9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

copperwire93
post Oct 1 2013, 07:00 PM

574 posts

New thread already? biggrin.gif

Here are my spam. It is deadly busy month before final exam and I am busy with a lot of functions. Caught indoor so I just shoot my watch to kill the boredom. This is the process of me developing the raw and the last image is the one I prefers most.

Captured with 35mm 1.8G DX
Crocodile Watch by NurAzam, on Flickr

and the last image

copperwire93
post Oct 1 2013, 08:25 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 1 2013, 07:06 PM)
Why no upload this one? Better yo although some slight reflections at the bottom of the glass  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
It's those time in the evening by NurAzam, on Flickr
Thanks for the feedback. Ya, it has quite distinct reflection. That's why I cropped but some still there.

I posted that image before in pic a day thread. Don't think I should post it again here. tongue.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 2 2013, 11:10 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 2 2013, 08:32 PM)
I get the feeling of waiting in the cold rain. And it's because I just got out of the rain. Hehe

Nice one, although I think it will have more feeling in black and white. smile.gif

copperwire93
post Oct 5 2013, 06:08 PM

574 posts

I found a dealer who wants to sell Tokina AT-X Pro SD 12-24mm F4 for RM1200. What do you guys think? Is it worth it? It has built-in af for my D5100.
copperwire93
post Oct 11 2013, 07:42 PM

574 posts

Old Canon Powershot A410 by NurAzam, on Flickr

Another boredom.
Anyone know good sites to get Lightroom presets? biggrin.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 14 2013, 08:01 PM

574 posts

Waahhh! Most Nikonians here are really advanced with all those expensive glasses. I feel inferior tongue.gif

Now waiting for second-hand cheapo Tamron 10-24. Can't afford the Tokina one.

Anyway, it is another monsoon season here.
Come, be here thunder and storm by NurAzam, on Flickr

I hope I can achieve better look from Tamron. This one is captured by using Nikkor 35mm 1.8G.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Oct 14 2013, 08:08 PM
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 06:49 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 15 2013, 02:21 AM)
guys u all use what software to edit photo?
hmm i take lot pic
feel like the most easy is food XD
take photo of  human i fail > <
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom because it's easiest. Hahaha!
I still technophobic of Adobe Photoshop with all those buttons which I never know of their functions. rclxub.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 04:51 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 15 2013, 03:23 PM)
PS Lightroom free software ahh? Can download?
Have to pay lah, like any other Adobe software. -Except Adobe Flash Player. tongue.gif

But if you already have Adobe Photoshop, then no need to get this one as the former bundled with Adobe Camera RAW, the same function as this Lightroom.

Then before this what software did you use eh?
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 07:22 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 15 2013, 06:35 PM)
I either use ArcSoft PhotoStudio, which is a veli the simple editing software, not as powderpull as Photochop or use nothing at all. I think many maybe tak pernah dengar pun... blush.gif
You should try Lightroom then, it's not that hard even tho there is the word "photoshop" in it. You'll just control the sliders of contrast, highlights, saturation, black level, white level, some split toning and gradual filter. Simple stuff, almost like ACDSee.

I use this mainly because I shot RAW.
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 07:49 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 15 2013, 07:43 PM)
What's the motivation behind editing in RAW? I don't really understand. hmm.gif

Besides retaining more information in RAW where you can edit more, I really don't see the difference.

Can any sifus enlighten me?

notworthy.gif
Not a sifu. But RAW will just help you to experiment the settings broadly than jpg to achieve different result, it will help to retain more details than altering a jpg.

If you notice, when you developing a jpeg, not much of difference going on compared to altering a raw.

"Jpeg is like a baked cake, you can add only few finishing and decorations, while RAW is RAW." -That's my sifu used to say.

Of course, you only use it if you want to dedicate one or two pictures to make them extremely beautiful.

If you shoot RAW for travel, wedding and events, sure that would a waste of time to develop them.

Anyway, want to spam:
Playing dead by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 07:59 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 15 2013, 07:54 PM)
Well, that really make sense. So we edit in RAW when we have just a few of the best photos to touch-up.

Besides the benefit of retaining more details and info in an image, what other advantages that we can in editing RAW photos?

blush.gif
White balance.

Sometimes I am clumsy enough that I forgot to change the white balance setting. Most people stick to auto white balance, but camera white balance is not perfect.

There are times, when it fails and you get wrong white balance, thus if you shoot jpeg, it is hard to recover compared to RAW.

I have this problem before when my camera cannot evaluate proper white balance indoor.

copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 08:33 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 15 2013, 08:10 PM)
Wow! That's very nice.

You edited that photo in Adobe PS?
Nope, this one RAW developed by using Lightroom.

Perhaps this semester break I'll brave myself to explore Photoshop. tongue.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 10:44 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 15 2013, 09:43 PM)
Will be getting the D5100. Maybe tomorrow or day after.

