamron.
QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 25 2013, 07:16 PM)
you already got 24mm to 50mm range? those range are quite important too
For what? Portraiture? I have Nikkor 35mm 1.8G for that, just that this sigma is getting more underutilised since I have Tamron UWA. I bought it mainly because I wanted the 18mm for landscape since I didn't buy my SLR with kit lens.
Thinking to try macro now, landscape is too challenging at times. Weather here is unpredictable.