Honda Jazz 1.5 CKD, Official thread!

SUSnm7
post Mar 18 2016, 08:15 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(mym123 @ Mar 18 2016, 12:08 PM)
I am using 195 50R 16.....feel stable doing 160-170km/h....the car once reach 190km/h but not feel that stable since the car very light...
As i say, feel is a very subjective thing.

I feel it is ok but got friends will say maciam sampan. What can i do.

To this people, feel is confidence. Haha
SUSnm7
post Mar 19 2016, 05:24 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(konchy @ Mar 19 2016, 01:03 AM)
What brand tyres were you both using?
Toyo DRB
SUSnm7
post Mar 19 2016, 09:42 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 19 2016, 09:27 AM)
Jazz with its stiffen suspension (compared to Vios) definitely gave a more reassuring feeling when driving fast. However no matter how much you stiffen the suspension, once you tried higher segment, there is no way to get rid of the sampan feeling at high speed. Usually the one holding the steering cant feel a thing because his/her body coordinate and accept those body roll because he/she anticipate it already.
Dude, i've owned worst sampans than this. I think i know what is acceptable and what is not that acceptable and i've done some not so sensible things with the rather unacceptable ones.

So, i do know my expectations. Just not other people and it is not within my powers to change their perception of things. Not to say that i am happy with my car. The lack of damping options really is a major drawback to the car especially setting the rear end up. But, it is not made to be a hot hatch or anything in that fashion in the first place. So, nothing much to expect.

Basically, i'd split labelling cars being stable into 2 major categories. The comfort / reassuring stable and the performance kaki type of stable by what i think their definiton of stable is.

The former although not really gonna hold the ground and sent every bumps, nooks and cranny up to shake your guts out but will still give you the feeling that it is more than capable at the speed you hurl it into. Sometimes good, sometimes dangerous.

The latter might be a grip monster but ain't gonna be friendly to anyone who has a brain to be jolted around.

With the introduction of electromagnetic damping. Things have changed considerably and it seems possible to have best of both worlds especially when forward radar level sensing techologies can be integrated further with the dampers. It looks like the future is definitely here but definitely not at the mass consumer levels yet.
SUSnm7
post Mar 20 2016, 12:37 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 19 2016, 01:29 PM)
I think you misunderstood. I'm not doubting you. I'm referring to those that you mention still feel like sampan.
I know, but i am just saying it.

Actually, the stock springs are not really that high a spring rate. Most aftermarket adjustable dampers provide spring rates double of what the stocks are at the rear.

I do actually think the stock dampers and spring makes the car feel quite a bit bumpy at slow speeds. But, at high speeds it don't quite feel so especially when you go through undulations on the road.

Well, as for the other people. I can't be bothered so much because they are have the assumption that asian cars all feel like one kind even before stepping into the car.
SUSnm7
post Mar 22 2016, 10:10 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2016, 04:50 PM)
holy shit you guys got balls. i feel unsafe even at 140 kmh. not to mention, FC dipped after 110kmh.
Ball ball. Well, shit ain't got nothing to do with balls. More likely to do with lack of a brain.
SUSnm7
post Mar 22 2016, 10:11 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(mym123 @ Mar 22 2016, 05:54 PM)
In standard form, the jazz is meant for city roundaround and not for high speed driving....so the sampan feeling is expected.....the target market for jazz is housewives and college student or spare car.... hmm.gif
He never put type r badge on his jazz. That is why.
SUSnm7
post Mar 22 2016, 10:12 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2016, 05:29 PM)
oh okay.

unstable.

that standard shit float like a sampan at 140kmh.

therefore, i feel unsafe.
Lot of cars also like sampan one la.
SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 12:05 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2016, 11:37 PM)
lol.

i commented on someone having balls driving it up 160kmh while i feel unsafe as the car float at 140kmh, suddenly i'm the one having impossible expectation?

that's some fucked up comprehension there.
I can't comprehend how vellfire drivers drive up to their speedcuts too. With their entire family inside to top it off.

As i say. Vios, vellfire, myvi or jazz. None produces downforce. Drive it at 160, it definitely won't do this

But is it safe, definitely not. Not even if you drive an S500.

As i mentioned before. The feeling of safe is somewhat a very dodgy thing. The only true way of telling if a car is safe is for it to be pressed against the ground hard. And see what the clk gtr above got into?

Drive fast, live with the consequences. Don't blame the car.
SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 12:12 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Mar 23 2016, 12:04 AM)
People always jump into conclusion pretty quickly without thinking through... haha

Btw, I do agree that stock car setup do wobble during high speed.

Of course we cannot expect like BMW/Merc because the stock setup already have wide tyres.
Weight plays a bigger factor in the feel of most contis. Doubt the wider tires play that major a role as it has to fend off the weight during lateral forces.

SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 12:13 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 23 2016, 12:11 AM)
yeah.

anyway, what's with the defensive stance by some of the people in here? i own one myself. my comment was based on what i experience, not based on impossible expectation that they imagined i had.
No one is denying your fact. It is just something that does not need mentioning. It is just an expected part of owning such a car.
SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 12:25 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 23 2016, 12:18 AM)
thus the reason why i said people who drove it at more 160 kmh have massive balls.

but, nooo, that's not worth mentioning too.

get out from my thread, you filthy pleb without anything to contribute. we er talk about weight distribution, tire thread and aerodynamics.
Your thread? Okay...

My bad your highness. You right, me wrong. No need to be all potty mouth btw.
SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 05:25 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Mar 23 2016, 07:45 AM)
This is funny, it seems you reply is for the sake of replying.

If you are implying that wider tyres does not play a major role in vehicle stability, then explain why F1 cars which definitely has lesser weight that street cars has widest tyres.
I do not deny that i reply for the sake of replying. Call me syiok sendiri for all you want.