I can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Any advice, sifu? drool.gif
I am using it too.
Same advice like everyone else here, shoot like hell. Play with settings, start with auto, program mode then other manual modes, you won't get desired results often, but it is the process of learning that matters, so don't feel down when it happens. Congrats on your purchase. smile.gif

Another spam:
Chillin' after duty by NurAzam, on Flickr

Cuti2 now can do my stuff. rclxm9.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 10:51 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 15 2013, 10:48 PM)
Oh, my first D5100 kaki.  thumbup.gif  How has your D5100 serve you? Should be very loyal huh?  brows.gif

But if I shoot like hell, my shutter count will go up. I am a bit reluctant.  blush.gif

People say each shutter has a shutter life, how do we know when we have to change a new shutter?
Nahh... don't worry about it. I shoot hundreds pictures on event, 50 something just for experiment. My former Canon 1000D already exceeded its estimated shutter life but still works. Only the flash get stuck.

By the time it hits the final shutter, I should have enough money to send it to centre for shutter reset... or get an upgrade. tongue.gif

It's electronic stuff. Sooner or later it will die regardless of shutter life, same like hard drive.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Oct 15 2013, 10:55 PM
copperwire93
post Oct 16 2013, 12:01 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 15 2013, 11:47 PM)
the shoot must go on!  laugh.gif  (with ballerinas)

One D7000 belongs to my GF, we exchanged.
One D7000 belongs to my brother, the lens mount already has "blueish" stain on it, plan to wipe it off with alcohol swab but since it's not recommended, I might as well try other solution.

How did the salt water get onto the camera?
Most of the time my brother spend his time on the beach, he's now a diver. He probably forgotten about the camera after spending time on the beach.
Waves, when I was on the beach shooting sunrise, I noticed some droplets on my lens even though I'm on the beach. Thing is, the wind is so strong that it helps the waves splashes spread.

I should be more careful now then, hahahaha! I never thought of rust.
copperwire93
post Oct 16 2013, 08:10 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 16 2013, 05:32 PM)
Not trying to be a hater or what, but seriously some people in this thread spammed too much useless things to gain post counts quite obviously tongue.gif

Luckily one of the most serious fella is now quieter. Really would like to see more pictures in Nikon thread (although I am a Canon thread people, but really like to see good pictures instead of boring gear talk).
Aye, aye sir! smile.gif

Korek old photos from flickr.
This one was captured when I was playing with my second hand cheapo Sigma 18-200.
Bought it as alternative to expensive Nikkor one. It's not good though, it gets the job done but don't expect wonder with it. Picture taken is quite soft on the edges, severe vignetting -prominent when captured in portrait orientation. tongue.gif
Clouds merging by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Oct 17 2013, 11:54 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 17 2013, 11:13 AM)

Love this one, nice black and white expression.

Finally can snap a still for my kittens. wub.gif
The Three Muskittens by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Oct 17 2013, 07:22 PM

574 posts

Tamron SP AF 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 Di II by NurAzam, on Flickr
My Tamron arrived today. Bought it used less than RM1k. The glass is in good condition but the rubber seems weary but not loose.

Shame that I cannot buy Tokina or Sigma though. Most of the reviews suggested these two on top of this Tamron.
But, what matter most is finally can try out that distortion for landscape. rclxm9.gif

Anyone here had any experience with this lens before?

Also, all those features on D5300 are really tempting, but I think for D5100 and especially D5200 users, it's not that worth to upgrade. Better consider to upgrade to D7100 or second hand FX, more features, better build quality and the best part is in body AF engine if you want to save some money to buy D version lenses, IMHO.

D5100 price should be insanely dropped by with the production of D5300.
copperwire93
post Oct 17 2013, 07:54 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(devilfather @ Oct 17 2013, 07:25 PM)
now i can share.. since someone requested some photo... not as good as u all since still beginner....

How to do this? Is it long exposure? Did you use some flashlight trick for this? Want to try this soon. smile.gif
copperwire93
post Oct 18 2013, 10:29 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(devilfather @ Oct 17 2013, 09:30 PM)
30minutes only.... cause although i found this place quite dark but still accumulate some light noise to create the photo... the ISO aperture also need to be set so that the star can be seen inb the long shoot... if light too low you wont  get the line.. if too high the picture will become very bright.
Wow, seems need a lot of efforts, must've a lot of tries and errors for me then.

Tested Tamron 10-24 today, so far it is just okay. A lot of reviews say that the edges are softer compared to Sigma and Tokina. I don't have those two but from what my eyes see, it's just okay.
Some say the focus is too slow, it surely trying to focus but not that slow. Perhaps it's just right for me, since my Nikkor 35mm also have this focus speed rate when doing landscape.

Also, first time testing out HDR. Surely it looks funny and cacat compared to your guys' HDR photos. tongue.gif

ILIM at the break of dawn by NurAzam, on Flickr

Institut Latihan Islam Malaysia, Besut by NurAzam, on Flickr

For those who haven't try HDR like me previously and want to try this out. I follow this Serge Remelli guide by using both Lightroom and Photoshop.

EDIT: Hah! Forgot the bbcode for youtube. Thanks Agito666

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Oct 18 2013, 11:03 AM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0710sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:38 AM