As you noticed. I used the term "feel". As in the car is floating like sampan even when travelling on a perfectly straight road.

I did not mention how it performs in directional changes. To most if not many people. Heavier cars seems to feel like it is sturdier, hence a more stable car.

But in the real world we all know static weight work against the car as it needs a beefier engine to move the weight, more contact patch to maintain grip, etc, etc...

Sooo..... What motor racing did was not to make cars heavier but to have downforce help push the car down on the ground hence giving it more grip than just the car itself could provide mechanically.

The contact patch is as always very important. But, unless you are chucking the cars into turns and stuff. I don't really think it cures sampan feeling problems. In fact, wider rims and tires at the end of the day still kacau the cars roll center if my google tak ada rosak.

So, technically. I did not ever for once claimed that wider tires do jack shit. I just say it doesn't seem to cure the sampan, wobbly, wiggly feel of the car.
SUSnm7
post Mar 23 2016, 05:28 PM

192 posts

I hope tat clarifies my lack of england comprehension.

I want to talk to the aussie guy who always take upside down pictures la. Bring him back pls.
SUSnm7
post Mar 24 2016, 06:57 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(mym123 @ Mar 23 2016, 10:48 PM)
Differences,of opinion is expected and not to be too emotional on this....we are sharing our experience on this car 1st hand and not from hearsay....whatever my opinion or ur opinion on the car not necessarily applicable to you or myself....feel free to have diffferences of thought....for me this jazz is a simple car which fulfill the simple needs...city driving or short distance travelling.... i once trying the car with a max speed of 190 km/h but i feel the car stable at 150 to 160km/h not because i got balls of steel but its just my feeling....but please be reminded that the speed i achieve is  on long straight highway road with minimum traffic ..... I dont propogate speeds but just tried it once....dont drive this car very often since i bought it for my son in college....even if i drive this car during weekend it always at 70 to 80 km/h which is my trip to the mall or market....
DAMN... If i am a father like you and i know the car my kid is driving can do 190 and still feel stable at 160. I'd be seriously worried wei.

I'll jus get my kid next time a car with a 125cc kapchai engine. WOT full revs also 88kph only.

I dun wan to hear my kid say "pa say can do 160 one". I'd be seriously screwed by my wife.
SUSnm7
post Mar 24 2016, 01:24 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(mym123 @ Mar 24 2016, 01:20 PM)
i know my son better than you... biggrin.gif
he will not drive it at 160kmh...the most he will drive is it at 80-90 km/h....
Even if u drive bicycles, accident can happen la....
So please stay safe...
Sometimes, there is many sides to your kids that you dun see. I've been a youngster too u know.

Just like one of my friend who smokes all this years i know him and he started in secondary. You'd be amazed that his parents still do not know he smokes.

Imagine how he hid that from his parents with the smell and stuff. I mean he is old now and have the rights to do what he wants but seriously. Imagine keeping this away from them for more than 15 years.

Either you have a secret dvr or gps installed. U never really know if you kid is the next takumi fujiwara lei.
SUSnm7
post Mar 28 2016, 01:33 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(konchy @ Mar 27 2016, 08:54 PM)
Regarding the Jazz's CVT transmission, have you all found the lack of paddle shifters a problem when overtaking slower cars on small narrow roads?

At least with manual or auto tranny, I can push the gear down to 3 so I can accelerate faster.
You can always floor it.

But there is no better way than manually selecting the gear as your car can only react to your inputs rather than anticipate it

SUSnm7
post Mar 28 2016, 01:38 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 27 2016, 11:23 PM)
Tires do play a role in term of the feel. I think while the width play a less important role, the sidewall design and tires height do make a significant difference. Usually comfort tires has slightly rounded sidewall which help cushion some of the impact while performance tires has stiffer straight sidewall which give a better feedback on the road condition.

Initially I was interested in Jazz too but figured I needed to spent extra to stabilize it. I went with the Rio which came with 17 inch performance tires instead. It doesn't have the fc of jazz but the tradeoff is worth it for my preference.
I am not that sure if wider or lower profile or higher profile helps. But conti, are conti's. They have several things on their end most japanese manufacturers especially the smaller cars usually lack. Damper setup for one i would think is already a huge difference

I mean rio having 17" can't be the deciding factor right? Aftermaket 17" is like what? An rm3k spend at most after trade in?

Rio is better equipped would be undeniable but just because of 17" is a bit bonkers.
SUSnm7
post Mar 28 2016, 09:15 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 28 2016, 07:44 AM)
Unfortunately tires would be my no1 priority. Regardless of the electronics that claimed to save you in crazy situation, it's meaningless when you had a sub par tires that doesn't help at all.

Of course there were other factors, like pricing, free services, and equipments, but I still had my priorities on the 4 pieces of black stuffs that keep me on the road.
Contact patch is of course the priority as any safety systems is only as good as the grip the tire provides.

But, better tires can always be bought la.
SUSnm7
post Mar 28 2016, 09:20 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Mar 28 2016, 07:57 AM)
honestly, even a Proton Persona is more stable than these two as the multilink suspension is better than torsion beam.
lowered spring/sports abs/right tires profile help too.
It might have the correct system in place. But even that, there is many things that can compromise handling like the geonetry setup and stuff. Having the best does not always guarantee the best handling. The setup is equally important.

At the end of the day. You are talking about a culmination of a jumble of items and not just an individual portion on the entire suspension system. So, it is not always as easy as just a tire here or a something there.
SUSnm7
post Mar 28 2016, 09:24 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 28 2016, 09:17 AM)
Not for the stock rim size though. I only want to pay for car installments and nothing else.
Well, some people like stock cars. It's nothing wrong.

23 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:32 PM